Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Robbers Attack Delta Bank with Dynamite, Cart Off N25m

Monday, October 31, 2016

Robbers Attack Delta Bank with Dynamite, Cart Off N25m

DARE-devil robbers, weekend, attacked an Ughelli branch of Union Bank, and carted away N25 million after blowing up the bank’s vault with dynamite.

It was gathered that the hoodlums, who were dressed in army camouflage, used dynamite and welding tools to break into the ATM inside the bank and the bank’s vault, where a bulk of the cash was kept.

An auditor of the bank, who was sent from the Benin regional office for the regular auditing of the bank’s branch, estimated that about N25 million was stolen from the bank.

Confirming the incident yesterday, a staff of the bank, who spoke on condition of anonymity, disclosed that the bank’s manager and some senior staff were arrested and taken to Asaba for questioning in connection with the incident.

Giving details of the incident, the staff said: “The security guards were tied up while the operation lasted.

“Though they spared the ATM outside the bank premises, they used dynamite to blow up the ATM inside the bank and drilled their way through into the bank’s vault.”

Culled: Vanguard

32 comments:

1. Is about that time of the year again.

1. That's great news.the robbers should please remember to help a few people in need with tangible money to start a small trade to be able to feed.

2. Toorrr insider job. Xmas money don land.

2. Mhh, guys aren't smiling. Hope there was no casulaty?

3. Hmm this shdnt be in the news, it will encourage others to do theirs.

4. any bank robbery, the BM and head of operations must sleep cell for atleast one night. na normal protocol be that...lol

this must be an inside job. how did they know 25m was inside the vault on a weekend, when banks always have a limit.

1. Exactly. Bank robbery always has an insider informant anyway.

5. Big Strong Reliable. I like Union bank. May these hoodlums be caught.

1. Hahaha.
      25mil??? yeah right!
      How can a bank situated in ugheli,a not so busy business area have up to 25mil in its safe on a weekend @that
      Lol @blown with dynamites an drilled through.Na so...it's obvious this people b watching lotsa hollywood movies.
      Ps-any vault that can be blown open by dynamite isn't a vault bt rather a safe or storage house.
      Union bank,next time u guys shld spend money and get a real vault.

2. Elena i don't believe it too, just saying!

3. Elena from a being a quack doctor to a security expert.Have you entered a vault before? If dynamite can blast a rock so tell me the chance of an iron cast material.Ignoramus

6. Na wa o, thought bank vaults are meant to withstand dynamite.. .

Your comment will be visible after approval.

7. Hunger in the land!...
    Vuharia has finished Nigerians!..

1. N banks werent robbed during jona era abi?nkapi lyk u

8. Christmas is good for this guys. How are we sure it is N25 million. I dont trust the bank manager.

9. One day one day, monkey go go market and e no go return.

10. Simply put Niger boys couldn't force Buhari to pay them without working like their brother Jona did so they result in robbery with the arms bought for them to cause disruptions but they can't cotinue to wait for the president because legal job is not for them. God please protect your own who believed there is dignity in labour. Amen.

1. Ethnic bigot ni e,dabi mo she da.Jonathan is not the cause of you being broke. You will be shocked yoruba boys might be part of the gang.Ignoramus

11. It is well.... mrs pea

12. I live in ughelli n I didn't hear about it.how possible is it?

13. Theses boys are not smiling oooo.I pray there will be through investigation on this,and the cuprits brought to book!

14. This is an inside job, most bankers are thieves.

15. Union bank still dey use those hard to push/open doors? Abi dem don finally upgrade?

Hope no life was lost.

16. Inside job and they came prepared

17. I can't stop laughing ....the tied the security men down and blew the the vault? The robbers were over prepared...am sure the bank has insurance nah

18. Were d robbed,yes?,WS DT amount stollen?no,in such scenario, d bnk manager n his cohorts would just inflate d amt n keep d rest for emselves after all d cash is insured DTS theft to!!!!