Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Labour Room Drama 32 And 33

Wednesday, September 21, 2016

Labour Room Drama 32 And 33

According to the DH,she went into Labour but the Doctor was nowhere to be found.......guess what he was doing?

LRD 32
The doctors gave 20th of November as my Due Date, 20th came and no sign of my "show" (learnt on the blog that it means that mucus with blood thingy) nor contraction, so I accompanied my sister to go make her hair, we came back late at night. At about 11pm, I saw the first show, I told my mum and she ask that I  sleep since the contraction hasn't started and its only the first show.

Like an obedient 19yr old first time mum I agreed and slept. By morning, the show thickened but no sign of contraction so I ate breakfast, had my bath and left for the hospital.

When I got to the hospital, I explained to the doctor on duty. He asked that I remove my panty so he can check..."check what kwanu? Nobody told us anything about checking during antenatal oo". (Besides during antenatal they only checked my tummy and never asked that I remove my panty) He laughed and told me he needed to check how close the baby was, so I obliged; I lay and spread my legs wide open while the doctor was busy looking for God-knows-what in my 'kini'. 

When he was done, he told me I was dilated at 2cm and ask a nurse to insert a drug in my p***** then I was taken to the labour room.
As if the labour room triggered labour cos not long, I started feeling pains around my waist like the baby is trying to push its head up. Mum came in shortly and we would gist when the pain goes and when it shows up, I will stop talking, sit, stand, hold my waist, groan or just start walking around the hospital with mum following me around.

One of the nurses came to check again and said it was about 6cm or so, that they will have to put me on drip. At this point, I saw hell on earth, my whole waist was on fire. Each time I try to shout, mum will console me that if I start shouting, I might not be able to stop. Around 7pm the nurse came to check again, in the process, my water broke so I was taken to the delivery room and they sent mum away.

"Madam, don't push until I ask you to, okay? I nodded.
"Push" I tried pushing, nothing.
"You are not pushing o, you have to push to save your baby" I nodded "oya push" I pushed harder this time and something came out. (In my mind "yippeee! I did it, its not so hard after all...I did it!!!).

"Madam, what is this now? I said push the baby, you dey poopoo" the nurses started making sound like 'hmmmm' and all but I didn't just 'send' them. They cleaned the mess and we continued with our push session all to no avail. "Madam, I will have to tear you cos your 'kini' is too small for the baby's head to pass. Before I could ask "can I say no?" I was already feeling the pain of something cutting me down there. 

"Okay, pusssshhhh" with all my might, I pushed cos I couldn't bear another tear and this time my baby's head came through followed by the whole body.

One of the nurses took her away to go beat her since she didn't cry on her own and clean her up while the doctor started suturing me; another round of pains but I endured. At the end of everything, two nurses carried me to the maternity ward as I couldn't walk on my own. They mistakenly broke my baby's right arm and gave the excuse that my p***** was too small to let the baby pass but glory be to God, after about 3months of going to the physiotherapy Dept of LASUTH, the arm has been rectified, like you can never even guess that the arm was once broken and unmovable.

My daughter is going to be 5 on the 21st of November and I am grateful I decided to keep her. It hasn't been easy raising a child as a single parent but God has been super duper faithful....my parents? They are simply the best.

Much love for Mrs. Korkus and her BVs.

Broke your baby's hand?JESUS!

...........................................................................................................

LRD 33

Reading bvs labour room drama brought back memories, hence my desire to share mine.I have four children in all(two girls and two boys), but the labour room drama of my first daughter and my last son were quite dramatic. For today I'll recount that of my last son keeping the other one for a later day. 

The 14th day of December 2009 was like any other day, yes my wife was heavily pregnant, there was no inkling that she was going to give birth the following day. In fact after the days normal hustling, I retired to my room to sleep around 9pm.(my wife and i have seperate rooms)I was however awoken by my wife caressing me around say 10:30 to 11pm there about. 

