79 comments:

1. Hehehehe....lips sealed. No comment.

#I am a fruitful vine, I am a joyful mother of covenant children

1. I support..... Cheap n affordable but not free

2. I see the point tho.

My hostel is church owned, we only pay house rent, every other thing is paid for by the bishop viz

Furnishing for your room, including bed and office desk (reading table)
      Bus service
      Light bills.
      Generator
      Maintenance
      And more
      Bishop of onitsha diocese covers everything.

So church money should infact be used for God's people

3. Well, how will they maintain the school and keep up to standard? At least a reasonable amount should be paid

2. Correct!...
    But unfortunately,most Nigerian pastors are thieves!...fighting for their own pocket..
    That's why I love my daddy in The Lord...I'm sure if he has a school,it would be free...

3. Hmmmmm.

Won't they need money to run the schools.

The fees should be made affordable by all that's the way I see it.

1. More like it. Affordability it is. But no, schools owned by churches ranks among the most expensive

1. He also has Free skill acquisition centres and graduate training schemes located in the slums of Ph. This man is just too much!

5. Hmmm....
    If it's free,where will they get the money to pay their teachers

1. Where did they get money to build the school?

2. Donation? Donation? Donation?

I see how to run a school from bv.

3. So when there's not enough donation what happens? They should just subsidise the fees jare

6. More of this should be displayed at every corner.

7. This comment has been removed by the author.

8. Very True. exactly my thoughts.

9. Can only happen 1859
    Not this present time.

1. Funny enough he is doing it now. His school is free .even gives books free also. But the Traffic he causes on that road no be here @ all.

10. The schools shouldn't be totally free but the fees should be something an average member can comfortably pay. Not what only the Rich can afford after all, every offering counts.

11. May God bless the pastor that came up with this. Let the offering of the people be put into good use such as the education of the poor. This is what Christ died for, not the enrichment of pastors pockets with offerings.

12. This post also baffle me a lot, I don't understand why church schools are so expensive if their primary schools na die. Some people pay offering in all this churches and they afford books for their children in public schools.

13. Hahahahaha. But even the members of the church cannot afford to send their children to the church school due to high school fees.

14. Yeaaa i saw this is port Harcourt last weekend!
    True say sha. But dem go gree

15. Couldn't have said it any better

16. It should not be free,but not overly expensive too.

17. Na so this man bring trucks of Kerosene share people for free...he is a nice man...

18. Hmmmmmm. How will the staff be paid? Will it be for only church members? Hmmmmmm

19. I can't be bothered!

20. Stella I don't understand your timing on post, please correct it o, as a German citizen that you is o plz correct I dry Naija so I need it the Naija way.

21. OPM for president!!!
    He speaks the truth joor
    They'll take offerings and tithes of the poor to build schools for only the rich to attend.

God of men that preach follow my words not my character! Indeed..Judgement will start in the church!!!

22. If it's free, how do they pay salaries of teachers and non teaching staff. How do they run the school etc. It should be affordable not outright free

1. Free for the poor, affordable for others. Poor kids also have a right to free quality education.

2. OPM schools are for free and standard too. And they don't owe their teachers either..go figure!

Victoria's Heart

23. Yes o I saw it too on Facebook, so true. It should be free for church mmembers especially the poor ones.

24. The money spent making this useless signpost would have paid the school fees of 4 kids am certain

25. The money spent making this useless signpost would have paid the school fees of 4 kids am certain

1. My dear it is not useless if they're speaking the gospel truth. And in case you don't know, OPM schools are for free and they are standard too!

We all know thr truth but chose to be blinded by sentiments. God will be the judge of all.

Victoria's Heart

2. That means you don't know the pastor in question, he has free schools in ph and also free restaurant and other things. That's what Christianity should be all about..

26. Them no go hear,they would give several reasons for collecting such ridiculous amounts.Am not even advocating that it should be free,what I advocate for is that church schools should be amongst the cheapest.

27. Saw this at waterlines junction yesterday. Lmao.opm will not kill me

28. Very true!
    I'm not a member of OPM, I've never attended any Of their church services or delivery sessions whatsoever but I can attest to the fact that OPM Schools isn't just any free public school but standard ones. How do churches build schools that an average church member can't afford?? Those same church members who pay tithes, offerings, vows, who helped in building the schools...even if they can't make it free, make it affordable. If OPM that just started few years ago can do it, impossible is nothing.

Legitimate wealth or not (only God Knows), he is touching lives.

29. This does not sound as easy. Especially for tertiary institutions. I went to a Catholic private Uni in the US and it wasn't free considering how charitable whites are. I didn't expect it to. Funds are needed to run the schools. However, the grouse here is that many a time, the church Unis in naija is too exorbitant for its members to even afford. Offerings can only go a mile but not the whole 9 yards. Let's be realistic if we consider the logistics required in running schools optimally without paying staffers peanuts and infrastructure required as well.
    Schools abroad are always soliciting for donations so freebie isn't realistic.

1. Thank u jare, am not a member of those churches that have universities but it can be free cos enough funds is needed to run the school, they can only reduce d amount of the school fees. Won't they pay teachers nd buy or replace new equipments nd materials ?

2. God bless u.

Nigerians like free things

30. If they sell one of their private jets they would be able to pay teachers. The rich pastors can also volunteer their time to teach subjects they are good at, they are rich enough to donate their time. A Church is a charity so they don't have to get paid to teach at a Church school.

31. This assertion is not realistic. And those who claim this are the ones who put cents and twenty naira in the plates on Sundays.
    There have been cases of church schools run by the Church for people. People really suffered. They grumbled that the parents of those kids should donate for the training, not every other person.
    This our entitlement mentalities annoying.

1. As in. Their offering is mostly 20 naira to 100 naira.

The big men who pay more ain't complaining o

32. It should not be free but people be able to pay little amount because if it is free how do they pay their teachers? I know the private universities are too expensive.

33. Concentrate on ur own and leave others abeg.

PROUDLY COVENANT UNIVERSITY

34. Stella of life ur very funny.I saw this also at Airforce junction.Hummm OPM! Lips sealed.

35. Even if it's not completely free, it should be affordable for church members .

36. Madea, do the catholic churches in America do multiple offertory collections? Are the churches as full as you find here in Nigeria? It is understandable why they need they need to source for donations in America but not in Nigeria where they have large congregations, tithes, seeds etc. All they seem to use it to use the money for is to take care of the priests and build bigger churches in place of supposedly small ones.

1. Do u know how many priests they take care of?

They don't want to be termed money conscious that's why they ask for donations most times which they hardly get.

37. Ok if they can't make it free at least it should be affordable.

38. #When you feel a disconnect between what you have now & what you feel like you are capable of, it’s a sign that you need to challenge yourself*

39. And they should be using stones to run the school abi? abeg make I pass. Rather, I feel it should be made affordable.

40. It is not realistic! He is setting up a system that is not sustainable... just watch it it may be a flash in pan... something isnt right. From what I know anything made free is either not appreciated or exploited. It should be affordable but not totally free.

41. God bless you people oo. Atlest if it's not even free let it be affordable.

42. The fees should be reduced seriously, most universities or secondary schools owned by church are ducking expensive most of their members can't even afford to attend