Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Thieves Who Robbed Home Of Nigerian Footballer Onazi Have Been Arrested.

Friday, September 16, 2016

Thieves Who Robbed Home Of Nigerian Footballer Onazi Have Been Arrested.

THAT was quick!

The Lagos State Police Command has arrested the four men who allegedly robbed Mr. Wilson Onazi, the father of Nigerian footballer, Ogenyi Onazi.

The suspects are Kingsley David, Ebuka Ugochukwu, Joseph Ozo and Ali Audu.
The suspects on Monday attacked the home of the Onazis at the Government Reserved Area, Jos, Plateau State.

They were reported to have carted away several items, including a white Toyota Highlander and an undisclosed amount of money.
They reportedly inflicted machete cuts on Pa Onazi, who was admitted in a hospital after the incident.

It was gathered that after the robbery, the suspects moved to a bar in the community where they deliberated on what to do with the vehicle.
It was learnt that the four men took off for Lagos and lodged in Shibiri Hotel in the Ajangbadi area where they were arrested by policemen attached to the Ilemba Hausa Police Division after a tip-off.

A police source in the division told said the men were arrested around 7pm on Wednesday while they awaited a buyer for the vehicle.
He said, “We got a tip-off that some suspicious people had lodged in a hotel in the area. They had been bringing several people to inspect the vehicle at the hotel, but they did not get a buyer.”
The suspects, who were arrested along with one of the intending buyers of the car, Osita Eze, were paraded at the Lagos State Police Command headquarterson Thursday.

The leader of the gang, David, 24, a polytechnic graduate, said he lived close to the victim’s house and had monitored his movement, adding that they robbed him to celebrate Sallah.

He said, “We are all friends. We planned the robbery a week to the actual day. I live close to the man’s house and I sold the idea to my friends. Our intention was just to take his car for the Sallah break. I didn’t follow them into the house. I only pointed the place to them and they finished the job. It was after they were done that I joined them in the vehicle.”

Ugochukwu, 26, an indigene of Idemili, Anambra State, said the robbery was easy for them because only Pa Onazi was at home.
He said, “We discovered that the man is old and he lives alone in that big house. He does not stay with his wife or even house help. There was no security man guarding the house or any other form of security. We also robbed him because he does not help people.

“When we got to the house, we knocked the gate and pretended as if we wanted to deliver a letter to him from Lagos. While he was checking the letter, we brought out our cutlass. We just held him by the hand as he begged us not to harm him.

“We asked him to take us to his bedroom and he did. He said he didn’t have any money in the house, but we took his ATM card, which we couldn’t use because it had expired.
“He gave us N5,000. We also stole his vehicle. We didn’t touch him because of his advanced age; if we had touched him, he could have died.”
Ugochukwu blamed the incident on financial challenges, saying he had never robbed in his life.

The third suspect, 24-year-old Ozo, who claimed to be a graduate of a university in Plateau State, said the gang wanted money to celebrate Sallah, adding that he drove the vehicle to Lagos.
He said, “Kingsley (David) brought the idea. He said he knew Pa Onazi’s house, adding that we could rob him, take his vehicle and sell it in Lagos. They invited me because I can drive very well. I was promised a share of the money.
“We were not afraid because the car papers were complete. It was due to indecision between Kingsley (David) and Ebuka (Okechukwu) that delayed the sale.”

Another suspect, Audu, said his only role was to use the letter to distract the victim.
The intending receiver of the car, Eze, said he was introduced to the gang while relaxing in a bar, adding that they had yet to negotiate.

“After the meeting at the bar, I collected their contact and I went to meet them at the hotel where I met policemen,” he added.
The Commissioner of Police, Lagos State, Fatai Owoseni, said the suspects would be handed over to the Plateau State Police Command, together with the exhibits recovered from them.
He said, “We are passing a strong message that wherever a crime is committed in Nigeria, we will hunt the culprits. There is no hiding place for criminals in this country.”

Edited From Punch

36 comments:

1. You robbed him because he does not help people? Like he's obligated to help people?
    These are just hungry thieves

I don't think they should be sent to jail
    Just cut off their arms and free them.

1. Dey should as well cripple Dem too

2. The sense of entitlement some Nigerians have baffles me.Why should he help you? Is he your Father?

2. God should deliver us from all unfriendly friends around us. Onye ma mmadu na egbu ya (it is somebody close to a person that plans and executes his downfall)

3. Yaaas! Our police department is working! Yas!

1. If you are rich and you have connection they will sit on your matter wella. Otherwise O.Y.O.

4. I think they are learners, robbed an old man cause of his car. They will rot in jail.

5. Story story, Story!!!

6. I suspected that this was the work of an insider,I believe its same with Basket Mouth too and I pray those one's are caught too. Thank God these thieves were caught.

7. The man who only came to buy car is now in police trouble. Speaking of being in the wrong place at the wrong time.
    Another reason why it's not good to stay alone.

8. You robbed an old man, and inflicted injury on him and you thought you won't be nabbed? Lieye...

9. See them young men. Oloshi. Am sure these one too will be hustling for S&M

10. Enter your comment...God have mercy on us, protect and keep us away from our unfriendly friends.

11. Hw can an old man be livin al alone in a house witout helps or family?hw does he feed n al?its nt safe i hope wit ds wicked act sometin wil be done abt it.cos he doesn't help people they decided to rob him.none of dem wil get to old age cos they just cursed demselves.

12. Isi gini? Robbed him because he does not help people? Have you asked him for a help and he declined? BUt why is the baba not staying with everybody? Incase of health emergency, who will rush him to the hospital? I think he should employ mopol as a guard henceforth because of his sons fame.

13. Hmm I Don trust Nigeria police o

14. Good they were apprehended. lazy lots. Robbed him because he doesn't help like its by force.

15. Thank God they were nabbed. .. Bcos he doesn't help ppl. mschew wot a flimsy excuse. An d they claim to b graduates. Wot a country. *smh*

16. Awon ole jati jati... Let them rot in jail!

17. Just look at this young guys that could add meaningful things to their lives and familys instead of bringing shame and disgrace upon theirselves

18. What a waste of youthful talent. When thier mates dey hustle legit.

19. Hehehe.. I know like two of them there(Kingsley and joseph). We schooled together in jos, they call me and ma hommies back then in school jew guys.. what a wonderful world.

Plus they are cult members too...

20. Una want chop sallah with una galfrend shey? Make una roast for prison small, weda next time una go get sense