I tried protesting cause I was really stressed out,but you know women wahala if turned down (mostly if na dem initiate am) we got down to business, meanwhile for first timer's their are styles you go do oo,make you no go injure your wife and the baby abeg oo.she retired to her room thereafter, only to comeback around 1am that her body was doing her one kind.

she asked I help shave her.I had barely finished shaving her when she became so restless and almost could not move again, crying etc.I got dressed and rushed her to the hospital (the drama on the way sef na plenty egberi,if I increase speed she will demand I slow, if I slow down she will then demand I increase my speed )At the hospital, I was assisted by the security man and we took her to the delivery room. 

Two other women were in labour too,my wife making  the third person.One of the women was shouting on top of her voice and was really restless, compared to the other Lady, who though in pain's too but was calmly.meanwhile all this while, there was only one nurse attending to all three women.I complained and requested the nurse to call her other colleagues and even the doctor, this was met with a lot of insults from the nurse.

Her exact words were'' na your wife be the first person way wan born pikin"(make God save us from nurses) I was so agitated, though I had to calm myself down.after some interval I protested again. The nurse then grudgingly told me that her partner went to collect drugs from their pharmacy upstairs. But after still not seeing any other nurse or a doctor even for more than another thirty minutes,I stormed outside the delivery room, went to the front of the hospital and was practically shouting(Niger delta we sabi draw rain)

The security man came and was trying to calm me down. All of a sudden an idea came to me to Dial the phone number's on the hospital signpost. I tried the first one, no luck,switched off.Pronto ,I dialled the second number, this time someone picked. I introduced myself and why I was calling. The person who turned out to be the owner of the hospital said it cannot be.

That a doctor is always in the clinic.I told him what the only nurse attending to the three women said. He asked for five minutes and that he will call back.

I then went back to the delivery room, none of the women had delivered.time was around 5am.The next thing, a guy came rushing into the delivery room,trying to adjust this shirt, trouser, belt etc.behind  him was the second nurse adjusting her uniform too both panting . 

( i later found out that the docter took the nurse to gbensh upstairs)The guy who turned out to be the doctor started shouting, who called the director, I said I was the one. See waya, the guy provoke and said a lot of unprintable things. While he was on it the director called back to confirm whether I had seen the doctor, and I answered in the affirmative.

The doctor went to my wife practically putting all his entire hand inside her vvjay.hmmmm,I was so jealous and bitter,fortunately not quite thirty minutes later, my wife delivered a bouncing baby boy.

The bad Belle continued,my son was practically thrown to one corner, wetin concern me,I jejely carried my son.while attention was on my wife, one of the other woman was marching naked,wetin my eyes see that day,Lord have Mercy. Around 10am that morning we were discharged and went home. That my son will be seven years by December 15th this year. 

wow,funny,annoying and thought provoking all at once..Doctor gbenshing nurse inside hospital when women are in labour?wow!!!

73 comments:

1. Poster 2, your son is my birthday mate...

2. Poster one no one broke your baby's arm please. I suspect that your baby was rather too big, and the squeezing tru the vagina may have affected the baby's arm. I know this because it almost happened to my first baby too. I was advised to have a CS but I refused. And the doctors had to explain the implications of trying to have the baby through the vagina because my baby was super huge. Too huge to be born naturally. But they allowed me go through induction since I insisted on a natural birth.

Trust Americans to be explicitly ckear. The doctor explained that if I tried to have the baby naturally, she may come out paralysed from the shoulder down because it'll mean squeezing out a baby that weighed 9 pounds 14ounces at the time. Yes, my baby was that big. So I suspect that was the case with yours too. Lol

2. Gbenshing??? Not decent at all. Ah! Ahn! Some Doctors are Sicker than their patients...wow dey broke the hand,How manage?

