Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Nigerian Billionaire Who Slipped Out Of EFCC Radar To Europe Without His International Passport

Sunday, October 02, 2016

Nigerian Billionaire Who Slipped Out Of EFCC Radar To Europe Without His International Passport

Justice Lateefat Okunnu of the Lagos State High court, sitting in Ikeja, on Friday adjourned proceedings in the case of conspiracy, obtaining property by false pretence, forgery and uttering false documents brought against Walter Wagbatsoma, Adaoha Ugo-Ngadi, Fakuade Babafemi Ebenezer and their company, Ontario Oil and Gas Nigeria Limited, by the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission.

The case was adjourned to October 14.
The adjournment followed fiery exchanges between the prosecuting counsel, Rotimi Jacobs, and counsel to the first defendant, Mr. Onyeke, over the continued absence of Walter Wagbatsama from trial.

Mr. Jacobs had filed an application urging the court to continue proceedings without the first defendant whom he said had absconded from justice.
He noted that despite the court being in possession of the first defendant’s international passport, he still travelled out of the country to four countries – France, Switzerland, Netherlands and Germany – with four different passports claiming to be critically ill without informing the court.

He said the conduct of the accused contravened section 2(1) and section 352(4) of the Administration of Criminal Justice Act.

Mr. Jacobs further told the court that the first defendant was arrested in Germany by United Kingdom authorities, extradited and placed on house arrest for unconcluded criminal charges.
He urged the court to continue proceedings without the first defendant and to compel the defence counsel to produce Dr. Amodu, the physician who referred the first defendant to Germany for medical treatment.

Mr. Onyeke dismissed the submission by the prosecution on the whereabouts of the first defendant as mere market-place gossip, adding that his client had not absconded from justice but merely travelled to Germany for medical treatment.

However, Mr. Onyeke confirmed that his client was arrested in Germany by UK authorities only on suspicion, and that temporary admission had been issued to his client by the UK Home Office and had not been charged with any offence.

The defence counsel could however not oppose continuation of proceedings without the first defendant as submitted by the prosecution but said the prosecution failed to understand the difference between misconduct and a clear reason beyond the control of his client to attend proceedings.

The defendants had on July 7, 2010 allegedly obtained N340million by false pretence from the Federal Government, purporting the money to be fuel subsidy accruals payable to Ontario Oil and Gas Nigeria Limited.

premium times reportage.

*Na wah..No respect for the Law at all.

29 comments:

1. All diz money Wey EFCC dey recover from looters, wat is the government doing with it?

2. It is buried in your father's compound.

2. Ha! Dr Amodu don enter yawa o! So before u treat/refer a patient now,u have to first check if he's wanted by the EFCC or police. Issorait.

3. Inspite of the hardship(which has happened around the world before and they survived it hence we will too) I will continue to support pmb's efforts to sanitise Nigeria. See the kind of people that ruled Nigeria all along but from 'in government' and 'outside government'. 'My client merely travelled to Germany for treatmen'. When his case is in court and his passport as well. Who granted him permission and which passport did he use? My client was merely arrested on suspicion. Do they arrest on conviction? Is he's clean would he be suspected? This lawyer and the criminal on the run are part of the people that would be shouting pmb fix our economy, pmb you're not working, pmb you ate an olodo etc upandan. With such lawyers, 'businessmen' and other such likes outside government conniving with those inside government, what do you get? Ad far as I'm concerned, that lawyer is complicit and should be charged for aiding and abetting the escape of his client.

Collect money and you can do anything, just anything. It will be easier for the Carmel to pass through.....oh well, why say it when they don't even believe what the bible they carry to church everyday says

1. Very well said.u spoke my mind out

2. Youngman, wisdom is clearly not the exclusive preserve of the aged. Nice one!

3. Kikiki youngman nobody reads ur epistle so stop famzing urself everytime under anony. Kikiki

4. Anon 06.11, I commented as Anon 11.39 above. I feel sorry for u.

4. When western nations were warning Nigerians and the Nigerian Govt. of being too corrupt, they all continued to deny & insult the " white man"; how can corrupt Buhari surrounded by fellow agreeable corrupt people ever fight corruption?

Nigerians still fooling themselves before, during and long after 1914***

5. Walter na baaaad guy!

6. What do you expect from thieves. Lawyers are our biggest problem. The judge sef tire for the matter... It is well. Young man I feel your comment.

7. @Youngman stop talking senselessly. Buhari is useless and confused .A barrow pusher in the market would have done a better job as a president than this old illiterate.

1. And you think you are making sense?

2. Anon 10:53 you are a certified dumb ass chai your papa and mama no try for this country. If we had reasonable people like @youngman. I'm sure there is hope for Nigeria

8. I didn't go to church. No offering. God pls pick my call.

9. I didn't go to church. No offering. God pls pick my call.

10. This one is not news, the guy currently dey France sef