Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Lagos Lawyer Sues FG Challenging Public Holidays

Wednesday, November 02, 2016

Lagos Lawyer Sues FG Challenging Public Holidays

A Lagos-based lawyer and activist, Chief Malcom Omirhobo, yesterday, asked a Federal High Court Lagos, to declare as unlawful, rescheduling of public holidays.

Defendants in the suit are: the Attorney General of the Federation and the Minister of Interior. The plaintiff’s suit is brought pursuant to the provisions of order 3 rules six, seven and eight of the Federal High Court Civil Procedure rules of 2009. Omirhobo is seeking an interpretation, as to whether in the face of the Public Holidays Act of 1979, it is legal for the defendants to reschedule public holidays from Saturdays or Sundays to Monday. 

The plaintiff seeks an interpretation whether it is lawful for the defendant to even extend public holidays beyond the days set out for them. Omirhobo seeks the following interpretations: “Whether it is lawful for the defendants to have declared May 2 (Monday) as public holidays for the celebration of worker’s day, instead of May 1 (Sunday). “Whether it is lawful to have declared May 30 (Monday) as public holidays for the celebration of Nigeria’s Democracy day, instead of May 29 (Sunday).

“Whether it is lawful to have extended the Eid-el-fitri celebration beyond July 5 and 6, to July 7, making the holidays three days in a roll. “Whether it is lawful to have declared October 3 (Monday) as public holidays for the celebration of Nigeria’s 56th independence, instead of October 1 (Saturday) for which it was originally scheduled,” The plaintiff therefore, seeks a declaration, that the public holidays Act, is the law guiding the declaration of public holidays in Nigeria, and any declaration of public holidays without compliance with the Act, is unlawful and void. Omirhobo now seeks a court order, compelling the defendants not to declare October 2, 2017 (Monday) as public holidays for the celebration of Nigeria’s 57th independence, in place of October 1, 2017 (Sunday). Vanguard report

51 comments:

1. I am not understanding.
    Good morning people.

2. What is this one saying? Oga go and sit down joor.

3. In the US ir Britain it is called "bank holiday "- in other countries they don't follow that path.

4. Kai some people lack what to do,in this good time that some people are barely surviving,this one is busy playing stunts over one day holiday.

5. High level joblessness.

6. I concur! If only we know how much we lose every day for these public holiday and how it affects the economy

1. Na you get the economy. We know the country looses much but what has Nigeria done with the gains they've made while working on the other days of the week? Must you even comment. Abeg let those working have a love title break in the form of public holiday, jare.

2. Na you get the economy. We know the country looses much but what has Nigeria done with the gains they've made while working on the other days of the week? Must you even comment. Abeg let those working have a love title break in the form of public holiday, jare.

3. The value of public holidays far outweighs the cost. The argument I would have supported is the number of holidays we have not the administration of same.

7. What is wrong with this one?

8. We Nigerians are not complaining, this lawyer should be called to order

9. Wetin be this? Go work if you wan go work. How many times have there been extended holidays? This country is already stressed enough & every nation has holidays.

10. Loool, all these one don chop belleful... I dey come..Morning my baby doll, morning beevees, I smell christmas!!

11. Hmmmmm, interesting. Though extending 2 days to 3 days isn't OK, all holidays should be planned from the beginning of the year and announced to prevent confusion. People still need the rest time. Peterspeaks

12. All holidays should be known from the onset of the year for proper planning of employers and employees. Not 3 days before

13. What is the meaning of this nonsense case? Is this even suppose to be 1?

14. Public holidays is made to allow d general public njoy d full impact of d initial date which was on a weekend. It allows workers to at least hav nd njoy d relaxation ot a weekday

15. He probably doesn't have much work on his hands to be doing this.....everyone knows that a holiday that falls on a weekend gets shifted to the next week day.
    Lawyers in the house come and comment.

16. Abi ori eleyi o pe ni,
    nonsense

17. Oga lawyer you have a point. Why is it that this dates are shifted. I for one support your case. So jeun lo my brother. After all Doctors like us don't go on public holidays.

1. Yes. But it's not for free. Why are your salaries high.

18. This man dey smoke fake weed.

19. Someone should please give that lawyer work to do, he's so idle

1. He shoudl go pick pro bono cases at the prison please.
      He's obviously jobless. We complain? PH wey neva reach us sef. Bubu darlyn, Please one extra day for naija Halloween.

20. Lawyers and their wahala

Please wassup with Lekki 2nd toll gaate? I heard a lawyer sued Lagos State
    Me to no understand o o, how can you do road that you promised and start billing people

1. I noticed that they don't collect toll in the second one.. was wondering why.

21. Charge and bail lawyer, cos no busy Lawyer has such time on his hands.

22. This one na cra cra. Workers in Nigeria love those public holidays especially those that live in Lagos because of the stress you go through in traffic. He should please go and beg for clients. Activist ko, were ni.

23. He better not allow labour to go on fasting for him,,, that's the only time some pple get to rest

24. That lawyer is high on cheap weed, he no fight for better thing,we Nigerians no even complain, attention seeking paff. Good morning to you all jawe...

25. Its lawyers like this that make a mockery of the profession. You thing Whateveryournameis v. FG would look good on uur portfolio right? What sort of frivolous suit is this?
    So many cases are there that you can handle pro bono. Go for those ones instead and stop turning law into a joke.

26. This is the height of joblessness.

27. I don't understand ooo

28. Poor lawyers looking for what to do. That profession dey suffer people nor be small