Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: My Incredible House Hunting Experience

Saturday, November 19, 2016

My Incredible House Hunting Experience

Have you ever gone house-hunting? If yes, then you will easily get the gist I am about to spill. My first and last house hunting experience was insane. I visited seven houses and believe me, those seven houses changed my life.

It all started when my brother insisted that we move to another house, if you have ever had a bad Landlord, no need to ask me why. Our rent needed to be renewed and rather than pay for another year of heartache, we decided to get something better.

I was saddled with this task because I had free time, so I willingly embraced it and I was really looking forward to everyone praising me as the hero who got us into the house we can proudly call home.

Our journey towards something better started with the gigantic house with no occupants. It was a lovely Tuesday morning, I walked into that beautiful building with high hopes until I discovered that the house was empty. I asked the Realtor where everyone was and he told me that there was just one tenant and he had gone to work.

How can a building with six flats have just one tenant, the Realtor claimed the Landlord just listed the place. Suspicious you will say, same thing I said, it’s hard to believe that the Landlord just felt like padlocking the house for no tangible reason.

As the proverb goes, it is crooked wood that shows the best sculptor, I had to be wary and no matter how attractive the building is, I had to ask the right questions and pay attention to my instincts which was screaming run.

So on to the next building. This one even had the Landlord living in the Flat downstairs. He was kind enough to let his wife show me around. The Realtor was their friend; it was easy to figure that one out. The Landlord’s wife showed me the kitchen first with the running water. Then she showed me the rooms and the living room.

When she asked me why I came alone, I told her my brother was too busy to do the house-hunting. She requested for my brothers age which she made me cough out (old women! :), immediately I told her, her next point of emphasis is all the space my brother will have when he gets married and have kids.

After the tour, the landlord himself came out to interview me. Yes, it’s an interview and this one is practically worse than a Job interview. Which church do you attend, where are your parents, what is the name of your pastor, why are you moving from your former house, how long have you been staying there, what do you do, what is your brother’s occupation, is he a professional, what is the name of your village, where did you grow up.

After the question fest, I was exhausted. I called it a day. When my brother heard all the tales I had to tell, he couldn’t stop laughing.

The next day, the Realtor took me to another house which wasn’t so bad and we could have actually chosen that one until I heard, the street is always water logged during rainy season. That one alone is a turn off. We visited about four other houses before I finally made a choice a week later.

No one disputed my choice and eventually I turned out to be a Hero. The key lesson I learnt from my house hunting experience is don’t do it alone, always have a house hunting partner anytime you want to get a new apartment.

That is why roomiesconnect.com allows you to find a roomie and go house hunting together. Its simple and easy, just log on to the website and register.

There are awesome roomies waiting for you!

Have you ever gone house hunting or do you have interesting Landlord stories to tell? Use the comments box to spill the tales, it’s fun to share!

37 comments:

1. I knew it was a sponsored post, but I just needed to read the interesting story.
    Some landlords can be a pain in the arse.

1. I am very lucky with finding my ideal house...at least since I suck at finding a good man😀

2. I didn't know oo anyway una try

3. Realtor indeed. Please it's agent as far as naija is concerned

2. Yes o I have, but ike m nji ako akiko adirom mbok!

3. I have many and don't know where to start from..even tired of where I am now Bt De area is good..24/7 hrs light, security, good road etc..

1. Please what area is this in?

2. Please tell me the local government, I want to change apartment

4. hehehe was thinking it another segment on SDK blog... nice1 roommate connect. una doh

5. We need to move out of my apartment by 31st dec,finding a good apartment to contain all of us has been difficult. We got a good 4 bedroom flat,spacious and all but they ain't got no water and the street is BAD even though the house is the 3rd house on the street. Found another but the landlords flat is directly opp ours,not a very good idea as I love loud music and other stuffs or before the wife will say her husband is eyeing me as a hottie I "is". Finding your choice apartment is exhausting coupled with tolerating some rude housing agents. Still on the look out.

1. What part of Lagos r you looking at? I have a 3 bed in an estate in Oko oba/abule egba

6. Mine sleeps with me once every month for rent, that's 12 sex 12 times a year, and bf must visit me, life is hard, when I get a serious bf n marry, I move out, for now rent is saved.

