Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Breaking Down The Meaning Of Adult-ery!

Monday, October 03, 2016

Breaking Down The Meaning Of Adult-ery!

Please take a sit and read and if you cannot join in,please move to another post.

Good day Mrs Korkus,
I have been following your blog for some years now and I have just finished reading the story about Richard Keys and his wife. I have never failed to be amused at how people manage to make themselves miserable over this issue of adultery. Let me say outrightly here that ADULTERY IS NOT ABOUT S3X! 

This misconception was deliberately encouraged by the Roman Catholic Church which introduced the word adulterare (in place of another word with an entirely different meaning) in order to gain greater control of the marriage institution. (However going into how that was done does not bear directly on this discussion).

The word ADULTERY was not known to the English language until the 16th century when it was introduced through the translation into English of the Geneva Bible in 1570. Two earlier translation of the Bible in English (by Wycliffe [1384] and Tyndale [1535]) did not contain it but rather talked about 'breaketh wedlock'.

My dictionary  (Chambers 21st Century Dictionary) says the word ADULTERY is from the Latinadulterare, adulteratum which means to defile. The dictionary goes on to say to adulterate is to debase something or to render it impure by mixing it with something inferior or harmful.

Now in the Bible we discover that the word is used to describe many different actions, none of which is sex! In Matt 19:9 and Luke 16:18, Jesus is quoted as saying: “Whosoever shall put away his wife, except it be for fornication, and shall marry another, committeth adultery: and whoso marrieth her which is put away doth commit adultery.” (emphasis mine). (Needless to say, ‘fornication' as meant in the Bible is not what our pastors now says it is. Lol. But that discussion is perhaps meant for another day)

It is clear from this quotation that it is the act of putting away that Jesus Christ frowns at here. Mark 10:11 says: “Whosoever shall put away his wife, and marry another, committeth adultery against her." So ADULTERY is against the first wife, not with the second wife!

Jeremiah 3: 8 – 9, talked about committing “adultery with stones and stocks.” (If it is about sex, pray how do you do it with stones?)
Adultery, as far as the Bible is concerned goes beyond a mere sex act.
This next is my favourite in the entire Bible because here Jesus is presented with,  what I see, as the perfect opportunity to present his ‘manifesto', and he didn’t disappoint! Matthew 19:16 – 22 describes Jesus' encounter with the rich young man who wanted to know the secret of eternal life. And Jesus said, (18) “Thou shalt do no murder, Thou shalt not commit adultery , Thou shalt not steal, Thou shalt not bear false witness. (19) Honour thy father and thy mother: and Thou shalt love thy neighbour as thyself.” 

When the young man claimed he carries out those injunctions Jesus now told him to go and sell his possessions and give to the poor.  (I love pointing these out to people: no where, I mean, no where did Jesus say attend church every Sunday; give offerings or pay tithes to your pastor; partake in Holy Communion, etc; or even believe I am the son of God! But these are the things we like to do and pretend we are followers of Jesus Christ. But God is not deceived!!).

Jesus Christ in talking about adultery could not have meant our sexual preferences (or lack thereof)  would determine where we spend eternity!
James 4:4 says, “Ye adulterers and adulteresses, know ye not that the friendship of the world is enmity with God? Whosoever therefore will be a friend of the world (I am thinking: like inordinate love of worldly things? The ultimate test that the rich young man failed) is the enemy of God.” (And today you find so called churches and their pastors amassing wealth and earthly riches)
Adultery is therefore less about SEX but more about BETRAYAL, TREACHERY 
and UNFAITHFULNESS against God, a spouse, or even a business partner. 
(See also Malachi 2:14, 16)

A man puts away his wife when he ceases to care for her and at the same time (wickedly) refuses to give her a paper setting her free (paper of divorce) which would allow her to marry another man. (Deut 24: 1-3). 

Remember in those days a woman was solely dependent on her husband for her upkeep. It is this act of betrayal that is called adultery. 

Recall also that king David was said to be God’s favourite despite marrying hundreds of wives but incurred God’s wrath when he lusted after another man’s wife.

