Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Pastor Sam Adeyemi's Controversial Tweets On #MentalHealth.

Sunday, October 30, 2016

Pastor Sam Adeyemi's Controversial Tweets On #MentalHealth.

Pastor Sam Adeyemi of Daystar Christian Center is in the News for his controversial tweets addressing Sin and mental health.....I am still reading and trying to Understand where all these points to,however I know we have some 
Bible fanatics here who can break down what he means for those of us who do not understand and will come to argue blindly or join the YES bandwagon.

41 comments:

1. Abeg it's too much but the little i read is quite interesting.

True not every mental illness is spiritual, hence the need to seek for medical expertise.

But he as a pastor should also know not every mental illness is caused by sickness or is hereditary. Some are also very much spiritual and can only be cured through prayers and deliverance.

2. He's right, seek medical attention and pray for it to work, that's d miracle.

1. Nothing controversial about the tweets

2. so what's controversial about the write, is it seeking medical help or that not all mental health are spiritual

Make I move jo

4. People are just posting some parts of the tweets and trying to nail his spiritual ass to a cross.

Kay,where are you? The blog needs you badly.

5. I don't get the part about sin being the cause of mental Illness. For all we know, many who are so can't even explain how it came about. Some are truly from certain curable and incurable brain diseases. What about those people who run ill in university when it's close to exams? Was so common back in uni esp those who stay In Hostels. They come to school with new gist about how A or B was night prepping and they slipped into some state. And most were in SU.
    Happened to my very intelligent friend doing Med Surg. She started spiraling out of control close those one of her MB exams. See us crying that day. Luckily her parents are doctors so they handled it fast. And we chatted the other day. She's very okay now and even getting married soon and is in final year. She was even thanking me for all the support we gave her and asked for the contacts of our uni friends. She joked about it sef. So where did she sin nau? Cos she was a spiricoco undergrad always telling us to repent that time. even created one female group in Uni called 'virgins for Christ, Jesus our boyfriend'. Lol. So, no. I object to that point.

Apart from that, everything he said is actually true- about seeking medical attention and believing the word of God for total healing through a renewal of your mind.
    Is he opening an NGO for mentally challenged people soon? Maybe that's where this is leading to. And that would actually be good. Pastor Tony Rapu has one here in Lekki.

1. Lmao... Oh! Yes Jesus is our boyfriend.

2. Rom.5:12, sin is the root cause of every thing bad and negative happening in this world when Adam handed over his legal right to Satan. Everything began to deteriorate in this world.

3. Hi Chikito I think when he refers to 'sin' he's not talking about our wrong actions, rather, about our sufferings being as a result of 'Adam, Eve and d Forbidden fruit.' I'm not in his 'head' so I dunno.

4. That sum1 is named 'SU' does not mean he/she is without sin. A true 'SU' is just one who is aware of his/her sins nd humble to seek God's forgiveness nd trying as much as possible to run from sin and do right by God and fellow men. The bible says all have sinned........
      And when one says its as a result of sin, does not rly mean d victim's sin.
      Sin is d cause of all d evil in d world today. So i think he is right.
      May God help us all. Amen

5. My sister I understand what you just narrated but we never can tell when a friend might havebsin, but you are absolutely right some people over read without relaxing may cause mental illness, some even take all manners of things to stay awake and also pastor is not looking at spiritual wickedness, they run people mad but in all he is right by saying should seek medical help and at the same time Godly help.

6. The sin he was referring to is that of Adam. The fall of man. The world was perfect till Adam and Eve sinned, so everything wrong with our world is as a result of that sin.

7. Yemi spill the gist na

8. Comprehension actually is a problem with Nigerians. Sin takes u away from ur anchor in Christ..leading to uncertainty..to worry...leading to issues esp of d dissociative nature. I f one see no controversy nor need f one.

6. Controversial or not, I can feel somethings he said, people that have been there one way or the other like ME will understand.. I have been suffering from panic and anxiety disorder which unfortunately is classified under mental health problem but God has been faithful, it used to be severe and now I am managing it and getting my life back but I can't come out in the open and tell people that I am a sufferer because people will think its 'madness'.. Heal me forever oh Lord, no matter what I know I am blessed and favoured, Amen.

