Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Nigerian Doctor Who Asked Patient 'Do You Like Big Ones Or Small Ones?' Loses Licence For 6 Months

Tuesday, September 27, 2016

Nigerian Doctor Who Asked Patient 'Do You Like Big Ones Or Small Ones?' Loses Licence For 6 Months

A tribunal has found Dr. Adekunle Williams Owolabi guilty of all four professional misconduct complaints lodged against him and suspended his licence to practise for six months.

The decision was given Monday in St. John's, at the professional misconduct hearing against Owolabi conducted by a tribunal panel established by the College of Physicians and Surgeons of Newfoundland and Labrador.
At an earlier hearing, Labrador teacher Arlene Johnson testified that when she visited Owolabi for a pelvic exam he made comments that she believed were sexual.
She also said that after the test, he hugged her and whispered in 

her ear: "You have a beautiful c--t, does your husband tell you that?"
Another complainant testified that during a pelvic examination, Owolabi asked, "Do you like big ones or small ones?" 

She said Owolabi made the comments while she was pregnant, undressed from the waist down, and had her feet in stirrups. There were two female secretaries in the room at the time, she said.

Ordered to pay $75K
The tribunal said Owolabi's inappropriate comments and touching of patients showed a lack of respect for the dignity and privacy of patients, which it determined constituted professional misconduct deserving sanction.
Owolabi was given a six-month suspension of his medical licence. The tribunal ordered that he have a chaperone present when he sees female patients for two years after returning to practise.

In addition, he must take a training course about respecting patients and was ordered to pay $75,000 towards the costs of holding a hearing.
After the hearing Owolabi's lawyer Paul Stokes said they are "disappointed with the decision."

Owolabi has 30 days to appeal the decision in court, but Stokes said he and his client haven't decided if they will appeal the decision.

'Pattern of behaviour'
Four former patients of Owolabi lodged the charges of professional misconduct, who testified before the tribunal that his actions ranged from making sexual comments, to inappropriate touching and kissing at his clinic in Labrador West.

In their submission regarding sanctions, lawyers for the province's College of Physicians and Surgeons called for an eight-month suspension, as well as a two-year requirement for a chaperone when seeing female patients and a course on understanding boundaries.

The college's lawyer said there is "perhaps a pattern of behaviour," and called for a formal reprimand.
Stokes said his client's not guilty plea shouldn't make his sanction greater than a guilty plea. Stokes said the suspension and chaperone request are excessive.
He added he believed a three to six-month suspension is appropriate.

The college's lawyers asked that Dr. Owolabi be ordered to pay $100,000 for legal fees, while his lawyer suggested he should pay $55,000.
Owolabi is a foreign-trained physician. He graduated from medical school in Nigeria and was licenced to practice in Newfoundland and Labrador.

culled: cbc.ca

85 comments:

1. Do you like big or small what biko?

1. This will trend aswear, with the T-shirt and emojis everywhere soon, trust Nigerians.
      Owolabi your village pple ain't sleeping @ all, becos with your qualifications and person, you can buy yourself a beautiful and decent woman let alone in this time of economy recession, them don do you since, but na now d level manifest. Epele ohhh.
      Do you like big or small ones? @ideato and steph.
      Lol...

2. Kwakwakwa @ do you like big ones or small ones?

3. No village people here. Many of these doctors are lecherous pervs. He deserves what he's getting. How can a gynae show such sexual attachment to his job? Heard reports of doctors, dentists and even doctors performing abortions leering on the job. It's disgusting

2. Inukwa u have a beautiful cunt and does ur hubby tell u that?

Pervert!