Thank you.
Esien Ita

WOOOOW!!!

158 comments:

1. By the way, my Merriam Webster dictionary says Adultery is sex between a married person and someone who is not that person's wife or husband.

2. Why bring Catholic Church into it oversabi. Abeg make i see road jor didn't read past the first paragraph. Its people like you that cheats in exam using google. Awon historian mtttcccchhwwww

3. Abeggi, poster make we hear word! Why do u want to introduce a new 'doctrine' to us? Only u? U sef know say e no go work. As for me, I choose to believe what I already believe... Abeg no time for confusion.

4. Dear poster, stop twisting the word of God to suit u,if u like twist itoo, but u must face the judgement of God,is either u repent or face the wrath of God,what crab is this u wrote?to deceive ur type? The commandment of God still stands,fornication and adultery is and eye sow bfore God,they drive the holy spirit away from u,wen the holy spirit is away from u,u become vulnerable to the evil one,be holy for I UR GOD Is holy,ur body is the temple of the holyspirit,keep it holy, stop deceiving ur likes Mr man

5. Dear poster, stop twisting the word of God to suit u,if u like twist itoo, but u must face the judgement of God,is either u repent or face the wrath of God,what crab is this u wrote?to deceive ur type? The commandment of God still stands,fornication and adultery is and eye sow bfore God,they drive the holy spirit away from u,wen the holy spirit is away from u,u become vulnerable to the evil one,be holy for I UR GOD Is holy,ur body is the temple of the holyspirit,keep it holy, stop deceiving ur likes Mr man

6. Wow! This writer is lost, May Jesus find you!

7. Sometimes I marvel at the deceit of the devil. U know if this person wanted to talk about adultery. Why bother bringing in tithes and other things inside. Stella sincerely intellectual writings do not change who God is and what his word says. The bible is every believer's standard. All scripture complement the other. Even if Jesus did not address an issue, other prophets of God did. That is why the bible is whole. This person is CLEARLY not born again. And the intention is clearly not adultery but to poison the heart of men.
      1. Yes, according to the bible, adultery goes beyond removing dress and having sex when U r married. Bible as our friend has quoted states if you lust with your eyes U have committed adultery. That is true. But let us note that God's intention was one man or wife. Yes he loved David but does not mean that a man should marry more than one wife. God is almighty. Don't help him explain his thots.
      God specifically said in particular Genesis 1:27 and 2:24, saying “the two will become one flesh”, not more than two. Jesus did also in Matt 19: 3-6.
      2. U know the bible says as JESUS is, so are we in this world. The bible also states that looking unto Jesus the author and finisher of our faith.
      Jesus does not need to comment on every issue. We are Christ- like. So we do wat JESUS did and wat did he do? Luke 4 (KJV)
      16. And he came to Nazareth, where he had been brought up: and, as his custom was, he went into the synagogue on the sabbath day, and stood up for to read. The bible says he went into the synagogue on Sabbath day. When it is ur Sabbath day like Jesus did go into the church. The bible also says do not forsake the gathering of the brethren. How can this person now say Jesus did not talk about it. Guard ur heart with all diligence fellow BVs.
      3. On the issue of tithes and offering. Let us be careful. God said bring your tithe and offering to his house. Where is his house if not the church. Who is in charge of the church if not the pastor. Pls there are no sentiments here get real. Jesus spoke on it. Luke 11:42 "Woe to you Pharisees, because you give God a tenth of your mint, rue and all other kinds of garden herbs, but you neglect justice and the love of God. You should have practiced the latter without leaving the former undone. (NIV)
      He scolded the pharasees that they did one and left the other.
      Also in john 8:39-They answered and said to Him, "Abraham is our father." Jesus said to them, "If you were Abraham's children, you would do the works of Abraham. (NKJ) Hebrews 7:4 states that Abraham gave a tenth or paid tithes, and Jesus in
      John 8:39 says that those who do the WORKS of Abraham are the true Children of Abraham.
      4. On holy communion. They bible says about Jesus in luke 22 (KJV)
      19. And he took bread, and gave thanks, and brake it, and gave unto them, saying, This is my body which is given for you: this do in remembrance of me.
      Luke 22 (KJV)
      20. Likewise also the cup after supper, saying, This cup is the new testament in my blood, which is shed for you.
      So wat does it mean to do this in remembrance of me ? Holy communion is scared.
      Lets not get deceived by intellectual writing. BIBLE IS THE STANDARD NOT A PERSON'S REASONING. AND YOU WILL NOT UNDERSTAND IF U R NOT BORN AGAIN

