Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Media Personality Toke Makinwa Launches Book ''On Becoming''

Monday, November 28, 2016

Media Personality Toke Makinwa Launches Book ''On Becoming''

Yesterday the much awaited Launch Of Toke Makinwa's book 
''On becoming'' held
''To Become,I must shed it all'' - Toke Makinwa

In Attendance was Abike Dabiri-Erewa (SSA to President Buhari on Diaspora matters)Toke Makinwa's New media 'Aunty'

can i read this book for free somewhere online?lol 

125 comments:

1. She was too dressed and indecently dressed for the occasion.

Elsie role model

1. Toke u look bae .I love your outfit although the slit is high sha. I hope you sell enough copies to cover your investment.

2. Her life history
      Am tired of all dis stories of toke n maje

3. @Ideato...I'm with you on this one..the outfit does not match the occassion.

4. Congratulobia to her.

Your comment will be visible after approval.

5. End time Toke with her end time book

6. Congrats love, may maje see u and cry from is heart for losing u. D sky is ur beginning.

7. Wawu, I smell jealousy in most of these comments. From the dress to the book to the launching itself, pure envy. Please everyone is free to write nau. Go and write your own book. No, this is not Toke.

8. Nothing wrong with her dress #IMO. She changed to a pink two piece much later.

9. Tame note of ideato's face o, married women. This hoe ain't loyal

10. Why am I loving this woman? She pass all of una!#lipstickjungle

1. If we are being honest, Toke got what she deserved. Maje did in his marriage what he had always done in their relationship. He never deceived her, she knew everything from her admissions but she stupidly and desperately went on to marry him. This book might not achieve what she aimed it to achieve. She knew his fuck ups yet was changing this and that to make him choose her, in one sef Maje told her Anita was gf but she was wife and then she calmed down😂😂 Even Majes mother apparently prayed for her to find her own husband meaning she knew her son didn't want her or the mother didnt want toke, so why dint she run then but Toke was desperate and she got burned, no point crying fool.

2. Dis girl is just trying too hard!!! Hve you watched d best man? Were he wrote. About himself in a. Book and how he slept wit all dem girls, dis is what I see here

3. This girl has no secret at all!..
    She exposed too much in the book mehn...I reject this kind of a girl for an inlaw!...
    I don't know why people from that part of the country like washing their dirty laundry outside...
    Tueh!...

1. Lindodo be careful...
      leave us alone ooooo

2. I just read part of the book. She has disgraced herself.

3. So the excerpt u read now makes u feel like u have finished reading the whole book okwiya? Kpankere wise naaaa 😢😘

4. Kelvin don't mind her. Come pwess bress for this ur comment.

5. I tell u Linda, don't think dere is a need for this book

6. And a guy will hear all this and marry her with open eyes?ok oo

4. For free mehn... ain't got cash to spend on this "book"

1. Pardon me @ Becky; I have this to say:

Whether the idea of a book is good or not, I cannot predict; time will tell. The Nigerian society is unpredictable as regards how they accept things (whether it will come back to haunt her is another thing and a risk she has to take) but the ISSUE is Toke has been teaching us different things every season.

This issue of book is for teaching women to be strong and brave doesnt sail to me.
      Did she leave the relationship whole and free?
      Who filed for divorce? (recall she still reconciled with him after the son was born)
      What led to her filing for divorce?
      Wasn't she still with the man even when it was known that he had a baby mama in marriage? What hurt her finally? Was it the fact that he was unfaithful(something she has known for years, even at a point, the pair where living together as a couple by her own admission) or what hurt her was THAT PEOPLE NOW KNOW. The shame and not the actual event.

