Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Ooni Of Ife Says Yoruba-Speaking States Will Soon Get Common Anthem

Saturday, October 29, 2016

Ooni Of Ife Says Yoruba-Speaking States Will Soon Get Common Anthem

All the Yoruba speaking states in Nigeria will soon have a common anthem in local dialect that will be sung at every public function, immediately after the national anthem, the Ooni of Ife, Oba Enitan Adeyeye Ogunwusi declared on Friday.

DAILY POST reports that the foremost ruler made the pronouncement during a courtesy call on the Ekiti state governor, Mr Ayo Fayose at the Government House, Ado Ekiti to round-off his two-day official visit to the state.

According to him, the need for such Yoruba anthem had become necessary in view of the need to inculcate the spirit of solidarity, unity, service,love and togetherness on every Yoruba person, irrespective of age and status.

He said he drew the inspiration about forming a common Yoruba anthem after listening to the one already adopted by Ekiti state many years ago.

The Ooni said he was challenged by the contents of the Ekiti anthem, which he noted was laced with messages of solidarity, hope, peace, and unity.

He also promised to soon release a book that would further add value to his current peace efforts across the country.

Oba Ogunwusi said his two-day visit to Ekiti state has been most rewarding due to the prevalence of peace and display of mutual love among leaders and their followers.

He described the state as a model, saying most of the new experience garnered from the state would be adopted and inculcated into the overall Yoruba affairs in near future.

“My ascension to the throne of Oduduwa is not by mistake, it was God, the creator that ordained it and it is my belief that He has a clear role for me, and that role is to bring all my people together and foster peace among them.

“We Yorubas must learn to do only those things that unite us,and not those that separate us because there cannot be growth and development where peace and unity are conspicuously absent

“The time has come for us leaders in the country, especially those of us in Yorubaland to put supremacy aside,we are all nothing before God, we are just basically human,” the Ooni said.

In a response,the host governor, Fayose thanked the Ooni for extending his visit to two days to enable him fraternize more with the Ekiti people and urged him to continue with his tempo of peace and prayers for the Yoruba people and the entire nation.

22 comments:

1. Good for them...
    This yaraba king likes attention pass me...
    Oriegwu oh!...

1. Really? Yaraba? U sure u k?

2. See Zainab face. She looks somehow.

2. Tomorrow someone will come & be preaching unity & one Nigeria meanwhile we're already thinking up sectional & divisive things

3. But we have Oodua Anthem now

4. They already have one.

'Ahhhhh' 'Yeeee' 'Oluwa Ohhh'

I love Yoruba's but they can shout..

1. If u feel Yorubas can shout, pls hv an Urhobo as a neighbour, den u wld kno beta wat shout is.

5. Baga na jerry sulu foneh n'ogene. Pupu na dong a chino sulu foneh n'ogene agu ba ndi eze ba nyi si na o sulu foneh n'ogene. Ide nwudu n'isu awo sulu foneh n'ogene. Aku chukwu n'ezinifite nulu amala une oko ogu n'osumenyi bia nulu amala ugbo. A tryi gom

6. Hmmmmmm. I hope they are not planning to declare an Oduduwa republic.

7. Kabiyesi Yoruba people don't need anthem. Who anthem epp ?

1. Kikiikiiikiiii, this Don ehn, your blunt comments be cracking me up...

... Jesus is my worth!

8. Anthem go provide food for plenty yoruba speaking people wey dey starve?

9. The Olori looks stressed or izit my izz?

10. This fake paid as you go Yoruba King nor well. Very stupid

11. Western Naija's disengagement from the centre has started. Just as the northern separate rule of law, governance and "sacred cow" mentality, islamic banking, sharia, fulani herdsmen exploits, U.S. invitation to only-northern governors 4 meeting, John Kerry's recent visit with exclusively, northern leadership, etc have been underway for a long time. IPOB has been clamoring for the restoration of Biafra; the Niger-Delta also seeks to go its own way. Which way Nigeria, which way to go? Maybe, Achebe was right in noting: the center can no longer hold. QED@atm

12. Western Naija's disengagement from the centre has started. Just as the northern separate rule of law, governance and "sacred cow" mentality, islamic banking, sharia, fulani herdsmen exploits, U.S. invitation to only-northern governors 4 meeting, John Kerry's recent visit with exclusively, northern leadership, etc have been underway for a long time. IPOB has been clamoring for the restoration of Biafra; the Niger-Delta also seeks to go its own way. Which way Nigeria, which way to go? Maybe, Achebe was right in noting: the center can no longer hold. QED@atm