Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Service Year Boulevard -2

Monday, November 28, 2016

Service Year Boulevard -2

Did you pass through NYSC or it passed through you?....Ahhhhh stories!

My Nysc was in 2014 stellz of life.

Where do I start from. Camp.
The first week was horrible. Waking up very early to bath, the compulsory trainings, the watery kitchen food, the uncomfortable bathrooms, the dirty environment Chai my first week in Ekiti state camp made me cry like a baby cos I fell sick and wanted to go back home..

Week 2.. I was no longer a jjc, I had to toughen up and I turned my camp experience around. I started participating in activities, mingling and doing what others were doing to keep body soul and mind alive. I had a camp boo, that was how my eating watery food from their nonsense kitchen stopped. 

I upgraded to maami o no time for dulling. Every evening boo and I will stroll, gist and just enjoy the day. Ekiti camp then was so strict. They stole my extra cash I entered camp with from my padlocked box, stole my can. Thieves dey Sha..The variety night was something else. Soldiers slept with so many girls in that camp all to get good posting. Week 2&3 was really my best cos I loosened up and just enjoyed the experience.

I was posted to ikere in Ekiti to teach Chai another experience. The lodge where I stayed was owned by one 29 year old yoruba yahoo yahoo guy. He didn't hide it at all openly the guy was doing his thing see plenty laptops him and his friends were always carrying. How I ended up in that Lodge with other corpers if I think am e dey make me vex. 

I left lodges that were close to the road and my ppa to stay inside forest cos the house was new and tush. That yoruba guy just deceived us collected our money after we realized that not all that glitters is gold. No road nah bush entry we dey do before we reach ppa every morning, light! for where, water! na well water for another compound landlord lied. Whenever it rains like this na happiness cos we needed the water. Sigh. I was light skinned before service. 

The color I returned with let me not just go there.

The landlord was a happening man Sha he compensated us with enough treats yahoo guys can spend carelessly. We visited so many places, waterfalls, clubs, ondo, ilesa, lag, Chai I flex Sha. I still remember Asu their peppered meat we don't celebrate it like that here in the south but there na their regular.. Stella in ekiti corpers are valued. South South who has your time. Things were so cheap. The small yoruba I know today I learnt it there. 

My worst experience was when I had a nasty fight with my roomie Chai that girl provoked me. The fight was so dirty..Shes so introverted that sharing was a problem for her. We stayed together with other corpers but she's always the odd one out. Always complaining. why did you leave the kitchen open, why did you let them take the bowl, why why ahhh I tire. 

I always tell her it's just one year o this people you might not see them again after biko Nne let's just corporate serve and go. For where until money and who contributed what in buying what made us fight. We later settled Sha and still talk but I hate it that we had that fight. We looked out for each other during service and people always refer to us as twins cos we were always together. She just didn't know how to handle living with others I had to teach her.

What did I gain from my service year? Nothing! It only exposed me to the happenings in a different state with a common language. Ekiti has nothing to offer. The well to do ones are either in lag, Abuja or in the abroad and only come back during hols. It's like my village here you only go there occasionally to greet the aging ones and others. Then return back to the city to chill. In Ekiti even their capital Ado ekiti is no exception. If you say im not right defend ur state o. Na wetin i see I dey talk compared to where I'm based. Rivers!

I am forever thankful to God for seeing me through cos the journey no be here. Almost 8hours on the road. I traveled twice back home that year. Some started with us but didn't get to finish, some were kidnapped, some fell ill, but God saw me through..

My service year was all fun.. 

Shout-out to Batch C 2013/2014 corpers ikere ekiti state.

I'm still trying to remember that Nysc anthem Chai. "under the rain and in the sun something something" . Lol. 

