Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Suicide Over S3x Video Highlights Widespread Internet Problem...

Saturday, September 17, 2016

Suicide Over S3x Video Highlights Widespread Internet Problem...

Tiziana Cantone's body was found Tuesday after she hanged herself at her aunt's home. The 31-year-old Italian had suffered online abuse when a video of herself having sex was posted online after she sent it to her ex.

Cantone's video went viral in 2015, with people sharing it not only on social media and WhatsApp, but also creating memes based on stills and quotes from it. The footage was even featured on multiple porn websites, and Cantone couldn't seem to stop the video from spreading.

Despite her quitting her job, and even starting a process to change her name, the online use of her pictures and words grew more and more rampant.
But she fought back, and filed legal requests with Google, Yahoo and even YouTube to have her video and pictures removed. She even won a "right to be forgotten" ruling after a long court battle, ordering the original video to be taken off various sites, including Facebook.

But at the same time, she was handed a 20,000-euro ($22,500) bill for legal costs, which made her feel humiliated, her mother Maria Teresa told the Italian "La Repubblica" newspaper. "Tiziana believed justice had not been done," her mother explained. And as many users pointed out on social media, Cantone was not alone in her struggle.

'Slaughtered and humiliated'

"I felt like I had been slaughtered. Humiliated in front of everyone. More than that, I felt like someone was taking control over my body, and I didn't belong to myself anymore," says 21-year-old Julie, whose naked pictures were widely shared on WhatsApp when she was 17.

"My boyfriend at the time begged me to send him some pictures of myself. He said that it would make him happy, telling me things like, 'Wouldn't you do it for your boyfriend?' So eventually I did it."

Julie, who wishes to remain anonymous, admits she was so excited by the fact that someone was interested in her and wanted to be with her that it pushed her to accept his arguments. But one day, she felt people were looking at her differently.

"I will never forget the looks I received in school after realizing everyone had seen my pictures. Even my teacher turned her back on me. She told me that it was my fault for taking them in the first place and that it was my problem. I felt like I would never get over it," she tells DW over the phone.

Julie started hurting herself with a razor following the incident, and if it wasn't for her friends and family, she says, "I would have committed suicide too. It felt at times like it was the only way out."

'Why?'
One particular quote from Cantone's video has become a national joke, in which she can be heard saying "Mi stai facendo il video? Bravo," or "You're making the video? Good."

That phrase has been printed on T-shirts, smartphone cases and other items, and has been used by Italian companies as well as football players and other celebrities. And despite her winning in court, memes and merchandise of Tiziana's quotes were still easy to find.

"Ever since, I have always felt as if I am naked, no matter how many big clothes I wear. I feel like everyone can see through them," says Julie. "And even worse, to this day I feel that if someone is talking to me, it's probably because they want to see me naked. They want my pictures. It has been very hard for me to create new friendships."

Double standards
An investigation has been opened as to whether a case can be made for "incitement to suicide," but prosecutors might never be able to determine the real cause of Cantone's decision.

In the meanwhile, social media users are furious, pointing out the double standards according to which people are both secretly watching the video, yet also criticizing Cantone.
Some are claiming that had Tiziana been a man, not only would she still be alive, but even crowned as a hero. "Hypocritical society," the tweet summarizes.

Others have mentioned Italy's fertility campaign to stress the impossible expectations had of women.
"Many times I have thought to myself, 'What if I just stop breathing and simply die?'" says Julie, who also claims to understand Cantone's decision. For her, it's not the suicide that should be criticized, but the act of deliberately spreading such content against someone's will.

"You tell me - why would anyone do such thing in the first place? Why?"
Culled m.dw.com - deutsche well

48 comments:

1. Love can make one do what he/she isn't suppose to do but I will say suicide shouldn't be the option.

1. I'm madly in love with Lekan but when he asked for my nude pictures, I borrowed myself brain and refused.

2. RIP. she made a mistake and the internet never forgets, i saw the clips...she was eating raw pink meat....yuck.

3. No begging today white berry. Thank you Jesus

2. Such a pity!
    Pokello had a leaked video that was in almost everybody's device then. She went ahead to still raise her boy right... Entered an international contest that would put her in our faces lol, expanded her business empire and went ahead to marry someone she was in love with.

