Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Diamond Bank Cleaner Confesses To Theft Of N5.675m From Bank

Monday, November 21, 2016

Diamond Bank Cleaner Confesses To Theft Of N5.675m From Bank

A cleaner, Peter Oko, has narrated how he stole N5.675 million from the New Nyanya branch of Diamond Bank, where he worked.

The 29 year-old stated that he took the keys to the vault, stole the money and hid it in a carton, which he took home after the close of work.

The money was however recovered by the police, which said that the suspect had been charged to court.

Oko told Northern City News at the Nasarawa State Criminal Intelligence and Investigation Department in Lafia that he carried out the theft alone, saying, “As a cleaner, I knew where all the keys were kept.”

He added, “I single-handedly carried out the operation because I have been working as a cleaner in the bank for the past 10 years and my eyes had been on one of the keys to the vault, where the bank used to keep all its money.

“As a cleaner, my attention was not only on the keys, but on how I will carry out the operation successfully without being caught by either the security or any staff of the bank.”

The suspect said he stole the money without the knowledge of the bank workers, adding that he had access to all the foreign currencies in the bank as he knew where they were kept.

“As a cleaner, I knew where all the secret files were kept and where the bank kept its keys where you can have access to dollars, Nigerian currency and all other currencies.”

Oko blamed the economic situation for his action, stating that he had never been involved in a criminal act before now.

“The devil of economy recession pushed me into the crime; I have never committed a criminal act before, luck ran out on me and I was caught in the process,” he stated.

The state Commissioner of Police, Abubakar Bello, said the crime was reported to the police in October, 2016, by the bank, adding that the matter was then transferred from Karu Divisional Police Headquarters to the SCIID for investigations.
from punch

*Would have been interesting to know how he was caught.

59 comments:

1. Please how was he caught?

2. I would like to know how he was caught too, I don't know why, but a part of me wishes that he was never caught.

1. Me too cause the recession isn't smiling at anyone but still it's no excuse.

2. Me too,I really wish he wasn't caught.

3. Stop wishing or accepting wrong. A thief is a thief whatever the circumstance. If someone staying with you steals a large amount of money from your house and runs,wont you want him to be caught? I worked in diamond bank and was one of the people that they sacked months back. But I will still not support a thief that steals from them or anyone else.
      Most of these people are caught. The cctv works. One cleaner stole a mopol guys phone when i was there. They watched d cctv and caught him.
      Some cleaners come to a place and end up climbing up the ladder with continuous development and education. Staff help them when they see their seriousness and diligence.They become core staff. But some remain cleaners for years and many steal.
      Pls do not support criminal behaviour. He is not the only one in the recession. And am sure you guys hadassah,atheist, sucre...do not steal or consider it.

4. If he wasn't caught someone else will pay 4 d crime dy didn't commit. The branch manager may be your relation or someone you know. Hope u will still be happy he wasn't caught. May we never fall victim of being held 4 a crime we didn't commit.

5. He shouldn't have be caught....so that the innocent bank employees in charge of the vault would have to pay from their pockets....your comment isn't fair.

6. He was caught on his way out in the morning.he hid in a toilet the night before. He was able to steal a set of the vault keys belonging to a staff. He couldn't access the vault fully, so he wasn't able to take a lot of cash. He put the money in a carton and tried to leave with it in the morning but the security man didn't let him pass. If he had gotten away with it, all the staff would have been arrested and detained. My sister works there so she told me everything that happened. I still believe that he had some kind of help from inside.

3. I guess maybe through CCTV

4. Exactly.how was he caught.was wondering same

5. It is always their first time...lmao.

6. There is more to this story. A cleaner can't have all those vital info.

1. Exactly, what about the code?

2. The man said he had been paying attention to the details of the vault. So it's possible he saw the bank staff enter the combination to the vault. It's easy for one who has been working there for so long.

7. He said did he it due to the recession.See what this clueless Buhari govt has turned innocent Nigerians into .

8. Everybody is blaming the economy......smh

9. You pull such a heist off single handed and then get caught? What is wrong with you?

10. I smell lies, was he coerced into making this confession. I don't know of how banks work, but how can a cleaner have access to the vault. Are they trying to use him as a scape goat.

1. I think he would have mentioned names of his accomplices if he had any.

11. "Luck ran out on me and I was caught in the process". Forget it, you are an old seasoned thief. You just took the phrase go rob a bank to a whole new level.

