Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Like Mother Like Daughter...

Saturday, November 12, 2016

Like Mother Like Daughter...

A mother has passed on a unique 'birthmark' that turns her hair white to her daughter – who has become the fourth generation of her family with the striking trait.

Brianna Worthy, 23, from Ridgeland, South Carolina, and her 18-month-old daughter MilliAnna, were both born with a white patch at the front of their hair.

The distinctive trait is caused by poliosis, which creates a lack of pigment in the patch of hair and the skin around it.

Baby MilliAnna is the fourth generation of her family to have the distinctive mark, which is also visible on her grandmother, Jennifer, 41, and her great-grandmother, Jaonne, 59.

Adorable photos of the tot with her mum and grandma show the family's Cruella de Vil-esque look.

Brianna said: 'We are unsure how far back the birthmark goes as my grandmother was adopted as a child and hasn't met her biological family.

'I was hoping she did have it. My younger sister that my mother had a few years after me didn't get it, so I didn't know if MilliAnna was going to, but once I had her and they laid her on my chest and I saw she had it I was so happy.'

Brianna admitted that the show-stopping feature can occasionally have its downsides.

She said: 'We definitely get stopped a lot while out and about on our daily routines.

'The majority of the time I welcome the polite comments and don't mind answering the many questions, but honestly, it can be overwhelming at times,

'When I'm in a rush and just trying to do what I need and keep going.'

Brianna hopes her daughter will embrace her uniqueness as she gets older.

She said: 'I had several names such as skunk that kids would try to insult me with as a child.

'Sometimes it would bother me when I was younger, but I grew to end up really loving it in my hair and was confident that it was my own unique signature look.

'I plan to raise my daughter knowing she is beautiful and special and to not listen to peoples mean comments at times.'

from dailypost

77 comments:

1. My current girlfriend in Abuja has that frontal cluster of hairs too. I like it funny enough.

1. It is called white forelock. Una no do biology? It is an autosomal recessive trait.

2. Anonymous teacher, mba we nor go school talk more of biology and as u know how e epp u?

3. Piebaldism. ..It is ..And it's autosomal dominant actually...poliosis on its own won't necessarily affect the skin as seen on the child's knees....

If not for the white forlock,one would almost think the little girl had vitiligo

4. Oreola, you just I set a trap and you fell inside and covered yourself.
      You have never heard the condition called Piebdalism until I wrote about white forelock. I knew a typical proud Nigerian feeling smart will come to make correction claiming to have known the condition existed.
      Let me school you, the hair alone is what was talked about here and that white discolouration of the hair alone is called a white forelock.
      There are certain conditions/syndromes associated with white forelock which might include Deafness, other hypopigmentation on the skin etc.
      Now you have rushed to Piebdalism. What if the child is deaf? So my darl, stick with the white forelock until you examine the child face to face and rule out other things that might comprise a syndrome befor you can beat your chest and give a definite DIAGNOSIS.
      It is better to be generally correct than specifically wrong. Even if she ends up having Piebdalism, that white hair still remains white forelock, if she ends up having the other syndrome associated with deafness, the white hair still REMAINS white forelock. That's because I can see the white hair, but I cannot test her auditory status. Stop this ITK, this condition is a very rare one and you only knew because you saw my comment on white forelock and went to google, then you saw the syndromes associated with white forelock then you think you can come here and pretend you have always known about it.

5. Take it easy nau,, Doctor Anonymous. Ki lo le to yi? Who told u @ Orela is not in d field herself?

6. Mad king 👑🔥👑13 November 2016 at 07:17

Will y'all itk's just stfu or say something meaningful over this post??? Nobody gives AF whatever reason they got the feature ok...
      Douches 😠 😠 😠

2. My current girlfriend in Abuja has that frontal cluster of white hairs too. I like it funny enough.

1. Why use 'current'? Abi no future plans for her, her reign will soon end abi.

2. Lol. Exactly my thoughts. He definitely doesn't have plans to wife her.

3. Hahahaha, Jane stoppet jor

3. The Mom and cute child look beautiful!
    Very Cute!

The thing is that more often than not,how we carry ourselves make what we wear or whatever "non-ordinary" trait we have look beautiful!
    So beautiful that people will admite that same thing they ordinarily wouldn't have liked on another person.

