Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Omugwo Chronicles - 48

Tuesday, September 06, 2016

Omugwo Chronicles - 48

MIL arrived for Omugwo and African Magic took over..LMAO!

Stellalicious ,I hail.
Omugwo stories here and there, what do Yoruba or Hausa's call it. I knew about the word "omugwo" from Africa magic.

To my own Tory, a month to my EDD, hubby's mama came. 3 days to EDD,My water broke but labour refused to start.  Next day, still no contraction. I was augmented but the labour did not progress well.my baby was already in distress so I had no option than to be sectioned.. 

Discharged 4days after the operation,got home and discovered my baby has colic( mothers with colicky kids can testify to the stress). My "little miss gorgeous" will cry from 10pm till 4am daily before she sleeps. You will have to carry her and be swinging,dancing and singing along to relieve her. 

Hubby's mama will pretend as if she doesn't know,when her room is directly beside ours and with the cry of the baby in a quiet environment.Hubby and I will take turns in swinging and dancing. Though she will come in once in a while and starts dozing off. His son will ask her to go and sleep.

First thing every morning,she has arranged where my baby will bath,not minding the weather(harmattan season). Hubby's mama will be on a neonate's bare body for more than 30mins singing,then another 30-40 mins creaming and dressing the baby. My mum came two days to the naming ceremony .

it was her first grandchild. It was later I discovered when my mum left after 10days that it is during the period of her stay Hubby's mama usually set the place to bath my girl first thing in the morning . this she stopped when my mum left.we will now be the one asking mama to bath the baby ,sometimes 11am.  My mum never had the opportunity of bathing her first grandchild. My baby wasn't Hubby's mama 1st ,2nd or even 5th grandchild so I wonder what the competition was about.

Food???? Till today ,she doesn't know where my salt is in the kitchen. She visits often. The highest she will do is to stand by the kitchen door and say what she wants. The week of my discharge, hubby and his younger brother took over the kitchen before my mum came.she will sit down watching Africa magic and not forgetting to praise you " well done" whenever you walk past her from the kitchen but never one day help out to even cut veggies. 

I missed my mum so much when she left. She had to leave early cos hubby's mama was showing some kinda hostility.

She finally left after 3months and my hubby had to tell her to stay behind for my mum to come around when I had my second child.

I won't end my story without saying the positive aspect of her stay. She can back a child from morning till night that we will have to beg her to lay the child down so that the child won't get used to backing when she leaves. I used that opportunity to shop and have some "me" time as I know fully well my adorable is at granny's back sleeping

*Na wah...Her behaviour would also depend on her age you know but being hostile towards your mum is a NO-NO.
I think that since omugwo is a personal thing that a womans mother should do it,especially with the massaging with hot water and sitting bum bum in hot water stuff.
What do i know sef.

42 comments:

1. I believe the Igbos have it right on this. The lady's mum have the first refusal right to the omugwo and this is way better, then the mum in law can come later. I am really praying for my mum to live long and be strong and come for my Omugwo. Nne'm nne'm o, Chukwu biko debe/gozie nne'm nye ya oganiru/ ogologo ndu/ aru isike

1. Not fair!

Please can anyone help me with any video camera he or she don't t use anymore or can sell a Dslr camera for 30k. I know it's not even close but that's all i can afford for now. I really need it to kick off my online project.

2. My mil came for mine cos mom is with the angels and she spoilt me silly. She has her own thingy too but her positive surpass them so I prefer her anytime anyday

2. I have the best MIL in the world, loves me like no man's bizness.

1. I don't CARE if my hubbys mum wants to come for omugwo, after all it's her son's house. but my mum MUST be there. I can't shout.

2. Like we share mil dear. Mine loves me like kilode.

3. very bad of mama. wats the competition about sef? for my place na the woman mama get Omugwo, its notcontestable except if she is indisposed or dead. my own omugwo, na my mama get am . no arguement even if i marry Yoruba man. when my mum don do go, then she go come. no time for rivalry

4. oh stella i regret not getting the lovely lady that offered mi a ride yesterday...d rain no b here!
    she was so nice,d ride was short and me was hurrying to the office,wish i could see her again though....

Am looking up to God fr a special favour..let his will be done....AMEN

ok lemme go read d post and go back to work,before oga boss catch me oo

5. At least you two didn't end up fighting.

6. My mother will be the one to come for my Omugwo irrespective of the tribe I marry from, if I have to press my husband's mumu botton to make it happen,Then so be it...

