Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Patience Jonathan Says Her Account Balance Has Less Than $10m

Thursday, November 24, 2016

Patience Jonathan Says Her Account Balance Has Less Than $10m

Dame Patience Jonathan, wife of ex-President Goodluck Jonathan, has denied media reports that $175m is missing from her bank accounts.

Patience said her account balance as of the time it was frozen by the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission was less than $10m.

She, therefore, urged the media to be fair to her and stop twisting facts.

She said this in a statement signed by her spokesman, Mr. Sam Dokubo, on Wednesday.

The statement added, “For the avoidance of doubt, while indeed it is true that Dame Patience is in court for the protection of her fundamental rights infringed upon by a ‘No debit order’ placed on her funds by the EFCC, it is not for $15m but for funds less than $10m as has been clarified several times.

“The purported story in a newspaper on November 19, 2016, about a missing $175m allegedly belonging to the former first lady is not just fictitious but plain falsehood.”

Patience said if the EFCC was looking for a ‘missing’ $175m it should ask Skye Bank where all her accounts were domiciled.

It added, “The EFCC has not made any statement to the existence of an investigation of any missing $175m linked to the former first lady.

“If any such funds as claimed, which was deposited by certain verifiable persons has gone missing without a trace from a known bank, Skye Bank, as was reported, then, the bank, its officials and those mentioned must be held to account for the funds and not the former first lady, Dame Patience Jonathan, who was in no way a part of the transaction.

“The claim that the money was credited to a company linked to Dame Patience Jonathan is also false; otherwise it should be officially substantiated with credible evidence by Skye Bank and the EFCC that are jointly mentioned in the report.”

Mrs. Jonathan threatened to sue media houses that continue to malign her.

Patience is suing the EFCC and Skye Bank for freezing accounts linked to her. She is also demanding a N200m settlement.
From Punch

17 comments:

1. All hail Mama Peace
    Will the EFCC stop lying already?

This woman is not ready to let her hard earned money go.

2. Less than 10million dollars....Wat do you do again??? Remind me ma'am...

3. I knew it was fabricated.shuo vuhari is using efcc to implicate all his opposer's,galant mama p nothing do you.

4. I won't be surprise if she's telling the truth. This administration is all about propaganda and media trial, yet fast to debunk and block any news that reveals her incompetence. They would go as far as hiding under the guise of making laws to intimidate people and arrest people on the know who post informations they thought were well hidden.

5. madam fear God o...... by the way me love you... no hard feelings.

6. Thunder fire all of Una wey Don they into governance from inception of independence to date... all of Una..... abeg when we go get selfless leaders for this country like Mandela.

7. I thought it was $15m....too much lies

8. Peypey sue their sorry ass if you can.

9. I believe mama Peace!..
    Unfortunately,Nigerians have been brainwashed in believing everything Vuharia,EFCC and the media dish out to them!...

10. This woman should Park well abeg. Han Han which work she dey do wey she get so much for account. They are trying to get to her hubby through her. Madam just keep quiet o