Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Horrors Of Finding A Flatmate...

Friday, November 04, 2016

Horrors Of Finding A Flatmate...

I remember when i first moved back to Nigeria, I started going house-hunting looking for a 1 bedroom apartment but discovered it was really expensive. 

The Agent told me it was going to be cheaper if I had a friend who i could get a 2bedroom apartment with and split the rent. It was so tough as all the people i knew in Lagos already had their flats.... and me, being a very cautious person, couldn't just get any random person to live with as i wouldn't be sure of their habits/lifestyle. If only a platform like this existed, would have made it way easier..... (From one of the people we carried out a survey with)

Exciting and Safe way of finding the right roommate...

Its soooo easy, all you have to do is:
Update your profile (Habit and lifestyle)
Browse through to find people like you
Match up and get chatting

GOOD FRIENDS COULD EVEN BE MADE TOO :) 

Countries we cover include:
Nigeria
Gambia
Guinea
Guinea - Bissau
Ghana 
Kenya
Tanzania
Zimbabwe
Cape Verde
Cote d'Ivoire

Get started now on www.roomiesconnect.com

61 comments:

1. I need female apartment mate. I am a student of CMUL, Idiaraba; looking to share rent with a fellow student of CMUL or a young female worker of LUTH that is below 30.

The person should not be troublesome and should be very neat. I am not troublesome and I am also very neat.

House description: A room and parlour (which are of the same size, very spacious. I will take one room, the person will take the other) with inhouse toilet/bathroom and kitchen. It is a very neat compound in Idiaraba with constant supply of water and spaces for reading if you love to live outside.

Added: The house is not a noisy one hence you can't bring your friends anyhow. That is to say, if you are a noisy person, this place is not for you.

First year rent total + agreement, commission, damages, agent = 320k. I pay 160k, you pay 160k.

2nd year and subsequent years = 180k. I pay 90k, you pay 90k. That is that. They don't increase rent in the house. Fixed price.

If you are interested and ready to pay rent before next Friday, send an email to:

anitaraym@yahoo.com

2. Ha ha Anitaraym na wah for u o,i for like share with u but your conditions odikwa many o. I no b under 30 n I get 2 children wey fit decide to make noise attimes o. Na inside luth the apartment dey?

3. Two children? You can't live with her for crying out loud.hian.

2. Make person no carry ogbanje as room mate.

3. Good concept but nigeria is a wrong place for this. Too many psychopaths walking our streets.

1. Not as much as those in the USA pls

4. Abegeeee... it's not easy.
    My people coming to Lagos, don't blame anybody that refused to house you. it ends up in a horrible way. I came into Lagos, and everyone I had hope of staying with stopped taking calls, I was almost stranded until I hooked up with a friend's friend, and the distance from her place to work was maaaadd but I didn't have a choice. I finally settled in my own place 3 months later, and still allowed a close friend stay with me, after sometime we started sharing the rent. The whole thing didn't end up well. Madam probably forgot the days of little beginnings, and wanted to drag me into petty girls issues. Long story. I sha pack all my things get my own place again, and this time no going back. No matter how small, nothing like staying in your own place alone. Friends can visit but nothing like permanent stay. in fact, one night is enough.

1. My dear you can say this again and again bikooo! NOTHING like staying on your own,friends can visit and go.Gbam!!!

5. This is a nice idea.that was how my brother's classmate was killed by her roommate in Houston.turned out the guy was a but job who has been off his medication

6. I forgot my laptop in a taxi yesterday @ Gwagwalada, Please help me pray that the taxi man or whoever finds it should use the phone number on the school book, IXORA ACADEMY lugbe Abuja to locate me. Please may God bless your heart to help me. Thanks.

1. U forgot ur laptop? Nawah! Next time,u will forget ur pussy😁😂😁😁😁😁😁

7. With all the perverts roaming the streets in this time and season?...Mba oh...It is well.

8. Nice concept. Very innovative and thoughtful.

9. Nice concept. Very innovative and thoughtful

10. This is a very concept in Nigeria but our culture and differences in character will not allow it succeed
    I had a discussion with some last weekend about how Indian can stay together in one big house but Nigerians will not permit such cohabitation bcos of so many factors
    I remember when I was in the university i lived with a secondary school mate, we shared rent,nepa and food oo but she is so wicked that I fear to go to my room when I go to town over the weekend. She graduated two years before me bcos I did diploma before degree, when she was leaving she packed up to spoon, broom,anything that was hers
    Thank God am a better person. The story is for another day

11. Nice concept but I go manage save up to rent mini flat for cement or punch estate in case money no reach again for Maryland. My own plan o.

12. OMG.... Signing up now, This is so amazing, saves me the hassle

13. I'd rather one can access the person's IG or Fb profiles/timeline too.

14. I love staying alone thank u.

15. Intelligentia princess loves The Queen.4 November 2016 at 13:57

Ain't gonna share an apartment with anybody. Women are the most difficult being to share apartment with. They will start to drag level with u..everything becomes competition. I beg I no fit shout jare.

1. then get a male flat mate .you guys wont be staying in the same room nah
      i like the idea,thinking of relocating to lag or Abj soon.will so use this platform, who get 400k for house rent?