RECEIVED AND NOTED..*new signature*

74 comments:

1. Youths obey the clarion call, let us lift our nation high
    Under the sun or in the rain
    With dedication and selflessness
    Nigeria's ours
    Nigeria we serve

1. You still remember that anthem? I hated it eh...Served in Lagos but did my orientation camp in Ikara akoko in Ondo state.The sun in that state can melt iron...jeez!!! Luckily, I only spent one week in camp cuz I had to go for my law school clearance and call to bar ceremony.I never ate camp food for the one week I spent there,so can't say I know how it tasted.Some of my friends even spent three days only before leaving. I hated the camp experience,though those that finished it that I later met in Lagos kept saying that they had mad fun,was glad to have left early jare.

Then my service year proper was so much fun.Served in the legal department of an oil servicing company in lekki,very close to my house then so it was a walkable distance.Had one steady maga that was on my case all through the service year so I didn't bother touching my allowee.Hardly even remembered it sef. The company where I was serving was paying me 50k monthly so I was really covered financially.Can count how many times I attended CDs,except for monthly clearance ofcourse.My local government was Eti osa 1,those Hungary people there,just buy them recharge cards and they'll sign your card upto date.

Once CD was over,straight to GDC lekki to go see a movie...
      Service year was mad fun for me jare. I enjoyed every bit of it.

2. Opening ceremony day in camp it rained heavily. We were just singing anthem inside the rain. My platoon was bae. Kubwa camp rocks

3. Served in PH
      I miss native soup jare...... Still wondering where I will see those orishirish use in cooking it here in Lagos.

4. Lafresh chop knuckle jare. Kubwa camp rocks!!

5. Olodo @ poster. I served 16yrs ago and still can recite the anthem

6. Kubwa camp rocks ooo

2. Fucked only5 guys in camp. Nysc was just another means to be wayward for me.

*dat messed up silly girl*

1. Fucked five guys in 3weeks? And to think u put just only? U r really a mess dear. I wonder how many you Fucked in the whole year of service.

3. Youth obey the clarion call..let us lift our nation high...under the sun or in the rain...with dedication and selflessness...Nigeria is ours Nigeria we serve

4. Niice story presently serving in kaduna state, am tired already. Counting down to 2nd of march. I miss rivers state jawe

1. Also serving in Kaduna, I enjoyed black gold Camp ooo. Pweetty faith make we mingle hala at me on 08108775025

2. Bashiru, go and look for your Muslim sister. Leave Faith alone. Faith, don't call this alfa oo.

3. Haaaaahaaa, why na Choi choi? Love can be found in strange places o. Allow Bashiru biko.

5. Still fresh oh! It all started on d 31th October 2014, we were all asked to assemble
    at d auditorium (imo state university).hmm! We were all waiting anxiously for our call up letter wit so
    much anxiety in us.. we got into an argument and a guy said there's a local government in kwara state
    were his sister served that there is no church there, they were all arguing I kept quite thinking about my
    dear life, where I wld b posted to. Loo n behold I got my call up letter and was posted to that same kwara
    state, I felt like crying at first but wen I turned my back n saw a girl posted to borno guy! I became very
    strong lol.i left for camp 4 days later made lots of friends while on my way, met lots of wonderful people
    during my 3weeks stay @ yikpata camp with lovely roomates @ hostel 2 cubicle j (was d room leader lol)...
    while on camp was seriously hearing about one particular local Government called BARUTEN, they said its
    7hrs from d state capital. Everyone was scared of going there including me lol. I started joking wit it
    wishing my frnds there. On that very faithful day we were about leaving the camp, I called all my
    roomates n we prayed together, while praying I said "people would b posted to baruten local government
    but let's pray it won't b us" after d prayers we all dispatch. At abt 4pm we were still yet to receive our
    posting letters, it was later shared and guess what lol I was posted to that same baruten , 7hrs journey lol
    I cried n cried I said lord jesus y me? Y v u forsaken me, everyone started laffing at me cos they all
    knew hw I joked wit dis place. I and 3 of my roommates were posted there, we left n got there at abt 1am
    in d mid-night on getting there the other corps member there welcomed us and also consoled us. That was
    how my journey of 1year to Serve my father's land staterd. And today am through. I really enjoyed my
    stay in baruten land (apart from the cold weather and hot sun lol) and wld forever miss there. Every
    disappointment in one's life might b a blessing but we might not knw how God want to bless us....

