Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Gov Okorocha Says APC Hasn’t Managed Its Electoral Victory Well

Thursday, November 03, 2016

Gov Okorocha Says APC Hasn’t Managed Its Electoral Victory Well

The Chairman, All Progressives Congress Governors’ Forum, Mr. Rochas Okorocha, has expressed concerns that one year and several months after it came to power, the APC government has not been able to manage its “God-given victory” very well.

He also expressed regrets over what he described as the “cold relationship” between the executive arm of government, the National Assembly and the ruling party.

The Imo State Governor said this when he visited the Senate President, Dr. Bukola Saraki, where he preached unity within the party.

Okorocha, who said his visit to the Senate was belated, added that, “Nonetheless, it is never late to make amends where possible.”

A statement by the Office of the Senate President quoted Okorocha as telling Saraki that he was visiting in his capacity as the Chairman of the APC Governors’ Forum.

He said, “This is the very first time I am coming to your office and I am here because I am concerned. I am here because I am a stakeholder. I am here as the Chairman of the Progressives Governors’ Forum — your friends and colleagues in the struggle.

“Mr. Senate President, leaders of this great Senate, you may recall a few years ago that we were all in the trenches, in battle, asking for change in the Federal Republic of Nigeria. I recall vividly the role most of you played in that very struggle. We became a government when no one gave us a chance to be so. And shortly, Nigerians believed in us and entrusted us with the responsibility of leading this nation.

“But one year and several months after, we have not been able to manage this God-given victory very well and it is very worrisome, Mr. Senate President. That Nigerians expect so much from us but yet we seem to be in crisis within ourselves.

“Not crisis made by the opposition parties but crisis created by ourselves for ourselves and which has kept us in totally difficult position that we are not making the headway we need to make as a party.

“One wonders then what went wrong. Where did we get it wrong? And after these troubles and after the much hope we have given to Nigerians, we still cannot work together as a party, as a family. And I noticed particularly that there is so much bitterness in the system — from the party, from the legislature, from the executive, from the governors — and it seems to me like there is no more platform for us to chant those old songs, which we used to sing in the days of struggle for change.

“One wonders, was this what we were asking for or was this the change we were asking for? I think Nigerians expect so much from us and at the end of it all.”

In his response, Saraki told Okorocha that he had raised vital issues that the National Assembly caucus of the APC would look into, while assuring the governor that the Senate would work in synergy to deliver the dividends of democracy to Nigerians that voted the APC into power.
Punch reportage.

20 comments:

1. Hehehehehehe na now im brain booth

2. Hahahahahahaha,am telling you my sister

2. Intelligentia princess loves chikito and the Queen.3 November 2016 at 10:04

God punish all Apc criminals that put Nigeria in this present predicament. The masses are really suffering. Change my black a**. Mtcheew. What Nigeria needs now is revolution. The youth should stand up and fight. They should execute all the past leaders as Ghana did. That's the only time normalcy will return to naija. If not na suffer continua with each administration of recycled past leaders.

3. Apc never believed that they would get this far, hence their not knowing what to do. They are so clueless on how to move the country forward.

4. APC supporters how market? When will rice come down to N12,000 let me not bring it to N8,500. shame on APC.

Blaming government. So Okorochroach no blaming of Jona, now you are blaming God given victory. shame again

5. Honestly, with the tide of public opinion against this man, he wouldn't scale thru an LGA primary sef. Good thing he knows.

*ghanaman signing out*

1. Since Buhari came into power you've been doing off and on cause you don't know how to defend his incompetence

Better do and resume commenting fully let us continue our banters.

2. I can bet he will not be contesting anytime soon.
      Politicians: before now all they needed was the saliva in their mouth and their charisma. Today? Hahaha. They need REPORT CARDS and SCORE SHEETS.

The youths are READY for them.

6. what are you Mr guvnor doing in Imo state as well...u cut a tree from its roots not from the branches..don't worry you guys are d big tree but we are the small axe that will cut you down

7. Shame, shame, and more shame to Nigeria to be saddled with people like okorochs. A man who got into power on the back of the people but turned his back on the same people, a man who couldn't handle his own victory well is accusing others of the exact same crime. Tuee

8. Okorocha rochas is the first failure and downfall Apc recorded...anu

9. Foolish man he knows people hate him imo, hence his being truthful.

10. When you want to know the real human, just give him power and you will see the beast in him. I used to visit Rochas's house way back in Jos. His wife's younger brother is my good friend. When they are cooking, you can smell the local seasoning called 'ogiri' oozing from his kitchen. He was very receptive and philanthropic but today, he's now a beast and a torn in the flesh of his own people who voted him into power.
    SHAME!