7. Thank God am Igbo and in our culture is your mom that does the omugwo. So no big deal

8. Seating in hot water is where i always get confused sha.

*hangs leg on the window*

9. " 3 days to EDD,My water broke but labour refused to start. Next day, still no contraction. I was augmented but the labour did not progress well.my baby was already in distress so I had no option than to be sectioned.."

Exactly how my labour went except my water broke around 3am & till 5pm the same day, I had no contractions, baby was in distress so i had to be sectioned. Was scared b4 but now I know better.

Omugwo chronicles of single mum should be sent in more often..

Anon mode activated.

10. Stella I am waiting for your own WNB, labour and Omugwo stories. Thanks

11. God continue to bless your home. This omugwo cchronicle just dey bore me these days, dunno why

12. Hausa's call it Wakan Jego

13. Sometimes these women are old n tired, strengths ain't the same. For me, nobody enters my kitchen, don't cook, I will do d cooking n serve you, I guess that's what my mil loved about me.

1. If you are sectioned, it might be pretty difficult depending on how fast you recuperate

14. Omugwo should be left for the wife's mother except she is not free at that time or she has passed away.

I hate competitions between 2 mothers. Anyway thank God for you.

15. I pray God gives me the strength to do my things my self. I'm not the kind of person that expects things from people. I won't even want my mum to come and stress her self during Omugwo. I'm like my Aunt, all her omugwos, you won't even know she had a baby, she will bathe her child, cus she gave birth in UK so she was taught what to do, will sill cook for everyone. She's so strong, i just pray for strength cus anyone that will come for My Omugwo will surely enjoy cus house work and cooking no be work for me at all. My sister used me to do house girl when i was in her house so i learnt the hard way.

16. @Courage Frank and Co. saying it's their mother that will do Omugwo no matter the tribe they marry from. You all had better pray you don't marry into a typical Yoruba family where it's your MIL that will come.

17. Na wao for some mother in-law, is the competition really necessary after all your daughter in-law is as well your own.

18. Am Yoruba and hubby is Yoruba but I did not invite MIL despite having a CS,though she branched on her way to another of her sons Omugwo,the time she spent with me was one of the worst times of my life,but I was never disrespectful even though it was tempted to til she left.she sometimes ask to help in the kitchen but I refused cos I no she just wanted to cook to her own taste and for her son,but what I did not expect was for her to expect mi to pack all her clothes Nd iron even though she was goin no where,and to b lied upon and much more.its been six years now and our relationship has not returned back to normal.my body is just refusing to gel with her.i just greet her and remain quiet

1. Aunty, you should have given us the full gist na, instead of just wetting our appetite like this!

2. No vex jare Aunty,abeg manage the half jist lik that,becos if I start ehnnnnn,I dnt know when I wld finish.....its jst something am trying to forget but can't.ciao

3. better like that jor. make she pack well

19. is not easy at all, why can't the men (fathers) start visiting during Omugwo?

20. I will be the happiest person if I have a MIL that can come for my omugwo as mum is always in a haste to go.

21. My Omugwu, my mum, I can't have It any other way be it a typical Yoruba family or not, it's not my biz.

22. Heavenly father, pls keep my mother o. I know how good she is when it comes to omugwo.

23. Poster,i can so relate with this your omungwo chronicle that's why I don't even want to send my own so it won't seem like i'm badmouthing my mil.

God bless your home.

24. To expectant mothers, my advise is don't expect your mother in law to do everything for you after birth. You learn to take charge even if you had a CS. It will make you even stronger and experienced. Be careful how you treat your MIL cause her son is watching you and he just might not like a bad attitude even if you are his missing ribs.
    I just see the writer of this as a lazy woman. Besides you said she carries the baby a lot which gives you time for your personal self so what else do u want her to do? If you can go shopping, why can't you also cook and clean the house? So because she is not your blood mother, she is now your househelp...people like you are the kind of wives that tear family siblings apart....rubbish.

25. I wonder why mothers see their MIL as their house help, she comes to bath you and the baby and also guide on the recovery process . My Mom will come for mine by His grace,she is a Pro in that. Abeg MIL wait first,you can come later.

26. if i ask my mum noyt to cook in omugwo, u don punish her be that, you don commit sin

27. if i ask my mum noyt to cook in omugwo, u don punish her be that, you don commit sin