Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Jibrin Withdraws Suspension Suit Against House Of Reps

Friday, October 21, 2016

Jibrin Withdraws Suspension Suit Against House Of Reps

The Federal High Court, Abuja, on Friday struck out the suit of former Chairman, House of Representatives Committee on Appropriations, Mr. Abdulmumin Jibrin, challenging his suspension from the House.

The judge, Justice John Tsoho, struck out the matter after Jibrin’s Counsel, Mr. Chukuma Nwachukwu, told the court that his client had filed a notice of discontinuance.

Tsoho decline the request of the defendants for a N200, 000 cost, holding that the defendants were “strong institution and personality”.

At the hearing, Jibrin’s counsel, Nwachukwu, told the court that there was a notice of discontinuance filed on Oct. 11, urging the court to discontinue the matter.

The Counsel to the defendants, Mr. Kalu Onuoha, did not oppose the application, but asked for a cost of N200,000 for the processes filed by them.
He said the defendants filed many processes in this case before the court went on vacation in July 2016.
Nwachukwu, however, opposed the application with the fact that the defendants did not file any defence in the matter.

It will be recalled that Jibrin, a lawmaker from Kano State, was suspended by the House of Representatives for 180 legislative days .
However, the embattled legislator’s suit seeking stop the House is still pending in court.

NAN

5 comments:

1. Been sad since morning when I am sopoz to be happy dt my relative put to bed her 1st child, a baby boy.
    Got to d hospital by 8am, as we were rejoicing, I heard som kind of noise as I saw a nurse running like somtin is after her.
    Only to find out dt a woman who just put to bed was 'going'.
    Doctors were not around hence d nurse ran to call her.
    Come and see prayers.
    If speaking in tougues cud raise her, it would.
    Come and hear worship songs dt cud open heaven's gate. But for where!
    Other new mothers knelt by their bedside praying for d woman.
    Som were praying outside.
    I heard she works in God's vineyard too.
    My first time of watching pple battle to save another's life. (1st was my mum).
    Doctors later arived but cud do nothing.
    Please don't doctors run? Is it against their profession? To imagine dem strol in. They arived n did notin but confirm her dead. They just stood there. Till noon, her body was left in d ward and prayers still going on.

Ooooomy the nurse and midwives tried their best.
    All I cud do was cry cry cry!
    I kept begging God to do somtin. Reminded me of my late mum, how she passed on in my hands.
    It just spoiled my day.
    If som1 dies abroad, u'd be sure som measures were taken.
    Wat cud ve happend?
    Was it realy her time?
    How wud her hubby cope?
    God please help me regain me. I ve not been mysef.
    New baby, Dead mother. This age and time in Nigeria. Tufiakwa! God no go let our eyes see. Bad thing again. Amen!
    *takes deep breath*

2. If only I can lay my hand on 25%of what Jibrin has been asked to pay.