Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Mark Zuckerberg's Visit To Nigeria And It's Implications.

Friday, September 02, 2016

Mark Zuckerberg's Visit To Nigeria And It's Implications.

Mark Zuckerberg’s two-day visit to Nigeria has done a lot for the country; it is a pity no government official or agency has tried to tap into the gains of that visit. 

photo credit - techppoint 

He arrived at a time there was much talk about economic recession, concerns about companies folding up or retrenching staff, or international investors leaving the country in droves, out of frustration with the uncertainties in the system. Zuckerberg’s arrival raised our hopes: co-founder of Facebook and the 5th richest man in the world, sneaked into Nigeria to meet with developers and entrepreneurs and to discuss investments in Nigeria’s growing start-up ecosystem. And for two days, he went round the city of Lagos, visiting start-ups and interacting with young entrepreneurs. 

The way Nigeria is often painted abroad, and in those travel advisories that foreign ministries issue, you would think Nigeria is such an unsafe place where kidnappers are permanently on the prowl. Zuckerberg helped to show the rest of the world that Nigeria is not so bad at all, and that something really exciting is happening here among the country’s young population.

He had no bodyguards. He did not have to hire a lorry load of Nigerian policemen to keep watch over him. He trekked on the streets of Lagos, surrounded by a few of his hosts. On Wednesday morning, he jogged across the Ikoyi-Lekki bridge. He ate pounded yam, shrimps, snails (I thought they said he is a vegan!) and jollof rice (Nigerian jollof (!) not that one from Ghana). His visit went smoothly. 

More investors may well be encouraged to visit Nigeria too, seeing how confidently a whole $53.7 billion walked freely about in Nigeria, and he was not stolen or kidnapped.  

Zuckerberg’s visit also provided great publicity for Nigeria’s emerging Silicon Valley, and the young entrepreneurs to whom Zuckerberg paid compliments. He has already invested in a Nigerian start-up, Andela, and he has made friends with other young Nigerians, the guys behind Jobberman and C-Creation Hub (CcHUB) and so many others. Zuckerberg cut the picture throughout his visit of a true inspirational figure.

His simplicity and humility was impressive. He kept going about in a T-shirt, and interacted freely with everyone he met. 

Many young Nigerians can learn from his example: the way some people whose biggest possession is a laptop sometimes carry their shoulders in the sky, if they were to be half of what Zuckerberg is, they won’t just claim that they are voltrons or overlords, they will look for more intimidating labels. But Mark Zuckerberg, who is just 32, shows that it is not all about money, or influence, character matters. There is no doubt that his hosts were also impressed with him. 

And that probably explains the protest that greeted the attempt by CNN International and American artiste, Tyrese Gibson, to refer to the visit as Zuckerberg’s visit to sub-Saharan Africa. Young Nigerians kept shouting back that Zuckerberg is in Nigeria, not sub-Saharan Africa! They wanted the publicity for their country. 

Inspired by Zuckerberg’s visit as the tech entrepreneurs in Nigeria’s Silicon Valley may have been, the Nigerian government should see in the visit, and the excitement that it has generated, the need to provide greater support for technological innovation in the country. There are many young Nigerians out there who are gifted, hardworking and innovative. They belong to the 21st Century. They are aggressive. They want to operate at the international level and become superstars. They have ideas. They are ready and willing. 

The basic thing that government owes them is to provide an enabling environment for their talents to flower. It has taken a few young men and ladies to bring Mark Zuckerberg to Nigeria. There are other young Nigerians doing wonderful things in other sectors of the economy who can save this country if they are given the chance. There is also a large army of untapped and yet-to-be-discovered talents, whose future we cannot afford to waste. Investment in education will help. Uncommon sense will make things happen. 

Zuckerberg’s visit also did a lot for Nollywood. He described Nollywood as “a national treasure”. That statement should be framed and sent to every major agency in the private and public sectors in Nigeria. He may not yet have invested in Nollywood, but there was no doubt that the members of Nollywood and other celebrities who met with him appreciated their being recognized by one of the most successful young men of the 21st century. 

I watch Nollywood movies, but I don’t think I have ever seen those Nollywood stars who met with Zuckerberg smile that heartily and broadly - not even in the movies. The ones who did not bare their 32, were staring at the Facebook ambassador in that typical Nigerian fashion: “ah, see money, Mark, abi make I send you script make you sponsor?” 

The way the visit went, if Mark Zuckerberg had wanted a Nigerian wife, or girlfriend, he would have been met at every turn with echoes of “Yes, Yes, Yes…come and hold something.” But he is already married. So, don’t worry, Priscilla Chan (Mark’s wife), your husband is safe, Nigerian ladies will only admire him, they don’t mean any harm, and they won’t initiate him into coded runs.  But of course you trust him - you know he is not Justin Bieber. 