She exposed herself as a very weak vindictive woman who always wants to win at all cost. A woman so obsessed with winning that she doesn't know when to stop. A goal-getter. A woman with deep rooted psychological issues. A woman with a fatherly void in her life(she admitted this). A woman who struggled for everything and hustled and was determined; sadly she took all these into relationship. The whole Maje relationship was competitive and she was hell bent on winning the war. Some battles; she wins, some battles; she loses but she thought she had won the war when he finally married her after 3 failed promises; failed attempts organised by who else? Toke, the lady that must win. I will make a sex tape with Maje- I must win. I will be financially supportive of him, I must win. This kind of 'determination' is dangerous in a relationship. She looks to me like the Leah in the story. Jacob married Leah first due to circumstances but his mind was on Rachel the whole time. In her own case, she had the freedom to walk away all the while. Imagine watching a sex tape of your own man with a woman you know and you still stayed. What straw could break this woman's back? Even when he admitted she was pregnant, Toke still asked the gender of the child? Lmao.

A man told you openly that she is the girlfriend and you are the wife. A husband got a woman pregnant and still told you that 'perhaps, this is what I wanted' and you hung on. For what? Is there a trophy for long suffering? There was no time the relationship was unknown to her. She saw a sex tape of them both, so what the heck? They were living together for a long while. Perhaps Toke, so obssesed with winning thought Anita would just fizzle away after seeing her instagram posts?

Lessons: what lessons? The lessons keep changing. The book is not even conclusive. Toke is still single and vulnerable. She will still learn more. Did she teach women how to walk away when they can, not when the situation has become shameful and almost impossible to manage before onlookers?

2. What lessons? The book peddles pre marital sex like its bread and butter. Everywhere in the excerpt, you see 3 adults having sex without intent of marriage. Casual, unprotected sex. Sharing of penis. Is this the lesson she is teaching youths? And she says all these like 'its my right', "we made love, he doesnt pour inside me" bla bla. Immorality being peddled as just.

Same Toke that told the whole world that Linda Ikeji is not a role model? To think she was going through all these in her private life while she was busy castigating others. Now she has been found out; she is milking the situation. Hypocrisy stinks.

The next lesson Toke tried to teach us was via V-logs. How to handle your man. How to excel in relationship. How not to take rubbish from your man. When she was busy being a monumental failure in hers...I ask again, wasn't this the same Maje she was always hailing as the king of her heart, god of perfection, thank God I found you on Insta? Teaching us how to appreciate the man in our life. Is it not this same Maje who was doing all these backstage? Or was it a different one she was projecting on social media? Now it has gone sour, she wants us to see the other side. New lesson.

Toke always on her shows tries to teach young women to be confident in themselves. Don't do things just to please a man. But she was in on the sex tape cos "she can do anything to keep her man", she even can 'bleach' to keep him. Miss self confidence.
      Her only saving grace is that the Anita and Maje people she so brazenly exposed their personal lives along with hers (even leaving a sweet memoir for anita's children to read about their mother) will not come out with a rejoinder cos I bet you, they will disgrace Toke if they try it. He who lives in glass house shouldnt throw stones. You're the media personality with a career.

Toke still tried to teach us via her book, how to be strong, bla bla. But the big question is; HAS SHE LEARNT from her mistakes? Its easy to write books and not adhere to them, same way she makes vlogs and says stuff to inspire women without inspiring herself.
      I wonder the next lesson she'll try to teach us next 6 months....

3. Come quickly, lemme kiss you before I change my mind 😘😘😘

4. Damn it. BonaParte, can I just hug you?

5. Well said Bonaparte, that's why it's not good to envy people or wish to be in their shoes. You see all the glitz and glam on social media and think they have perfect lives and marriages but this is totally far from the truth, most of these people are unhappy and fighting their private battles. Who ever knew toke went through so much BS. I can't wait to read the rest of the book

5. Mama Coco hope she took her precious Coco dog to the event. Mitcheew

1. Jacinta egbuo nu m o !!!
      Isino mama coco?
      LMAO 😁

2. Hahahahaha...you are wicked o!

6. Someone writing book cannot even dress well to present the book..who got time to read your life history and failed marriage... I knw everything already...
    Just take care of yourself.