1. When I complain about the incompetence of Nigerian nurses they will start bitching under my comments. Most of them have to sense of empathy, always squeezing their faces like someone is forcing them to work. Smh

2. Yea cos the nurse was not involved aswell shebi. Anything to insult doctors. Anyway both were completely wrong

3. Pls Google birth injury or birth trauma. It is very possible for an arm to be fractured even when the birth is attended by competent personnel although the most common bone fractured at birth is the collarbone. Going by the fact that your daughter needed physio I even suspect your baby had nerve damage (palsy) and not an actual fracture.

Anyway just educate yourself. Learn from Doctor Google and stop carrying around unwarranted anger at the people who delivered your baby. We always say it's not easy having a baby. Well it's not easy being born either!

4. Fenty to avoid having issues with nurses,why not jejely sacrifice 5-6 years of your busy life ,get the degree and the license so that you can close your useless mouth. They could be sleeping. Yes take it to the bank ,they both could be sleeping or having a short nap. Besides why is the M.D. not there? my guess he is sleeping comfortably in his bed. Short staffed hospital.

5. I was about to say the same thing, with all the prolonged labor and macrosomia she described the baby probably had erb's palsy. My dear it's not the doctor or nurses fault.

6. This comment has been removed by the author.

3. Thank God the stories all ended in praise. Congrats all.

1. Is it true that a pregnant woman must put safety pin on whenever she goes out especially when it's sunny. I am hearing scary tales

4. Hehehheheheheh. God bless all mothers.

Can't wait to be 1

1. Same here.Btw,many medical practitioners in this country are really unprofessional and incompetent.My mum told me the foolish nurse that helped in my delivery broke my leg.But like the first poster said,after three months,the leg was good a new.

5. Doctors and nurses gbenshing no be today😩
    If na me I go record the way the doctor insulted me and play it for the director but I understand say person mind no go go there bcos of the situation
    God bless all mothers
    Omo that tear wey dem dey tear women ehn😩

6. Poster 1 hope your baby hand is ok. Thank God for you. love your story. Nothing to be ashamed of being a single mum. You are blessed.

Poster 2... that doctor na ashewo. See him gbenshing a nurse. Am sure the nurse is nurse eliza. ashewo doctors.

thank God for you all. I dont like male doctors looking at female pussies. Shame always catch me, when they will say remove your pant

1. Why is the M.D. not there? What if there was complications from more than one patient?

7. Congrats @1st poster, God bless your angel.

@Poster 2, I don't know why I like your post, e sweet wella, God bless your home too. But I wonder why couple will be staying in different rooms, just coming to collect and leave, abeg I no fit do that

8. End time Nigerian Doctor and nurse

9. Just imagine what some ashewo nurses have reduced their pussy to
    Gbenshing in the office and worse of all the doctor

Some women are annoyingly cheap fa.

1. I'm telling you
      That shit is common with them

2. Na today? Drs and nurses have been shamelessly gbenshing since time immemorial na.

3. Who should dey gbensh before? The patient abi his relatives? Dey dere make pant dey wear you. As if, if u see doctor u won't gbensh. Hypocrites

4. Lol.. my dear the truth is they are the closest male counterpart they see but it dsnt justify such act.

10. Hahahahahahaha...
    First poster is so funny!,..
    Why didn't you use CS since you are a single mum?...I'm sure you know your kini will never be tight again...

Just imagine the kind of medical personnel we have in Nigeria using people's life to play ten ten...
    Poster 2,I like your story!...

11. Chai woman labor no easy, I will they tear someone like that!
    Joefirst don laugh tire on that poop part. Na twins you born be that.
    #JOeFIRSt

12. Na wa o.what kinda useless Dr is that sef.even d nurse sef no get shame. Its even possible that The other nurse may have known they were both upstairs banging, but decided to cover for them. It's so unethical! Not as if there was no one in labour o!The director should sack the two of them! If anything happened to the women ,no one will remember the Dr on duty o,it's the director that ppl will blame.