8. To be sincere your writeup did not make any sense, theoretically or spirituallly. Please kindly park.

9. Made some important pnts but dude, did Jesus not say during d last supper"do this in memory of me"...i.e concerning communion. Secondly, our society makes selling all ur property nd givin funds to d poor difficult since u hav ur WIFE, KIDS, FAMILY.. As for goin to church on Sundays, its nly fair to give God a portion of our tym we work mmost of d week nd its nly fair yo say tnk u lord. Yes I know u pray every mawnin but still wen u go to church or mass or service, u get to celebrate with other members of d congregation nd dat alone is perfect. Lastly, u hav a job, u earn a living, its nly generous to share some of dat wealth which u so preach against or for (not sure)with d poor(that is the purpose of tithe I guess). So pls say nly wat u knw nd can defend nd dnt blasphem or tok trash about any anointed man of God pastor, prophet or priest.

2. Carry my tear tear mat to the nxt post jare.

1. Hahahahaha! U don't av anything to add? I'm shocked

2. This is lie from the pit of hell. My people please God's standard remains the same and God is not author of confusion,let's hold on to the truth we first believed when we met Christ. Awon anti Christ buruku.

1. Anon 20.44 you hit everything with great points.
      Even I learnt from what you wrote..thank you.

Poster pls read what anon said up there☝☝ it will help ur warped mindset

4. in dis buhari times.. wit d litu food i ate.. i we now b reading hid epistle bkos of adultery... . sumtin dat after readin dis.. .. .. mak i nor talk

5. Madam Stella, me self follw u shout woow.

6. let me read comments and learn more.

7. Everyone with their interpretation of the Bible.

8. Make I go eat ukazi and achara, I am coming back

1. Is that another name for Jollof rice??
      #JOeFIRSt

9. I'll just wait for those who would read and summarize for me

10. Enter your comment...yes comments

11. Replies
    1. On top defining that adultry = unfaithfulness, betrayal etc in any aspect of life and not necessarily when it involves sex

12. Hmm,still a little bit confuse,are you saying adultery does not have anything to do with sex( please expatiate ) still dnt understand DAT.
    Then for the church aspect it is good to be in the presence of God cause I know presence of God can be anywhere but God said we should keep the sabbath day holy,keeping it holy means we should worship him and reverse him,so I believe going to church is important ,God searches the heart yes I know but being in God presence shows that we love and obey God.

13. This is an insightful piece.

14. Matt. 5:27“You have heard that it was said, ‘You shall not commit adultery.’e 28But I tell you that anyone who looks at a woman lustfully has already committed adultery with her in his heart. 29If your right eye causes you to stumble, gouge it out and throw it away. It is better for you to lose one part of your body than for your whole body to be thrown into hell.

1. Leave them. They'll take the part that suits them and leave the rest.

Adultery starts from the moment you Lust after a woman till the sex and after...

Read ur bible well

2. Anon thank you
      Okay let's just assume the bible didn't outrightly use the word sex
      But you just said adultery is a form of betrayal
      So having sex with a woman who isn't your wife isn't enough betrayal?
      Oga your writeup is contradictory and I could clearly understand your main point

15. I don't really get your point...what are you really saying... My interest is in the marriage part. So if a man should take care of his wife very well and then keeps a mistress then its not adultery.please what was is it..the Bible can be interpreted in a million ways, its left for the holy spirit to give you understanding. So my dear whatever rocks your boat.

