Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Anxiety in Kogi Over Governor Bello’s Whereabouts

Monday, November 07, 2016

Anxiety in Kogi Over Governor Bello’s Whereabouts

Tongues are beginning to wag in the Confluence State of Kogi State following the sudden disappearance of the state governor, Yahaya Bello from the public scene.

This is just as there are speculations in the state that the Ebira-born governor might have been jetted overseas to treat an undisclosed ailment.

All state functions have been put on hold leaving the Deputy Governor, Simon Achuba, with only the duty of receiving visitors on behalf of his boss.

Reacting to the development, the coordinator of PDP Youth Frontier, Austin Ohkai said the All Progressives Congress must provide the governor as soon as possible.

“We have the right to know the whereabouts of our governor. He can’t leave a private life while governing a state. We deserve to know where he is because he did not inform the state house of assembly that he was traveling.

“As far as I am concerned, our governor is missing and we deserve to know where he is. Kogi State is now without a governor and without a government for about two weeks now, this is pathetic,” he told DAILY POST on phone.

However, the governor’s spokesman, Kingsley Fanwo, has denied that the governor was nursing any ailment.

In a statement issued on Sunday night, Fanwo urged the public to discountenance “the rumour,” describing it as lacking any iota of truth.

“My attention has been drawn to the spurious rumour that there are concerns over the health of the Kogi State Governor, Alhaji Yahaya Bello.

“I want to state clearly here for the avoidance of doubt that the rumour lacks any iota of truth. It is a reflection of the depth the enemies of Kogi State have gone in their desperate angst against fate.”

Fanwo added, “The governor is hale and hearty, healthy and unwavering in his vigour to make Kogi State the Confluence of Excellence.

“I urge all Kogites of goodwill to discountenance the rumour as His Excellency will return from his two weeks break on the 12th of November, 2016.”

Culled: Daily Post

23 comments:

1. Lmao. @our governor is missing.

But the rebuttal doesn't answer the question as to whether the gov is home or abroad na. Na dem sabi

2. Jobless lots,someone cannot go and come and have a break again.They Sha must make noise.

1. If he's taking a break, there's a procedure to follow. Try and schooled yourself before making comments.

2. Don mayor with useless English!

3. I wonder why we are always 'blessed' with these wicked people as governors. Who kogi people offend. Nawa o

1. I tell you,na so so bad luck that state dey attract right from the on-set.

2. The jazz in that state is too much.
      Even wada almost lost his life
      See Audu
      See James Ocholi
      There was even an article I read of many politicians who have lost their lives or struck will strange ailments.......
      It's well with my state

4. Hmmm... I pray all is well oh! Because na so e dey start.

5. Hmmm... I pray all is well oh! Because na so e dey start.

6. Bello
    did you see how the whole state was beaming with smile on the rumour of your death? that shows how much love your ppl have for you. change your ways now that you can

meanly you are not even a year in office yet and you are already taking sick leave??? oga you still have 3 long years to go,BRACE UP
    take agbo and hurry back to lugard house and clean the mess you created and please make sure you pay people their hard earned salaries before you die if na wetin be your plan.

7. Kogi is always having bad government

8. The funny part is that, no explaination has been given for the Governor's whereabouts, the spokesman just avoided the question.

9. Politicians love drama. So all of a sudden Kogi politicians have become their governor's keeper such that they can no longer sleep.

10. "It is a reflection of the depth the enemies of Kogi State have gone in their desperate angst against fate."

Governor Bello's media team need reorientation. The press releases are always like they are fighting with somebody. It looks like a "we vs them" thing. This sycophancy style is dated and self defeating. Anyone close to the governor should let him know about this childish behaviour. We just care about the whereabouts of our governor, that's all. Also, please pay our parents their pension. Thank you.

11. May be the man de sick and dem no wan make him enemies know.

12. Let God's will be done in kogi state

13. I hope he is fine wherever he is