Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: MTV Africa Music Awards -Photos And Winners.

Sunday, October 23, 2016

MTV Africa Music Awards -Photos And Winners.

The MTV Africa Music Awards 2016 edition took place yesterday October 22, 2016, at the Dome in Johannesburg, South Africa.........

Best New Act – Tekno (Nigeria)

Song of the Year – Patoranking ft, Wande Coal (Nigeria)

Artiste of the Year – Wizkid (Nigeria)

Best Francophone Award – Serge Beynaud (Ivory Coast)

Best Group – Sauti Sol (Kenya) 

Best Pop n Alternative – Kyle Deutsch and Shekhinah (South Africa)

Best International Act – Drake (USA)

Best Male Act – Wizkid (Nigeria)

Listeners Choice – Jah Prayzah (Zimbabwe)

Video of the Year – Youssoupha Niguer Ma Vie (Congo)

Best Collaboration – DJ Maphorisa ft, Wizkid n DJ Bucks (South Africa n Nigeria)

Personality of the Year– Caster Semenya (South Africa)

Best Hip Hop – Emtee (South Africa)

Best Live Act – Cassper Nyovest (South Africa) 

Best Lusophone –C4 Pedro (Angola)

Legend Award –Hugh Masekela (South Africa)

Best Female Award – Yemi Alade (Nigeria)

63 comments:

1. So happy for my people.
    Wizkid,
    Yemi alade,
    Patoranking.

1. But really what does Yemi Alade sing,girl has got a good PR manager.
      Congrats to Baba Nla won.

2. Korede bello looks like a mechanic..

3. @ lagos babe.. Ask google or ifa. At least she had made Naija proud. What av u got to offer?. Bad belle + bad mouth =serious painment.

4. That's what I thought when I saw korede. Mechanic wey just learn work

2. Congratulations to the winners.

1. Caster semenya winning the personality of the year award,shows how enlightened Southafricans are unlike this hypocritical homophobic country of ours.
      The rousing ovation that was given to her melted my heart and to think her wife was present gave me joy.
      Naija sure has a long way

2. Nigerians are the Pharisees Jesus was always preaching about in the Bible. Appearing religious on the outside, so much filth on the inside.

3. Shut up nurse Elena. Yes we are homophobic, pack ur needles and syringe with pcm to SA. Oniranu oshi

4. Anon 12:49, that was today's gospel reading. You are right about we acting all righteous.

3. So this year Nigerians grabbed the juiciest awards!!!
    *Screaming* Wizkid!!!!
    Menn life is just full of ups and downs.... last two years others were celebrating, it looked like Wizzybaby was burnt out... Look at him now!!!

This is life for you, it can be someone else's turn tomorrow!
    May we always be relevant in our different fields ojare.

Im I the only one that dislikes Yemi Alade's Ferrari?? It is empty!!!
    oh well most of their songs are usually empty... but the beats are off the hook, like "pana"

My Patoranking won!!!
    I usually do not vote for anything,too lazy/busy to click links and all,coming here is enough😀... but this year... I did it for two of them😍😍😍😍

1. That Yemi Alade Oshodi Oke though

2. I thought I was the only one that noticed the emptiness of that song. The other song of hers that is worse is that sugar song. I really don't know the title

Nigerian artistes still have a long way to go lyrically

3. Yeah..yemi's songs are empty. .it's just the videos that are usually dope.she is very energetic.
      Give me sheyi shay anyday anytime.
      This her new single is the truth! I really cannot emember the title but she was playing piano in the video. .

4. tekno up there 💋💋💋
      PANA is lit 🔥🔥🔥💥💥

5. You don't hate that "Ferrari" more than I do.
      Very empty song.
      Always repeating and repeating her senseless lyrics.
      The video too is so annoying...
      I just hate her songs with passion.
      The most annoying part is calling herself "mama africa".
      Who dash her mama africa?
      Mama Africa ko, Aunty America ni

6. You don't hate that "Ferrari" more than I do.
      Very empty song.
      Always repeating and repeating her senseless lyrics.
      The video too is so annoying...
      I just hate her songs with passion.
      The most annoying part is calling herself "mama africa".
      Who dash her mama africa?
      Mama Africa ko, Aunty America ni.
      With her gri gri gra gra songs and dance,
      Her juju go soon fade

7. Yemi alade sings rubbish. Please can someone tell me the meaning of abrokotobrokoto eh? Would appreciate since yemi alade is fond of saying those rubbish words; with her legs like mahogany tree trunk

8. Can someone explain yoor Point for me @iphie

4. All the Nigeria artists that won deserved it.
    Tekno had a good year
    Patoranking keeps getting better

Wizkid is Nigeria's pride
    All that money and Yemi Alade cannot dress for the gawds?

YCEE is someone to look out for
    He got potentials.
    God bless you my people.

1. Oh YCEE is goooood.. just that he was in a tight category, I hope next year treats him well.

Falz had a good year too.
      Juliet presented well.

2. Don't mind dt yemi, dressing na zero n her songs r just rubbish, i don't know y dey keep promoting her, mtcheew!

3. Yea Ycee my main man

4. All but Hemi Alade abeg.I'll keep saying it,that girl's songs are rubbish.Dunno how she's managed to keep forcing her trashy songs down our throats. The on that annoys me the most is this her 'Ferrari'.Never heard a whackier song since this year.Cobgrats to them though.