1. You nailed it dear. My thoughts exactly

2. Very stupid and senseless writeup,if the writer had taken time to go through this writeup before sending it in,he will see that adultery has everything to do with sex..The bible says the only reason a marriage can be annulled is because of adultery which means when your partner has SEX with someone else you can end your union....If a man looks at a woman lust fully in his heart he has already committed adultery....SEX being the OPERATIVE word here....its not every senseless writeup that should be published on this platform especially as you have young and impressionable people reading too.I don't even know why I bothered reading this nonsense.

3. Honestly I am not understanding. Dear writer. What's the sum up of this?
      This word of God has suffered, it's because we all have access to it na. Twisting it up and down.
      We need to pray for sight, that's the only way it can be fully revealed to us

16. Ex 20: "You shall not covet your neighbor's house. You shall not covet your neighbor's wife, or his male or female servant, his ox or donkey, or anything that belongs to your neighbor."

17. A Woman Caught in Adultery
    John8 Jesus returned to the Mount of Olives, 2 but early the next morning he was back again at the Temple. A crowd soon gathered, and he sat down and taught them. 3 As he was speaking, the teachers of religious law and the Pharisees brought a woman who had been caught in the act of adultery. They put her in front of the crowd.

4 “Teacher,” they said to Jesus, “this woman was caught in the act of adultery. 5 The law of Moses says to stone her. What do you say?”

6 They were trying to trap him into saying something they could use against him, but Jesus stooped down and wrote in the dust with his finger. 7 They kept demanding an answer, so he stood up again and said, “All right, but let the one who has never sinned throw the first stone!” 8 Then he stooped down again and wrote in the dust.

9 When the accusers heard this, they slipped away one by one, beginning with the oldest, until only Jesus was left in the middle of the crowd with the woman. 10 Then Jesus stood up again and said to the woman, “Where are your accusers? Didn’t even one of them condemn you?”

11 “No, Lord,” she said.

And Jesus said, “Neither do I. Go and sin no more.”

1. My merciful God. ...(.and neither do I.)what a word.....I stand in awe of u lord

18. Insightful breakdown. Well-done, poster!

1. I agree! The post makes a lot of sense.

19. No be small thing o.let the comments start to roll

20. Catholic priests were allowed for centuries to marry, most of them were polygamous. It was stopped in the 13th century by pope Urban. Adultery was not a problem. I guess it was not in the bible....Blast

21. Very interesting insight to ur understanding of Adultery. ..let me read again cos dis is very deep

22. Firstly poster, you contradicted yourself by your first point saying Adultery is not about sexual relationship and trying to accused the Catholic Church of misconception.

What is the meaning of adultery?
    Adultery is a voluntary sexual intercourse between a married person and a person who is not their spouse.

Now, what does the bible says about adultery?
    In the Old Testament, adultery was understood as sexual relations between a married (or betrothed) woman and a man other than her husband. It was therefore a sin against the husband.
    Exodus 20:14 You shall not commit adultery.
    Proverbs 6:32 But a man who commits adultery lacks judgment; whoever does so destroys himself.

Lets go to the New Testament, what does Jesus Christ said concerning adultery?
    Jesus extended the definition of adultery to include sexual relations between a married man and a woman other than his wife (Mark 10:11-12, Luke 16:18). Other New Testament teachings also understand it that way (1 Corinthians 6:15-16, 1 Corinthians 7:2 ).

Therefore, for Christians, adultery is the sin of a married man having sexual relations with anyone other than his wife or a married woman having sexual relations with anyone other than her husband.

People also wonder if romantic relationships outside of marriage are permissible as long as there is no actual sexual intercourse. However, in Bible teachings, marriage is an exclusive romantic and sexual relationship between husband and wife. Jesus said:

Matthew 5:27-28 You have heard that it was said, ‘Do not commit adultery.’ But I tell you that anyone who looks at a woman lustfully has already committed adultery with her in his heart. Those are also Jesus's words.

Hebrews 13:4 Let marriage be held in honor by all, and let the marriage bed be kept undefiled; for God will judge fornicators and adulterers.

Poster please, ask for knowledge and understanding from God.

Ref: Christianbibleref.

