Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Zenith Bank Staff 'Corners' Customers One Billion Naira

Monday, October 03, 2016

Zenith Bank Staff 'Corners' Customers One Billion Naira

According inside sources, some Zenith Bank staff of their Ilupeju Branch in Lagos have been nabbed for Cornering one billion naira belonging to their Customer -An aviation company.

According to inside sources who squealed to SDK Blog ''They transferred to money to the account one Mallam that changes money in Abuja and then physically picked up the money in Dollars and pounds from him and returned to Lagos.

A few Months later the Alhaji was arrested and after a few days in detention,he was taken to the Bank where he identified one of the men who had come to collect the Forex in cash from him and they were rounded up and are presently being investigated.

Sources reveal that the deed was done with a Lebanese who worked in the Aviation company but is presently on the run.
One of the Bank Staff has also allegedly used his share to buy a house somewhere on the Island.

The case is being whispered in hushed tones in Zenith Bank brances whilst investigations go on....

All calls made to Zenith Bank's Head, Corporate Communication, Mr. Victor Adoji did not go through as at time of filing this report.
This writeup has a right of reply.

52 comments:

1. Wow... I only saw the amount involved. Chai!

2. Most of these banks staff are worst than street robbers,the only difference is that they steal with a pen not a gun.

3. Fraud gone wrong. I dey fear bankers.

1. Hmmm these guys re so pathetic.

This made me remember the world famous "John Edoche of GT" who cornered GTbank's money, that was 010/2011. They couldn't apprehend him but he was always online on Facebook.
      this episode is for another day joor

I wonder how he's doing now.

4. Most bankers are thieves in corporate uniforms. Money that is not yours? They must have studied that customer to know they dont check their accounts. Tomorrow they will be the envy of their colleagues meanwhile na ndi ori ka fa bu. One billion naira!

5. See money abegi. Maybe the money has been lying idle for a long time Pls who owns the account and how did he get the money?

6. And they say there's no money in the country.

7. I dont know what is happening but this is so rampant in Zenith especially. Benin branches way back used to be the main thieves. Their staff can divert customer funds eh. Because of that, no bank staff stays for more than 6months in a branch. That way they dont get too comfortable in a branch. They have relaxed in that form of security. This is the end result.

1. Yes o. I know of a staff who stole in Benin some months back. They are all thieves.

2. Nigerian bankers and insurers they are all theives oh! (Well, not all. But most). They are usually used to divert funds from organisations and sealing accounts. When I see people struggling to work in bank, I laugh. Honesty can HARDLY get you far in the banking industry. Exception you have personal connects. My dad and elder sis had to leave. My dad left because they were trying to get his hands dirty, and hes a christian. Left after about 11yrs to float his own company. This was in the 90s oh! Where there was no e-banking. So I can imagine now. My sis worked in about 5 nigerian banks. There was one that she uncovered a fraud her first week of resumption. As an over sabi that she IS nau.... she turned detective. Na so them frustrate her for that head office oh. She no last there pass one year. She quickly ported to another bank. When that particular bank crashed everyone's mouth remained open.
      This 1bn is small. Come and hear money that bankers divert. Some even bribe the forces and share the money to cover case. Let me stop here

8. Lately it seems the banking sector is filled with thieves.
    Just last month an idiot from gtb withdrew money from my cousins account without authorisation,maybe she felt d owner of the account was dead or something cos the deposits were always being made into the account but never withdrawn.
    The branch manager wanted the situation swept under but when he saw we weren't a push over,they pleaded with us and promised to be paying 300k every month till the money is complete.
    Anyway,the thieving lady lost her job cos we demanded so.
    Before then though,she came pleading saying how her mom was ill hence she was forced to do so.
    Told her to keep quiet joor...she isn't the only one that has got one issue or the other

1. You don't mean it!!!
      I called gtb once as my token got blocked and I was out of the country. So I called with the foreign number. The customer service officer asked for my email. I told him. He said there were two emails on my account (which is true cos I used my uni email to open the account when I opened, and npw changed it to an official email when I wanted to use as my salary account). So I mentioned both emails. Then he said he will switch to the official mail.
      But do you know that since then, I've been receiving scam emails from gtb to that my old mail. Email will say : click here to switch your account to the original email. But as a thief that I IS I will just check the email address and see that it's not from gtb. It appears like GT but when you click, another name will pop up: sola@eportal.com or something stupid like that.
      I know that customer service officer is behind this. But do I have proof?

