Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Labour Room Drama -93

Thursday, November 03, 2016

Labour Room Drama -93

OMGoodness,are you kidding me?

Stellam,
Let me gist you about the delivery of my third baby, i started my leave on the 38th week of my pregnancy since its an office policy. My leave started on a Monday, prior to that, I had some files to send to the office,I woke up on time to tidy up the file, thank God I finished it on time. That Monday was also my ante-natal day.

Prior to that, I had a disagreement with DH over the weekend and we were keeping malice. I already had my Monday planned out; go for ante natal, after which I'll go to a cyber cafe to send the files i had via mail. While walking out of the street gate with my laptop on my back, I met my DH walking in and because we were keeping malice, I walked past him without saying a word to him though he called me back to ask where i was going to, told him I needed to get to the cyber cafe.

When i got to the hospital, while the doctor was checking the baby's heartbeat, he noticed i was contracting, he went on to ask me when the contractions started. I answered that It was a normal thing during pregnancy, so he asked me to get down from the bed and sit, as i was trying to sit down, I felt strong contractions again and the doctor asked me to lie down so that he can examine me, I was so scared at that point because i wasn't ready to birth my baby.

The doctor put his big hand inside my cervix and the pain i felt was out of this world, he asked me to call them to bring my bag to the hospital. In my mind, I was thinking the doctor was playing till he told me i was 4cm gone.

Anyways, I told him to allow me go to a cyber cafe 1st to send the mails after which I would come back to birth my baby. The doctor refused and said i was going to sign an undertaking for him before he allows me to leave the hospital. He called the matron and told them that a woman was coming upstairs and that she should be admitted.

I went upstairs and sat down at the reception, brought out my laptop to check if I could connect to the hospital WiFi so as to send my files, after trying to connect without luck, i gave up but then i remembered that i was supposed to be taken to a room and i was wondering why the nurses hadn't called me. I decided to walk up to them and asked if my file was brought up, they asked for my name and i told them..They were all looking at me as though they planned the reaction and it was obvious they had questions on their minds. I proceeded to ask them why they were looking at me and to my shock, they asked if i was due and that they have been waiting for the woman and even went to tell the doctor that they didn't see the woman. The doctor thought i left already.

My tummy was very small though, it could pass for 5 months pregnancy and my face remained smooth and even more beautiful. Remember I told you i was keeping malice with my DH, so i didn't want to call him that i was in labour, i wanted to surprise him but it didn't work. I called my younger sister to bring my bag to the hospital, called my mum and elder sister to tell them i was about to pop but the stubbornness in me refused me from calling DH. i was admitted and catheter was inserted and labour progressed fast. I was busy forming super woman inside the labour room until my DH came in (Apparently, my mum called him), i didn't even talk to him and continued suppressing my contraction pains until one very very painful one came, i didn't even know when i held trouser and was almost going to push him down from the bed, the nurses checked and asked me to proceed to the delivery room, my husband refused to enter with me though he looked on from the glass on the door. I birthed my boy around 4pm but I didn't know that my pains had just started.

Stella, my placenta refused to come out. Infact, it refused to separate from my womb. The nurses tried all they could but nothing was happening, I was so scared for my life that I was confessing my sins to God including the malice keeping, looked for my hubby to apologise but the guy was more scared than i was because the nurses couldn't find him when they tried calling him in, after 2 hours still, nothing was happening, the placenta was still stuck. They had to do a manual extraction and the pain was more than the labour pain itself. They asked me to push the placenta, the doctor inserted his hand up to the elbow, honestly, the pain is better imagined than felt. I was given all sort of injections because I passed out at a point and a CS was considered when the placenta kept going up instead of coming down...At last, the placenta was successfully removed 6 hours after birth, To God be the glory.

My son is four years today and this experience remains fresh in my memory.

Stella, my body has not remained the same after that experience. I have always been a strong babe but after that placenta evacuation, i get tired so easily and i often have waist pain and leg pain, I had to go back to the hospital for a scan to ensure that no piece of the placenta was left in the womb and they said i was fine. 

I have another baby now and i didn't have placenta issues, Thank God for the gift of life and gift of Children.

I sent the files two days after I had my baby.

Well done Stella. You dey try walahi...God's grace and favour today and always.

*I just googled what placenta looks like again ....Thank God for you...I have learnt so much from this Labour room drama series i wont lie.Because i had direct CS,there is so much i missed and didnt know..i didnt push,didnt know what dilation was or crown et al
Thank you for entertaining but educative LRD...I am sure i am not the only one who has learnt something here.

54 comments:

1. Congrats Ma, i have learnt plenty things here ooo make belle come fast fast e no go hard again sef lol

2. Oh my!God bless every mom out there.

3. Kai! This placenta issue just made me remember my own horrible experience last year. I was 20wks pregnant and had just celebrated my one year anniversary on Sunday. Monday was my birthday and the day my world crashed down in pain and loss. I suffered a miscarriage and I had to be induced to deliver the baby,a boy. Chai,I went through the whole labour pains,pushed out my baby,but he was already gone! As if that was not enuf anguish for me,the placenta wouldn't come out. So the nurses dug their hand up to their elbow into my womb to extract it. They were two of them,one fair and one dark one. As he fair one dig her hand inside,the placenta came in out in pieces. So the dark one too did the same and brought one more,they were taking turns! Stella,I died and came back. Thebpain is out if this world like poster said. I was screaming even my mum who was in the reception two floors down heard my screaming! Mind you,all through the labour induction and delivery,I wasn't in any serious pain oh. My threshold for pain is pretty high and I can confidently said that's d worst pain i will ever experience in my life. Kai,I m shedding tears as I rember my lost baby boy. He would have been 9 months now. He was so perfectly formed at 5months,but too small to survive on his own outside my body. Mummy loves and misses you,my little angel Gabriel.