5. So yemi and that girl would have kissed?I dislike the fact she was talking about the other room while collecting her award who ask you where u belong?her dressing is wack sef!

6. She is not forcing you please. Life is all about choices.

5. congrats to all the winners, they look good.

1. Noble looks good
      I see idris of BBA
      My pato I see u too

6. Where are the pictures?

1. Up there!

Congrats to all my Naija peeps that won.. we are proud of y'all

Tekno and Patoranking and Yemi and Wizkid and others..congrats

Can't get enough of Pana and Hallelujah

7. Congrats Baba nla. This is your year. Shaba!

Congrats Tekno. Duro is still my best of his songs.

8. Y is korede dressed like a mechanic or fire fighter sef?N Yemi couldn't help dressing like a church deaconess abi.wat do I know sef.

9. Y is korede dressed like a mechanic or fire fighter sef?N Yemi couldn't help dressing like a church deaconess abi.wat do I know sef.

10. Wizzy slayed them out. Yaagaaaa

11. I don't get the hype about Yemi Alade though.
    Congrats to Wizkid and Pato.

12. My love patoranking won hiyyy yemi I see u

13. Very boring award night.I was excited for yemi, tekno, wiz and my love, Pato.Yemi was too nervous standing beside the other hostess. And what was she wearing? Her performance was so kul. Well, congrats to the winners

14. Where is cynhams cake comments stella?

1. Some pained ass took it south almost drowning the post in the pacific...it's good Stella did the do

15. It was a very very boring show....

16. I just like this Igwe guy. He's my kind of guy. #lookingsharpalways

1. I just dey look u with *side eyes because your 14years go be with fierce labour.

2. Your mind is dirty @ La'creamie.
      Talking about his dress sense. Ok?!

17. Was so glad when my bae pato won that award, if he hadn't won it would have been embarrassing after getting how many nominations, happy for tekno as well and wizzybaba I love you much..
    Then yemi alade I reserve comment on that one..

Allergic to bullshite*

18. Patoranking and korede Bello's performances were WOW..
    I didn't like WizKids dressing, just my opinion tho.

Allergic to bullshite*

19. Juilet ibrahim just has a way of not looking right. Something is always just off, ini edo has dat problem too. Love me some Pato nd Cassper Nyovest. Happy for Sauti Sol, I love them.

20. Some people sha. They have been ranting about Yemi Alade.She has won get over it.Show me the Artiste that deserved to win that award. Ironically on twitter it was Nigerians that were bashing her,other countries were congratulating her. She released her second album, the songs are not perfect but she featured Sauti Sol(Kenya) and after that sang with Mi casa(South Africa). Coke studio nko where she sings with Sam diamond platinumz(tanzania) and now Trey songz. Shell campaign with Jennifer Hudson etc and was Featured by Kat De Luna on her EP. she goes to Uganda, Tanzania, Kenya and many other African countries with her band (oversabi band) plus she has a team (P.R and all) ,she has the followership all over africa and in case you missed it, MAMA is an African award.I foresee more international collaborations for her. I really hate it when people say things like this, please you don't have to follow the Crowd. Take time to see things for yourself. we Nigerians are too sentimental with their music. See Burna boy, Seyi Shay, Cynthia Morgan etc just because they don't 'like'them they bash them year in year out. Doesn't stop them from shining through. PS Yemi is smart:be like Yemi!

1. Ene, bear hug from me to you. Not matter what Yemi keep slaying. Burns boy is back, he's singles so far amazing.

2. Thank you for this comment... I tire for Nigerians... Is it easy to produce a song????
      All this itk them

Well I love her songs and I dance to it a lot...

By the way she is making her money.

21. Worst award of the year. More categories need to be enlisted e.g best video,best producer,song of the year etc. Patoranking shouldn't have worn a Jamaican tire to perform at an Africa show,not patriotic at all. Yemi alade shouldn't have worn a corporate suit to an evening event. Finally,for a show meant for creative and enthusiastic people.It was very very boring....From the dress sense (not enough glamour),to award speeches n even the performances n no red carpet sef.The award was a flop.Wasted my time.

1. Dundee who told u Jamaica is not Africa see how u dey fool yoor generation

22. Congratulations to you all,Yemi Alade,i love you so much.

23. Wow ooo singing if u love me u gi give ferrari, & oluwa nagode yemi am so happy for you Congrates who said that u are not mama Africa wen u have all ur songs in different African language. Her performance is a bomb she don't shout out but sing,dance & display @ de same time. Her performance with live band is always top of the word, she over deserves the award,her dressing portray Africa, everything about her is Africa. Am happy I voted her she won it with handwork. Keep flying ADA Alade,chukwu nonyere gi

24. Yemi alade is highly favoured. Rubbish song or not she shines bright so much he lights cover her haters .
    When u expecting grace then u knnw what I am talking about.
    You all can go And eat your shit. She won it life and direct.
    I am sure u guys have never won best staff in your office,best student or best anything I whatever u claim u do in life

1. Thank u for this comment ooo
      As in eh
      More money in her pocket joor

25. Im so proud of wizkid,ojuelegba changed the game for him,opened doors internationally and now hes sitting with kings,hardwork pays.As for people bashing Yemi,she deserved the award of best female,she has Been consistent from day 1,she performs live,has a band,sings and performs in different languages,she can be placed side by side any international artiste,the award was well deserved,well done girl,more to come.