1. What will her life and marriage issue do for me? Abegggii

2. What is wrong with her dress biko?

7. Read somewhere maje infected her wit std.
    Dnt kno if its true.

1. Ow are we sure it's not d other way round,she is trying to be a victim,am sure if maje and Anita should write their own version,we all will be shocked. They ALL victims

8. Can't wait to read,looks like it gonna be inspiring.d dress I love love..

1. No I don't think it will be inspiring

9. Toke is too vain for my liking.
    Whatever she hopes to achieve with this show of shame she just launched in the form of a book,I hope it doesn't come back to bite her in the butt in future.

10. Poor girl,she's still heart broken. She of all people should have known better,some things cannot be fixed no matter how much you love them.

1. If you watch her vlog, you'll think her life is perfect. She just move on with her US guy already.

But that her US guy no get sense. Imagine flying all the way to Nigeria to surprise Toke on her birthday. He didn't even Propose.

Covers Face on her behalf

2. Wait someone doesn't have sense because he came from America to suprise his girlfriend and he didn't even propose. Wow I don't know if poverty is your problem or what. You should cover your face for your own shame. So someone flying down to naija means they must propose. Nigerian women and I must marry, that's why alot of Nigerian women are in bad marriages. I don't even want to talk about the part you said she moved on already...like seriously.

3. Shut up ikwikwi. How many people have proposed to you?

Covers face on ur behalf.

4. Thanks Anon 11.21, I couldnt make any sense of Ideato's comment. Na 'i am queen and boss' dey usually make such senseless comments

11. Can she just SHUT IT? Maje this,Maje that. If I were him,I'd sue her ass for bringing in my name to a book downgrading my personalty. Are you the first to have her heart broken? Notice me somebody. Even if u want to make money not from senseless,old n meaningless story like this. MOVE ON babe! And stop crying over spilled milk. He should be past tense now.

12. So the book is all about maje this and maje that, I hope after this book she would let one rest from her so called breakup story.
    I love reading but I'm so not reading this, not interested. Goodluck to her and happy selling.

1. Well Maje took up more than 1/3 of her entire existence and much of her adulthood so definitely she would have a lot to write about him.

2. Thank you...I don't know how my ppl reason

3. If she had let Christ take 1/3 of her entire existence she wouldn't be here. I feel sorry for her because she hasn't learned anything.

4. She just wasted her years on the guy...taking all the rubbish he gave her. He disappointed her 3 times and she still stayed. Did they tie her to him or was he using jazz or something else to hold her back? This book just exposed how much her inferiority complex and lack of self respect and worth cost her so much. She loved Maje foolishly and forgot to love herself. And now she is disturbing him and everyone with her breakup story.

13. The last paragraph, was Toke talking about herself in the third party or editing oversight. I'd love to read the book too, some part of me is wondering how Maje and his other woman must be feeling about this tell all book. After all, there are three sides to a story and Toke's is just one part of it but considering how sweet we all see her, most people will take her side of the story to the bank.
    Well done Miss, you can now add Author to your list of achievement.

1. Tetrina, you're smart. It's an editing oversight.

2. Tetrina you be intelligent person, we need more of your ilk here and less of those senseless comments

14. The guy gave her an std

1. They gave each other std
      There is love in sharing

2. This love / std you people are sharing.........

There is God ooo

15. She shed too much. Plus like hnn said, this dress is inappropriate for a book launch for someone who claimed God spoke to her to write a book.
    I remember her also advising girls in their 20s to do one night stand.. .dragging anitas name up and down in that book is not good at all. If we hear from Anita or Maje who is been crucified we will hear other things she has kept.
    Go on Tokstarr....but some of the things you do and say are really not necessary.

#I am a fruitful vine, I am a joyful mother of covenant children

1. Are you minding her? Wait until the other two come with a robust reply.

16. Stella go to Sandra page she has highlighted a section of side chick. I think she is trying to drag Anna in this toke book. She should let Anna be!!

17. Stella, you left out the part where she said Maje gave her an STI. This book is all shades of wrong, feels like a personal vendetta.

18. Congrats to her on maje and toke book of relationship,who them Epp

19. Says it 100 times,U are still not free. That pain of loosing him will always haunt U. All I see is a bitter,scorned woman. If u are really free, forget about any memories of maje and move on. U ALL are victims.