1. Anon, so you are actually a graduate? I only saw "31th", I didn't bother to read the rubbish you wrote up there. What is 31th?

6. Nice....going for mine next year...

7. OK cool I like ur new signature @stella

8. Kaiama Camp Bayelsa was mad fun after the first week. Had a camp boo, didn't do a thing, no parade, drills or the boring lectures. Was friends with some soldiers so the 10pm curfew no affect me. Felt bad when leaving but almost all my crew were posted to the capital. The fun continued there! Yenagoa is a dry town sha, compared to where it was coming from. I'm gladi experienced it

9. You can't compare ekiti to PHC naw, you can't just compare. I served in Lagos so it nothing special though I enjoyed camp.

1. I served in Abuja, didn't really participate in camp activities, i was active in NCCF. It was fun though but i didn't really make much friends. After camp, i got a very good PPA, was getting about 90k monthly. I enjoyed my service year o!

2. Abuja is the real deal abeg. Money wey I don touch so far,it can only be God. Poor me o.

10. Am liking dis service year boulevard....cos my own eh...if I start...nah book I go write like Toke.....hahahahha....Nasarawa was not a small sum tin...maybe dis nite sha...i type and send to stellisco...

1. I served in Nasarawa state too.. 2008/2009.

2. Me too... 2013/14

11. This comment has been removed by the author.

12. i also served in ekiti same batch c 2013/2014 but i was posted to efon alaye and i enjoyed every bit of my service year

13. I slept with a Corp member in camp at d back of mami market, after camp, I slept with two lodge mates, plus some runz, I enjoyed nysc but it was full of sex.

1. I remove headdress for you 😀😀😀

2. I will never 4get the kwale babe in my room that was married with 2 kids but had camp boo in lag camp. D guy almost died wen he found out.

3. All these children coming under anon to block our view with their 'sexcapades', please go and read ya books! Leave SM! Worrisdis?! What namsense! You think you're grown enof to comment here?

4. Hahahaha @ Unique Gem.Remove headdress. Remove headdress. Lmao. Memories. Can't believe it's almost eight months. Where are my girlies, Cynthimami, Deborah, my confirm room leader. Sabi girl.

14. Me no go school...pls,let those that went to school come here to tell us their experience.

Mc pinky

15. Ha! Nysc that year.
    Make I Waka pass.

16. I rep batch A, stream II, Abuja, 2008. I served in dutse back then because kubwa camp wasn't ready. We really had fun with Mad dog.

Most of my classmates in Unad too were posted to Abuja. We rocked camp together,Nass,Ibiza and other places.
    Though, I reside in Abuja. It was worth it.

I reminisce with smiles on my service year.

The song is ;
    Youths obey the clarion call, let us lift our nation high,
    under the sun or in the rain, with dedication and selflessness
    Nigeria's ours, Nigeria we serve.

Funmi

1. There was barr Oma. My cousin served stream 1 and my bro stream 2 batch A

2. Barr Oma.. Do your findings. Stream II and batch C started in my set in 2008. So I was in batch A stream II.

By the way, I had issues commenting with my id. I hope it goes this time.

3. Swag La fresh.. What year did you serve? Because kubwa camp wasn't ready during our time but Batch b used it. I was there but it's not as big as dutse.

4. Victoria, my cousin served in batch A stream 1 2008 and she said they camped in Dutse. When I served we camped in Kubwa, not same year though

17. NYSC passed a knife through my heart.
    It killed everything about Nigeria in me.
    Why is Northern Nigeria (Bauchi State was where I served) so full of hate for southerner's?
    Every southerner is "Ibo" and is hated.
    Every corp member is Ibo and hated.
    Every foreigner is Ibo and hated.
    Well, there were very few; insignificant number of folks who dare to be different.
    The LGA still have my 1 year allowance till date.
    Before I went to service, I was full of hope about Nigeria
    I silenced anyone that dared talk down on "my country"
    It has changed since. Nigeria is not one and that's the bitter truth!