1. Thats serious,what if d guy is a ritualist...u need to break away so God can give u a reasonable man.

7. I am very lucky with finding my ideal house...at least since I suck at finding a good man😀

8. I actually live with my parent as my boo and i never ready for wedding now. But then when i was in school, my first landlord (a woman) made me look for another house cos she was soo mean, the other landlord (a man) was just too principled, he does not laff. Tanks to God, all that was in the past. No more landlord palava. By His Grace, we will b moving straight to DH own house after wedding cos i don't think i can deal with landlord issues.

9. Some landlords insist that they don't lease to unmarried women. I sorry for naija.

10. Nice one, house hunting especially in Lagos is very difficult

11. My house hunting last year was so hectic, just like you I had some horrible albeit interesting experience but at the end my friend introduced me to "Tolet.com", I was fortunate to b paired with a good agent "Greensyche". That man is very professional and understanding.
    Immediately I met him I gave him a deadline and he assured me by God's grace he will get me what I wanted.

And yes he fulfilled his promise.

12. When I needed to get my a flat after a I got good job,after going from one house to another. It was during that time that I learnt of "scorpion house"in Lagos. At last we go to this beautiful flat and the first word from the landlord made me stayed. My landlord was the most wonderful father in the world. When I moved into the house,I got a promotion at work after a year,I also got my Uk visa that same year. The man will wake up in the middle of the night and prayed for all the tenant before praying for his children. He was the first person I sent money to when I got to the Uk. We call the house,house of favour. Nobody has ever left the house without getting either a car,visa,house or promotion.

1. Wow wower wowest

That's a fatherrrrrrrr
      I love that

Please where's the house located?

13. Very interesting read.
    I love it.
    I actually read every word of it,but I think the website should be highlighted to make it easy for someone to click.
    Are they only in lagos?or also in Abuja?
    Good idea.

14. Those questions got me laughing. Had the same experience just the other week. Landlords and their wahala Sha!!

15. Landlords in Uyo, Akwa Ibom State are wack, trust me..you just have to be careful in ur deals. They are greed, selfish and wicked.(speaking from experience).

16. Mine was a terrible experience earlier this year we started looking for huz and our target was to get self content cos is only me nd my bros. My bros started calling different agent u know as lagos agent be na each time my bros come bck for the huz hunting he looks frustrated but we keep on praying to God to provide a better huz wit no
    issues, after all the waka waka and agent abstracting money from him. He called my when i was still at work that he has finally gotten a huz at
    ojota i was very but not as we wished it was bedroom nd palour I asked him how is the compound he said ok that I will like it for my mind I thought am going to live in paradise LMAO. Since am not working on weekends I decided to go there and see for my self when we reach there the reverse is the case thou the compound is neat and just 3 tenant I ask him to show me the toilet nd bathroom it was just a turnoff but he told me he discuss wit other tenant how it will be washed I said no problem. The landlady came downstairs cos she nd the family were living upstairs lol and behold she is all this evil yoruba women with no husband she has used bleaching cream to destroy her self, my bros introduced me to her nd I greated her but my spirit was never at rest after that moment. She has beer palour outside the gate were all this useless yahoo guys and ashawo girls spend there entire day smoking nd drinking. I told my brother that my spirit does not accept her cos what I saw at that moment,not knowing he has already paid that very day he got the huz without proper investigation I don't have another option than to accept it. We finally move our properties over there not knowing we are living in the kingdom of bed bugs we harldly sleep at night my bros has bought all kind of chemical yet the bed bugs are still blooming everywere. Not only bed bug is the issue one useless tenant there is also a very dirty yahoo guy each time my bros come back frm wrk he will come inside our huz they will start gisting so from there I managed to start talking wit him. He started telling me that his prophet told him that the wife that he will marry will come by herself and she is an igbo girl, that immediately he saw me when we packed in his spirit told him that am the one I laughed cos I thought he was just joking since then he has been acting silly he harldly go outside each time am around, if i complain that the toilet is dirty he quickly wash and sweep everywere have been laughing with him not until he told me that he has given the prophet my picture he got frm watsap nd my name that the prophet is doing 40 days fasting for him that if the prophet confirm am the girl he will marry that he will do anything to get me cos he believed on that prophet so much,since then I stopped talking to him. If we go out he will gather his follow idiot they will mess everywere up the will use the toilet without flushing, everywhere is just littered wit condom have told my brother to warn him abut all those nonsense yet he keep on doing it cos the landlady support him.Am just tired of washing toilet bedbug infact everything about the house is just getting us tired. This is just the forth month out of 2 years my brother is regreting.