Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Skye Bank Sacks 50 More Workers

Tuesday, November 01, 2016

Skye Bank Sacks 50 More Workers

About four months after it disengaged about 200 of its workers, Skye Bank Plc has retrenched about 50 members of staff, including those in outsourced and auxiliary functions.

Although the number of the affected non-core employees could not be ascertained since they were not direct workers of the bank, it was gathered that the reasons for their exit ranged from non-performance, disciplinary issues as well as rightsizing by the lender.

It was further gathered that most of the affected personnel were in outsourced functions like tellers, drivers and internal security guards.

When contacted on the development, the Head, Corporate and Brand Communication, Skye Bank, Mr. Nduneche Ezurike, confirmed the exit of the affected workers, adding that the management of the bank approved the payment of generous entitlements and severance packages to them as contained in their engagement letters and as agreed with the workers’ union.

The Central Bank of Nigeria had on July 4 sacked the Chairman, Skye Bank, Mr. Olatunde Ayeni; Managing Director, Timothy Oguntayo; Deputy Managing Director, Mrs. Amaka Onwughalu; non-executive directors, Mr. Victor Odozi, Mr. Babajide Agbabiaka, Dr. Jason Fadeyi, Mr. Kunle Aluko, Mr. Victor Adenigbagbe, Mr. Abdul Bello and Hajiya Amunna Lawan Ali; and the two longest-serving Executive Directors, Mr. Dotun Adeniyi and Mrs. Ibiye Ekong.

In their place, the CBN announced Alhaji Muhammad Ahmad as the new chairman, while Mr. Adetokunbo Abiru was also named as the new managing director.

Other members of the reconstituted board are Bayo Sanni, Idris Yakubu, Markie Idowu and Abimbola Izu, all of who had been serving as executive directors of the lender before now.

The CBN Governor, Mr. Godwin Emefiele, had explained that the “proactive moves have become unavoidable in view of the persistent failure of Skye Bank to meet minimum thresholds in critical prudential and adequacy ratios, which has culminated in the bank’s permanent presence at the CBN lending window”.

The bank’s reconstituted Board was mandated to run a lean and efficient organisation; control costs; aggressively recover debts owed it; grow deposits; and shore up its liquidity position.
punch reportage.

27 comments:

1. This is a bloody lie, they sacked 4,000 people. People do you know how they alert you via mail and then they go block your computer immediately Na then you know say the end of the road has come. Not even person to person.

2. didn't u vote for apc huh? SO WILL ALL OF U IDIOT THAT VOTE FOR APC BE PUT TO SHAME. u are talking Skye bank go to ecobank an see HOW TERRORIST BUHARI HAS TURN NIGERIA INTO SOUTH SUDAN and bastards here are still praising his stupidity. Nigeria will not be the same again unless terrorist and his kinsmen are push out of aso rock noting more.
    Freeborn wept!

3. Hmmmmmmmm..for this recession abi
    No problem God is watching una

Missylynn

4. Increase in unemployement. Make them join the chorus o, it is well.

5. God help us in this country,people are loosing their jobs everyday or collecting half of their salary.unemployment is on the increase every day,funny enough the people that are responsible for this change are all enjoying,their kids are working in high places and collecting millions as salaries,driving super cars,living high.It is well...

1. Join mmm now

2. It's losing ooooo! What's with you people and loose on this blog!
      Biko check the difference between Lose and Loose!

3. Anon12:28,hope your correction has given you bank alertteacher chike?as the teacher that you is now,ewuu

4. Anon 9:57,thanks for the advice but i'm talkin cos of me oo,

6. This is not the end. The remaining staff should just switch careers

7. Na wahoo , in this hard times.

God Bless Everyone.

8. Its so obvious that cbn cannot stop banks from sacking staff, its such a pity. That is why I don't like these so called contract work, your job is not guaranteed, no promotion or bonus sef. But what can one do, you manage the one you get.

9. So what about the signed agreement between banks not to sign. Shame on una.

Shame on CBN that could do nothing. Shame on APC government that brought bad change to this country

10. Terrible news for the affected ones..

11. My girl knows I hate her Bank marketing job. The amount of off-duty calls she gets and messages some customers send trying to get into her pants never ceases. I am afraid if I tell her to quit, she may not like it because of the current situation in the country with regards to job availability.
    That said I'm thinking of bankrolling a business for her with 2m. At this stage I want peace of mind and I hope she will agree.

12. Eyah what a pity.in this Baba Bubu times.

13. Me I want to quit o,but if I quit I won't be paid,I pray am sacked so I can join my family in Canada am tired of the so called marketing job.