2. Am learning something here as well. Everything here is educative. Thank God for a safe delivery madam.

3. Oh God! I was so scared. Thank God u are alright

4. Stella i personally have learned loads of stuff from this blog, honestly.

Madam thank God for you and your baby, but you stubborn sha o lol

5. I've learnt alot from here too.
    I now join mothers in talking about deliver experience, always forming mother too lol, tnx the lrd.

6. Stella u not d only one. I have learnt a lot on this blog. though I don't comments often as others but If I am not here during d day believe me I am always here in the night to catch up. This blog has changed my life %100 .......Thanks Stella I raise Rihanna dada for u.

1. Lol at Rihanna dada,this blog is funny.

7. God of women is always delivering us from Lions den. Madam thank God for you and HBD to your son. I always practice forgiveness and reconciliation before proceeding to hospital for delivery. Am sure the baby reconciled you and your hubby. That placenta saga is better imagined that experiences. A friend had similar experience, unfortunately, she lost the baby after 8 hours in labour. Her mummy rejected and banned cs on her behalf, gentle husband was like whichever one. She suffered no be small. It took her 4years to conceive again and birthed through cs. Her boy is 2years plus now.

8. I miss going to labor, would love to experience it but the doctors say no na Cs get me.

9. Oh, I've learnt alot from these stories. A pregnant friend of mine just dey always laugh me say how i take know all this things i dey tell her as a small woman that I is nau *shines open teeth*

nice story though

10. Thank God for safe delivery and life..

11. Wow. Must have been a traumatic experience. Congratulations on the birth. But story no complete now ..what caused quarrel? How did you settle? Hehe

12. Enter your comment...
    congratulations

13. Poster thank God for your life oh and please stop keeping malice with your hubby. The energy spent on keeping malice is not worth it. God bless your kids.

14. That kain malice ehn! Hope you guys are now past that stage?

15. Praaaaaaise master Jesus

Hallelujah!!

Congrats poster, those looking for fruit of the womb . Worry not God is on your case already!

16. Interesting.
    Ugonma Ajike

17. Stella I also learn a lot from this LRD, at times after reading I ask my sis questions sef.
    Poster you are a strong woman, well done. But hope the rate at which you and your hubby keep malice has reduced?

18. You said what? The doctor put his hand inside you upto his elbow? For real? Are you kidding me? Jesss! My dear, I can imagine the pain you felt then. Thank God you overcame them all. It's well.

19. Its shakara malice naa thank God for your life at least I witnessed my younger brothers LRD from the window and I was maybe (8years)then, 13 years later the memory is still fresh in my brain.

20. And yess o, Stella I know alot about labour now. I know what inducement means, epidural, crown, dilation, ,mucus plug and lot more. It was through this forum that I knew that a woman in labour should be 10cm dilated before she is being asked to push. I also know that most times labour takes up to 8 hours and more before the baby is ready to come out. I learnt also that the placenta is usually pushed out after delivery just like in the poster's case.
    To all the ladies sending their stories, thanks for lecturing us everyday cos I can even pass for a midwife now.

21. Wow God is wonderful..I have learnt a lot here cos I have this feeling that when I have my baby, I need not to worry cos I have learnt amazing things here. Thanks Stella for this platform..hmm the elbow thing I had to ask my male colleague to show me his hand.. I felt shivers

22. I have learnt so much from this LRD that I don't miss an episode.

23. Thank God for safe deliveries. Im next in line in Jesus name

24. Enter your comment...Am I the only one wondering, is it that doctors always have big hands or their hands always seem big to women in labour?

25. elbow ke? God abeg you know me ooo I no fit... congrats ma

26. Google Placenta and am seeing Kim K. pictures there too. Abeg shey she chop placenta abi she rub am for face? just curious.

27. Congrats for safe delivery.... Same thing happened to my Aunty she had her son but the placenta refused to come and they tried bringing it out manually the placenta then pieced inside her and she died in the process of them bringing it out.... May her soul continue to rest in peace her son is 8yrs old now he doesn't know my other Aunty taking care of him is not his mother but he his very happy and well taking care of.

28. can someone tell me please, if you have CS, do you still need to do those hot water sit ins, vegetable diet etc that women usually do post delivery?

1. Yes you do,pussy go shed blood and it will be sore also

2. Please don't sit or hot water or steam, highly unnecessary and dangerous.

3. No, you won't. Even VD should not be hot water.

29. It is the Lord's doing and its marvelous in our sight. I can imagine the pain when he put his hand inside.

30. I had natural birth althrough can't tell of cs, to God be thy glory!

31. Women make peace with your husbands before delivery to avoid complication.

32. Very Educative post, entertaining too I must add. a big thanks to all the Posters!

33. Thank God. Let me Google the pic of placenta.

34. Na wa ohh. the part that scares me most is the part where te doctors inserts his hands into ones Virginia..... khaiiii.... and the hand go enter finish reach elbow... chaiii ....... ewoooo .. But according to my friend "its a sweet experience" i cant wait...

35. I just thank God for my birth....
    No complications whatsoever

Didn't even know when the placenta came out, I'm sure it came out with my son.

36. Stella, you didn't disappoint me, I knew you were going to Google something at d end of this lrd and you did.
    Poster, thank God you didn't eventually go through cs for d placenta. God bless all mothers.

37. Heavenly father, please bless my womb and give me a LRD to send here too in Jesus name amen

38. Jeez! Doctors hand inside u reaching his elbow. I aff die

39. Such an empowering tale....God is worthy to be praised...