Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Reps Call Ex-President Obasanjo "Grandfather Of Corruption"

Friday, November 25, 2016

Reps Call Ex-President Obasanjo "Grandfather Of Corruption"

Former President Olusegun Obasanjo has been called "the grandfather of corruption" by lawmakers in Nigeria's lower legislative chamber.

At the maiden edition of the Akintola Williams Annual Lecture which held in Lagos on Wednesday, Obasanjo criticized President Muhammadu Buhari and the National Assembly

Obasanjo called the National Assembly the "den of corruption"run "by a gang of unarmed robbers.’’

According to Obasanjo, “Once you are a member (of the National Assembly), you are co-opted and your mouth is stuffed with rottenness and corruption that you cannot opt out as you go home with not less than N15m a month for a senator and N10m a month for a member of the House of Representatives.

“If the judiciary is being cleaned, what of the National Assembly which stinks much worse than the judiciary? Budget padding must not go unpunished. It is a reality, which is a regular and systemic practice. Nobody should pull wool over the eyes of Nigerians. Ganging up to intimidate and threaten the life of a whistle-blower is deplorable and undemocratic,’’ he said, referencing Hon Abdulmumin Jibrin who was banned from parliamentary duties for 180 days for accusing his colleagues of corruption.

Obasanjo also alleged that lawmakers steal from Nigerians in the name of constituency projects.

"These constituency projects are spread over the budget for members of the National Assembly for which they are the initiators and the contractors directly or by proxy and money would be fully drawn with the project only partially executed or not executed at all. The National Assembly cabal of today is worse than any cabal that anybody may find anywhere in our national governance system at any time,” Obasanjo added.

But his comments stirred an angry response from the House of Representatives.

Chairman of the House Committee on Media and Publicity Hon. Abdulrazak Namdas, in a statement made available to Pulse, said Obasanjo introduced corruption to the National Assembly.

”Undoubtedly, the former President Obasanjo is understandably angry with the National Assembly as an institution having foiled his ambition for a third-term in office even after trying to corrupt the members with a bribe of at least N50m each.

"Lest we forget, the person who introduced corruption to the National Assembly is Chief Olusegun Obasanjo. He birthed the 4th Republic National Assembly with corrupt practices from day one; indeed the first day of the Republic, he bribed both PDP, ANPP and AD legislators on their inauguration in 1999 to vote against the majority candidate of PDP, Dr. Chuba Okadigbo. That was how Senator Evan Enwerem became Senate President.

“Have we forgotten the sacks of money displayed on the floor of the House of Representatives being bribe money paid by Chief Olusegun Obasanjo to some Honourable members to impeach Speaker, Rt. Hon. Ghali N’abba?

Have we forgotten that Chief Olusegun Obasanjo used his position as President to extort money from businessmen and contractors with his government to build his presidential library?"

The House also called the former President the most corrupt person to ever hold office in Nigeria.

"The list of his corrupt acts while in office is endless. Unquestionably, he is the greatest corrupt person ever to hold office in Nigeria. He remains the grandfather of corruption in Nigeria and lacks the moral authority to discuss corruption or indeed abuse of office in Nigeria as he remains the most corrupt Nigerian on record,” the lawmakers said.

From pulseng

**Baba the Baba

34 comments:

1. Hahaha...they are all thieves.....stealing our money directly or indirectly...

2. Obasanjo collects some percentage anytime you buy recharge cards

2. Hahahahaha. the 'corrupted' accusing the 'corruptee'. They are all the same, obj is chief of all everything corruption.

3. Best Nijja president ever. Nigerians don't worry, it is when he dies that you all will appreciate him. OBJ, age gracefully.

1. I used to love this man till he felt out with my boo Jonathan.

4. Ghen ghen! Seems ish is about to get messy!

5. That ugly ape from ota, represents everything that is wrong with this zoo.

1. Look at this fool born by try your luck is calling someone ape.... No no no, don't that again okay.

2. Loooooool @try ur luck, lottery visa. You're finished!

6. They are all corrupt....the Reps are not exempted....What will the name calling do for the country...NOTHING...bunch of stupid beings...ProudlyDeltan

7. hahahahaha Grandfather that gave birth to their fathers. Shame on all of them

8. God will save us from this old men that don't even have the interest of the masses at heart

9. OBJ should pls shut d hell up and stop insulting our intelligence. What did he achieve for d country when he ruled and oil was at it's highest price($147 per barrel) in history? If he had fixed d power problem d country would hv been eternally grateful.

1. Oil at $147? Where & when did that happen? I guess you're mixing history & mischief together! In the history of this country, it was under PGEJ & he alone that oil ever reached such heady price hieghts! Surely you must be mistaking OBJs presidency with that of GEJ😡

10. A classic example of pot calling kettle black. Why can't somebody just concentrate on doing what he knows how to do best like sleeping with his son's wife?

11. Hmmmmm baba talking, I don't believe dis

12. Ndi okenye n'agwo ofe, jisinu ike. We are all ears listening to your stories.

13. @spicy April pls can you name one single achievement OBJ did while in office?

1. One of his achievements is ur access to this blog. Stupid comment

14. This is a detailed account of how OBJ is a corrupt leader. He is just annoyed d legislators aborted his "Mugabe" ambitions

15. Baba on top of matter for we naija
    I den hail ooo

16. Lol na them them, them too over sabi the how far.

17. Lol OBJ the godfather. Very very controversial sombori.I stil love him to the moon sha buh not coming back.