1. Mrs Romans u jst gave dis confused poster d perfect response. God bless you. @ Poster Hw dare u try to change d teaches of Christ to accommodate ur fleshy desires...

2. Thank you for this explanation

3. This poster is confused. You think the bible is a novel that you try to be analytic about💤Pls pray for understanding

4. God bless you

23. Luke 6: 31 Do to others as you would like them to do to you.

You the writer has a mother, wife, and daughter
    Now someone takes your mother and had sex with her
    someone takes your wife and has sex with her
    someone takes your daughter without paying bride price and has sex with her

How about that?

There is no excuse for sin; for the scripture says: You are inexcusable o man (kindly google this scripture and read the chapter). All I see in this your article is a way to justify in your conscience the act of adultery. Is it possible that you have done unimaginable things to people's wives and you are looking for a way to justify those acts. Repent dear and seek the Lord and follow the golden rule of the Lord; do to others as you would like them to do to you.

24. Could not read the long post. I have a problem and its stalking any girl I know my husband is friends with. Please epp me I want to stop but dont know how.

1. You are inviting cancer and high blood pressure into your life....your husband will NEVER stop cheating on you....cheat on him too if you can handle it or leave the marriage..This is the most practical advice you will get...others will tell you to drink coconut oil and watch war room which will only increase your frustration....I work on the side with women going through situations like this and over the years I have realised that the women who knew their husbands were cheating and remained happy either chose option A or B by themselves without waiting for advice from anyone...advice yourself today!

2. U can't follow each girl, u'll go mad, it's much easier to speak with ur husband. Make his fav meal, do wine or beer, which ever he likes. Then hava heart to heart, spill ur guts. If he has plans to goof, or has been goofing, d talk may check him. If he's innocent, he'll allay ur fears completely & adjust his dealings with skirts. Finally, I hope u're not d paranoid type o, cos even after all these u may still not rest easy!

3. Have small faith in the bobo naa abi is he a dog? Don't go giv yourself hbp and get busy abeg.

4. @oby, A or B is the way out

25. You are entitled to your own opinion, your interpretation is according to your limited wisdom don't forget that and salvation is personal. However you try to interpret or misinterprete is your business.

Thou shall not commit adultery.

26. @Poster, if you don't mind, I'd like you to be my spiritual mentor. (Perhaps life coach?).

1. Blind leading gullible.

2. And lead you straight to hell abi

3. Mumu leading mumu

4. In the land of the blind the one eyed man is King...

27. Hmmm deep I will need to meditate on these for a while.I dey come o

28. Poster let me tell you what you are doing:

Colossians 2: See to it that no one takes you captive through hollow and deceptive philosophy, which depends on human tradition and the elemental spiritual forces of this world rather than on Christ.

Job 38:2 Who is this that darkeneth counsel by words without knowledge?

2 Timothy 2:14 Keep reminding God's people of these things. WARN THEM BEFORE GOD AGAINST QUARRELING ABOUT WORDS; it is of no value, and ONLY RUINS THOSE WHO LISTEN.

1. Until the Victorian era there was no one man one wife. The Church did not preach against polygamy. As of today over 20,000 priests are married in the united states They were not excommunicated. They are still priests but are not clerical.

2. Wow. Who are you??? Why did you have to go on anonymous to preach this truth so deep it can only be gotten from revelation. I was reading through and I was comment however I didn't feel led to because it's not his Opinion, neither did HE post it out of ignorance.... you do remember some of the cases of the scribes and pharisees when Jesus was on earth. There were questions that when he was asked, he chooses to enlighten them, however there were times when he chooses to stroke them koboko because of the motive behind their questions. This person does not want Justification, he is a Wolf in Sheep clothing. Sheep's can not identify him, it takes only a shepherd to spot a disguised wolf. He conveniently quoted scriptures to justify his arguments yet forgot that Jesus would talk to the crowd in parables but talk to his own in plain English. Jesus would feed the crowd with physical food, yet give his disciples his own flesh and blood and command that it be done in remembrance until his coming. He conveniently forgot Jesus instructed the disciples, although I have instructed you to preach in 2s, yet, PAUSE and do nothing until you receive the holy spirit which will lead you into every truth. He is not an author of confusion and would enable you decern every spirit whether they be of God. Even Apostle said look, if anyone no matter how eloquent or knowledgeable, no matter their certificate or their jurisdiction preaches a gospel different from what you have heard me preach, that person is not of God. Thank you for your comment, let the poster have his way, afterall the bible told us to expect people like such in this times, so I am not surprised. Afterall, he hasn't even done any miracles yet so worse will still be preached from more powerful and influential men of God who will call down fire from heaven and lead many astray.

