Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Tuface Idibia Interview On His Happiest And Saddest Moments...Must Read.

Wednesday, November 09, 2016

Tuface Idibia Interview On His Happiest And Saddest Moments...Must Read.

Hear him: “The number one factor to success is that you have to be ready mentally, physically, spiritually and every other ‘ally’. You have to be ready to face challenges.

Are you an up-and-coming artist hungry for success? Are you dreaming of the stars? Tuface Idibia, who rose from humble beginnings in Jos, Plateau State, and is now arguably one of Nigeria’s most successful contemporary acts, has shared his success tips.

Tuface, a member of the defunct Plantashun Boiz, who alongside groups like The Remedies, kick-started the Afro hip hop revolution of the late 1990s that blossomed into the Nigerian contemporary sound, has identified humility and belief in oneself as key factors to being a successful musician.
Hear him: “The number one factor to success is that you have to be ready mentally, physically, spiritually and every other ‘ally’. You have to be ready to face challenges.”

“Number two is respect,” he continued, waving his hands expansively. “You must respect people because people are the backbones of your success and failure. Respect your fans and the people that contributed in one way or the other to your career, because there is no artiste that can come out and say he or she is an island.”
Not done, Tuface said: “You must have some level of humility as well. It’s not necessary that you greet everybody you see on the road; but you have to know that since you have put yourself out there, you must be humble. And finally, you need to have talent; talent is key because it is the foundation on which you will build your career as a musician.”

Once upon a dream…
As early as he can recollect, Tuface says his dream has always been to sing, and while growing up, he listened to the likes of Bob Marley and Fela Anikulapo-Kuti. However, in 1997, after he relocated to Lagos with Blackface and they founded the Plantashun Boiz, he made up his mind to make a career out of singing.
Recalling how he has handled success over the years, Tuface said: “You know, there is this thing about life. If you have been planning and aiming for something, you wouldn’t be so surprised when you eventually get to that place. Like when I started music as a career, there was an intention to go all the way but the speed, magnitude and stardom that came with success was overwhelming at one point.

“And that was because when we were planning this, we never knew it will get this big, so we just had to re-adjust to the new level on ground. So, for me, I will say that I worked towards it. So, when it started happening, I wasn’t so surprised.”

Happiest moments
Indeed, Tuface has sold millions of records, won numerous awards and is indeed a music icon not just in Nigeria but also across the continent.
Speaking about his happiest moments, he explained: “There are so many first moments I could describe as my happiest. For me, it has been a string of firsts, and I am glad that I am a pioneer. Officially, I was the first artiste to be endorsed by a very big company and that was a very happy moment for me. I was the first to be declared by a big record label as the first artiste to sell above a million copies. I was the first to be on the popular Billboard charts.
“I was also the first Nigerian artiste to have his music played on MTV Base Africa. In fact, the list is endless; and my kids are huge sources of inspiration for me, even though, when they were coming and I was rejoicing that I was going to be a dad, some people were complaining; thanks to their mums and my wife.”

Is he still missing the Plantashun Boiz 12 years after the group broke up? “You know that once in a while you feel that way and nostalgia just overwhelms you and you are like ‘wow!’ It was really fun those days hanging out with Faze and Blackface, singing together, cracking jokes and living together in the hotel, and all the funny things we did.”

Any plan for a reunion anytime soon? “We have some plans to still do stuff, but right now, we haven’t fixed a particular date or anything concrete,” he confesses.

Saddest moments
Just like he has had his happy moments, the African Queen singer has also had his low moments.
“My saddest moment was when they were writing things about me some years ago while I was celebrating the kids coming. Some people were using it against me, and saying some hurtful things to put me down. Another sad moment was when I lost my dad. All of a sudden I realised that this man who used to carry us on his shoulders and take us out for shopping and all that was going to die. Although, I tried all I could but I couldn’t help him, and he died. I cried like a baby,” the musician lamented.

Are any of his kids taking after him? “Yeah… a couple of them are already showing some signs, but I am still monitoring them.”

Regrets
When Tuface looks back, is there anything he wishes he could have done differently? “I am not somebody that likes to regret. I feel that whatever that happens has happened. The only thing I think of is how to blend and turn things positively. I don’t just sit down; fold my hands and start regretting. Instead, I re-adjust and move on.”

Dreams

Despite his achievements, Tuface says he is not yet fulfilled: “I am somewhere now but not exactly the place and position I want to be. I still want to go far. I am still hungry to achieve other things as a business man and not just a musician.”

