Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: President Buhari To Attend Climate Change Conference In Morocco.

Sunday, November 13, 2016

President Buhari To Attend Climate Change Conference In Morocco.

President Muhammadu Buhari will attend the 22nd Conference of the Parties (COP) to the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC), also known as COP-22, in Marrakech, Morocco, from November 14-16, 2016.

President Buhari will participate in the official opening plenary on November 15 where he will deliver his national statement during the High Level Segment of COP 22.

The Presidential address is expected to highlight, among other key issues, Nigeria’s unwavering commitment to implementing the Nationally Determined Contributions (NDCs) and policy actions aimed at tackling climate change through environmental sustainable efforts.

President Buhari will also use the occasion of his speech to rally international support for the clean-up of Ogoniland in the Niger Delta and the resuscitation of the Lake Chad Basin.

While in Marrakech, the President is scheduled to attend the Africa Day Commemoration at COP 22 with the theme, “Moving from Commitments to Action with Intended Nationally Determined Contributions and African Renewable Energy Initiative.”

He will also attend the Summit of African Heads of State on the sidelines of the Climate Change conference.

COP 22, which will be attended by representatives from 197 countries including world leaders, environment ministers, government officials as well as a wide range of representatives from civil society and the private sector, is the first meeting of State Parties since the entry into force of the landmark Paris Agreement on November 4, 2016.

The legally binding international Agreement on climate change, among others, addresses issues of global warming, including its impact on food security and agriculture.

It would be recalled that President Buhari signed the Paris Agreement on September 22, 2016 at the margins of the 71st session of the United Nations General Assembly in New York.

Buoyed by that commitment, the Nigerian delegation is optimistic that COP22 will provide a platform to promote and enhance delivery of the purpose-driven environmental sustainable agenda of the Federal Government.

FEMI ADESINA
Special Adviser to the President
(Media & Publicity)
November 13, 2016

23 comments:

1. This is a confused man jare...square peg in a round hole..bobo mi kojooooo

Mc pinky

2. !!! I didn't even know e was around.

Oga who you epp????

3. Presido, some kind summit, dey shun am na. Allow the minister for environment attend in ur stead. U fit add the foreign affairs minister too. No be everywhere wey meeting dey, u go rush fuel plane begin go. Hian!

*ghanaman signing out*

1. Exactly! This kind of conference no need him presence. He just wants to travel. Very annoying man.

4. #You can forget what hurt you in the past, just never forget what it taught you*

5. When money don dey vault, we resume our waka.

6. Ajala abeg make him go, who his representing epp

7. End time summit. Soon they will invite him to a nappy care summit. Yeye dey smell

8. Hahahaha ajala the traveller. Ojemba 1

9. Like Seriously? Wetin concern us concern climate change? Will that boost the economy and make people patronise small scale businesses? What happened to our Minister for environment? This government no just give me mouth at all...

10. This is the only thing that he's good at,.. ask am wetin him learn from the previous trips

11. Lol...only thing he knows how to do better. He can travel ehn.. 😂

12. Hahahahahaha chei! So many names for this agaracha presido tufiaaaa!