Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Obasanjo Blames Jonathan For Recession

Wednesday, September 28, 2016

Obasanjo Blames Jonathan For Recession

Former President Olusegun Obasanjo yesterday took a swipe at the administration of President Goodluck Jonathan, declaring that his advice on the prevailing economic crisis was ignored two years ago.

Obasanjo also blamed Jonathan for lifting the ban on importation of products like toothpick, which he said could have been taken over by local industries without encumbrances.

At the official opening of the National Council on Finance and Economic Development (NACOFED) in Abeokuta yesterday, Obasanjo said the only way Nigeria could urgently step out of the current economic recession is for it to seek foreign loan.

Obasanjo, who was the Father of the Day at the opening session, said he had warned the former President on the impending recession in November 26, 2014 When he joined others to celebrate the birthday of retired Justice Akanbi.

“I reminded the government that we were spending more than we were earning. that very soon, the country would not be able to fund the budget… 

Unfortunately, the government then refused to listen to my advice,” he told the gathering.
Obasanjo shocked the gathering when he recalled how it was discovered that the ban on the importation of toothpick was reversed by the Jonathan administration, saying he had visited Jonathan in Abuja to ask why he lifted the ban on toothpick and Jonathan said he did not read before he approved.

Speaking further on the way out for Nigeria, Obasanjo said there were three options, explaining, “The three options are we have to spend less, we must endeavor to earn and then the last one is to borrow, and this if we must, we do it fast and now. “

He however cautioned against doing the bidding of the World Bank and International Monetary Fund (IMF).

Daily Trust

49 comments:

1. Obasanjo is no economist. He should go and sit down.

2. Who doesn't remember the several warnings OBJ issued to Jonathan while in office? Was it not Reuben Abati that was sidelining and insulting OBJ instead of treating the issue back then? If everyone else has forgotten, I remember very well oh

2. Gerrout. U also stole mad.. just u had hiding skills

3. Here we go again with the blame game.
    Can't this people just shut up for once and do the needful
    Even obj the thieving politician has something to say...wow!

4. Before?

Memo To Linda:

Remember this man,Pa Obasanjo is old enough to be everything to u. Father,Grandfather etc.

Thank you very much!

LMAO
    This report Wil Soo pain your ehn Hahahahahahahhaaha

1. The idiot queen and her co-travellers will conveniently miss the part where their foolish hero said he did not read before he approved.Though this apeman up here only chose Jonathan cos he needed inept successors that would make his administration look good n he succeeded in doing that

2. Why should it pain her? This obasanjo himself is a thief,even your 'saint buhari' is a bigger thief and if you think that he isnt amassing all the wealth that they didnt allow him to in 1985 then you my friend are a very slow learner

5. This man just spits bonkers from his mouth all the time. Why can't he just retire and die? These are the cankerworms that have devoured the structure of our very existence. Their doomsday looms!

6. Replies
    1. Jonathan really destroyed that country. How can you sign a law reversal without reading the document ... Na wa oh! Abuse of power

7. I am not a politician but somethings are obviously obvious. One of which is that this current economic status is not buharis fault. The question is how did we get here? Okonjo said it during gejs tenure that FG might not be able to pay salary and we all thought she was joking. All of our past leaders should be held responsible. Now they want to sell OUR assets😨ko ni ragba fun won. Why not start with their outrageous and wicked allowances and salaries?

1. ...all of our past leaders should be held responsible.. I hope you remember that vuharia was also a past leader

2. ...all of our past leaders should be held responsible.. I hope you remember that vuharia was also a past leader

3. Correct. It's pure laziness. They should remove their eyes from that oil asset and find another avenue to make money to revive the economy instead of looking for a cheap way out. It's not rocket science.

This is all because the northerners felt that they really didn't benefit in the last administration, so now, one of their own wants to buy our major asset as a leverage.