3. Highly unprofessional, but for reals, some naija doctors say worse things

4. lobish men everywhere miss hottie

5. See his face like face me i slap you.

Oga dokita change starts with you. Oya be singing it next time, you dont talk rubbish to your patients who are passing through stress

6. Owolabi d Yoruba demon, I need to answer your question on this platform, I like BIG ONES lol.. Abeg Yoruba peeps don't come after me o, I love u all but just having fun lol

1. You are a big tribalistic fool. Do you remember your own kinsman doctor in the US who was slept with snakes. Ode

2. Anonymous ur father nd mother are fools nd I stated I was joking, I grew up in Lagos nd I love Yoruba people nd I can marry them, u are cursed nd it will never be well with u, fool

3. Jenny zee.. Since you know the sensitivity if such comment, why do it, even though you were joking about it?

Pervs are everywhere! I've Ibo friends too and I can marry an Ibo girl. Let's all exercise caution and show respect. Nwatago?

7. Al these gynecologists. I was sexually assaulted by our family doctor once and I didn't know it was wrong till many years later. Naive me I thought it was a normal examination. This happened when I was 24, a virgin and at the university. He was so fascinated that I was a virgin at that age he asked "how did u manage to keep your virginity, don't those university boys disturb u?" I can't remember why I went to the hospital but I'm pretty sure it had nothing to do with my vagina. He sent me for a stupid test and read the result to mean I have low sensitivity...troubling experience, I will take it to my grave.

1. Same happened to me too, then i was 20 and a virgin, i had malaria my mum took me to the hospital doctor took me inside asked me off my pant inserted his finger and told me am a virgin that i should keep it up and said i should invite him during my wedding,

2. Wetin concern malaria n vagina. notin i wi nt hear biko.

8. Pervert of a doctor.
    Hes lucky he got only six months suspension.
    Ds useless doc needs to feel devil beans treatment so he wnt try dt eva again.

9. Another Dr. Onum.!!!

10. Coman hear what these docs say to patients esp. ob/gyns and what's more, the patients most time relish the lewd comments. serves him right sef, bloody ofe mmanu

1. Afo anu Onyx what was the Ofe mmadu bit about?
      Ima kwa ife?

11. Huh!!!

That's gross. He deserved the sentence. What if he has drugged and raped some women *Jeez*

12. See his Ogbomosho tribal marks sef like sey e fight with cat. Silly man. This type will find their way back to Naija and be forming returnee nwuru anwu.

13. Replies
    1. Lol @Yoruba demon in the diaspora

14. For a minute there, I thought this was Naija!!

I was like, wow! Women are no longer uneasy about testifying against molesters and cops don't shame us into withdrawing into our shell anymore.

Until I woke up.
    Nice one. I feel this man is a budding pervert though, they hardly repent.. Release him now and few years down the line he MIGHT be caught with his Amu stuck into a corpse.
    Na like this e dey start.

Do you like it big or small😳😳😳😳
    Pregnant woman? Tueh!

1. Hahhahahaha @ his something stuck in a corpse.
      Yuck!

15. Dokinta onye aruruala!!!! Tufiakwa GI
    So he became a dokinta just so he can be looking ikpu umu nwanyi okwa ya. Chukwu kpoo gi oku there kwakwakwa

16. What a pervert. I thought doctors were supposed to know where to draw the line. How inappropriate. Agbaya

17. He probably thought he was where 'anything goes'.

18. See this idiot giving our noble profession a bad name.
    Nways i ain't surprised,is it not obs&gynae again? 70% of the men are like that
    Back then in sch,whilst preparing for my 4thmbbs i always knew I was gona pass o&g for this same reason...dem no they use eyes see fine girl.
    Well...it was all fun back then but now,its appalling for the men to tarnish d name of such specialty habaaa
    It's always them in the news.
    Abeg a 6months suspension is too little a time...2years would have been better

19. Good for him, he thinks he's in Nigeria. That's how I went to see a surgeon for consultation and he was talking about my ass and boobs, asking me if i'm having sex,if I have a boyfriend. I hated him instantly.

20. I still remember vividly during my operation, a doctor's hand was on my left breast throughout the process; when I was fully conscious, I told my aunt who lodged a complaint then, the hospital refused to provide the doctor but apologizedp profusely.