1. Do end of dis comments make me😢😢😢😢😢😢

2. I am also believing God for healing for my siblings. Doctor says both of them are bipolar, my aunt says she did it to punish my mother... cant remember when last my mum was genuinely happy. My friends say I am extremely secrrtive but I can't expose my family to outsiders. If is a sin my parents or siblings committed o lord forgive, if its the hand of the enemy, dear Lord render a reward to the wicked. All in all Lord, have mercy and heal them because it is not easy at all.......

3. My dear it is only a mere sickness and God is the greatest healer ever. Just take your drugs and hand your healing to Him. Pay no heed to the negativity out there and just focus on being a better you.
      You are indeed blessed and favoured (You are what you say you are so don't ever forget that)

4. The blessed one God will heal you forever in Jesus name,amen! And anon God will deliver and heal your siblings too IJN,amen!

5. The lord will perfect their healing beyond what medicine can handle and disgrace your aunt by his power for his name sake. Amen.

6. Forgive my typos.Anonymous with bipolar sisters. Bipolar is not the end of the world. And it is episodic. Why are Nigerians so judgemental if people with mental health. Please make sure they see a good psychiatrist. Medication and psychotherapy is probably the best form of treatment for them. Please nobody is attacking them spiritually.

Also, Bipolar is probably inherited from tour family. Mental illness is mostly caused by a change in chemical balance in your brain and is caused by a trigger.
      And people with it should not be stigmatised. There are lot of different mental illnesses that a lot of people suffer from and don't even know.

While there are spiritual forces. Please people should endeavour to exhaust the medical options first because in most cases it is not spiritual.
      N.B: Also, a lot of people mistake mental illnesses, neurological illnesses and behavioural disorders as one. While they are closely related and sometimes occur simultaneously, then. Jade

7. Also blessed one, people are not medical professionals, discuss your panic attacks with a specialist. Craziness is classified when the person has a psychotic break down. Don't get there. Get the help you need. Medication is wonderful in calming you. And please you can't get it without seeing a professional to manage your symptoms. If I lived in nigeria I would have loved to help you. Jade

8. In the name that is above every other name, you are healed in Jesus' name. Just receive and believe it.

7. I agree with some of the things he said BUT saying that mental illness is as a result of SIN? I draw the line at that. That is a blanket statement and yes whilst some people suffer the consequences for the sins they commit (which might manifest in mental breakdown) making a general statement like that is dangerous and wrong cos generally speaking, mental illness is just like any other disease out there that needs treatment so why do we like to tag EVERYTHING that occurs to people as a result of one sin or the other? It's wrong.
    Mental illness is a serious issue and its sufferers should not have the additional burden of being tagged sinners so that is why they are ill please!
    He's an influential person so should be careful of how the message he passes across comes out before simpletons distort and abuse what should not be. The world is a hard place to live in lets not make it harder.

8. sin is the cause of all mental illness.
    1. somebody jazz you ( the person committee sin)
    2. you over read in a short span thus over stressing yourself (he that knoweth to do good and fails to do it is a sin)
    3. hard drugs (sin).
    4. been fearful for nothing (sin)

9. We are all sinners. Stress can be a very bad thing, poverty can be, etc. We all are sinners.

10. Some of the points he said are well understood and Ok with my view. It is good to quench the fiery dart of the wicked as the Bible admonished in Eph.6 and 2 corr10:4. But to said that sin is the cause of mental health is subject to argument. Mental health is partly hereditary and sometimes result from the pressure, disappointment, frustration and such things we face daily. Some people are born with mental illness and the symptoms increase as they grow, So would one said it's because of their sin? No! His view would have made more sense had he emphasized more on the solution like he fairly pointed out that an individual struggling with mental illness should turn to God as his/her healer than succumbing to the suggestion of their mind which is why the illness set up/linger. The human mind is very fragile and so plastic. It accepts and works with the information being comes in without putting into account whether those information are right or wrong, its going to work with it anyway, Because the individual entertains those suggestions, ill opinions about themselves, society, people, work, relationship, diseases etc. Meanwhile in reality those thoughts are inexistent. However, the implication is that when you subconsciously come back to your senses and you start denouncing those vices as listed above, some part of your mind would have get used to its usual way of thoughts and actions and would start fighting back trying to pull you back to the cycle. So that is why is being said that he who can control his thoughts can control everything! So Mental health is an issue of the mind. Try much everyday under prayer and meditation on the scripture to annul all those bad thoughts. Proclaim your victory, label your thoughts and don't succumb to it when they arise.