20. OK.I hope d std she said he gave her is not hiv/aids

21. This book will be interesting. Toke is a strong woman,she keeps picking herself up. Life threw her lemons,she made lemonades.

22. Enough already.
    How you just woke up to write about a man means he still has great hold on your life. Maje this, Anita that!
    Pls move on already.

23. Just thought of exposing Anita (the mistress) and making herself look like the Saint. I don't care Toke not like you were loyal yourself. Caught you enough times with my cousin in lekki 1 while still with Maje. You both messed things up. Get over your failed marriage and stop crying wolf up and down.
    P.S- That's an UGLY dress by the way

1. That's exactly the same issue I have with the book. Can Toke swear that in all the 12 years they dated, she never had sex with another man. Thing is, it wasn't a 12 year long relationship, they kept breaking up and coming back together, it was basically an on and off relationship, she said so herself . Same people that crucified Maje are the same people cussing Toke out now cos they know this book is all shades of wrong. Anita this, Anita that, Haba. Toke you had plenty of chances to leave but you kept coming back for more humiliation. You ain't a Saint in all these, you were a sucker for pain and you still are. If and when you get married again and it doesn't work out, please write another book.

2. You are talking about separation...can she swear that while married to Maje she did not have any extra marital affair? Toke the saint..Maje and Anita the sinners...i like her but this book thing is a no no for me...our society does not permit this sort of public show of shame..

3. If media isn't here, lights, camera off? Toke will go back to maje! If I'm her new guy, I would be worried she's not so into me, more like a rebound. Weird enough he got maje features.

24. In fact I don't blame him for not wanting to marry her in d first place,just look d dress a grown nigeriab woman wear to a public occasion. D worst thing dat can happen to any man is to be trapped in marriage with an uncultured and shameless woman.

25. Toke!!!

Don't mind him. Just move on

26. The only response would have been to marry someone else and have a great family.
    Writing this shit you call a book means you are still pained.

1. Gbam, lots of women have experienced worst, you don't see them writing this kind of shameless book. The best revenge is to move on and be a better version of herself. I just pray Maje or Anita don't give her the attention she craves if not she'll write another book about it.

2. No oh. Ah.. we have to make this money by stirring controversy

27. I hope she feels beta. Btw how can I get d book, any Idea?

28. It's available online forKindle and I'm wondering why someone's sweat should be handed out for free.
    Let's make Toke rich, buy her book.

1. Where is the sweat? She just told a story about her relationship with Maje and how stupid and gullible she was.
      I tell my friends too, and they don't pay for it. At some point in our lives we've had such experiences. Or is it because she wrote hers down?
      If she wants to make money she should get clues from Chimamanda Adichie.

2. So that we can read about her and make. I care less about hot 2/3 adults decide to live their lives. God even our own God gave us the choice of how to live. If toke had written about any other other thing, even if its using her experience t write a motivational book, I would have bought. She slandered Anita and makes name and trying to portray the perfect woman. I commend her for working hard, but slandering names in the process to get rich is not it at all.

3. Anon 11:24, in literature there is something called fiction and non-fiction please read up.
      She has written a book and spent money to publish. What the story is about is irrelevant. Support people or don't but don't expect someone to give you freebies off something they spent money on.
      Anita and Maje, deserve all the slander they get. When you all insult Yoke you enjoy it please let her enjoy her time.
      Women always supporting nonsense.
      You all will rather she pretend like nothing happened. Her life, her reality and her choice. How you deal with it is your concern, she has published the book and will make money off it.

29. Great woman. Well done to her. Not easy to write a book.

30. All of u judging her healing method are plain stupid. Allow the girl heal and make money in the process. Do you want her to be like you that will be heartbroken and broke? I admire her courage jare.