21. Ndi ofe mmanu.... Tufiakwa for all these demons

22. I asked a great man "can a woman make you a millionaire?
    He responded "yes, if you were already a billionaire"

23. Just negodu. What lust of the flesh have cost him.

24. Dr.levi ifeanyi in abuja, it will soon be ur turn as u no de fit control ur sex drive.

1. But u have been sleeping with him na

25. Princess Scheherazade27 September 2016 at 18:14

"She said Owolabi made the comments while she was pregnant, undressed from the waist down, and had her feet in stirrups. There were two female secretaries in the room at the time, she said."

You mean he made that comment in front of witnesses, females at that?
    SMH. The person when do this man don die, no remedy again.

1. Damn, dat was funny @ d ppl wey do dis man... cnt stop lafin

26. Village people has started

27. This is dat happens when ones call is to be agriculturist but is forced to be a medical doctor.they should withdraw the license since he is already acting like a dog living in Labrador.

28. Oloshi le le i.Dem follow am from Africa!

29. I guess a leopard never losses its spot.
    A pig will always be a pig no matter how thoroughly washed.
    See how he disgraced himself over a piece of ass.

30. Stupid man. That's why it's strongly disliked in Islam that a male doctor attends to a female patient. What effrontery! Mchewww.

1. A lot of sense in that.The laws are in tune with anytime t.

2. There are no lesbian doctors?

31. Owolabi, so your village witches don follow u go yanki? Say no to sexual harassment. U don go see Oyibo girls yash and your brain come no come de booth well again.

1. He got a fair punishment considering what he did. He'd better not appeal anything. Pervert

32. Hmmm. Nigerians must always show themselves.

33. This is igbaja mefa. Kai i will not forget my primary school days. All these ibadan marks, in school they will just call you igbaja mefa or merin. the man looks like our late sargert Tomori. The guy passed away 10 years ago with his marks like this dokita.

34. Please I need someone to teach me on how to make up for myself on small amount I stay in east London Hackney precisely.pleeas drop ur detail under my comment thanks

1. I know someone that can help you bit Stella "wee" not post it oh.

35. Doc,you deserve the reprimand.The verdict is even light.Will serve as deterrent to medics of his ilk whose conducts are at variance with the Hippocratic oath they swore to uphold.

36. Nawaoooo...devil has possessed him. He is doomed.

37. Wetin lustful eyes don cause 4 ds 1 again

38. That's how they will be disgracing our race upandan, I wouldn't be much pained if he doesn't have those tribal marks sef, he would be mistaken for Senegalese or something but those marks are meant for honorable ones in Nigeria. Serial flirt dokita

MrsBee

1. Hahahahaha honourable ones ke

2. Yeah back in the days not anymore. This guy looks aged and I want to believe he's from those years

MrsBee

39. Lol! @do you like it big or small? not surprised because most male gynes I know are womanizers.

40. Owala.
    Good for him. He thinks he's still in Nigeria.
    Foolish Ashana

41. Na from clap dem dey enter dance...... next thing you know, he'll be drugging patients and raping them. Oni iranu oshi..... they should have suspended him for longer.

42. Yeye man.
    Don't you have a wife @ home?????
    SMH.

1. They say variety is the spice of life dude get Edikainnkog for house commot outside dey find chin chin!

43. Baaaaaaaassssssssssstttttttttttttttaaaaaaaaaaaaarrrrrrrrdddddddd!

44. I dey vex for Naija ladies28 September 2016 at 10:06

I like the doctors guts jor. Playful man trying to spice up thier boring life.

45. I once believed that with the way male doctors see different types of female anatomy during delivery, pelvic and yeast examination, they will be de-sensitized! But I am surprised that they are womanizers! I don't blame some countries who only allow female doctors to examine down there or take deliveries, but, when it comes to critical situations, who cares about the sex of the doctor? He lacks professionalism! IDIOT!