Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Passenger from Brazil arrested with cocaine in jacket at Lagos Airport

Sunday, September 25, 2016

Passenger from Brazil arrested with cocaine in jacket at Lagos Airport

Officials of the National Drug Law Enforcement Agency (NDLEA) discovered wraps of narcotics in the collar of a passenger’s jacket at the Murtala Muhammed International Airport (MMIA) Lagos. The arrest was made shortly after the suspect disembarked from the aircraft on his way from Sao Paulo, Brazil.

The 31-year old suspect, Agwu Samuel, confidently wore the jacket containing the drugs but through experience and insight, the drugs were discovered by officers. This is the first discovery of cocaine inside the collar of a jacket by the NDLEA.

In his reaction, the Chairman/Chief Executive of the Agency, Muhammad Mustapha Abdallah, described the suspect’s action as desperately crafty and cunning. According to Abdallah, “the cocaine was detected by officers notwithstanding the crafty and cunning mode of concealment. The agency has taken some strategic measures aimed at disappointing the tricks employed by drug trafficking syndicates. We remain committed to exposing criminal plots through superior counter-narcotic intelligence. 

This operational success is commendable and a demonstration of our alertness to detect drugs.”
He said that the agency will continue to invest in capacity building programmes for officers.
The NDLEA commander at the Lagos airport, Ahmadu Garba, said that the suspect was arrested during routine check on passengers. “Ten wraps of cocaine weighing 110 grammes were found inside the collar of his jacket during screening of passengers on a South Africa Airline flight from Brazil through Johannesburg. The drug which was carefully hidden inside his jacket tested positive for cocaine and investigation is ongoing.”
Agwu Samuel, the suspect who sells shoes in Togo, said in his statement that he went to Brazil in search of greener pastures but resorted to drug trafficking due to frustration. According to the suspect, “I use to sell shoes in Togo until I lost goods worth N3 million. This negatively affected my business and made me to travel to Brazil in a desperate search for greener pastures. After a fruitless search for job in Brazil for four months, I decided to smuggle drugs to get some money to start my shoe business. I thought the drugs will not be detected inside my jacket but I was caught and I am very sad.” He attended Technical Secondary School in Ohafia, Abia State.

He will soon be charged to court.

The Nation

43 comments:

1. Igbo goats @it again! Ewu ewu ewu....!get rich now or die.🤑🤑

2. And he wore a wind breaker in a humid country and didn't think he'd be frisked? Duhhh

2. Thank God all these guys being caught are not underage,and no one pressured you to go.

3. I just feel for the guy, some of the wrong doings are never their fault. One should pray one's condition doesn't push one into wrong doing.

1. There is no excuse to be silly and stupid at the same time honey. The people sweeping public roads and gutters are human beings too.

2. True talk. Amen

3. Who's fault ? Imagine talk o

4. The guy is lieing. Processing visa and cost of ticket to Brazil is not cheap. So if he could afford the ticket to Brazil, then he should not blame business down turn. His greed brought him down.

5. Broke ass mayor,are you not a yahoo boy?...
      You don't have any right to judge drug peddlers cos all of are committing the same crime...
      So shut up!...

4. Kudos NDLEA, una try for this one. Trust suspects to always come up with pitiful stories, and of course they'll always say it's their first time even if they've been doing it for years

5. Na waooo! Instead of you to PH and wait for 30 days to GH and enjoy without labour you are here hustling for jail! Oriegwu!!!

6. Ibos are useless*
    Robocop

7. It's not too late to retrace your steps,
    Surrender to Jesus,the author and finisher of your faith.

8. Poverty is not an excuse for u to go into drug trafficking. All these igbo boys sef,they want to get rich by all means.....mtchew

9. Sometimes this NDLEA's discovery of cocaine is fake.they pay people to pose as drug smugglers. Everything is possible in this country. I am not saying there are no true smugglers o.

1. Madam Nwa Amaka are you serious? So someone will actually be willing to dent his/her reputation by posing with drugs and get paid how much? Maybe that's how the Drug Enforcement Officials in Niger Republic behave. I am very sure you have a family member that peddled drugs and he/she lied that NDLEA forced them to pose with it. Please no matter what tribe you are stop carrying drugs, if you're caught you will be prosecuted. Ehen how is that your twenty in one imaginary business empire going? Please try and add Beer parlor too.

10. He's lucky this is not Indonesia...

11. Story story!! They always have pitiful tales of how they got into the drug business.

12. This country is not helping the future of the youths and its a shame.. Not feeling happy today, despite all my struggles everyday can't really change anything and I'm a family man who needs a help soon. Things are hard for me at the moment and I'm disturbed and worried, I can't handle the Shame anymore

13. Umunna kee the way?
    Biko unu choo another hustle apart from drugs na.
    Haba!

14. Replies
    1. Fulani Buhari and Yoruba Tinubu and Obasanjo are the main cause. Check well and come and thank me later

15. Lack of contentment often leads to destruction.

16. Amaka shut up
    Cos you haven't been caught yet doesn't mean they employ actors to pose as drug pedlers

*kindly visit any NDLEA detention center nearest to you for more clarification
    Smh!

17. Abeg make una give us separate country forget wether we wil kill our selves or not,we might be drug peddlere but we don't use human being/blood for sacrifices so we will use the money make our new found country African Taiwan the bigest city in Africa u so call "nigerians will become our gate man ,shoe shiners ,housecleaners, & nanny,while some will be our sons sex slaves when they are tru they will marry our pretty daughters as a legal wife leaving all his struggle&assets for a beloved chosen ADA IGBO EJI EJE MBA/ OSO DI EME