29. I'm with you. Your explanations are making sense. Lemme re-read again.

30. I am waiting to read comments, BVS kindly advice me on what to do I just changed my soap and is giving me eczema and I have used a couple of things and is not working,do you know anything I can use that will clear it?I will be reading your comment in the comment. Section.

1. Hydronic that is used on car engines will clear it.#thankmenow

2. Stop using ur cream with that soap. It's not good for ur skin. Use vaseline(blue seal)

3. Stop using the soap you changed to .

4. Hydronic??? Chai Una go kill person here o. It is hydraulic oil my dear.

5. Nixoderm works wonders for me, as regards the eczema. Stop using that soap as it doesn't agree with you. Another thing, check your skin if it reacts negatively to hot/warm water.

31. I am waiting to read comments, BVS kindly advice me on what to do I just changed my soap and is giving me eczema and I have used a couple of things and is not working,do you know anything I can use that will clear it?I will be reading your comment in the comment. Section.

32. I am waiting to read comments, BVS kindly advice me on what to do, I just changed my soap and is giving me eczema and I have used a couple of things and is not working,do you know anything I can use that will clear it?I will be reading your comment in the comment. Section.

33. I am waiting to read comments, BVS kindly advice me on what to do, I just changed my soap and is giving me eczema and I have used a couple of things and is not working,do you know anything I can use that will clear it?I will be reading your comment in the comment. Section.

34. 1 Corinthians 5:11 But now I am writing to you that you must not associate with anyone who claims to be a brother or sister but is sexually immoral or greedy, an idolater or slanderer, a drunkard or swindler. Do not even eat with such people.

1. What is sexual immorality? Marry more than one

35. See end time preacher o, ngwanu let's clap for it, am sorry for ya church pipu

36. 1 Corinthians 5:9 I wrote to you in my letter not to associate with sexually immoral people— 10not at all meaning the people of this world who are immoral, or the greedy and swindlers, or idolaters. In that case you would have to leave this world. 11 But now I am writing to you that you must not associate with anyone who claims to be a brother or sister but is sexually immoral or greedy, an idolater or slanderer, a drunkard or swindler. Do not even eat with such people.

12What business is it of mine to judge those outside the church? ARE YOU NOT TO JUDGE THOSE INSIDE? 13God will judge those outside. “Expel the wicked person from among you.”d

37. Beautiful piece
    Will go tru agin in d eveng wit my bible

38. Wats dis one saying?

39. The Bible said there will be increase in knowledge and even the very elect will be decieved except for the grace of God. Stop twisting the Bible to satisfy your warped mind.

40. The post makes no sense except of cause Stella is using it to cause controversy in order to market her blog.

1. Lol! See, I pride myself on having trained myself to view matters unemotionally, with prejudice. Dis drivel makes no sense, yet 70% of beevees are nodding & cheering. Even if a write up isn't true, at least be logical! Failed woefully on both ends.

Wey moringa tea biko, I no fit shout.

2. *without prejudice abeg. Na hunger.

41. So, no matter how we try to make it looks like is a normal or trending thing, adultery was/is highly condemned by God.
    Whether you are having a sexual or romantic relationship outside your marriage, you are committing adultery; whether you are sex-chatting with your ex boyfriend/girlfriend from your matrimonial home, you are guilty of adultery.

Fornication is not adultery. Fornication simply put when two people of the opposite sex practice premarital sex (having sexual intercourse).

