Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Senate Committee To Ban Used Car Importation?

Wednesday, November 30, 2016

Senate Committee To Ban Used Car Importation?

The Senate Committee on Privatisation has said it will propose a complete ban on the importation of used cars.

It, therefore, charged local automakers to manufacture affordable and energy-efficient cars for Nigerians so that when the ban was in place, the impact would not be felt.

It added that the automakers and marketers should have a flexible payment plan that stretches for about five years to enable low-income earners to buy.

The Chairman of the committee, Senator Ben Murray-Bruce, disclosed this while on an oversight visit to the assembly plant of Volkswagen of Nigeria Automobile Limited in Lagos on Monday.

Murray-Bruce, who was accompanied by the Clerk to the committee, Sadiya Abdullahi, and an official of the Bureau of Public Enterprises, Mrs. Rabbi Yahaya, maintained that there should be at least one million made-in-Nigeria cars available on demand annually.

He said, “We want one million cars a year. Everybody who has a job should have a brand-new car. I will propose a ban on the importation of Tokunbo cars; but first, every Nigerian should be able to buy a brand new car in 10 seconds after we put up the ban, not ban and wait for two years.

“The car manufacturers should make provision for down payment of N250,000 and N30,000 monthly instalments. The vehicle should be fully insured for seven years.

“Another important thing is that the cars being sold in Nigeria are not energy efficient. You (VON) are a distributor for Nissan and the firm has the number one electric car in the world. The electric car should be sold here.”

Responding, the Managing Director, Volkswagen of Nigeria, Mr. Tokunbo Aromolaran, recalled that automakers had pledged to supply Nigerians brand-new cars at the prices they currently bought used cars.

He, however, noted that the automakers needed to establish volume, adding, “We were going to do it at such a scale that we will be able to sell the cars, but the issue was that we needed volume; if we don’t have volume, we cannot do it.”

On the flexible payment plan proposed by Murray-Bruce, the VON MD, who is also the Chairman, Nigerian Automobile Manufacturers Association, said it was possible with the commitment and backing of banks and financial institutions.

He added that energy efficient cars were possible if the infrastructure supported it, noting, “There should be electricity charging points where people can recharge their cars when they are on the road.”
from 
Punch

62 comments:

1. These Senators are not wise. They lack intellectual intelligence. Going solely after the poor

1. Ndi ara,do dey think EveryBody can afford tear rubber car?

2. Lwkmd! English Language...rubbing noses in dirt since 1900s. Please what in God's name is "intellectual intelligence"?

3. @ Stephan...if others can afford it, why can't you? Why are you holding yourself down mentally?

2. Serious Yimu. Not everyone can afford brand new cars na.

OK bye

1. Talk is cheap in this part of the world. Very cheap.

3. If we want to do American style, we have to follow the steps they took.
    We can't just wake up and start catapulting ourselves or forcing ourselves to do what the developed countries do. We have to take it one step at a time.
    It's a good policy but do you think the brand new ones won't be stupidly expensive? No one trusts anyone that we'll be doing mortgage system.

Ordinary shoe and little made in Nigeria items, they are really expensive (some tho) then car of all things???

They just want everything to be difficult for ppl. It's not fair.

I don't even know jor

1. My dear, if I own an automobile firm I will go to japan and get a sub-contract for those their small affordable energy efficient cars and start producing in Nigeria. I tell you, in technologically developed nations, 1m can get you a small nice car to go around. With a payment plan it's doable. Brand new doesn't have to be a high-end brand. At least a car that can be used for 7 years. We are technologically backward jare. Other counties have those small pretty affordable cars that can carry a family of 5 comfortably. It's only when you hear how much these cars cost That you will be surprised. A car shouldn't be luxury to many, in a country like Nigeria.

On the electric car issue, abeg wey light? Mscheew!

2. Also, the man of innoson should be encouraged. That man did good with his idea. Then if the regular Kia and Toyota should start manufacturing processes here it will not only increase employment opportunities but also make the cars more affordable. We have market share large enough for them to manufacture here but no one is thinking about that.
      The major issue is electricity. If they don't have constant electricity to power their machines, it will affect their cost of production and then the cost will reflect on the price of cars. I'm certain if electricity is constant, many automobile companies would be encouraged to start production in Nigeria. So Ben should think about that too!!

3. Good idea but fix the roads, provide electricity!

4. @ Chikito, couldn't have said it better especially for your 1st post. Problem is need vs want of the average Nigerian, we're still muddling up the 2 concepts. A fresh graduate WANTS to drive a 2016 benz on a N100,000 salary whereas what he NEEDS is a 2008 Kia Picanto that can use a full tank of gas for 2 weeks and gets him/her to and fro work every day. Banning is actually good but phased banning and adequate supply from local alternatives not the type of ban rice merchants are facing in Ebonyi State. How can FG allow importation of rice and State Government ban the sale of FG approved goods in the State & yet every month the State gets allocation from the FG? You won't honor my laws but you want my money? No time allowance for the imported rice stock to be sold out before instituting the ILLEGAL ban sef.

4. Nigeria and their kongo senate laws
    Hian
    instead of them to ban NCC...robaish !!!

5. Arant nonsense!! Asides Innoson motors, who else manufactures cars locally?How many Nigerians did u empower? I hate Nigeria , sometimes i wish i was born abroad. Biko wepu this ban, wat do u mean??? Pple buy tokunbo cars and re-sell, nkw u want to remove food from their mouths. I freaking hate this country. And No, i wont patronise made in Nigeria cars, we never reach that level of expertise. Except u want risk-prone cars. Cant deal abeg!!!