1. And how are u sure that dis would be her only heartbreak?so for each one,a book should be written abi?

2. If she deems it fit to write a book for every single one of her break-ups how is that your problem?

31. As if she tied wrapper on her waist!!
    Woke up this morning with the worst period cramp!
    I hate this feeling!

32. Maje again???? This guy spirit don suffer, I swear.

Toke be saying one thing n be acting another, na wa oooooo

33. She is still in love with Maje

34. This girl will do anything for fame and money. I know she's broken and is trying to heal but mehn she rubbished maje here from the small I've read. May you find that peace you desperately seek.

Stella I join you to find where to read free online cos I no go buy.

35. I don't have any pity for this gal.
    How can she go ahead to get married to a guy who dissapointed her thrice by not showing up at the registry.

She should go and rest.

36. Really wantu read it but I don't think I'll buy. I know I'll still read it though.
    If I get money now, I know what and what are lined up.

God, you know you have to bless me.

37. She doing all these purely for financial gain.I won't be surprised if sell the sex tape with Maje to d highest bidder.

38. Toke, as you no fit move on, kuku kill yaself.
    Ndi ofe mmanu ana ezuzuka...

1. Ina atupuru ya onu. Ezuzu yali upandan as if she's a saint. Mschwee

39. Toke is yet to get over Maje. Any man coming into her life or is in her life should watch it. At first I was with Toke but she just kept dragging Anita and Maje and suddenly I started feeling sorry for both Maje and Anita. Maje and Anita it is well with you both and your cute son.

40. Last night was fun @the book launch, all the very best....

41. Chai. Toks move ahead ooo. Make una dey keep secret small. Me too dey keep secret.

Chai again oo

42. Saint nwegbe Toke,did you dress for a Book launch or Body launch?

#Flygirl

43. Na wa o...it is nt easy to be a celebrity o. Haters everywhere, cyber bullies all around....be in her shoes first b4 u judge her...judginas be everywhr mtchew! Can u write a book? If yes whr is it..abeg show a lil kindness and support sm1 na una life she 4 write abt b4? A man who shared a great part of her life 4 dat matter!

44. Linda Eze, the same way your people cant leave otokoto and drug peddling alone, even after they kill you lot like chicken in Asia. Tuehhhh

45. Wonder how Toke will fine if MAje n Anita decide to let all out n tell is what went down in a book. Am sure that book will sell far far better than Toke's. I really would love to read their book.

46. Na wa o...it is nt easy to be a celebrity o. Haters everywhere, cyber bullies all around....be in her shoes first b4 u judge her...judginas be everywhr mtchew! Can u write a book? If yes whr is it..abeg show a lil kindness and support sm1 na una life she 4 write abt b4? A man who shared a great part of her life 4 dat matter!

47. She's still pained, obviously...
    The best revenge would have been to move on to a better person and live a happy life

48. Oh dear
    Toke aka Kim K in the making
    Her dress is fine but no for me because is not fit for a book launch
    Her book is going to sell but I feel that it was not proper to wash your dirty linens outside
    C'mon this not Hollywood/America
    I pray her wounds heal

49. BEYONCE FORMATION LYRICS

Always stay gracious, best revenge is your paper! " #Formation ...

This is Toke's revenge, and she's getting money in the process.
    Let her be biko.

50. I like her hustle die spirit..... but I hope she would bear it when Maje or Anita decides to write down their own side of the story.

She is still in love with Maje and I pity her current boo.

51. Too early to write a book, Toke, if you had raised a family now it would have been great. I bet the publishers who encouraged you to write this book are only using you as a cash cow because of your fame.

I hope this would not give your new lover jitters.

52. Smilin.....smilin.....how did u live ur life while wit maje? N y did he cheat on u? DAT shd b questions u she ask ursef toke. N stop all dis noise of maje n anita as if ur life depends on Dem

53. Toke i wounder who advised you to wash your dirty linen outside. You think you are shaming this guy but i tell you that u are hurting yourself more, time shall tell. Do you consider remarrying again? How do you intend that ur future husband, in-laws and children, grand children will view you. Did you think of ur vlog that you dish advice while you couldn't advice yourself, do you think ur fans will still take you serious? You lost the battle over a man and you want to die there. Countinue but my people will always say emem eme onwe ya Ji nkata kuru nmiri