But money is good oh. After money, it is money. Ha, Ori lonise, eda ko la’ropin o, Edumare funmi ni money… 

Altogether, it was a great business outing for Zuckerberg and Facebook. 

Over 16 million Nigerians are on Facebook, it is the largest and most influential social media platform in the country; on a daily basis, over 7 million Nigerians log onto the website. Many more are on whatsapp, another Facebook acquired platform. With Zuckerberg’s visit, that number is bound to grow.  The strategic friendships and partnerships that he has been able to build is a demonstration of power and influence: Facebook is on the ground in Nigeria, the most populous country in Africa, and he has taken that further by visiting Kenya - look beyond the T-shirt, this young American billionaire is building constituencies and spheres of influence across Africa; he is exploring new markets and staying ahead of the competition in a continent that many other investors may overlook, or desert for reasons of inconvenience. 

As a business strategy, Mark Zuckerberg’s exploration of the African market is brilliant. It may be the subject someday of a Management, Leadership and Marketing Class. Businesses must innovate, innovate and innovate and the best way to do that is through people.  Nigerian entrepreneurs have a lot to learn in this regard: the mindset of the business leader is the soul of strategy. There are too many thermostatic leaders in the Nigerian business environment, and that is why at the slightest confrontation with hard choices, they close shop and run. 

Here is Mark Zuckerberg, in the face of proven recession, he wants to support start-ups and SMEs in Nigeria; at a time others are fleeing, he is coming into Nigeria and Africa. He is smart. Wicked problems in a business environment should inspire genius, change and innovation. That is what leadership is all about. 

Beyond business and culture, there was a small political side to the Zuckerberg visit. The Facebook CEO had said Facebook will promote the use of Hausa Language, some reports indicated he had said he loves Hausa language, and then a storm followed, resulting in a hot, healthy spat between two friends, colleagues and brothers of mine, Femi Fani-Kayode (@realFFK) and Reno Omokri (@renoomokri), with one claiming that Americans are promoting Northern hegemony (John Kerry, now Zuckerberg and Facebook), and the other saying it is not a big deal, and in the exchange, we got some lectures about Nigeria’s ethnic and hegemonic politics. 

On Wednesday at a town hall meeting, Zuckerberg more or less edited himself by saying “I am glad we support Hausa, and we are planning on supporting more languages soon.” He didn’t specify what those other languages are. I hope he knows Nigeria has over 400 languages and ethnic groups, and they all form part of the Nigerian Facebook community. He should tread carefully here, because I am not too sure Facebook can adopt Yoruba language before Igbo, or vice versa, without a social media war on its hands, and if Facebook chooses to accommodate the three major languages in Nigeria, it could be confronted with a major battle over minority rights on its platform. We are like that in this country, Mark. 

But the difference is that Mark Zuckerberg is not a politician, he has voted only once (in 2008) and he doesn’t make political statements, except when business interests are at stake. Eyin boys, FFK and Reno, Zuckerberg doesn’t really care about the local fights we fight: he wants to create new markets and if promoting Hausa on Facebook will create more customers in that part of Nigeria, so be it. And in case religion is part of that politics, it doesn’t concern him either, he was born Jewish, but he is a self-declared atheist. 

If he worships any religion, it is the religion of Facebook. In Nigeria, he has Igbos, Yorubas and other Nigerians working for him. 

He is interested in their intellect not where they come from.  One more thing: The Nigerian government snubbed him or did he snub our government? When he got to Kenya, he was received at the airport by the Cabinet Secretary of Information and Communications and later given a delicious lunch of fish, semo and soup no Nigerian government official offered him common sachet water and yet he was here to create jobs and markets! We shouldn’t frighten him away with our politics! 

The good news, though, is that he is a humanist even if a secular humanist: End of story. Thank you Marky, for the visit and for giving us a good story to tell. 

BY REUBEN ABATI

Dont tell me you scrolled down to check for his name?Na wah

87 comments:

1. I scrolled down to check o. I didn't bother reading.

Am out. Might read at night

1. Hahahahaha!!! I did same too. Too long Abeg.

2. I read this thinking a BV sent it in, telling myself who says BVs are not intelligent seriously hoping it was a female BV that sent this write up to Stella lo and behold Reuben Abati. I comment my reserve lol.

3. I read this thinking a BV sent it in, telling myself who says BVs are not intelligent seriously hoping it was a female BV that sent this write up to Stella lo and behold Reuben Abati. I comment my reserve lol.

