Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Ex-Customs Boss Dikko Returns N1bn Cash To FG

Thursday, November 03, 2016

Ex-Customs Boss Dikko Returns N1bn Cash To FG

A former Comptroller-General of the Nigeria Customs Service, Alhaji Abdullahi Dikko, has returned N1,040,000, 000 to the Federal Government, The PUNCH has learnt.

Dikko, who served as the head of customs between August, 2009 and August, 2015, became the subject of an EFCC investigation last year when the commission established that about N40bn was diverted from the coffers of the NCS under his watch.

The funds were allegedly drawn from proceeds of the seven per cent cost of collection and one per cent comprehensive import supervision scheme.

He was subsequently arrested by the EFCC in June this year but was released due to his poor health.

Dikko’s mansion located at 1 Audu Ogbeh Street, Jabi, Abuja… on Wednesday

However, a reliable source within the EFCC told our correspondent that the suspect had been returning money to the government.

The source added, “So far, Dikko has returned over N1bn. He returned N1bn and then N4m. He is still expected to return more money.”

The EFCC had, earlier in the year, seized a mansion belonging to Dikko located at 1 Audu Ogbeh Street, Jabi, Abuja.

According to the EFCC, the mansion is worth at least N2bn.

Our correspondent, who visited the property, observed the inscription, ‘EFCC, Keep Off!’ painted all over the fence.

A source in the commission said, “The EFCC Act Section 71 (b) gives us the power to commence investigations into the property of any person if it appears to the EFCC that the person’s lifestyle and extent of properties are not justified by law.

“Section 28 says concerning those arrested under the Act, the commission will immediately trace and attach all the assets and seizures of such a person which have been acquired.

“Section 29 permits the assets of a person arrested under Section 28 to be seized by the state.

“Dikko was a customs officer and served for about 30 years. He has to explain where he got the money to buy a mansion of N2bn.”
The ex-Customs CG is also believed to own properties in Dubai and in Katsina, his home state.

punch reportage.

MY GOODNESS!!!!!

39 comments:

1. I wonder what happens to all this 'recovered' monies....

2. How can only one person have this kind of money? When are they picking up Ade Abolurin,former NSCDC boss? That guy has committed atrocities.

1. They should leave oga ade alone o. That man suffered and sweated until fg finally decided to recognise the civil defense

2. And to think he has only a wife and 2 kids to cater for. All these billions! Our people and stealing.

3. Zubairu,you obviously are not an NSCDC officer,their salaries are still being embezzled to pay for the money he stole so EFCC won't go after him. Only 2 salaries have been paid so far this year.

3. 1 what?????OMG!!!!!when a N100k pere can brighten up my month?whc way naija......

4. Better be real gist, not just thrown out there to make us feel he's arresting his brothers too and making them return money.

1. Anonymous sir/ma
      Dikko has always been in the news for the wrong reasons even before buhari came on board.

5. This one is An ibo man ba?

1. Yes he is.
      Many are Igbo, few ans Igbo names!

Moreover, it's Igbo not Ibo

6. Criminal idiot, God will punish you because you killed so many of my client during your tenure in the name of country ban, but you will go and offload those things at your various houses, it will never be well with you.

7. Hmmmm!!
    Nigeria my country.

I am a divine project

8. Chisox!! Which way looters
    Vuharia see money to start working now oooh
    No come tell us say money no dey again

1. And I still dey wonder where the money dey o. End up @ EFCC office or get to Federal Government Account or dump @ Duara? Tired honestly.

9. Government should just comman dash me one house lemme know that we won't be paying rent in this Abuja again.

These people should fear God o.
    It's well

10. Wait! What?! Cash!!! OMG some Nigerians are wicked

11. Buhari use the money instead of borrowing. only to borrow and add more sorrows to your apc followers.

Shame on this custom people. Stella next time, when you asked us to choose wives for our brothers, abeg put custom lady inside. I will choose them for one of my bros. They like seizing people's goods and that one is good for my bros

1. He has borrowed the money already. All we hear is this one has returned, that one has returned. Still recession is still on and Nigeria is still poor. It is well.

12. These people are heartless, the way they steal is something else. Will naija ever get better? How can 1 person steal that kind of money??

13. This man stole a lot. I saw his house that is close to shop rite at jabi, the gen or power plant alone is as big as a two bedroom bungalow. I don't know what they gain from all these, except they just wanna show off and keep oppressing the poor. Dikko stole a lot and he deserves to be jailed
    Everybody that stole, deserves to be jailed. Amaechi, obj, tinubu, Jonathan, buhari, everybody. But it turn by turn. Now APC is going for PDP heads, when PDP is there, they shouldn't forget to return the favour..

1. This 1b naira is just a fraction of what he stole , everyone knows that all these customs ogas made bad ass money during last regime

14. OK but I wan ask one question wetin dem go carry the returned money do

15. But why is Buhari shielding ex custom boss Maina

16. Na PDP put us for this mess o. It's glaring, except to partisans here.

17. Ok but wait oo, what are they doing with the whole recovery money?

18. Maina Ex Custom may be one of his campaign donors.

What if all these men start mentioning the names/addresses of some chics they gave one gift or the other and the amount, aswear the heat will increase.

With the N1b returned, Ajala will be warming up for another travel.

19. 1b this people are heartless and pple are suffering.

20. Am still wondering why obj,yar'adua nd GEJ were nt keen on stopping corruption.pls Buhari u re trying to recover some of out looted money,dont borrow any money use part of these money to rebuild our economy nd i knw we will still have change bcos nt all hv brought out their loot.Mr Buhari d hardship in d country is too much,save this nation by using all d money to revive d economy

21. What has the federal government been doing with all the looted money recovered? Perhaps they are converting them to their personal accounts.I don't know why Buhari has to apply for a loan of $30b.