Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Thief Who Stole Tithe To Spend 6 Months In Jail.

Friday, September 09, 2016

Thief Who Stole Tithe To Spend 6 Months In Jail.

Magistrate Ade Adefulire of a Tinubu Magistrate’s Court, sitting in Lagos Island, yesterday, sentenced a church member, Elochukwu Nnoruga, to six months imprisonment for stealing N214,000 from Church tithe box.

The convict, who was on August 17, arraigned before the court, had pleaded guilty to a one-count charge of theft preferred against him by the police.

He was sentenced without an option of fine.

Adefulire said: “It is a pity that people do not see the house of God as sacred any more. This should serve as a lesson to the public; if you choose crime instead of hard work, the hand of the law will always catch up with you.
“Nnoruga, you are hereby sentenced to six months imprisonment without an option of fine.”

Nnoruga committed the offence on August 14 at about 2p.m., at Saint Patrick Catholic Church, Idumaigbo, in Lagos Island.
He stole N214,000 from the tithe box after church service and in the guise of attending afternoon mass, also stole from worshippers.
The offence is punisha-ble under Section 285 of the Criminal Law of Lagos State, 2011.

edited from Vanguard

*Nnoruga you sef!...Of all places to steal from,why did you choose God's house?Not cool at all.

23 comments:

1. Ahah na devil push am.. as usual.

1. 6 months = 3 months so he will be out soon but the record will be there for life.

2. A typical example of will a man rob God...yes oh he has Robbed God...lol...it's a pity sha dat people now lack regards for God

3. Make he wear the khaki small and somebody like him no dey put offering

4. Guess the day he was caught wont be his first.
    Lord have Mercy

5. Wen I say God is merciful I really think and belive he is indeed.he only got 6months despite the fact that wen ppl steal even pea nut and get caught they might be sentence to more years or even get killed by the angry mob.

1. Abeg make I hear word jare!! Not supporting what he did o,but all those Pastors 'robbing' their members blind via different avenues nko?
      Today is building project,tomorrow is contributing for outreach.The one wey dey pain me pass na 'sew a seed' chai. I've attended one in Lagos,lekki precisely that told the congregation to sew in dollars so you can receive dollars.All those ones no be robbery abi?

6. Stealing in God's house is a sin on its own which you still have to seek for forgiveness even in the prison. I know he can blame it on buhari

7. How unwise to steal from God.

Your comment will be visible after approval.

8. And who is to lock up all the pastors that have been stealing tithes?

1. Don't mind them Rolex. Criminally minded Nigerian pastors. Thieves

2. Spot-on, even the magistrate has skeletons in his closet. He's husband to immediate past lagos state deputy governor.

3. Haba now rolex somebody... so you support his stealing from the church? Or because most pastors scam their members means what he did is right? Honey think am now

9. As a poor man he was sentenced very fast with 3weeks for stealing peanut but our politicians who steal billions still walk free. What he did was wrong but this case is a true reflection of our country.
    One law for the poor another law for the rich.

10. Everyday for the thief,
    One day for the owner of the house.
    Go well Nnoruga...*side eyes*

11. The Church should have forgive him, but anything that has gone to the court, it becomes state issues.

The Catholic Church have suffered enough from these rogues.

12. He will say is poverty that made him to steal church money..
    Na wah ooo.

13. good to hear!

Enter Your Comment...

14. Because of tithe? His curse alone is there
    Abeg they should free him, GEJ that stole money did they lock him up...
    Misplaced priority!