4. Well, you missed. Don't understand why most Nigerians find it hard to read articles. If na WNB now....

5. Abati is a scum. When he had the ears of a sitting president, what did he advice him to do for the youths?

6. I scrolled down and jumped over it biko. Ruben should start paying us to read his rubbish.

7. Reuben abati as usual
      By their epistle u shall know them!

8. Nice one Rueben Abati. I actually read this to the end. Best engaging piece you have ever written !

9. Reno Omokri and this town crier Abati should just bury their heads in shame. Mark Zuckerberg is in Nigeria.

10. Lmao! I did the same. Stellaaaaaaa 😄

11. Lol I didn't finish before scrolling down to check his name.

2. Who read it all?
    I knw i didn't.

1. Auntie I, auntie I.

It's an interesting piece. You should read it.

2. I did. Lol. Interesting read.

3. I did, and it made serious sense all the way.

1. When I started reading I knew instantly Dat it's Reuben..when I read half way I had to pause and scroll down to confirm if it's actually Mr "Akpati"...
      It was d caption and topic dat compelled me to read his writeup for d first time..Hehehehehehe!

2. 😂😂😂😂😂😂@Akpati

1. Vital points there papi abati, what the government ought to give interest to they wouldn't but am glad my Nigerian people welcomed him in their own way. I pray more investors come trolling our nation soonest

5. Cha!!!!
    Stella you got me aswear
    I stopped halfway to check if it was him..
    Ehen,Stella what's with ETCETERA
    No more articles from him?
    Warrapund?

6. This comment has been removed by the author.

7. The first thing I did was scrool down to check for Reuben's name. Stella got me!

8. well put!!!!thank you Sir

9. Lol.........Yes I did! I had to scroll down to check his name.

Nice one though!

10. 1st time I read Reuben's epistle to the end and I support him on this. Nigerians and politics, it's not just so fair. It is well.

1. Nigerians and politics? Did they play politics with Marks's visit? OK make I scroll up and finish reading bcos I am not understanding.

11. I did oo....I strolled down first and quietly fled the post......

12. Lol. Reuben as usual. I got tired of reading his usual lengthy speech. Enough of Mark Zuckerberg jare.

13. Earlier today, I told the Berkin
    hand bag woman to learn to be humble. Mark Zuckerberg that is more than a billion times richer than her does not flaunt his wealth all over the place or brag unnecessarily.

1. What is dis one saying? Is it ur flaunting? Everybody's lifestyle cannot be d same..Some are introverts while some are exteoverts..U can't force ur character or attitude on another..I love it when people flaunt their God given possession..I hate private people..dey come off as boring and strange people..But u won't see me criticising dem..Its their lifestyle..So deal with urs while extroverts and "flaunters" deal with theirs..stop being bitter..mind ur business!!

2. Chai e do oh? Pray so you can at least buy Michael kors! Na wah.

3. You are just plain folish..

Try and learn that there is something called "different strokes for different folks"

4. Jolosy,is it ur flaunting? U that is hiding under anonymous. If u ve got flaunt it, but if u choose not to flaunt it's ur choice. Everybody is not the same. after all Zuckerberg doesn't hide and express his opinion.

5. MMM ,anon 11:12 and crownwonder.pls shut up your dirty mouths and stop talking rubbish. Senseless peeps . Mark Zuckerberg is worth $54B. And you do not see him bragging and boasting about anything. But this woman that is not worth up to 1/1Billion of him will always brag and show off anything she gets as if she Is among the richest people in world.

6. Abeg she can never be mmm she is mmw the slut, prostitute ashawo rotten smelly old pussy a born throwaway, a wasted sperm even her husband Don tire for the goat.

14. Abati the batty boy lol, make ona leave Ghana jollof rice alone lol

15. It must definitely be Reuben Abati. ..Stella why u cn hide his name like that...hahahaha

16. lol I don dey enjoy the write up, the moment I saw ' money is good oh money is good" I just knew it must be Reuben .the guy is making sense sha

17. I scrolled down to check the name before reading and actually Abati made a lot of sense. Those old cargos wey full govt house should just retire and pave way for industrious youths to take over and move Nigeria to a higher level. There are over qualified youths out there.

18. I enjoyed this piece and I read it from start to finish.
    Nigerian government don't even know when to have shame.

19. Stella lolzz... who wouldn't?

Who get fuel to read this long thing.

20. What would he be doing with the Nigerian government?
    He came to interact with the youths, not with our old leaders.

Our ICT minister that is over 60, can he operate a computer?

I mean, he met and had lunch with Kenya's ICT minister who is in his early forties. Isn't that saying something?

Meanwhile, who said he didn't come with security? Hehehe! Were they supposed to wear their uniforms here?

I wouldn't be surprised if drones were hovering overhead during his visit, America no wan hear stories o...lmao!

21. Mark came to Nigeria to listen and steal ideas from our youth. The ideas he needs to grow and expand his business.
    Meeting with government officials means he will talk and share ideas; but he didn't come to give knowledge, he only came to steal knowledge. A good business man only asks questions and listen.

22. Mark came to Nigeria to listen and steal ideas from our youth. The ideas he needs to grow and expand his business.
    Meeting with government officials means he will talk and share ideas; but he didn't come to give knowledge, he only came to steal knowledge. A good business man only asks questions and listen.

