Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Arik Air Aircraft Loses Engine Mid-Air Between Lagos And Jos

Monday, November 14, 2016

Arik Air Aircraft Loses Engine Mid-Air Between Lagos And Jos

A potential plane crash in Nigeria was averted on Friday as an Arik Air aircraft lost one of its two engines mid-air with over 100 passengers on board.

The aircraft, a Boeing 737 with the registration number 5N-MJD, departed from Murtala Muhammed Airport (MMA), Lagos, for Jos when the pilot discovered that the plane had lost one of its engines during the flight.

According to Sahara reporters, the aircraft was already 60 miles away from Lagos before the incident occurred.

Immediately after the pilot discovered the problem, he contacted the Lagos control tower, which granted him emergency landing status.

Passengers panicked when they were informed that the aircraft would return to Lagos, SaharaReporters gathered.

Upon landing in Lagos, it was gathered that the aircraft could not taxi out of the runway and it took the intervention of the Airport Rescue and Fire-Fighting Services (ARFFS), a department in the Federal Airports Authority of Nigeria (FAAN), to tow the aircraft to the hajj and cargo terminal area of the airport in order for the passengers to disembark from the aircraft.

“The incident occurred at noon on Friday. The aircraft had departed Lagos for Jos, but barely a few minutes into the journey, the pilot radioed the Lagos control tower that it needed to return to base.

“When the control tower heard this, they approved the pilot for emergency landing, which he did successfully. The aircraft had to be towed out of the runway by the ARFFS because it could not move again.”

A source in the Accident Investigation Bureau (AIB) said the Nigerian Civil Aviation Authority (NCAA) was yet to report the incident to the bureau for further investigation.

“As an investigator, I can tell you that I am not aware of this development. AIB should be the one to decide any occurrence if it feels that the industry can gain any safety value from it," the source said.

“There had been complaints that the NCAA does not notify us at times when there is an incident. It is by law that we should be notified in case of any incident. The AIB Commissioner is empowered by law to investigate any occurrence in the sector,” he explained.

Similarly, a source in the NCAA said that the regulatory body was yet to be informed about the incident, stressing that it was a reportable issue.

The cause of the incident remains unknown at the time of publication.
from sahara reporters.

53 comments:

1. See me praising God for the passengers on board. Thank God the pilot took note on time and could get back to lagos. All praise to God, imagine almost year end, God forbid.

2. Dart worse aww dia village pipul wanted to use dia blohd and balands dia hevil acct for d yeah bought God parse dem.

#gratefool Hat.

3. How can they say the causes of incident is unknown, Ofcourse this is is Engine failure

Anyway they don't want the public to panic

4. Thank You Lord, thank You Jesus for sparing their lives.

5. I'd rather fly Airpeace or Dana than to fly Arik.

Nigerians never learn. These guys are never remorseful.

Morning

6. Off to go catch up with my staff bus

7. Thank God for their lives, but Ayam not understanding... did the engine fall off the plane while flying..someone should explain better nbok.

1. Trying googling when a plane loses an engine midair.

2. Hahahaha,,hilarious you. It means the engine stopped working. My question is what happened to the second engine,shebi an aircraft has got 2-4 engines?

8. Thank God. May God protect us and our loved ones frm any form of accident.
    As the year is gradually coming to an end,happiness will be our portion and we will all live to see 2017.

9. My colleague was on that flight. He said that there was a loud bang in the air. That the engine blew. They could not continue the trip to jos again

10. Wow!..
    Nigerians would have been mourning by now!...
    Thank God!!...

11. Oh! Thank God for his divine intervention

12. Choi!!! We thank God O. Serious gbege for don happen.

Do you experience recurrent vaginal yeast infections? Learn how to prevent recurrent vaginal yeast infections here

13. Thank You Jesus for averting the plan of the enemy.

14. Thank u Jesus....Really tragedy averted....This Xmas season we are covered under d Mighty Hand of the Almighty....divinely protected from evil...such occurrence is rejected in Jesus name....I come against any plan of d evil one to cause sorrow in our lives dis season....somborry shout Amen....

15. Arik and their dead planes. Didn't they know the plane was faulty before? Something of that magnitude would have been giving signs for months. Do I blame them? If we had a perfect rail system in this country who in their right senses will be flying those death traps called plane.

1. Oponu,we are not talking of cars here but aircraft. A plane can loss its engine anytime. Don't you dumb ass work discovery channels?

16. Thank God for safe landing. That's all that matters

17. Thank God. That was how Airpeace almost crashed because of early turbulence while taking off. It was a miracle to me and all the people that boarded that flight from Abuja to Enugu.

1. I really thank God oo..was dere also.

18. thanks the pilot for keeping his cool...

19. Thank God for d wisdom he gave d pilot to return back to Lagos immediately if it's some they will try to continue nd maybe crash.

20. I just thank God from the bottom of my heart.
    See ehn! You don't need to know a soul in a plane crash before you mourn with the families. Such bad news can affect your mood especially when you start seeing pictures. I still can't forget the beautiful faces of that Dana plane crash.

I thank God nothing bad happened.

Ten helpful tips while you wait for your dream job

21. Wow wow thank God for his intervention

22. God is indeed the Alpha and Omega.My God Almighty too much only the wisdom wey he pack put for the pilot brain only, na wonderful wondement.Praise master cos nothing pass him.

23. Thank God for saving their lives.

24. Hmmm...that's how some of us paid for flight to Kaduna last week on arik o! We reach Jos na, Arik said they cant take us to Kaduna say plane no good. We found ourselves inside bus and arik bade us farewell to Kd! Who knew arik now operates land bus...hehehe
    All for us to be asking the rep for compensation, the guy did as if he couldn't hear. He just quickly waka comot.
    That's the country we have found ourselves o! Nobody to regulate such nonsense

25. Becky, there are 2 main engines, one stopped working and they had to go back. Do you understand? Thank God for their lives. Arik, those people...hmmm. I cannot forget that morning flight i took...was so hungry that i was salivating at the thought of that their microscopic cupcake that cannot feed an ant, only for them to ask me "juice or water?" i collected my juice and kept, waiting for the cake, next thing i saw was them bringing trashbag....Ive never seen Arik the same way since...hehe

***Flynn off to get a blog id

26. See my heart beating. Thank you Jesus for saving your people. May God grant us journey mercies this Christmas and beyond