Do not let the past define who you are. Don't cave in to cheap blackmail.
    It is what it is.
    Nothing is worth taking your life for, ask Kimmy!

Finally, it is never too late to delete or password those delicate pictures and videos, don't share!!

1. Don't take revenge in anger. She made a bad mistake. She could have made a fortune by turning to Vivid videos in the u.s just like Kim K, getting the video bought and making a living off it, despite the shame. Word in the curbside us that Kim K still suffers anxiety and takes... anyway. Once a tape is out there, there's not much one can do. Even if google says they will remove it, it still goes to unknown pornographic sites. So sad she killed herself. She could have been making top dollar, living fancy on the hills in Hollywood. If only she had good advisers. Ladies, don't let social media ruin your lives. Don't send those naked pictures or tapes to anybody. Watch who you date. If a tape comes out, be ready to stare people willing to condemn you in the face, telling them you didn't kill. Good morning.

1. So sad!! Ladies should stop sending their nudes no matter the pressure, it is not worth the trouble and embarrassment. RIP.

4. Abegy I can't kill myself cos of such
    Didn't Kim kardashain got leaked too?
    Did she die?
    Instead she got more famous
    If na me wey dis kind thing happen to,I go use the tape as my selling point
    Nothing is a failure in this recession, all go turn market strategy
    But I cannot send such out sha and the reason being that what if someone else is with the phone
    Abeg nothing can make me kill myself
    I love life too much !
    Rip dear....but e pain me say u waste market sha
    Ps: na only headline I read oo

1. Na only mouth you get talkative

5. May God deliver us from internet age,may God delete any of our pictures that have been taken without consent.

6. May the pictures of peoples nude been kept by evil people be deleted permanently by mistake.

1. It is not advisable to send nude pictures to anyone. Love can fade and even the picture can get into wrong hands.May her soul rest in peace.

7. Women that send nudes to men or allow men video them during sex are so stupid. Even my bf that is abroad is always asking we Skye naked or I send him my boobs picture etc, even with head cut off . My sister never try am, if that relationship goes south, u are on ur own.
    If in a long distance rlshp, do fone sex instead and don't let them pressure u.
    My bf will try blackmail me, u don't love me. U know I havnt seen u in a long time. I will say sweetie wait till we see.
    It's unfortunate wat happened to dis girl. Reserve small sense when ur loving up with a guy. Present or ex. In the end it's you the girl they will call hoe, not d guy doing the do.

8. Dis culd av bin nma's story,shameless hoes everywia

1. Taaaa Sharap, invincible cretin. May you choke as you continue to mention Nma's name, judge Judy.

9. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    Gals never learn.... Always snapping their naked body along with their face.... Very stupid behaviour though....

10. When you tell young ladies to never send nude pix, they'll tag you 'old school'. Una dey see am?? How do people even take pictures of themselves naked, look at the picture and then send to someone else?? Okwa love?? Ngwanu

11. But why will a sane woman send naked pic and make sex videos with a man, husband is understandable but boyfriend NAwa ooh
    Queen Amy

12. Reason why pipo shd respect KIM! She turned her woo into mega millions! Her friends that copied her cldnt. Paris Hilton and d other one... Anyways sorry about that. Rip

1. I'm telling u bro
      Abeg who is this anonymous that we are always thinking alike
      Pls get a blog ID nah
      Would love to know u
      We too dey think alike 😂

13. Sad.dont do something u'l not be proud of @ anytym

14. Stop sending nude pix gurls, stop ettttt!

15. I read that she was taunting her ex with the video..what a foolish girl

16. Stella the world is unfair to women!

As rightly pointed out in the article if it were a man he'd be called a STUD.

Men are allowed sexual liberties while women are not!double standards.

Unfortunately and fortunately things are changing.