2. Yes you have proof. That silly account officer should be apprehended.

Otherwise,request for a change of account officer and that wish will be fulfilled.

3. @Elena, go to EFCC and lay a petition to them. They re very good at such.

Request for a statement of your account as evidence to back your claim.

4. Princess I can't remember his name. It was over the phone. But i will request for a change. Although i dont keep more than 20-50k there at every point in time. Best i can do is forward the mail to gtb let them see what's going on. Although they keep sending warning mails about fraud so that's okay on their part

9. A whole 1b, bahd bahdoo bahdest
    They need Jesus in their lives
    #JOeFIRSt

10. Hmmmm no body to trust again trouble ever were God bless us all

11. All these billions you people are sharing, Diaris God ooo

12. Enter your comment...the rate people are worshipping money is out of dis world.

13. The bastard is a disgrace...

14. Stella u want make them loose customers... miss hottie

15. Hian for this holiday or na for last week. Why won't they collect the company money when they cut their salaries by 30%. Ole Lebanese ole bank officials

16. It's not only ilupeju! This morning I got an SMS from zenith I was debited #56 for July sms!can u imagine in October debiting me for sms for July,worse part is in July I was debited for sms,if this same act is carried out on 5000 accounts how much will it be? zenith Bank I'm calling you out for this thievery.

17. Chai, this is not as a result of change abeg, they are plain thieves. Na WA sha

18. What do you expect when Zenith Bank slashed salaries 2 months ago all in the name of Tax and whatnot.
    The bank should expect more of this, if you pay Peanuts, then expect your staff to be monkeys.

Disclosure: I am a "Pally". those who understand will.

19. Pally hehehe slashed salary is still better than no job, at least no one was sacked in ur bank

20. #10,000 was debited from my current account in diamond bank without any alert,I asked for clarification from them but they cooked up stories each time I went there until I eventually got fed up..its not ok to steal from people's sweat

1. Same thing happened to my friend in fidelity bank.worst that happened was the idiot manager after making us fill form for over 2 weeks now said there is nothing he can do about it. 20k gone like DAT.

2. If you want to save money use Union Bank and UBA them. Even First Bank or Wema.

21. You steal N1b and u still come back to work? Which kind mumu dey worry you?

22. @ELENA(HER MAJESTY)..its obvious that the branch manager of your cousin's bank knew about that withdrawal. Else WHY would he or she be begging for the person. WHY would he or she beg to pay back the money in instalments! Honestly! That matter should go to the Head Office Immediately! Cos am sure more of such activities will be uncovered in that branch. Please you will be saving other depositors by reporting the incident officially at the Head Office. Thank you.

1. True head office works. One time my same gt was debited 112k,after them don pay salary on Friday. My true balance was okay. But my available balance was less than 112k. Only for me to call customer service. They say I tried to buy stuff onine. Called one website. I say na lie oh. Na so them block the card immediately. This was Sunday evening. Monday morning I went straight the head office. Luckily I met a nice woman. Within 7 days the money was refunded. In tranches oh. Like 34, 25, bla bla. Since then, I don't play with that gt account. Gt has dealt with me ehn only that their services are fast for transfers. As e fast, na so fraud plenty.

23. Most of this bankers are worst than Street robbers

24. Zenith bank also debited my account 80 naira for July sms.thieves

25. It will be a teller, people forget that whatever fraud you commit in the bank must be fished out. Your guarantors will not be shared. Be careful who you give guarantee to

26. One Billion Naira...Some people get mind sha..Ohh well..Get rich or Die trying.

27. One billion naira big oooooo. Bankers can thife.

28. Ecobank debited my account like twice without sending smsalert by the time I wanted to withdraw using atm,I couldn't believe my balance.I asked for my statements and behold I saw the two trasactions I didn't do each with transactions code. The branches kept referring me to the head office. The man I spoke to in the head office after presenting him my statements and informing to check those transactions actually was on his computer for a while checking I assumed before he told me I shouldn't bother since I have removed my money already! When I insisted he said the man that handles such is not on seat. I should come back.
    Tee