What i expect from people of faith is to preach against it and condemn it. Adultery kills the soul. Your spouse can forgive you when/if you are caught, but the scar will always be there. The Damage it will cause you and your spouse, even those around you will remain for as long as you are living.

Please lets stop every acts of adultery, desist from the things that can lead you to commit adultery (it applies to both men and women.)

42. The post makes no sense except of cause Stella is using it to cause controversy in order to market her blog.

1. And what is your own if she markets her blog.....what you trying to do?.....if her post those not suit you pls ignore

43. Poster, what are u on about? Justifying adultery or what? Mbok may adultery be ur portion o! Say amen? Amen! Hahahhahahahah

44. Rubbish.
    Didn't even read this trash after the first couple of sentences.
    Poster, you are wise in your own conceit.
    Small boy with small brain.

1. I am glad not everyone is falling for this nonsense!!

45. #Maturing is realizing how many things don't require your comment*

46. Who opened the gate for this abeg???

47. Who opened the gate for this abeg???

48. twisting bible passages to justify your sins.

no offence....what you wrote is rubbish.

49. Too much knowledge can affect your mental state. Poster, be careful. It's not every book that should be read.

50. I'm sure you attend a new generation church. Stop using the catholic doctrine both old and new as your case study when studying the bible. Most of your pastors do that. You will get confused and bias in your understanding.
    You will be more concerned about twisting the doctrine than fully understanding the scripture.

1. Don't mind the lost soul seeking other souls to drag down the pit of hell with him...

51. This is mere human understanding of the word of God, it takes a man with the love for God to know the deep things / secrets of God. Many open the bible and pick what they want, while some ask for supernatural understanding of the word, some just listen to their pastor but wouldn't practice what they preach and then take it to the class room to philosophize over it. Then capitalize on their earthly wisdom so as to deceive the weak minds into the dark realm.

Whoever you are that sent in this write up, my brother you need to rededicate ur life to christ and ask for the Holy Spirit to interpret the scripture unto u to the insight of the secret behind that book(the bible), don't come here and throw trash to little minds.
    Thanks

52. Hmm
    Where did David marry hundreds of wives in the bible.
    I don't even get your point, are you justifying polygamy or trying to exclude sex from the meaning of adultery?
    I wonder what you're passing through or what you were imagining when you wrote this?

53. Can someone please tell me how to reply a person's comment on this blog.
    Besides, Stella, commenting on your blog is tedious. Can't you simplify the process (am not including approving comments)?

54. St FranKooL or whatever please keep your comments to yourself. Take the advice you give people first.

55. Poster abi writter!!! Ask the holy spirit to interprete bible verses for you...because from what i just read you got it all wrong. Layman interpretations

56. U are just a confused person. Keep deceiving urself with stupid write ups

57. Poster you need wisdom....this is just a layman's interpretion...please ask the holy spirit to guide you as you read the bible.

58. I read the first two lines sha. I just ate and i am stuffed.Sorry

1. Lol
      I read till the fourth line, scrolled up to see how many more lines to the end and then I closed the post sharply

59. No matter the PHD or Masters you have, you can never understand d bible without the inspiration from d holy spirit!
    If you leave the God who created you, to follow the things of the world! You have committed adultery!.. Understand the bible through holy spirit insight! Not by ur insight and dictionary knowledge! God help you!
    #JOeFIRSt

60. I don't know of the adultery one but I have read NY Bible to the one that talked about Holy comunion which is also the Passover feast. I remember Jesus also telling the disciples at the table saying.......do so in remembrance of me so I don't know where your interpretation is coming from. What most pastors preach is that it is good to fellowship together that's how the concept of church was developed. Concerning tithe am also at a loss because if I see anyone who is really in need like hospital bills or school fees I use my tithe and don't pay in the church for that month. Am not saying am doing the right thing but presently that is my understanding of it till I get further direction from the Holy Spirit.

61. Beautiful. insightful. if this post makes u feel uncomfortable, u are an adulterer and truth they say is always bitter.

62. This is nonsense, I don't believe it.Adultery is wrong and it involves sex don't give me that crap that's its not about sex. Poster, I wonder how u read ur Bible, may God give u insight.