Poster 1..thank God for ur daughter o.I got goosebumps at the part of ur daughter's fractured arm.omg! I literally had to pause n pray for my yet unborn children. See prayer point o.apart from praying against birth defects and pregnancy complications, we also have to pray for no mistakes in the delivery process too,no birth injuries to the baby.chai! 'Mistakenly broke ur girl's arm'..God forbid!!

13. Hahahhahahah @wetin my eyes see that day,lord have mercy.lol.
    I love it when lrds come from the men.

God keep and guide your kids @lrd poster 1 &2

14. Doctor n nurse from hell. But Nigerian nurses can act anyhow n their tongue sabi Sharp

15. I don't believe that gbenshing part. Funny story..

16. na wa! Nigerian nurses ehn..their won story is for another day.

@poster1: am happy they ddnt break her arm permanently...the little girl must have felt a lot of pain

@poster2: adon laff tire for here o.But thank God you were proactive if not,they would have gbenshed for the whole night and left the women helplesss..awon weyerey.

1. They didn't break her arm it's something that happens sometimes during traumatic deliver especially if the baby is big and by what she said about the episiotomy the baby was too big. It's a shoulder dystopia that resulted in something called erbs palsy. It's just sad that the poor nurses will get a bad rap from something that was not their fault. If anything breaks during deliver it's usually the clavicle. Not the arm.

2. Intelligent response @Anonymous 18:34

3. Oh thank u anonymous. Exactly what I tried to explain up there. Only I didn't use the medical terminology because I no sabi am.lol But it's practical. As I've had a near experience too

4. Sisi Eko e Don do! Shuuu. Be forming ITK upandan

17. That's wat we see in Nigeria ohh very stupid set of ppl..

18. #Don’t say maybe if you want to say no*

19. And I thank d Lord wey over see us~~~ poster 1 is ma elder sister's story!! Today ma niece is a funny, pretty lil growing girl.... E no easy but our mum is a very powerful woman, its bn her all d way, u knw mothers and grandchildren nau.... poster2 God bless ur home! #mothersarethegodweavonearth! Labour pain is the d beginin of the pain dey pass through for us!

20. Poster 1, i had to pause and laugh at the point when you said that you pushed out poo poo thinking it was the baby.

21. The nurse na ashawo.. The doctor is doing what the nurse wants. It's not peculiar to doctor and nurse. Once a senior advocate, now late and very prominent, once told me that he gbenshes all the girls in his office that work for him in his expansive office. Both legal and non legal staff members. Each time I was in his office and anyone came for one message or the order, he will tell me the ttpy of noise or sound she makes.

He said that sometimes the girls compete with one another for this because according to him, it gives the ladies the opportunity to behave as they like in the office knowing that their direct bosses can't do them anything. It is the same with doctor and nurse as well as director(or manager) and staff member and the men enjoy this because it makes the ladies a toil in the men's hands.

1. Mysoginistic fool. The nuts if the ashewo and the doctor is doing what she wants. Non of your comments have never made said. Always going out of topic your life must be miserable.

2. Truth is that are the closest male counterpart they see but ut dsnt justify such act.

22. Congratulations to both mothers

23. Hahahhahaha funny story

I tot it was a risk for U to answer the Doctor when he asked who it was dat called the CMO. Because of ur wife and your yet-to-be-born baby.We have heard Stories of Doctors and nurses taking out their frustrations on their patients.
    Very Yeye man! Should he even be asking that nonsense question in the face of all that was going on?

24. God bless all the mothers and their babies but right now, all I want to know is this: poster 2 why do you and your wife sleep in separate rooms??? Is that common? I'm so confused by that!

25. Also, the baby girl's arm was broken??? My goodness, that's terrible. Thank God for healing!

26. Weldone Sterra, just saw new feathers to our esteemed blog.

I think its high time we had "Chronicle of DOctors/Nurses"...time to start exposing them is near.

God deliver us from doctors and nurses that gbensh themselves in the course of their duties. Its only God that will deliver the women that encounter such doctors/nurses.