2. Females are their own worst enemy.
      Everything about them is competition.

They are too competitive in nature, can backbite

16. Me that likes cleaning, I'm too meticulous...what would I have done with a dirty roomie that will soak underwear for days...thank God I'm married..my hubby, my best roomie

17. There are people who have room mates and they live together happily, there is nothing wrong with having sharing an apartment.

18. There are people who share apartments together and they cohabit happily, its not all gloomy, in fact there are great roomies who can impact your life positively.

19. The last roommate I had was the devil o..I found out that she was a runs girl and had to shift.she would use my provisions without replacing it.I didn't even know she was plotting behind my back and always made sure I never met her supposed boyfriend who ended up dumping her.Lol

20. wow nice one signing up now....

21. Wish I can share mine with two crazy bitches up here. Chikito the runs pro and Sassy the rookie lawyer, shitttt! Two broke ass ladies and one rich ass dude. Fuccc... come hear grammar and arguments, na me go win

22. To be honest... whether you meet someone on fbook or Instagram you really still don't know the person.. at the end of the day you use your discretion, plus I just signed up and there is a message center, because I would not want to give someone my number if I'm not yet sure... but I love it.. I saw this lovely 3bed apartment so looking for 2 other people... this would def help

1. Is this place on the island? Looking for a roomie to share with on the island. Anywhere but Ajah, can't deal with traffic. Loll

2. I wouldn't mind a flat mate, if the place is on the island or ikeja axis.

23. please there are people who share flats and are living happily u enter room i enter my room finish we can share kitchen and sitting room. if you dont know how to share how can you stay with your spouse in the same room. abeg you all should shift

24. I sha dnt mind havyn a roommate, but some people are just wicked!
    While I was in school, my sis n I accommodated a Frnd in our small corner( twas 4 corners in a room). Imagine 3 gals squeezing themselves in a corner, but we sha managed, but d babe show us shege, as me n my sis no lyk wahala na, we sha endured her nonsense, babe was even beefing the both of us ontop. Finally the session was over, time to get new space, My sis n 1 applied fr two space, so we could give the babe 1 n the both of us cn stay in 1 Mke everybody dey dier lane. Some how we had issues clearing the space, so both space was seized, we were stranded, new occupant wanted to move in, na so we see our babe, dey move her things go one room lyk that, wwe were happy for her, mayb a Frnd allowed her stay with her, until one babe came and asked us "Ah ah, y aren't you gals moving in with your friend? She has a space na". Kai! That was when I knew d heart of men wwas rilly wicked, this babe saw us stranded, but couldn't help, after we accommodated her n her excesses fr a whole session! But I thank God, we sorted our accommodation ish out after some weeks, while we were crashing with a friend (God bless that gal for me everyday). Until we graduated, that gal beefed us fr no reason, me sef was forming good gal, trying to greet her once in a while, fr where? She won't answer!! Na so I lock up. Last yaer during service, my sis n I went bck to the town fr a Frnd's wedding, I just told her, let's go n say hi to this babe na, at least we r in d hostel environment (She was still in school), na so we locate her room, babe was sleeping when we came in, we woke her up n was smiling at her, she was mute fr a long time, just staring at us, she couldn't believe we would want to tlk to her again. But abeg, I cnt come n b holding grudge against some1, at least nw she knows we r good, even if we dnt tlk again, we r good. My roommate during service eh! That one na epistle!! But I hv decided I won't shut my door at any1 hu comes to me to accommodate them.

1. You got a good heart.
      Be careful but let no one change you.
      Remain kind Dearie. Humanity needs it.
      Kisses Sweets😘

25. Oh wow Nice!!! wish this was here when i was doing my NYSC... kept searching up and down for someone until my agent paired me up with another lady... this is really innovative, so needed will tell two of my friends in this situation....

to be frank its only God that helps... you can meet someone through a friend/sister and the person can turn out a psycho.lol

26. Woop Woop......

Looks fun. so i'm not looking for a flatmate but i just relocated back to Nigeria, I wonder if i can sign up to look for a friend/friends

ahahhah

27. I live on my own right now and i wont lie its really boring... so will be signing up next year. lol
    my only fear is im really specific so hopefully i get someone like me and dont regret about it

28. Lol. In Nigeria where witches and wizards is everywhere hmmm
    Ain't sharing room with nobody biko

29. I once gave out one of my rooms for rent to a lady due to some financial stress, two days after she moved in come and see marine display from the lady, in my dream she appeared with gold allover her from head to toe, she will appear on my bed trying to claimed me, immediately i shout jesus babe go disappear, the next thing I heard was a cry of baby in her room, that is how I started midnight prayers before I came back babe clear left my keys with neighbor.

1. Abeg starjoy I need the full gist of this your story. I've read it like 6 times. You know
      Me I like to give and take gist 😂 Oya oya! Download the full gist for me. Na beg o dey beg. Give me details.

30. Witches and Wizards ke,, abegi,
    I spend more time in the office, the lady that sits beside me could be a witch but we share food from each other... its only God that helps us biko... Nice concept will sign up as i'm in need of this right now

31. I am not worried about witches and wizards. I am more worried about borrow borrow roomie. Borrow shoe. Borrow dress. Borrow maggi. Borrow pepper. Na that one sure pass.

32. Nice one but it is difficult to live someone you don't really know..

Missylynn