Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Desmond Tutu Announces That He Would Like The Option Of An Assisted Death

Saturday, October 08, 2016

Desmond Tutu Announces That He Would Like The Option Of An Assisted Death

WHILST some people are praying for long life,Desmond Tutu marked his 85th birthday by asking for the right to end his own life...na wah!

The anti-apartheid veteran said laws against helping people to die should be abolished.
He claimed the right to be ‘allowed to pass on to the next phase in the manner of my choice’.

The former Anglican archbishop of Cape Town made his call in a newspaper article in which he said: ‘Just as I have argued firmly for compassion and fairness in life, I believe that terminally ill people should be treated with the same compassion and fairness when it comes to their deaths.’
His appeal comes at a time when assisted dying campaigners in Britain have run into a barrier because of the refusal of MPs to weaken the safeguards built into criminal law.

Last year the Commons voted nearly three to one against an assisted dying Bill that would have allowed doctors to prescribe deadly drugs for dying patients. Anyone found guilty of helping someone kill themselves can face a 14-year jail sentence.

Dr Tutu, who is now emeritus archbishop of Cape Town, declared his support for assisted dying two years ago. He made his latest plea in an article for the Washington Post which was published as he attended a service at St George’s Cathedral in his home city.

‘I have prepared for my death and have made it clear that I do not wish to be kept alive at all costs,’ he said. ‘I hope I am treated with compassion and allowed to pass on to the next phase of life’s journey in the manner of my choice.’

He said he supported initiatives for assisted dying laws in Britain, the US, South Africa and elsewhere. ‘In refusing dying people the right to die with dignity, we fail to demonstrate the compassion that lies at the heart of Christian values,’ he said. 

‘I pray that politicians, lawmakers and religious leaders have the courage to support the choices terminally ill citizens make in departing Mother Earth. The time to act is now.’
Two years ago the archbishop, a Nobel Peace Prize winner in 1984, said of the prospect of assisted death: ‘I would say I wouldn’t mind.’

Yesterday he said: ‘I myself am even closer to the departures hall than arrivals, so to speak, and my thoughts turn to how I would like to be treated when the time comes.’

He added: ‘Terminally ill people have control over their lives, so why should they be refused control over their deaths? Why are so many instead forced to endure terrible pain and suffering against their wishes. Regardless of what you might choose for yourself, why should you deny others the right to make this choice?

‘For those suffering unbearably and coming to the end of their lives, merely knowing that an assisted death is open to them can provide immeasurable comfort.’

Assisted suicide is lawful in Belgium, the Netherlands and Oregon in the US.
British MPs voted last year by 330 votes to 118 against a law that would have allowed doctors to write lethal prescriptions for patients diagnosed to be dying. Supreme Court judges have used test cases to signal their support for assisted dying. 

DailyMail

28 comments:

1. I totally support assisted suicide as the terminally ill endure so much pain that they pray for death. My friend once told me of a very old woman in her village who weeps uncontrollably anytime someone younger than her dies, she begs for death evades her.

2. Let him wait for Gods appointed time.

God Bless Everyone.

3. There was a similar case in 2012, the man was going to travel to one of the countries that allows assisted suicide. His wife was going to take him to the country but the British government said the wife will be prosecuted if she returns to Britain. These people are suffering, they should be allowed

MrsBee

4. I thought he was a man of God or so i heard, why end his life, when the life he's living is not his.
    Anyways, what do i know.

1. Abi o. One should not 'help' another to die, no matter what. This life is not ours and we can't take responsibility over it.

2. This man reminds me of Eli the priest. Their lives are just the same. What a man soweth he shall reap.

5. I am 32yrs old this year November and I also pray for death to come take me,At least I won't go to hell,I have been sick,I have a useless job,no health insurance,a graduate,going to school for me was a waste,I cnt Tkcr of myself bcos I earn less than 40k,been so sick with acute typhoid,nobody can help me,I need a hospital or I may die in dis.

1. You even earn less than 40k.
      I don't earn at all.
      I'm not sad.
      I'm optimistic.
      I'm working on ideas.
      There is something you extra you can do.

2. Why go under anonymous. Put up your email address or other means of contact. Life is for the living. Don't wish death upon your self my dear

3. Why contradict yourself? You are praying for death??? But you need a hospital? We have a lot of hospitals in Nigeria na. How do you want us to help? Reply and let's see how

4. If u want to beg, just beg, instead of contradicting yourself.. U want to die, u don't want to die, all from the same lips. U are an ingrate, look around and u will see people are suffering from worse cases.. Ungrateful beggar

5. Why go anonymous ? Show your id so u can be saved. U might be suffering from spiritual sickness which presents its self as typhoid always, u need to go to mountain of Fire for serious deliverance and then start from there

6. Why go anonymous ? Show your id so u can be saved. U might be suffering from spiritual sickness which presents its self as typhoid always, u need to go to mountain of Fire for serious deliverance and then start from there

6. I am 32yrs old this year November and I also pray for death to come take me,At least I won't go to hell,I have been sick,I have a useless job,no health insurance,a graduate,going to school for me was a waste,I cnt Tkcr of myself bcos I earn less than 40k,been so sick with acute typhoid,nobody can help me,I need a hospital or I may die in dis.

1. Send stella your details and proof that you are sick. 32 is too young to think of death as a solution to your problem. I feel you though but you are not thinking straight

7. Some heartless bvs will still come n write rubbish under my comment. U people get heart sha

8. It is called "suicide"
    Fuck the Euphemism!!!

9. Where the fuck is Nedu's thunder? Abeg come, some one needs you to be delivered to him with the help of ISIS, BOKO HARAM and NIGER DELTA AVENGERS as a bomb to him.
    Are you kidding me Mr emeritus? What then did you preach when you were archbishop? People to commit suicide? Or perhaps you don't have faith in God that the dead bone shall live again? Abi that Bible page tear commot from your Bible?
    Hmmmm. Anyway, I will never judge you, because the Bible reads "judge not my anointed and do my prophet no harm"

1. Dear,please don't quote the bible when you are not sure of what it said,you can paraphrase but make it known. It has huge curses attached to it.

"Touch not my anointed and do my prophets no harm".

10. Where the fuck is Nedu's thunder? Abeg come, some one needs you to be delivered to him with the help of ISIS, BOKO HARAM and NIGER DELTA AVENGERS as a bomb to him.
    Are you kidding me Mr emeritus? What then did you preach when you were archbishop? People to commit suicide? Or perhaps you don't have faith in God that the dead bone shall live again? Abi that Bible page tear commot from your Bible?
    Hmmmm. Anyway, I will never judge you, because the Bible reads "judge not my anointed and do my prophet no harm"

11. #Your past was never a mistake if you learned from it*

12. Please people read the article well...he is only trying to help a bill to be passed into law. He is supporting the act not saying he wants to die now. He doesn't want doctors to be battling to save his life like giving him oxygen and blood and what not if he is sick and about to die, he wants death to happen to him naturally without having to waste resources and energy since he is old already. I.e if he becomes terminally ill

13. I think old age has made the man senile. He has been in the company of men more than in the company of God, so he is losing it. Assisted murder or suicide is a sin even if people vote against it. Do not destroy what you did not create.