Thank God for safe delivery. I wish my friend Helen safe delivery.

27. Doctors and nurses,doctors and fellow doctors been having affairs since time immemorial,even married one's........

I fear them wella

1. Gbenshing has nothing to do with profession. It's a personal thing. A promiscuous person will always be whether he or she is a doctor, lawyer, nurse, banker etc.
      That is their personal life and has nothing to do with their profession. I get worried only of the action at that point in the time affects the people in their care.

28. Hahahahahahahaha, narrative 2 funny die!!!!
    Lovely piece!!!..

29. Lol can u imaging.and d other nurse is dia supporting dia gbenshing.smh

1. Becoz she too dey gbensh the doctor too now. If she na better person, she would av gone to call them wen the third case arrived.

30. It's very possible, had an encounter way back in the Theatre changing room . *sideeyes*

31. Dear ist poster.so you actually think a nurse broke your babies arm.what,do you know about delivery rili.The way you people come here lashing out on nurses is alarming.omg is it that bad?if we are this terrible then people should stay in there bedrooms and popout their babies.i am a nurse and i will forever stand up for the good ones.please for christ sake stop generalizing it.if your kini was small,nne it was,you were too weak to push ,what if your baby died invitro?what if she suffocated because you couldnt push properly you will still blame nurses!only a midwife will tell you the physiology behind labour,wat will gain by breaking your babies arm?nurses save lives,we have been doing it.

32. Unfortunately some nurses here in diaspora are forgetting their ethics. Favor of God needed everywhere not only in Africa. One shouted at me to shut up..

33. i just came back from work and lord have mercy all that i have read.As far as i know nurses are great and good people.i am not bitter and can never be harsh on any patient and that is because i have learned to control my self.we have different personalities.nurses are always harsh and mean mostly because the workload is sometimes too much.imagine one person incharge of more than 20 patients,we are not robots we are equally flesh and blood,how do you expect her to cope?Our health sector is nothing to write home about,even nursing ethics advocates for a nurse to atmost 2patients,that is when quality care is rendered,nobody is perfect and some nurses are not naturally bitter.

34. I had a similar experience with the first poster, its called Erb's palsy. its a nerve damage to the shoulder of the baby, it happens when the baby is stuck and finds it hard to pass through the mother's hip bone. Some doctors or midwives deliberately bend the shoulders of hands to allow them pass through easily. Its treatable, in my own case it took about two weeks of physiotherapy and heating. All the best to future mums.

35. I race hand ✋ for women

36. Summer please put it on. i have been hearing about that from our grand mothers

37. Some doctors and nurses eh... Na God go judge una.

38. shut up! why doctor no fit gbensh nurse mschew. nigerians are hypocrites. Oyibo do am for una com act am as Greys Anatomy una dey clap hand like monkey. abeg sharrap dia! if you know how much sex is had in hospitals abroad you wont talk, we still dey learn work compared to them sef. doctors and nurses spend more time in hospitals than at home, sometimes running 72hr shifts with not even up to 24hrs off sometimes and you think body na firewood?

1. My dear, don't mi.d the idiots.. Most of them talking here are seriously gbenshing their colleagues in the office. Hypocrites..

39. It happens every where in the world doctors having sex in the on call room. Dont you guys watch greys anatomy at all. Between it isn't easy been a nurse at all because I know there are actually good ones among them. And to all of you asking for the reason why MD wasnt at his own hospital, its the MD.

40. poster 2: I don't like the fact that you and wifey stay in separate rooms. It is not healthy for marriage, please you two move into the same room.I am talking from experience, I lost a cousin to separate rooms wahala! She lost her marriage and her life simply because she agreed to stay in separate room from hubby. Even if I live in a 20rooms mansion i and DH must sleep on the Sam bed all the day's of our life.Who wan fight, fight finish climb bed nothing do you. we go settle the fight in top bed.