1. You've come again with your IBO agenda? Please swerve nobody has time for your madness. If you don't like Nigeria relocate. To keep Nigeria one is a task that must be done get that into your head. If you like keep reposting on all posts

2. You no know before? Truth is,Nigeria can NEVER be united,forget all that 'Unity in diversity' bullshit they keep feeding us with. I didn't want to hear stories that tickle bum,so I made sure I worked my service to my preferred state. I already told my parents then that if I was mistakenly posted to core northern region, I won't be serving that year.Luckily, I got my choice.

3. There's no one that will serve in the north that won't have feel a bit for Nigeria. It's like u r in another world. I served in kebbi. We should pray for unity. It's needed cos we've got none in this our dear country

18. Please who can help me with the site to download Bollywood movies. Thanks

19. I served in Benue state, my first week at the camp was hell, I did not poo for close to 8 days because there was no decent toilet..lol

Fast forward to the second week I made great friends that I'm still in contact with till today.
    My PPA was at Joy fm Otukpo ,I was the account officer / radio presenter. I had a show on radio then called campus trends ,the show made me a local celebrity. Otukpo people are VERY hospitable and they made my stay beautiful and fun.

The day I landed in Lagos after my POP was the day my husband proposed to me.

This post brings back good memories.

1. Benue people are very good people..i served there and love those people...kai how much they love strangers and can do anything to make a corper comfortable,just wear your cap to the market and watch them hailing and slashing prices of things for you...those people are good people who don't care where u are from,u can't be stranded in benue,enough help go they na u go choose...

20. NYSC as an International student..............

1. Babes u go school for ghana u still dey call ur self intl student..pls park well jo..lol

2. Is this ur new series? Wow us baby! But do it with the fear of God small Ohh nne?

21. hahahahaha at received and noted. Just like my office, you send emails to some ogas, they will write back to you received and noted.

Ok ooo i will be reading comments

22. Wow dat is my batch and I served in ekiti state too I was posted to omuo london(ekiti east).In camp I save my money bcos frm day2 I get camp boo wen buy food till we comeout from camp. But I sick ooooooo, Well I flex d state, omg d pple @ d my ppa respect corpers die but d guys want use jaz to get d females corpers. I enjoy palm wine and grass cutter but as ebola start wella I stop to eat d meats dere. As 4 light dat one no go there, I spend money 4 fuel till I round up.my landlord is a father

1. That's my town..glad you enjoyed yourself.

23. Awww i also served in ikere Ekiti o.I almost developed high bp cos there wia snakes everywhere.

24. Awww i also served in ikere Ekiti o.I almost developed high bp cos there wia snakes everywhere.

1. Haba. Snakes everywia how o? I dont blv u.
      @poster. Pple live in ikere na. Whats dis talk about only coming dere to visit aged ones. I

25. I served in Niger State(2009). Slept outside cos I couldn't register the first day. Camp was fun,made new friends. Was 2ic in my platoon. Posted to a village to teach but I loved it. Used to go 3 times a week to the school. Our lodge was not so beautiful but ok.Constant light,we watched enough films.Food was very cheap. We used to have free ride to Kaduna to buy Gold. I enjoyed my service year.

26. Currently serving in Keffi, Nasarawa. The experience isn't so bad. Ah! Camp was a bitter -sweet.

27. I SERVED IN KATSINA 2014/2015 BATCH C AND I ENJOYED MY SERVICE YEAR..THE STORY TOO LONG JARE BUT I THANK GOD

28. chai. i bad die for NYSC. na then i begin collect, i even do abortion for one useless guy. i collect from 4 guys before i comot. not a good experience abeg.

29. Nysc nowadays is something else. Straffing and just straffing is d order of d day. That scheme should be scrapped before my daughter falls into the trousers of an idiot.

1. Lolzzz @ ur comment trouser of an idiot u are so funny

30. I served in kebbi state,2014/20015.The sun for that no be here o!!!

31. Represented my platoon at the Mr Macho contest. Made it to the final round but didn't win as i didn't know the name of the deputy governor of Benue state then.Fun days