Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: MTN May Have Sacked Some Of It's Ambassadors Because Of The Underlined Reasons..

Sunday, September 04, 2016

MTN May Have Sacked Some Of It's Ambassadors Because Of The Underlined Reasons..

There was a big buzz on Thursday when top telecommunications company MTN announced that he would be retaining the services of some artistes as brand ambassadors, while disengaging some for the year 2016/2017. 

The big names that had their contracts suspended include MAVIN’s big boss, Don Jazzy, his First Lady, Tiwa Savage and Omo Baba Olowo, Davido.

Though the company declined giving any reason why some were sacked while others were retained, industry watchers and Potpourri in particular believes their decision might have been influenced by scandals some artistes got themselves embroiled in the past months.
-
For Tiwa Savage, her getting axed may not be unconnected with the crashed marriage and infidelity involving her and ex husband, Tee Billz. Though Tiwa eventually warmed her way into the hearts of her fans by proving to be an angel in that union but it appears MTN didn’t find it amusing. -
Davido was never looking like he would be a pricy item this year, not after the brouhaha with his Baby mama, Sofia Momodu, and the resultant face-off with the uncle, Ovation magazine publisher, Dele Momodu. The Dubai child trafficking allegation didn’t help matters either – At least, MTN could have thought so too.
_
On Don Jazzy’s part, his spat with Olamide at the Headies might have been bigger than we thought. Though it was a beef started by Olamide, but Don Jazzy’s conduct after the showdown could have embarassed the Y’ello people.

However, MTN’s General Manager, Consumer Marketing, Richard Iweanoge explained why they are keeping past winners of their Project Fame reality music TV show, which include Inyanya, Chidinma and Praiz, saying  “MTN is particularly proud of these musicians because we not only gave them the platform to express their talent through Project FAME, we have consistently supported them over the years by making them our ambassadors. We are proud to have been able to contribute to some of Nigeria’s biggest music acts.” 

Beyond the Project Fame alumni, Iweanoge also said that in order to nurture other artistes so that they too could attain greater heights, MTN would still retain the services of some of its newly-signed brand ambassadors like Falz, Skales and Tekno who are the faces of its youth segment proposition – MTN Pulse. He added that there will be a renewed focus on building MTN’s digital platforms.

Vanguard reportage.

57 comments:

1. My ppl I really need help on how to go about confronting hubby who I jst discovered may have fathered another baby outside our marriage. The call & text came in while I was using his phone dis morning. I plan talkin to him about it tonight at bedtime but I honestly do not know how to go about it. Can't wait till chronicle time pls.

2. Mtcheeew, at least now they will learn to cage in their matters.

3. One of their corel value is integrity. .. trading with those individuals contradict their corel value.to me is a guienue reason.so our celebrity should watch their backs and know that they are ambassadors to most gaint companies, they can't be eaten free money that we work hard for,and at the same time getaway with some stupid behaviour they display on daily bases.

4. Anon 18:08 ask the Holy Spirit to direct you

5. I think wat dis company did 2 dem is beta, so dey will change

6. Anonymous 18:08. If the message you stumbled on clearly indicates that he has another child outside your marriage, then u may proceed to query him. But if it isn't a clear msg and u are just assuming, or u decoded wrongly, please relax and investigate well before u cause a friction in ur home o. Just saying.

2. Self - Control is the key. When you miss manage an opportunity.... This is what you get.

3. Nice move MTN! Whether una gree or not we know it has to do with d scandals. About time rich & famous Nigerians know that their actions could have negative consequences. Like that swimmer that misbehaved in Rio.

4. Very typical of corporate brands... They don't want their ambassadors to be associated with any negative publicity... It's like that with global brands... It's a good thing it has been adopted here, so that celebrities can check their lifestyles as they also role models to upcoming youths... especially Davido, insulting his Father's mate

5. Abeggggggiiiii
    Na cos of recession
    As for Don, he's scandal free na, was it that play play fight with Olamide that caused it
    Mchewwwwwwww

1. I think this might be MTN coming back to defend the fact that they might be going broke and can't pay the Big Stars big cash anymore! Just sayin...

2. U r simple n daft as usual.

3. Gbam!!! They are cutting down cost...

4. @ anno 18'22
      Thank you
      Please next time. Comment with your ID

6. Whatever..... it's buharitime so everybody got to cut costs

7. Better, the mama's and papa's should swerve, let younger artists chop money too

8. Don jazzy if you want the endorsement koman take it.

9. Looking at the ones they kept, they are controversial free and easier to manage. Others have plenty baggage following them. Seems most of them forgot they were ambassadors.

10. Of course, their personal lives good or bad will affect their ambassadorial positions. It ain't rocket science. Although the companies won't admit it.

1. My barri-star! Thank you for the birthday wishes.

2. Talking about scandals, I think Don Jazzy has been scandal free. Dude has tried jare. Davido has been very naughty whilst Tiwa, hmmmm.

3. My shan-tellyyyyyy baby, I sight u boo. Trust u enjoyed yourself to the max. Lol.

Whirlwind, you know this. That small thing with Olamide just come spoil market for Jazzy. That is why it's always good to think twice before speaking in public or social media. As it may be too late to retract. Esp if u are a celebrity.

As for Tiwa, errrr her own matter was super heavy. Davido na silly boy. Lol

11. Lies!...
    I don't believe this rubbish...Guess they are so broke to renew their contracts with these people...
    Hmmm...
    Someone saw Tiwa and Tblizz all loved up recently...
    Tiwa is just a disgrace!...someone that insulted your mom publicly!...
    Tueh!...

1. Queen,my pelzin!
      Thank you too!

Btw,tiwa is in rofffffffff!
      Shebi they say it is blind? Oh well

2. That someone appears to be the only one that saw them! Learn not to comment on rumours.Lt would do you a lot of good.

3. Both of you sound super retarded.

12. Nigerians stopeeeet!
    I keep seeing iNyaNya in lots of write up. It's no longer a joking 'sturv'. Stop spoiling my boyfhren's name mbok!
    His name is Iyanya not inyanya. Wtf??
    Make it stop!

To the others,congrats.

13. I never knew don jazzy was an mtn ambassador. Is he still with loyal milk?

1. Shantelle olodo. Buy generator and Watch television mbok.

2. Hahahahaha.
      Anonymous put some respect on my name.

14. Big lie.MTN that have been sacking staff upandan.How much more these ones they are paying millions.Liars

15. Congrats to the new ambassadors

16. Tiwa and Tblizz, two dope figs and crack heads. She can't leave because she on that white shitt. She's a crackhead bitch

17. I don't believe any of this, as for me I think it is just to cut cost.

18. Na recession cause am.

19. Dear Anon 18:08,
    He's your husband, the day you got married you accepted him flaws and all. The possibility that he has a child should be discussed openly,let him know you support him but you need him to be totally honest and open with you. ild like to believe it was before you guys got married,if it wasn't still talk to him,confront him,its your future at stake. I wish you luck.

1. It's a new baby that was born today.

20. It shall be well with you madam, please relax and let God guide you on the way forward. Ask him gently and accept the inevitable. May God comfort you.

21. Yes as an ambassador u must conduct yourself in a good way. Kudos to mtn. Glo show take note. We need role models to occupy those sports not people like olamide using Vulga languages