Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: What’s Your Worst Roommate Horror Story?Here is Mine

Friday, November 11, 2016

What’s Your Worst Roommate Horror Story?Here is Mine

I heard quite a number of stories about her. I heard she wasn’t someone most people would like to be roommates with. I heard she was going to make the room unbearable for me; and I wouldn’t enjoy the room one bit. 

In fact, some people went further to tell me that she is not a nice person, and I would feel miserable staying in the same room with her.

With each of the numerous stories I heard about her, came fearful thoughts about how I am going to spend ONE YEAR in the same room with her.

As a freshman, roommate problems wasn’t one of the things I needed, in fact, I never envisaged such occurrence. I raced to the porter’s lounge to complain about my new roommate I have never met, but supposedly know much about based on what people had said. However, all efforts to change rooms failed. I had to stay in the room.

Much to my amazement, all those countless tales about how mean my roommate was were false. And in fact, being her roommate brought a lot of memories that had stayed with me till now.

One of the things that has stayed with me from my undergraduate days is the memories. Suffice to say that we remember memories and moments more than material things.

The roommate experience I had with Sonia (as I would like to call her here) was a very good and memorable one. How come people said all those things about her?

Sonia exhibited the characters of a roommate that cared about the welfare of others. She was nice, and fun to be with. She always looked out for the welfare of the rest of us in the room. It wasn’t a case of misery, it was more of cheerfulness.

Why did those people say all those things about her? Perhaps they didn’t know her, they only concluded based on their own perspective or based on how she seemed to be or portrayed herself to be to them.

If they had gotten to know her, and come to understand who she really is, perhaps they would have known that she is a nice person, and they just needed to understand her.

And this brings me to why you need to get to know your roommates, or at least know basic things about your roommates or prospective roommates. Hearsays aren’t always reliable, but actually getting to know your roommate or prospective roommate might save you both a lot of stress.

On www.roomiesconnect.com, you get to connect with your prospective roommate, and this helps you to know your roommate before you both move in together.

Rommies Connect is the first roommate matching service in Nigeria (and a few African Countries). The platform brings you so many benefits such as helping you to choose the right roommate, and actually giving you an opportunity to know your roommate.

You are going to be with your roommate for about a year or more than, why then shouldn’t you choose someone that match the kind of person you are looking for?

Roomies Connect was made with you in mind, whether you are a student, worker, or someone just looking out for another person to share an apartment with, www.roomiesconnect.com helps you to make your search easier!

sponsored content

80 comments:

1. Stella I would have gisted you o. But my ex room mates and their friends might be bvs. I still love my anonymous self

1. If na true why you dey fear to talk?

2. Happy birthday to me and my birthday mates including Olivia Silk. To God be all the glory for His Amazing faithfulness

3. I was lucky with my roommates
      They weren't that bad

4. Wetin b "gisted"? Better stick with pidgin u hear?

5. Wud I love to gist about mine but I had a sad experience with people I lived with,its something I don't even wanna remember.infact my roommate made me live like a house help all because she own d house,its all past now only for my useless school to be talking bulshit after my struggle.i can't give it all up like dat

6. Roommate wey carry my inner wear take clean him nyash? I just come dey perceive nyash nyash smell o. Wetin cause hatred? Sat I get job out of favour o. I even tell them sef. Enemies of progress. Thank God their matter no bother me one day. It was so bad that if I urinate, them go go peep look the urine. If I give this yeye guy ( cos dem be clique) say make he buy something as per house Tinz, he go pocket my Monet change am with him own, use him own buy may be to do jazz with my money. #sorryass

7. Roommate wey carry my inner wear take clean him nyash? I just come dey perceive nyash nyash smell o. Wetin cause hatred? Say I get job out of favour o. I even tell them sef. Enemies of progress. Thank God their matter no bother me one day. It was so bad that if I urinated, them go go peep look the urine. If I give this yeye guy ( cos dem be clique) say make he buy something as per house Tinz, he go pocket my Money change am with him own, use him own buy may be to do jazz with my money. #sorryass

8. I will not forget my year one room mate during rag day this girl stayed back saying she no fit go beg money looking like craze person.
      I went and begged my small money ohhh arranged it to put in the bank on Monday, Monday come reach I couldn't find one naira I cried and cursed she even joined me to curse, fast forward final year she confessed to me that she stole the money plus other things.
      Since then let me squat for a minute I wont even hear talk more of living with someone. My space my life