12. Na wah oh!...
    And on Sundays,he will be the first to go to church and occupy the front row...
    Most Nigerians are hypocrites!...

13. That is one careless branch.
    The rate at which people blame the devil and recession when caught doing evil though.

14. The Bank staff are careless, how can a cleaner get to the Vault. Even if he knows where all the keys are kept, the Vault is under surveillance throughout the close of work, I worked in Bank for good 4 years now.

15. And he took the money and prolly decided to quit working.... and bam! They figured it out.

1. Lol. From an insider up there the dude didn't even make it out of the bank with the money. Smh

16. This boy is alakoba he has succeeded in putting the Csm,control staff and head teller and others in trouble. Cctv will catch him and put him in the place of the crime. The security too will be changed too. See big eye

17. His version of the story is rubbish, possibly to protect his accomplices. First of all, he couldn't have opened the vault with "one of the keys" that he monitored. U need two keys to open a bank's vault. This story get as e be.

18. Buhari is the father and cause of all crime in this recession even the devil has given up in making pple commit crimes.

19. Lmao "the devil of economy recession "got me laughing! We have devil of different things? It is well o.

20. see your life oko, in your next life u will be smart and think twice.

21. "Luck ran out on me and I was caught in the process". Forget it, you are an old seasoned thief. You just took the phrase go rob a bank to a whole new level.

22. This cleaner lied am sure he has n accomplice
    Working for 10 yrs n decided nw to steal.
    Ds story is nt complete yet.

23. Just plain greed!!! No excuses he was employed and collecting salary. What about those who are jobless

24. Bet he said, he's eyes had bin on the keys for kwite a long time even befour resseshion becomed a househole name. Why blaim diss on buhari a.k.a resseshion.

No mata how good you aff be to a chiken, it wheel steel eat your gun.

25. Lol.. Wonders shall never end..Na only u dey.naija wey economic situation dey worry? It has been in ur blood waiting to display

26. Chineke meh... The guy get mind o

27. 10years a cleaner and you will now end up in kuje or keffi prison.
    You no sharp at all. You succeeded and was caught. You mumu sha.
    Do you know how much you would have made if you use that money to Gh on mmm? You fall hand.

28. Inside carton you say? Over 5 million inside carton? How? Indomie carton abi fridge carton? And he strode through the doors with the carton on his head, abi on his bum bum?

What happened to the security cameras or did he steal those too?

Give him a few days in detention, the true story will come out.

29. Oko u are not telling us the whole truth, and hey stop blaming the devil

30. And as he carried d carton out of d bank d security men didn't search it?how can a cleaner have so much knowledge about d vault etc?the bank were properly giving him information?an insider must hv aided him nd he's covering d person. no cctv mounted on where monies re kept in d bank?hmm even foreign movies will show cctv everywhere.na wao for dat bank,porous security.i wonder hw he was apprehended

31. And as he carried d carton out of d bank d security men didn't search it?how can a cleaner have so much knowledge about d vault etc?the bank were properly giving him information?an insider must hv aided him nd he's covering d person. no cctv mounted on where monies re kept in d bank?hmm even foreign movies will show cctv everywhere.na wao for dat bank,porous security.i wonder hw he was apprehended

32. Always their first time when they are caught

33. Eroni o. I doubt this story. Vault always have a combination key which cannot be handled by one person. So if eventually he had access to one key, how can he obtain the combination from the second key holder. And bank policy is that vault key holders must go home with the key, on no account should vault key be kept within the bank premises over night. have a good day people. Mondays are always hectic.

34. Chai this cleaner na mumu ooo. Why you allow them to catch you. Chai

35. What kind of mumu story is this.
    A vault always has a code. Do you think it is one cage with a kasali in front? So he packed 5 million inside carton abi? And carried outside the bank or did film trick and vanished into smoke? How did he get the code. What will a cleaner be doing at night in the bank? Was he cleaning the money?
    Mumu story.

36. Stealing is bad, very bad, can't imagine him been my son or brother, what a disgrace the family will go through. God help us.

37. Enter your comment...the guy no be bad sharp guy....i wish him best if luck in his next life...

38. Enter your comment...the guy no be bad sharp guy....i wish him best of luck in his next life...