Sometimes I still Can't believe there was a time I didn't like Bn busty! Chai! That time in my Juniorate days eh,my no 1 prayer point was "God please send Angel Michael and his blazing sword to me. To cut off these boobs"

I soo hated them ehn!
    Ah! Thank God for unanswered Prayers! 😂

1. Hahahahahaha... me too... I was praying and pressing it with hot water...I wish God didn't answer mine.

2. General wife madam epistle writer, lol

3. U too talk. Ah ah

4. Bwahahahahah@ Angel Michael.
      I used to slouch to cover up the fact that I had big boobs for my frame.
      I would wear my bra to sleep sef.
      Insecurities of a budding teanager.smh

Now God has answered me... dunno if it is me or I just want them even bigger!!!

Hi my Gorgie. ❤️

5. Really, you went to a Juniorate school. Woow!

Lol. Hated mine back then, but I'm loving them now. I even want more. Lol

6. TGW,which of the Juniorates did you attend? Enugu or Nkpor

7. Lmao...
      "God please snd Angel Michael and his blazing sword to me to cut of my breast"
      What a prayer..... 😉😁😀😂😄

8. Lmao...
      "God please snd Angel Michael and his blazing sword to me to cut of my breast"
      What a prayer..... 😉😁😀😂😄

9. TGW, thatigbobabe , akwanwa akwanwa y'all just mention Juniorate. That's my Alma mater. HIJC nkpor to b precise.

10. No be small what a prayer @ Kim. My dear childish insecurities.
      @If and Lilyflower,hahhahahahaha same here o. Bigggggger is the real deal baby!😘
      Hello @ Nwa baby m!😘

Lol @ Becky naka,Pele.
      @Akwanwa,Enugu. Were you a former Aspirant too?

4. All I see is the ages of d grand ma 41 and great grandma 59.
    Someone is a great grandma and not yet 60. Interesting
    There's a girl in naija that also has this, she's a presenter or actress can't remember. Saw her at d salon sometime ago.

1. Yes, She's a Spice TV presenter. I used to think she dyed her hair, its always so cute.

2. Yea her name is Elma Nwabunka aka Elma Godwin. Spice TV. It's her birth mark

5. Waow...very unique.i have a male friend that's got the white patch of white hair also. Thought it was weird at first but got used to it with time. His beard also has got it. Guess some people have pronounced birthmarks

1. I hope his name is not Ayo? He's mine and mine alone!!

6. But I love it! It looks so cool and beautiful.

7. God is great.just the same trait.

8. Cuteeeee!!!
    Beautiful little princess.

God is just awesome. Master of the Milky way👏👏👏

9. N d birth mark is beautiful n unique! ....Dats y I named my baby gal #unique.

I dnt kno y I av a tin for BEAURIFUL mulattos like dis 1( beautiful on caps lock, cos we also av classes of dem! Like d mu-gbekes.

1. The term Mulatto is derogatory

10. #Would your 8 year old self be proud of you right now?*

11. Cute,beautiful. The baby only need to see the three older women in her family to know that she is unique and not allow bullies to get to her.

12. I use to have a senior back then in secondary school, she has it too, but all over her hair and she is dark and beautiful.

13. Unique & beautiful!

... Jesus is my worth!

14. I can fall over hills with any guy with white patch on his frontal hair or beards. It's such a cute sight.

1. Hahahhahahahahahahah um laughing because ma uncle in the village has that, how I wish I can see u falling inlove with him...hahahah d kain laf I go laf

2. Hahhahahaha!
      Bia anon! I said guy not man naa..
      pls be nice...

15. My friend has it,bac of his head

16. I also have this white patch on same place like theirs. I hated it then but now I'm rocking it.

17. A sucker for white hair. Patch or full. Have just one strand and I make sure it doesnt come to any harm. Lol.

18. Hahaha my hair is white,makes me feel like an old woman,though a lot of ppl like it bt I don't like wearing my natural hair,covers it breads bt it shows anyway

19. I av just one strand in front and some in the middle.

Heard it's sign of wealth. Lol

20. Mine is scattered all over my hair

21. Mine is scattered all over my hair

22. God bless the ITKS and the fountain of knowledge on this blogs.i cant stop laughing @ oreoluwa and the knowledgeable dokie posts.all the bvs rock.this blog is therapeutic.

23. God bless the ITKS and the fountain of knowledge on this blogs.i cant stop laughing @ oreoluwa and the knowledgeable dokie posts.all the bvs rock.this blog is therapeutic.