8. Baba shut up and stop blaming. What can you tell your second baba that dont know anything

9. This old fools are Nigeria's problem. This same old fool that wanted 3rd term.

10. Y' all keep blaming GEJ while God keeps blessing him.

11. Tales by Moonlight28 September 2016 at 09:37

All I see is importation of toothpick. Obasanjo vex well well, for this importation of toothpick. Make i ask, was it importation of toothpick that caused the recessions?
    Bia Baba, fo and sit down. Buhari don shock una with bad aura, now you are looking backwards. Therr is no explanation for bad energy. That man has to leave that seat for things to change. Buhari dey smell bad luck. No amount of perfume or blame game go cober this one. His hands are stained with blood, his odour crying blood, he and his family are cursed. Leave that seat or the seat go burn your nyash/life. Fly wey no hear word may not live to tell the story. Check Buharis history. Bad bad bad bad bad. Divine Intervention Father Lord. Have mercy on Nigerians innocent of all these bas odour!

12. I won't be surprised if he also blame Jonathan for the fact that he slept with his own son's wife without protection.

13. He did not read it before he approved. This right here was how Nigeria lost a whole lot of money to these crooks with the help of Okonjo Iweala. She's so confident when talking about receiving authorisation from the president because she was aware of the loop holes in getting him to sign. He was perpetually drunk, and this was when most fraudulent documents were brought to him for signing.

14. dis champanzne fool shld go n hide face in shame for he wz the one dt brought corruption in diz country wia the center can not hold anymore..............God bless gud luck jonathan for his mum towards his blamers.

15. cheap talk. They should let Jonathan be for goodness sake.

Nigerian politics. hian

when Jonathan was on seat you promised to make the seat too hot for him.
    When he still allowed you come in to rule yet you and your coons are still not satisfied.

I can't kwantinu

Hian !

16. Hohohoho...
    Wonders shall never end!,.
    So this gorilla has mouth to talk!...in a sane country,he is suppose to be in prison!..
    This is a case of pot calling kettle black!...

1. Hmmmm so with that pot n kettle comparison,is it safe to say u think your hero/god should be in jail too?
      Don't answer that,must get back to work

17. They should keep pointing fingers

18. Baba go and rest...you wan use style point finger so u won't be probed???
    Onye Ojooooo!

19. Love him or hate him, this man speaks the truth.

20. Baba the baba....They are coming for you. Lol

21. But he didn't do better during his tenure, both of them need to be in jail.

22. Ajala tan na?...tief blame robber! They are all d same.

23. So if others talk this wild gorilla will talk too?baba goril,plzz go and take several seats at ota

24. Obasanjo!!! Let me respect your old age sha!!!

25. He is also part of the problem. He needs to start from himself before pointing at another

26. Clueless people. Its because of no direction from this government that is causing the recession.

27. So the father of corruption is still ditching advice. If you don't shut that your gorilla mouth,thunder is coming for it

28. This man shud only be relevant in his Ota farm, most evil,cunning,two-faced person in d Nigeria political scene,trying to be by everyone on seats only for his own benefits. I bet if na Arab country one pesin Don voluntarily blown this chimp up. Nonsense!

29. Truth be told. Nigeria needs a full revamp. This problem we are facing has been a long time coming. Why do u think people are going to give birth abroad. They are securing a getaway plan for their kids. Deep down we know we are all bad and 90% of Nigerians will probably steal too and put their family members in favourable positions. We need a subject in school from primary till universities called ANTICORRUPTION cos even the minds of the young are getting polluted. What am I saying sef. All in all its gonna take nothing short of a miracle for Nigeria to become a sane country again without us going to war.

30. Obj is simply jealous of the fact that GEJ performed better than him!
    Can't they all see that we are no longer buying their lame excuses for being incompetent?
    1st is almost here again...who buhari epp?
    More "Chidos"are warming up....

31. #You need you more than you need them, trust me*

32. Wonder shall never end case of kettle calling pot black. Obj started money laundering in dis country dt man u see introduce high level of corruption in dis country when he is d military head of state b4 handing over to civilian rule. Read about him & his roles.

33. All of them want get power for jona body, abeg he should go and sit down.