1. crouching Tigress2 September 2016 at 11:03

Spot on.

2. Killjoy..daz what u are..Steal what nonsense idea? Was it nigeria's idea Dat he used to discover Facebook? Where was our so called idea when other countries were discovering and manufacturing world class things? U mean our amala and ewedu idea? Who e epp? Abeg pack well..I dunno why some of u alway see bad in good..u frustrated and poverty stricken people always have something negative to say..U need Jesus!

3. You need deliverance madam Funmi. U gat trust issues. Help yourself with battle field of the mind by joyce meyer. #Mcheeew!

4. Before you spew trash like a train gathering steam. Get some knowledge. The Facebook concept wasn't Marks original idea, he stole it from friends.
      Asianire, battle field of the mind, I think you need it more. Alakori oshi.

5. Funmi , you get idea?

23. I just had a feeling it was written by a mischievous person and there he goes Abati!

Mother Nature.

24. Lol...I scrolled down to check who wrote it

25. If Mark Zuckerberg invests in Nigerian movies scripts, it doesn't matter.

26. He came to meet/interact with our youths not our grand Papas. Mark has given us something to remember...

Nice one

27. I love this write up. it's good to be very humble.

28. I just wish I can know this abati one on one, he should be my mentor, he have so much to give out anytime anyday and anywia! #teamabati

Krix via iPhone 6s Gold

29. Honestly i did. So you know this too Stella! lol

30. Reuben, nice article. Next time can You keep it long enough to cover the important things, and short enough to leave us wanting more?

31. Hahaha, I bet most BVs' scrolled down like me.

32. Cant you just write a short article 😧😧 must it be a 25page essay😐

33. Chai! Must it be this lengthy? Had to scroll down after spending 15 mins on one article. I guessed right. Abeg whoever finished it should send a summary.

34. Nigeria celebrities did not allow him breath meanwhile Kenya has already started showing him the scientific technologies and how well it can improve Facebook all Nigerians did was to take photos with Mark even that silly thwart that said he wants to visit all his five thousand friend on Facebook had the guts to email Mark oh well,Mark was nice enough to respond to his email I weep for Nigeria youth because majority of them do not know their aim in live yet they call us giant of Africa smh.

35. I did scroll down too,and I quess right.

36. After the first 6 lines, I had to scrolled down cos I suspected it was Ruben trying to hijack my time.
    Moving on, please if you read through, summarize for us biko

37. After the first 6 lines, I had to scrolled down cos I suspected it was Ruben trying to hijack my time.
    Moving on, please if you read through, summarize for us biko

38. Lol, I did not scroll down to check on his name. At 2nd sentence I knew it was uncle Reuben. I always enjoy reading his and analysis of a situation. I may not agree with very little his opinions, but I'm a fan of his. I always learn something from him.

People please read! Read to tick your brain into thinking. Don't only read gossips. Especially the young ones on this blog, expand your horizon, Nigeria is not the world, read and research. For example uncle Reuben mentioned some start-up companies that Zuckerberg will invest in,... ANDELA.What is ANDELA ? Find out. He met with the guys behind C-Creation Hub(CcHub) & JOBBERMAN, Google these to find out what they are doing, who are those behind it, search for their profiles, how they got started, what motivated them? Etc. You'll gather some knowledge and be inspired.

But hélas, most would complain...oh it's too long to read. Reuben Abati should goan sit down. Who Reuben epp ? Well oh ye mustard seed size minds. How Nigeria go fit change with thus kind of mentality ?

39. What a very beautiful write up.

40. Abeg it's too long shuoo... All this long write up na he visit to nigeria? Abeg

Wait for the original comment!!!

41. Stella, Nigerians are getting it wrong. Mark Zuckerberg was secured with the power of technology. He had five drones(that will shoot/snip anybody that tries to mess with him) watching his every step in Nigeria. His body was filled with trackers to track all his movement. It is not by securing your selves with body or armed security guards . So Nigerians/Africans should stop all this memes about him not going about with security guard, it just shows their level of ignorance.

42. Stella, Nigerians are getting it wrong. Mark Zuckerberg was secured with the power of technology. He had five drones(that will shoot/snip anybody that tries to mess with him) watching his every step in Nigeria. His body was filled with trackers to track all his movement. It is not by securing your selves with body or armed security guards . So Nigerians/Africans should stop all this memes about him not going about with security guard, it just shows their level of ignorance.

43. Hahaha. ... Stella! ! I scrolled down o.now I know, let me get back up to read.

44. I wanted to scroll down halfway into it to check who wrote it. hahaha.... I just decided to finish first. Nice article. I agree wholeheartedly

45. Though I scrolled down to confirm the author, I really enjoyed reading it. Good work Mr Abati.