63. Poster,it is very obvious that you do not understand what the bible says. However,whenever you decide to put out something like this,first ask for the Holy Spirit to help you understand,and make sure you read a verse or chapter in its entirety before you draw conclusions.
    Now to your write-up; you highlighted "put away" to mean adultery(even with all your references that defines adultery),you easily left out "and marries another". So if God actually meant putting away a woman as adultery,why didn't He stop there? Why did He go on to say "and marries another"? Why did He even say "if you look at another woman lustfully,you are guilty of adultery?. You also mentioned the refusal to give a paper setting a woman free,haven't you read Mark 10:2-5?,read it please and get your facts straight.
    Secondly,the story in Jeremiah was not about adultery per se,it was about idolatory,but God likened it to unfaithfulness,judah abandoned her Husband(God) and went about "prostituting" with other gods. God used adultery to depict the story so judah can understand the enormity of their actions and how painful it is(was).
    Thirdly,you condemned our obligations as Christians,saying Jesus did not sanction it. Please,let me enlighten you with these verses:
    For offerings/tithes, read malachi 3:10
    For attending church, read acts 2:42 and 1 John 1:3
    For holy communion, please read luke 22:19-20. May the good LORD help you to understand His words and teachings.

64. I don't want to understand you. I know that adultery is a form of sexual immortality and God frowns at it and we all should desist from it. Any other explanation makes no sense to me.

65. 16:25 try dudu osun soap the original

66. The writer is a deciever ,what did JESUS SAID ABOUT DEFILED?
    what can defiled a man?

67. The writer did a good job. Quite a brilliant piece. But adultery also includes sex. Itz large. The interpretation u gave is correct but u missed out sex. Sex with one who is not ur wife or husband is adultery.

68. Poster,in your mind na shebi na Rhema Word you don drop? Yinmu

69. Dear poster,
    The bible is not a novel or some history book that people can understand without the holyspirit.

"But the natural man receiveth not the things of the Spirit of God: for they are foolishness unto him: neither can he know them, because they are spiritually discerned."

If actually you wrote this because you are lost and requires guidance,then I will advise you get born again and receive the holyspirit who will teach you all things.

To every reader, please get acquainted with these verses of the bible and be as wise as serpent but yet as gentle as a dove.

1 John 2:18-19 KJV
    [18] Little children, it is the last time: and as ye have heard that antichrist shall come, even now are there many antichrists; whereby we know that it is the last time.
    19] They went out from us, but they were not of us; for if they had been of us, they would no doubt have continued with us: but they went out, that they might be made manifest that they were not all of us. …

God bless us.

70. Poster yii ti ya werey sha

71. That book call the bible, is full of lies and contradictions. Dead people stories.

1. It is better for a man to be tied with millstone around his neck and thrown into the ocean that to mislead one of this little ones...

72. Poster don't misinterpret the scripture. When u have sexual relationship as a woman outside your husband. You sin against your husband just like when u fornicate you sin again your body. On all ground adultery is related to sex

73. Poster jesus came to make things perfect. The old were miss understanding God I think so he said God made them one man one woman.

74. Stella I am surprised that you fall so cheaply and easily for this clever misinterpretation of the Bible and of Jesus' statement. Adultery is more than just sex but why would a man marry another woman if not for sex. This Essian guy is trying to justify just being good or charitable over adherence to our Christian obligation that is purely self-righteousness and philanthropy which on their own without God is nothing. He did not complete statement... Jesus asked the rich young man to sell, give to the poor and then come follow him. Following Jesus was the ultimate and selling all he has was to detach me from his earthly possession and follow Jesus in order to possess eternal life. Some other commenters have also added the fact that you can commit adultery by looking at a woman or a man lustfully. Every sin starts in the heart, not necessarily the physical act. Many of us are guilty. We lack purity of heart or intentions. That is why the most dangerous sin in the world today is the lust of the flesh which is sending many people straight to hell. We all sin in our hearts and when consider it seriously impurity dominates it.