2. Na wa o..

And i just prepared my self to read gossip for nothing. Hahaha

1. 300level ABU Zaria. All my friends had moved off campus, for some reasons I never liked living off K. I had the worst room mate who had the highest case of OCD and she was way older than the rest of us so liked to control everything, don't sing in the room, no visitor can sit on her bed, cus she had a curtin over it, no lights past 11, yet she would wake up by 4:30am to start praying, she felt she was the Holy Spirits best friend, as she would threaten to curse you if you oppose her, we couldn't use the socket by her side, her bunky shouldn't climb her bed when trying to go up bunk, she washes her shoes when she comes back, washes her slippers after bathing, I can go on and on. Nobody told me before I ran off campus.

2. Azin..... the matter tire me

3. This reminds me of my room mates then at ABU.we were the best of pals but i lost your contacts , Carol, Vivienne and Loretta. Amina block 7 rm 1. If any of you is a BV reply N'jee dey miss you

4. I stayed off campus,neva had a roommate unless back in high school,of which isn't a room but bunkmate or bunky who wasnt even my mate,was either my senior or junior.

1. Room 7 boutique hostel girls Caritas University una dey here? I miss all of una, characters

4. My roomates are so dirty! They ll litter the floor with nylon wraps.. I just pray they change me from that room nxt year... Am on IT now though #six month rest#

1. my then roommate was so dirty and razz.
      she would soak pant for one week or more.
      i only endured for a semester.

5. Nice Concept

Some roommates are from Heaven
    Others from Hell

6. I had this roomie while I was in my 1st year in Uni.She was actually squatting with me,I paid for the full rent.She is fat and snore a lot,I had to leave the bed for her while I sleep on the rug.She still leaves the bed spread for me to wash.I wash the toilet alone,and this girl can dispose sanitary pads anywhere.She doesn't wash plates or cook.The foodstuff belongs to me yet I do the cooking for us.During one festive period her mum gave us some money to buy chicken,she spent the money alone.
    What broke the camel's back was when she started bringing her boyfriend home and I have to stay outside till late night.One morning I was preparing for class,I was bathing and the towel was on the bed,I wasn't expecting any visitor so I came out naked.Lo and behold a guy was sitting on the bed.I was standing in front of him naked,I managed to grab the towel.The guy still sat comfortably ,I told him to leave.He said no that I should leave because the room belongs to her girlfriend.I guess that was what she told him.The guy eventually left after she persuaded him.They both went out.I packed her things and left it outside before she came back.That was the last time she stepped her feet into my room.

1. You really tried o. Heaven knows I don't have such patience.

2. I never had a room mate because I love been alone in a room.

3. U r just like me.
      Too patient and dieing inside.

4. What?? Good you sent her packing.
      For all the years I lived alone, I never for one day brought a man to my house, I hated the idea.

5. Ah!
      You strong girl!
      I can't!
      I'm a patient person but not when it comes to hygiene. I can't tolerate at all.
      Ah!!!😯

6. Stay outside your house cos of one small boy. 😏
      Don't try this next time. In this life or the next one. What rubbish!

7. Abegi see how you painted her all bad like you are a saint.

7. My ear stand to hear aproko, Choi.

8. Ive always loved my personal space, thats how i was raised, never have i being comfy witha roomie, even if its my mothers child, a weekend to endure is ok, but anythg longer is just turning my smile to a frown, exept ure a neat chick with a bomb pussy *winks*
    So in higher institution, i was forced to share to cut down the room rate, i made a list, like a lady in search of a life partner..

Do you snore?
    Do you speak in tongues & pray loudly?
    Do you have body odour or mouth odour?
    Do you fart uncontrollably?
    Do you have too many visitors?
    Are u considerate or with empathy?
    Do you masturbate?
    Do have more than one GF?

Bottom line, i didnt find anyone, so i stayed alone.

9. So it's roomies connect😀See the way I was reading with interest till I got to the 12th paragraph.
    Captivating piece.
    Nice one!