1. Cameroun is not far, you can relocate and I guarantee nobody will even notice. This is the reason why a country like Nigeria imports toothpick and tomato paste that we have and can make but because of inferiority complex, we prefer to patronize others coz "we never reach that level of expertise". Is anyone or entity born with expertise? Doesn't expertise come from experience? Is experience gained overnight? All these emotional rants are just making y'all sound absurd

6. Chai.so if u can't afford a brand new ride,you ve to used public transport.

1. Nonsense,they think every one use embezzled money like they do to afford brand new cars.always looking for a way to frustrate the suffering citizens.Oma ale's

2. Is it a crime to use public transport? Weren't car owners of today using them before buying cars? Una no go count 1 before 2?

7. ... Everybody who has a job.." they say?
    Like as if they don't know there ain't no jobs in this country abi? Rubbish

1. Ashewo na job too afterall strippers and escorts drive good cars abroad. Stop giving free pussy to that pencil-sized penis boyfriend of yours

8. In a country where nothing works, absolutely nothing, this wont work

1. Nothing works but you actually typed and posted this and it went...and nothing works?

9. Lol funny country with funny people

10. The Nigerian Senate/House has no such powers to ban anything ..... Only the Executive can

Common sense Senator Bruce

1. R u a goat? Who makes laws in this country? Legislative or Executive?

11. Not a bad idea,thank God d ban 'll be in place when naija start manufacturing it's own. More jobs for people!
    What is this I hear about increase in data plan??? I tot d country was in recession??? Won't that be harsh????

12. Wen God ponishes a land, he deprifes it leeders of wisdom.

1. When God punishes a person, He deprives him of common sense and good spellings

13. NO way....i dnt support this...

14. I think I have been supporting the wrong government all the while!

15. I dnt trust made in naija cars...feels like wen u driving it...the door might just fall off..

1. πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚
      We just don't have quality control measures. But we would get there. Have faith

2. Coming from a person who can barely afford bicycle tire & talking thrash about made in Nigeria cars.

16. Confuse government, dry don't know wat to do. Smh

17. This administration don't even know what they are doing, the worst government so far

18. Are those cars not better than d okporokpo ones we have in naija? This people no get brain wey dey function. No apologies

19. kinky with a golden pen30 November 2016 at 07:53

Serious yimu.

20. Abeg bros i fit charge my car for your shop?

21. What rubbish!
    They think everyone can afford "tear rubber"
    This country sef

22. Mehnnnn this Senators r really unserious people, how many Nigerian can afford Either brand new cars or even made in Nigeria new cars????
    Ben Bruce that is Advocating for Made in Nigeria car has Many Exotic cars in his Garage.
    New business naa sure pass then.

1. God I'm officially asking you this now πŸ™ please may we never ever never have such clueless president and senators in Nigeria again. 😭😭😭😭😭😭! They're busy chasing shadows while people are suffering and dying.

The word of God is true, ”my people perish because they lack knowledge".

The only knowledge in this present government is destruction.

Is this the end? πŸ˜–πŸ˜–

23. Not the made in nija car that the parts will be falling of as you drive it

24. These people are nuts. Can they drive made in Nigeria cars? Because we have a stupid SON which cannot get things right, now they want to enforce their scraps on people. Someone definitely has paid Bruce to push this up for consideration.
    Instead they should say any car not more han a particular number of years from date of manufacture should not be brought in. Nonsense

25. Misplaced priority! Nigerians, thinks the country's President is the problem; not knowing that the biggest problem in Nigeria are members of the Senate and House of Representative.

When next you go to vote, put into deep consideration first those lobbying to be your senators and house members.

26. Someone needs to tell this people to act based on what is happening in the economy now, not based on the template they were given before being elected into the Senate...Sick lawmakers

27. the Managing Director, Volkswagen of Nigeria, Mr. Tokunbo Aromolaran, recalled that automakers had pledged to supply Nigerians brand-new cars at the prices they currently bought used cars.
    If some used cars are N450,000, can the automakers sell brand new cars at such price?

28. Dumb Senators. #SMH Instead of them talking about important and relevant issues affecting the Nations Economy and the way forward, they are talking about banning "importation of used cars" because they can afford brand new cars... This government is bent on suppressing the poor and making things more difficult for people to even manage... Mtcheew #Clueless senators.

29. Why not make transportation better. Making cars affordable or having flexible payment is not all that matters.They need to provide new roads first. Adding the one million cars to the road every year will lead to more traffic jam.

30. if I didn't like Senator Ben Murray Bruce, I would have said he was on cheap kpeteshi, how can you ban the importation of second hand cars to Nigeria, for what, how and why? to allow local car manufacturers to sell there cars, okay sir we hear, how much will the car cost, who is going to secure the car for the purchaser, how many banks will be able to give credit to an average Nigerian worker to purchase a car, oh my bad sir who are your target audience same rich Nigerians that can afford to pay 5-20million naira for an SUV, I beg sir think am well, if you want to control the safety and health hazards of imported cars, we understand but banning outright is a retrogressive policy which will further increase the gap between the rich and the poor Mr Bruce. Thinking ahead sir, it is a laudable plan but right now Nigeria is not economically viable to allow for such American and European practices.

31. Please does anyone know what Toyin Aiyimakun used to get this thin???? Pls tell me o, Cos no be exercise