The SUN interview....Interviewed by Tony Ogaga my former classmate in Uniben who graduated with a second class upper.... 

50 comments:

1. Stella !!! You and this your third class

1. Your last statement though..... Biography of TonyπŸ˜‚πŸ˜πŸ˜€πŸ˜‡πŸ˜„

2. That is ehn! Na real biography...lol

1. Lol..u dis Stella u b case

#WotUGraduatedWith

2. Aunty Stella stop jur. It's obviously not by what one graduates with. You have proved that.

3. Heehehehe,na 2face speak all these grammar?

1. Meaning u are better than him

2. Stella,nawa for you o.Did you have to mention the grade he graduated with?I tire.

3. Anon you dey madt for spewing such trash ewu. With all ya English what have you achieved? Ewu Gambia.
      Leave my forever crush before I knack the small demons wey dey ya head comot.

*hangs leg on the cupboard*

4. All i know is that today is the happiest day in the history of modern America.
    Donald J. Trump is the 45th President of the United States!

Hohohohohohohohoho...

1. I'm basking in the euphoria of our victory with you my dear.Everything just looks bright and beautiful to me today.
      As for Tuface,the best is all I wish you handsome one.Keep striving and achieving.

2. Tanx rose for wishing my bae well. It will be well with you too.

*hangs leg in the cupboard*

5. Congrats to him jare.

Chai the world market all going down. hahahaha the fear of TRUMP ooo

6. Very humble man. The only bad thing anyone will say about is that he fathered many children outside wedlock.

1. Exactly. I am sure the pregnancies wsnt planned but he encouraged each woman to keep his child. Unlike those who bashed him endlessly their girlfriends are regular customers at abortion clinics.

2. Which is not his fault by the way, coz NA the women want am.they all wanted to keep him. But for where the heart wants what the heart wants.he choose wisely.
      Just applaud him and leave that matter abeg. He is my bae and I won't condone any misyarn for this post.
      #Forevercrush

3. Or he could have saved himself the headache and used a condom!

7. Sterra must you tell us that he graduated with second class....?

8. Thank God my phone is back. Missed you since Saturday.

1. Tank Jah 4ur life*lol*

2face baba,father of many nation..I hail thee

Mc pinky

2. nymous9 November 2016 at 12:19
      So your bishop cannot gift you a new phone from your weekly offering contribution and free advert.you've be running for him since 1960?

9. So your bishop cannot gift you a new phone from your weekly offering contribution and free advert.you've be running for him since 1960?

10. I love love love tubaba idibia..
    The only naija artist on my playlist..

1. Love him small small NNE he is mine lol.
      I can't share biko

11. Innocent idibia, I just love you, shaiiii weldone

1. He loves you too anon,infact he sends his regards. One love

12. Tuface is so humble. May grant you and lead you to the height you wished to attain.

1. Amen Mrs Romas. God bless you too.

13. Our very own legend

Missylynn

14. Best part of the interview to me: The number one factor to success is that you have to be ready mentally, physically, spiritually and every other ‘ally’. You have to be ready to face challenges.

My prayer point is for God to always prepare me for the level of success we both know I'd achieve, even if it means passing me through the Fire

15. I enjoyed every bit of this interview. Especially the part that he is proud of his kids nd grateful to their moms. Well done tubaba

1. Tanx dear. Yes he is a responsible father.

16. Stella it's course mate not classmate. Na primary school ?

17. Stella and this her degree eh... Where d chronicles at na, that stuff gets me going when I am annoyed... Esp D comment section

18. Stella why saying he graduated with 2nd class? He send u message? Hian!!

19. uniben and their wahala I heard RMD was gifted third class too... the likes of yemi blaq, Norbert Young were given second class lower...

20. happy for him... so bored of staying at home... thinking of starting packaged soup business, I intend cooking different types if soup/stew package them in a plastic pack for sale.. what do u guys think?

21. Tubaba I love so much. God bless you and your children.

22. Marriedchick food business is good especially if you are a good cook. Recession or no recession, man must wack. Goodluck to you.

Are you in Lagos?

23. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    One of my best artiste alive... Keep soaring higher nothing do you man.....

24. @lovemejeje yes I live in Lagos

25. My love for this Dude and his talent.....😍😍😍😍

26. The closing remark by Stella is everythingπŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ you are a clown.wow,what an honest interview..that's y he's top of his game Cos He understands how the game works,bless you 2baba.