Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Soldiers Say They Got N13m From Ransom Paid For CBN Gov Emefiele's Wife.

Tuesday, October 11, 2016

Soldiers Say They Got N13m From Ransom Paid For CBN Gov Emefiele's Wife.

Two soldiers, Lance Corporals Musa Maidabra and Edwin George, serving at 122D30 Regiment in Maiduguri, Borno State, have been arrested for transporting the ransom that was paid for the release of the wife of the Central Bank Governor, Margaret Emefiele.

Emefiele and three others were abducted along Benin-Agbor Road about two weeks ago and were released 24 hours later after the payment of undisclosed amount to their abductors.
The two soldiers said they received N6.5m each as their share of the ransom estimated to be around N80m.

Maidabra and George, who were paraded alongside seven others on Monday in Abuja for alleged involvement in the kidnapping, said they were given the money for assisting the gang to transport the ransom to a hideout in Benin, the Edo State capital.

Other suspects included a dismissed soldier, Ernest Uduefe, Mohammed Abubakar, Mohammed Musa, Mohammed Sule, Ibrahim Abdullahi, Aliyu Musa and Mohammed Yusuf.

Maidabra said, “We were not involved in the kidnapping; we only assisted them to transport the money to a location. We carried the money and ran away with it in a vehicle; it was part of my friend’s share that I collected. We didn’t know the money was from a kidnap operation.”
George corroborated his colleague, saying they provided security cover for transporting the ransom to a hideout in Benin.
“I was not involved in the kidnap; the money they gave me was over N6m. I asked about the source of the money, but they didn’t tell me,” he said.
The Force Public Relations Officer, Donald Awunah, said the police recovered N14,725,000, two Honda Accord cars, an Audi car, one AK 47 magazine and two cartridges from the gang.

He stated that a Jeep, valued at N1.5m and N4m cash were recovered from Maidabra, while a Honda Accord, estimated at N1.1m, was recovered from George.

Awunah explained that detectives recovered N7.7m from Musa out of his N10m share, adding that he sustained bullet wounds after a gun duel with the police while trying to escape from the forest where they had kept their victim.
He said, “Mohammed Sule confessed to have received N10m in cash as part of his share of the ransom paid and claimed a soldier and a gang leader escaped with the rest of the loot. Another suspect, Ibrahim Abdullahi, admitted to have received N10m in cash.
“The police will continue to limit the capacity of kidnappers and other criminals to disrupt the quality of life of Nigerians by the deployment of adequate manpower and resources in crime reduction, detection and prosecution of offenders.”
On the payment of ransom, the police noted that it was sometime used as a bait or bargaining chip to save the lives of victims of crime.

“It is absolutely important to mention that the police do not and will not encourage payment of ransom,” Awunah added.
punch report

80million Ransom?WOOOOW!

46 comments:

1. Imagine so these tozo hausa mumus actually did this, nama, since their brother started rulling I noticed they have been causing more mayhem, I wish they can all be shot

1. I thought they said they didn't pay any ransom?
      Anyway.

2. Your head no just correct. To you now you have commented. Fool

3. I knew they'll catch them. There's no way they'll run with that money. It would have been a big disgrace on the SSS/police if they weren't trailed.

2. Na wa o. They've met their Waterloo.

Your comment will be visible after approval.

3. Told my husband they weren't released without ransom and he doubted me.80million naira for this economic recession!

1. Recession is only for the poor in Nigeria.
      God help this country

2. I want to believe that they used marked money for this purpose.

4. Abeg u guyz should leave the soldiers is their share of the National cake
    So person fit pay this kind of money in dis Recession

Mchewwwwwwww

1. I concur! How much do they pay them? Soldiers aren't taken care of at all in Nigeria. It's so sad really. The whole situation

2. I am not surprised at your comment when most average Nigerians like u are thieves,I trust no one in Nigeria to most of u it's normal to steal.

3. Wait till your family is kidnapped and you can say that again.
      Poverty don dent your brain.

4. Don Mayor close that your stinking mouth.

5. I am not in support in kidnapping or any Criminal act

Our Politicians are the biggest thief, though CBN Govnor ain't a Politician
      @ Anno kindly reply me with your ID, since u remain Anno i'll not waste my 2 cent on u
      It takes a thief to know a thief

6. @ PovertyMayor
      U are a Don n u live on SDK blog 24/7
      Oya clap 4 ya self OBO ( Omo Baba Olowo)

5. Lawd!!!
    So ransom was paid?
    Nigeria my Nigeria.

1. Abeg the kidnappings along that road is getting too much. Recently, my friend's colleague that was going for his wife's burial preparation was kidnapped. His people had to pay 4M before he was released. I pity d man die. Now dem don shift the burial. Its those Fulani herdsmen that are operating there now.

6. Sharp sharp ..This man dipped hand in the treasury. ..oya EFCC should look into the matter. .is He worth that much to be able to pay such as ransome?

7. Ayam not understanding.. soldiers helped criminals to transport money? As in help them? They are all involved joor.. af the 80 million.. I think they paid more than that.

1. No, soldiers carried out the kidnap and sent some oda soldiers to transport the cash.

8. The level of crime in Nigeria and calibre of people involved in them is disheartening

9. The is no money in the country, the country is in recession but
    They could cough out 80m niara for kidnappers. It's well with Nigeria

10. The money used as ransom must be from the Treasury.How could he gather such amount within 24hrs? EFCC should investigate him now.

11. Am so addicted to SDK Blog. God help me to come out of this addiction.This is not me joor.

1. So addicted yet nobody knows your name here. Keep licking ass

12. Replies
    1. Yahoo boy
      Keep doing Yahoo
      One day u took will face d Law

13. Nigerians n lies.
    National cake my foot.
    I wonder hw one can actually commend evil.
    They shud be be killed.

14. These politicians are not affected by this recession, like seriously 80mills...thankGod they were caught

15. Hmmmmm na wa soldiers involved, 80million

16. Truth is coming out. Shebi you people said no ransom was paid. So N80m was coughed out under 24hrs? Chai, there is God o.

17. So them get that kind of money to pay under dis recession yet them they campaign to sell National asset

18. Issorite!!! Pls am looking for work around Lekki-ajah axis sm1 shld link me up biko

19. God somebody is paying 80m to kidnappers and I am only asking for just 100k to better my life? God, you must not keep quiet over my matter ooo

20. And them say Nigeria dey reccession

21. 1 of d wicked leaders meets wicked kidnappers.

22. As long as u have read it am ok,if u like don't post it

23. I knew it will come to this...liars every where... Those soldiers knew that the money was illegal considering the amount. Good for them. Am still hopeful that my oga that was kidnapped 3weeks ago will be released. Even after paying those bastard twice they are not still touched to free him. Hmmm God dey

24. 80 million, and they said no ransom was paid

25. We need to go back to moral instructions at school, just like the good old days.

26. We need to go back to moral instructions at school, just like the good old days.