Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Fani-Kayode Gets N50m Bail For Alleged N26m Fraud

Friday, November 11, 2016

Fani-Kayode Gets N50m Bail For Alleged N26m Fraud

A Federal High Court in Abuja, on Thursday, granted bail to a former Minister of Aviation, Mr. Femi Fani-Kayode, in the sum of N50m after he was arraigned on five counts of N26m fraud.

Fani-Kayode, the Director of Media and Publicity in the campaign organisation of ex-President Goodluck Jonathan in the 2015 presidential election, pleaded not guilty to all the five counts preferred against him by the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission.

The EFCC accused the defendant of diverting N26m, allegedly received from the Office of the National Security Adviser under the headship Col. Sambo Dasuki (retd.).

The EFCC also accused him of handling the said N26m without going through a financial institution as required under the Money Laundering Act.

Fani-Kayode is equally standing trial along with others in the Lagos Division of the Federal High Court in connection with over N800m allegedly received from the N4.7bn allegedly collected by the Director of Finance of the campaign organisation, Senator Nenadi Usman, from the ONSA.

In the fresh charges, Fani-Kayode is the sole defendant in the fresh charges, marked FHC/ABJ/CR/140/2016, filed before the Abuja Division of the court.

Shortly after the arraignment on Thursday, Fani-Kayode’s lawyer, Mr. Ifedayo Adedipe (SAN), moved his client’s bail application, which was opposed by EFCC’s lawyer, Mr. Johnson Ojogbane.

But the trial judge, Justice John Tsoho, dismissed the EFCC’s objection to the bail application, holding that the defendant was presumed innocent.

The judge granted bail to the accused person in the sum of N50m with one surety.

As part of the bail conditions, the court also ordered the accused person to deposit his passport with the court registrar pending the conclusion of his trial.

The judge ordered that the accused person be remanded in prison pending when he would meet the bail conditions.

But it was learnt that he met the conditions before leaving the court premises on Thursday.
Justice Tsoho adjourned till December 14 for the commencement of trial.
PUNCH

CHOI....the bail money don cover the money he is alleged to have spent nau.

32 comments:

1. The Judge is just obeying Buhari s orders. All the Judges Buhari is fighting are independent minded ones

2. Nkea ka bu mbido!

Ndi ochi!

3. Buhari please leave this man alone
    He has a young son to cater for
    Thank you

4. all this millions billions that I can't see be giving me headache from time immemorial...

cracking my biscuit bone...

5. all this millions and billions that I can't see be giving me headache from time immemorial...

cracking my biscuit bone...

6. Adim very confused. His bail is more than the alleged money he stole.Nigeria smh

1. You should know he is not necessarily bringing money. Landed properties are submitted worth same amount of money.

Also bail is giving back to the accused. They give them back their houses after the case. It's just a way of stopping them from running away. Also same thing applies to their guarantors. That's why you see they easily get people to stand as guarantors for them.

7. OMG! Person thief 26m, you say make them use 50m bail am... Lmao

1. You people are very daft sha. Bail isn't for the government. It's still for the accused. It's usually paid in properties. Which are refunded after the case.

8. 1 question... Where the whole bail money dey go? Very soon House of reps will investigate EFCC for "Bail Money Allocation"

9. FFK dear..
    I know you read this blog and you will surely see this post and my comment...
    I will like to advise you to tone it down in criticizing this rubbish government!...
    We all know they are failures and that they have nothing to offer!...

You are our only mouth piece but the deaf old dying man in Aso rock has sworn to milk you dry if he ever hear Pim from you again!...
    Take a clue from Metuh and Doyin!...
    They have gone low and I don't blame them!...
    Vuharia will never go free for all intimidation,suffering and allegations he has put you through...
    Just sit and watch how he will end up!..

1. Hahaha!
      Who made you the adviser? Nonsense!

2. Tueh!! He is not a coward to keep shut. Wait by weekend he will
      Start again . After hot bath and massage from Precious.

3. Hahahahhahahahaha Queen o! LMAO
      This cracked me up big time 😂😂😂😂

10. All I see is the big big amount of money mentioned plus bail of #50million. All of you reciting the national anthem please shove it up your ass..... I pledge to Nigeria my country....fcukkkk dat.....who country help.....I'd rather pledge to SDK blog, the blog EPP me.
    Oya ooooo, don't forget to come and hawk pure water under this comment.

11. His bail money is bigger than the money he allegedly collected sef,they want him to finish all his money bailing himself so that he would have nothing left to spend on precious chai

1. He doesn't really have to pay any money you know.

He needs a surety who has property (ies) equivalent to the bail money.

All these back and forth arrests tire me aswear.

12. Hope this will apply to APC polithiefcians as well.

13. Buhari allow this man bring up his son in peace!
    Criticism is allowed mbok!

14. Well I believe this bail money has covered another charge if peradventure they come up with any.

All these judges would receive their shares unless God no be God again.

15. Excuse me, alleged N26m with a bail of N50m? What is going on. FFK, please after this intimidation, leave this dullard and the Administration alone. It is a question of 4 years.

16. I thought they say bail is free, abeg help me out. Paying 50m for a 26m naira misappropriation.

17. What Queen and boss advised him is true!!! Lie low once you come out from this. He criticises this govt threeee much as such why they are treating him in this manner. I pitied the last epistle he wrote to buhari when I read on lib,shortly after his wife ekiti bank saga..gosh!!! FFK damn insulted that man in that writeup,haba! Pls try and lay low even though it's not going to be that easy as a yoruba man that you is na