Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Singer Seyi Shay Says She Isn't A Feminist..

Friday, September 16, 2016

Singer Seyi Shay Says She Isn't A Feminist..

Nigerian singer, Seyi Shay in an interview with TheCable Lifestyle talks about feminism, charity and her latest single.
When asked if she’s an advocate of female empowerment, the 'Murda' singer said, “I’m not a feminist,  I just believe in the principles of human rights so I fight for it”.

Seyi who is championing a cause and actively works alongside United Nations women and girl-child empowerment campaign explained her passion.
“A friend in South Africa who was sourcing for the project was interested in what I was doing with my own charity- ‘A Ray of Hope’, that focuses on less privileged children, women and the ‘girl child’, and decided that I would be the best candidate to represent Nigeria for this global campaign.”

“I plan to continue to lend my voice and my platform to similar causes. Most importantly I want to set a great example for all young girls out there.”
In a celebrity life filled with meetings, events, travelling back and forth from place to place, Seyi says she would be fulfilled if she had her own family.

According to her, “Touching the lives of people all over the world with my music, giving hope and inspiration to my generation, living for humanity and having my own family.”

42 comments:

1. Fine face no brain. Feminism is the fight for women's right. Women's right are human right. Therefore if you fight for human right you fight for women's right making you a feminist.

2. Most Nigerian women do not know the meaning of being a feminist.

3. Miss robyna. What exactly is women's right? Did you even take time to understand what she said? Feminism- a toil the devil uses to cause katakata

4. This miss Robyna or whatever ur a stupid girl. All these girls rushing to call other girls 'no brain' end up sounding dumb. Don't just read, understand before you comment. Robyna Goat

2. I couldn't care less. This girl's song has never impressed me

1. Sharap there ewu. What do you know about good music. Anuofia!

3. This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.

1. Please visit any MFM church near you

2. I hv done that oh but still nothing happened

4. Men and Women are not equal.

Men have roles to play and females have roles to play.

Nature made the roles different.

When confused, please go back and read Genesis.

I don't know what all this feminism wahala is.

1. Dude educate yourself.
      Feminism is a fight for equal opportunities, women's right and legal protection NOT gender equality.
      I don't blame you anyway, I blame the women who claim to be feminists when engaging themselves in beer parlor and social media banter, defending/opposing things like cooking, cleaning etc. Feminism is way deeper than that.

2. When your male colleague earns twice what you do for doing less/same work you'll know about 'this feminism' real quick.

3. @Nwa Nlecha pls try and educate yourself and do not let your knowledge of something be formed by what you read on blogs.

The word you should use is that men and women are created differently. When you are treated unfairly at work because you are female please do not complain, after all YOU are lower than your male colleagues and they are superior to YOU.

4. Where do you work?

Because I never been denied what I am entitled to because am female.

I have been privileged to work in the HR Unit and I av never experienced superiority in any way and neither has I applied in anyway.

Please if you know any company that does that, I would like to know.

Thanks.

5. Anon please which company pays men higher cos of thr sex, please name them.

5. I so want a family too. God help me. Amen

6. She has a good body for a lady of 35

7. Good to hear.
    Please God let my angel locate me. To think that I now have ulcer. I just need something doing

8. End time vector

9. She's smart. She knows feminism is rubbish.

Why be a feminist when you can be an egalitarian?

Yall should look up the meaning of both words.

10. Replies
    1. Lucile its like she is using Lucile coconut oil

11. This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.

12. Feminism I think is one of the most misunderstood and misrepresented words of all time. She needs to fully understand the concept. She is advocating for the "girl" child, yet does not see herself as a feminist. Ok. Seyi seeing as you want the international spotlight on your humanitarian efforts, hit the books and be more informed.

13. This girl na heavy lesbian. She dey come port harcourt come pursue girls like say she be man.

1. Port Harcourt's Finest16 September 2016 at 13:33

Sharap there. Who asked you? And so what if she's a lesbian.

14. Sheyi,why you dey fall hand?
    See how you're exhibiting crass ignorance??
    I like you oo.

Confusion is when a female says she isn't feminist but humanitarian but has a charity org that focuses on "women" and "girl-child"
    Why not "humans" and "boy/girl child" since you're humanitarian?

Stella please you need to use your platform to tell some confused people that feminism just seeks for equal rights for humans,male and female alike.
    Please feminists are not a group of disgruntled women oo!
    Anyone who tells you that,is equally confused.

1. Well said. Would have understood her better and even applauded what she is saying if her NGO was not focused on the girl child and women's rights. I think she's in denial which is sad. I don't advocate for crass feminism like some of the unnecessary and vain glorious or aggressive posts I see on the internet. I think the more privileged women like her deny feminism, the more women pass off the chance to promote equality. While I agree that all humans should be treated equitably, there should be no denial that women especially in rural Africa suffer discrimination and evil perpetrated as result of gender inequality. Admitting this and wishing to correct this is feminism, a branch of humanism. So you shouldn't agree to be one and deny the other. She should just say she is not feminocentric or chauvinistic in the sense that she does not favour one gender above the other or hate the other gender

15. OK oooo, I Don see am so,I done read am ND I Don hear am. Good for her

16. Seems this lady is a combination of beauty and brains. Very valid points

17. Good for her. I like her music