We are approaching the time when women would dangle their tits at you for calling them whores without a care in the world.

This negative revolution has started from the nuclear family system, these days married women can cheat for Africa shegiyaaa!

Lol...its worsening, morals and the conscience of females are on a sharp decline, in the next 10years if any woman is body shamed, she'll display her jugs on facebook live and ask you to go eat hot poo.

This one no get mind, RIP baby. You are far away from the hypocritical world pipo, they can't hurt you no more.

If you think say I dey lie ask KIM K what her response to Piers Morgan was.

17. Whao she caused the problem. Why take video of yourself having sex and sent it to your ex. I blame her and no one else. Next world run away from internet and no doing blue film.

Should I say sorry or what. Comfort to her family Amen

1. Look at you laying blames as if you are without sin. Her life is over., isn't that enough for you? Jesus himself refused to condemn the woman caught in adultery and here you are with your condemnation.

18. What a pity she ended her life. One can better imagine the humiliation and shame she would have gone through.
    RIP

19. Terrible. Ladies please beware never send your nudes to any man. It could back fire later on.

1. Seriozly, y should a guy demand my nude pix and then he doesn't think he should send in his first? Dear, I wouldn't do such for love it is purely demeaning and they know it that's y they never send theirs to you. Girls think of it, when u send your nudes to whateva guy it tells that you have only handed them your brain to toy with and so the consequences you would be facing alone. They know all this and that's the double standard in it all. Not that boy making such a stupid demand would stand by you when the heat comes. Anything in form of man that has ever asked me for nudes, I usually take him for a clown and I just know that this is an enemy. Keep your morals HIGH it in an integral part of nature, you can't afford to do away wiv it else it would sting you. Take no nude photos let alone sending them to some predator! Your phones could be hacked or the photos transferred to another phone by someone else who's envious of you. Trust no man! Love to all my fellow ladies and to the good men out there. RIP dear.

20. Sorry and rip to the dead. This post just reminded me of Kim kardashian. She's one helluva smart babe.

No one has the power to hurt you except you.

21. The woman up there was very stupid when alive. How dare you made a video of yourself making love to your new guy and send it to your ex just to tell him that's you were done with him. Who does that ? Make she go face her creator abd give her reason for been stupid.

22. #It is very important to be self sufficient. No one is going to hold your hand throughout life. make things happen yourself*

23. If you know you can't handle such publicity stop sending your nudes to your partner and don't indulge in the making of sextapes. Your partner can become your ex or bitter ex and you don't want to mess with them. Hear word

24. All this oyibo people sef..this life way de sweet naim u end by urself..no more sex,delicious food,water,blockbuster movies for u again.

25. Well bv's, I have with me nude pics a supposed no body to me sends to my husband, with her face and inner cacus, same person my husband kept denying to having anything to do with, now what do I do with the pictures?

1. The aim of that babe is to destroy your home whether your husband was/is involved with her or not. It is a battle hope u don't make it an easy win for her. I can't say too much. Hope your hubby shares same mindset as you on maintaining a healthy marriage by ending whatever it is wiv the third party. Let him choose. By the way if you were the offender what do you think he(your husband) would have done? Ask him same Q and see if he would give you an honest answer.

26. I just remembered Anita Hogan. She ma almost died when her nude pictures made the headline some years ago.

27. Na wah!

Too sad that even as this post is up here, some people are sending their nudes this moment.

I don't know if it's the kinds of things they discuss with said people or what. I've never ever experienced such a request. I'm fairly certain I won't.

I can't even take a picture of myself naked for any reason, not to talk of making a video. Not even for my husband.

This reminds me of a girl who made a video for her bf back in uni. Small girl wey just enter school o. The video was uploaded even on Facebook. Someone allegedly took out his memory card, and wanted to be spiteful. Methinks it's the guy that did it. Anyway, the girl is still roaming around in the school, last I heard. The guy has moved on with a new girl. It's just sooo crazy.

28. Oh Lawd.. some people are even video unknowingly. This world eh. Than