Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Arik Air Alerts Of Fresh Aviation Fuel Scarcity

Wednesday, November 16, 2016

Arik Air Alerts Of Fresh Aviation Fuel Scarcity

Arik Air, West and Central Africa’s largest airline has alerted passengers of worsening aviation fuel (JET A1) scarcity across the country.

The aviation fuel scarcity started manifesting last week when major oil marketers began to ration supply of the product to airlines. One of the marketers issued a Notice to Airmen (NOTAM) on Saturday alerting of non-availability of the product in Lagos. Another marketer said it was running out of product in Lagos with limited supplies in Port Harcourt and Abuja.

This development has started taking its toll on Arik Air due to the airline’s large scale operations, with flights being delayed across the country and in some cases cancelled especially for airports without airfield lighting.

With a daily fuel need of about 500,000 litres and an average of over 100 daily flights, Arik Air is mostly affected by this scarcity which is the fourth this year alone. One of the airline’s flights to Johannesburg on Tuesday had to be routed via Port Harcourt to pick up fuel.

As a result of the worsening supply situation of the aviation fuel, Arik Air has announced further reduction in flights from Wednesday, November 16 to cope with the fresh scarcity, and reduce the unpleasant delays and cancellations which passengers have experienced in recent times.

It has therefore appealed for the understanding of its valued customers whose flights are likely to be affected by the scarcity and scaling down of operations.

Where flights are to be delayed or cancelled as a result of the scarcity, Arik Air will be sending text or email messages to passengers.

Passengers are also advised to call the airline’s call centre on 012799999 or 08077791683 for enquiries about their flights.

21 comments:

1. Arik send text of delay or cancellation? For where? Have they expalined to customers waiting to be board face to face talk more of sending text. They lack behind in terms of customer satisfaction.

1. Lag behind...

2. Sharrappp there anon,you be dictionary?una can like to look for trouble too much on this blog

2. I nor kukuma dey travel before soooooo

3. Noah didn't wait for his ship to cone in built one.

They saw this coming but failed to prepare for it..nothing comes as a shortage or scarcity without a pre-information.

Mc pinky

4. *whistling * and sipping cold Coca-Cola.

Your comment will be visible after approval.

5. Dem even get sense this time around. It is standard procedure that you alert your passengers when these kind of issues arises but all these Nigerian airlines dont even care. Arik thumbs up for this one.

6. I wonder what awa grandpa Presido is doing about this constant aviation fuel issue. Medview canceled my flight twice last week because they didnt have fuel.

7. Na their way make them better repent before the year 2017..

8. Arik gradually loosing their customers

1. They have lost their customers. Their planes are now very empty. My issue with them is their delayed flights. Arik? Never again!!!

9. As a result of this rubbish I'm in Lagos was on my way to Jo'burg from PH and first of all the connecting flight was delayed by 5 hrs to Lagos. Getting to Lagos Jo'burg plane had gone. No apology, no information nothing I'm still in Lagos while my hotel bill in Jo'burg is running.won't even try this Arik again.

10. Enter your comment... Don't blame Arik Air. What do you expect in a country where nonentities are given portfolio's in a very sensitive aviation industry because they are connected to some powerful cows in power. I pity you nigerians with your man know man & misplaced way of thinking. You are dam backwards.

11. Lies upon lies. There is no scarcity or shortage of fuel. They don't have crew to fly the planes cos almost all their pilots are gone (locals) they are owing salaries for several months. Selfish set of people

1. Thank you! if any body bothers to ask the staff at the airport they are willing to spill. arik is owing pilots and workers for 5 months so Nov pilots to fly the planes. they have to employ pilots daily and pay cash from the sales of the day
      all this fuel shortage is a lie