1. When God finished creating all things, He saw that it was good. 'Bad' began after man sinned.Therefore,sickness,physical and mental are products of the fall of man,a.k.a.sin. That's how it works bro.

11. Everything he tweeted is fines asides from d part where he says the root cause of mental illness is Sin and put Romans 6:23 though that passage says "the wages of sin is death but the gift of God is eternal life in Christ Jesus.
    Sin is definitely not the cause of mental illness and he's right when he implies we shouldn't spiritualize all mental illness and they need help

12. As Christians, anything short of total wholeness is not allowed. The spiritual control the physical. If you ate sick, approach it from the spiritual, then treat it in the physical ad well. About mental illness as a result of sin, I'll just read comments for now.

13. Stella, what he is trying 2 say is dt, some Christian?Bornagain/Believer, do not like seeking medical attention whenever they are sick instead they'll start speaking on God's word/prayer since they are in Christ that they can bring themselves 2 agreeing that they are sick/ill.

1. You're very right, that's all I can see also

14. I can so relate to what he wrote besides the fact that he said sin is the cause of mental illness. My cousin is schizophrenic and when this problem started I would tell my mum to tell her sis who is a senior medical practioner to give her medical help. But did they listen? No this people were doing dry fasting up and down, if they had sought medical counsel at the early stage it wouldn't have progressed into what it is now. Now she experiences all the symptoms even that horrible catatonia, and I will continue to say that being overly religious was one of the things that triggered this illness. Back then everything we did then as kids was sinful I was told I was possessed, told my thoughts were sinful, We had a very strict religious upbringing so much that it made me socially inept and eventually lead to low self esteem, my case of low esteem was so bad that I would hear voices and be so depressed I wouldnt even want to go out so people dont see me.This I have realized is how schizophrenia starts I refused to tell anyone, that one year was the worst of my life, but I fought it and I won, but it affected my result that year, I read a lot of books during this period and with time my mind started to get strong. Please people if someone you love has traces of mental illness get medical help as soon as possible forget prayer houses and religion, even the bible says faith without work is dead.

1. Hmmmmm you are wise and strong. God be with u always

15. Enter your comment...Y'all think mental illness is when somebody goes mad abi? you dnt knw der r lots of mental illness like depression? some pple get depressed to the extent of thinking suicidal. you think it's nt caused by sin?

16. What he meant, is that sin nature separates man from God, and that u cannot be in a good relationship with God and suffer any kind of ailment cos Jesus has paid the price for us. He said and i quote "Healing is not the miracle, but not falling sick is the real miracle". That we allow the devil sow evil thoughts in our mind n lose focus on God, thereby losing our minds. God will not give us a burden he knows we cannot handle, but the devil will magnify it, so that we feel forsaken. Once our focus shifts from God, we tend to lose all the calmness around and then panic, anxiety etc sets in, which might lead to mental breakdown.

17. I would like to clarify the sin is the root of mental illness aspect. Anyone that has been under the tutelage of Rev Sam would know that he is very practical, he does mot tend to over spiritualize things.

Sin is the root of all evil, not your personal sin but the sin at the fall of Adam, very man afterwards was born into the sin due to the curse. Jesus came to take us back to the right way of living, we are no longer under the curse. But the devil is not sitting down and folding his hands while we get our deliverance. Therefore we have believers who are still bondage because they have not appropriated what the Word of God has for them. In the beginning there was no ill health in the agenda, either mental, physical or emotional, it was sin that brought that in. So as we know Gd more and what His word says about it, we begin to walk in the fullness that he has created us. That is what Rev Sam meant and not the sin you may have committed in your past.