1. Let me perch under me.
      Never had a room mate till my service year in Ondo State. Coincidentally, the girl friend I met in camp and I were posted to the same PPA. We couldn't bring ourselves to live in the dilapidated corpers lodge, so we sought to get our place.
      Luckily, we got a new boys quarters (we disvirgined the house).
      We stayed together to keep each other company because it was a boring village(inside inside Ondo kai..I cried!).
      My friend couldn't bear it any longer, so she did her runs with the LGI and left to her base. I stayed back cos my mum would not hear of it.
      When some fresh batchs later joined us, I decided to accommodate a lady. She agreed to the rule(tidiness) and all was going well until she met a guy.
      Guy man started visiting. I had no problem with that as he wasn't sleeping behind.
      The one that got me pissed off was POP day. This man came to the house very early in the morning-past 6am. I was watching him, waiting for him to leave so I will shower and state prepping. The guy didn't go. I hate towels. I like walking into the bathroom naked. So I was patiently waiting. Mr. man now took position on the bed. I went in to the store room, tied my towel, came out to the sitting room and was walking about with the hope that he will get the measage and leave but he didn't move an inch and the lady was too daft to get the message either.
      I walked up to both of them in anger..asked him how he could visit a ladys room very early in the morning..asked him if he was blind and couldn't see that I need my privacy to shower and get dressed..told him that he should have at least waited for me to leave the village completely before coming to claim the room..and then I walked him out of the room.

What rubbish! I don't have patience for iranu.

Anonymous 9:43..more grease!

10. Nothing person no go hear.

So I can now get a roomnie
    Online????????

11. in my 100level, one of the final student in my room broke my new blender (a gift from my grandmom) arranged it back into the cartoon and never told me she did even when she saw me crying, infact she even join me dey curse the person wen break am... it was when she left my other 100level corner mate told me that the final lady broke the blender...I was so pained because granny gifted it to me.. I never asked her...

1. This comment has been removed by the author.

12. Let me read comments. Never had roomates as friends and not thinking of any now.

13. I had a roommate (not in school, in Europe) for only about 6months, I don't want to say it was the worst 6 months of my live.

She doesn't know how to clean, she cooked while wearing nothing and her hands always on her hair, so I hardly eat whatever she cooks.
    She was very lazy and I hate lazy people, especially those that eat and leave their plates in the sink.

1. Hahahhahahaha I can imagine!
      Thanks goodness she didn't pick her nose!
      Ewwwwww that thing can irritate my whole body and soul!

14. The only roommate I had was Onyema Jane Okorie, a very nice lady.
    Though she is married now but we still communicate.
    We re almost like twins then
    We can use sign and eye to finish someone.
    Almost all the lecturers knew us.
    During exam, they don't allow us to stay together.
    I call her Kokolet and she calls me BabyNurse cos my mum is a nurse and m always nursing her whenever she is sick.

She is truly a nice lady.

15. Lol
    Na today? As a matter of rule,I hardly ever judge anyone based on what I hear.Nah!I only judge based on what I see.Or experience.Or with concrete proof.

Heard a sad story not too long ago and by the time the truth revealed itself,It was just sad! The supposed wicked person was all along,innocent. And even oblivious to the wicked lies.This group of malicious women in her Gym class just cooked up some ridiculous stories and heaped on her head and by the time I heard it,I told the chick "Nah!Not this person!I know people change and all that,but not this chick.I have known her for years.

The chick learnt a lesson that day "Never judge people based on what you hear!And if u must,let them show U concrete proof. Some people are downright evil!

That Bn said,Most People get confused between Personality and Attitude.My personality is who I am.And my attitude depends on who u are. Lol

It's ok for Someone to get all mean and rude around u and when u show them two can play the game,they peg u "impossible" Lol

Thankfully,My instincts never lie.I don't dig u? I stay farrrr away. Almost afraid to be stained by ur crap.You just can't get me.Lol.
    So like you,my friends and "roomie" were just Heaven-sent! "G" was a clown! We laugh d all day! At home and in school. She was the life of the Party. She taught me not to forget saying my Rosary every night and to clean my shoes first thing when I come back from school. A habit that has stuck til date. She was my first roomie. Beautiful.Witty and smart. And kinda more exposed as she had elder sisters. Quiet. But only when my Mom was around LMAO.or hers. Then you see us All prim and proper. A chatter box! A good daughter,A good friend.Now good Mom and wife....
    Cheers to Us "G",20 Years N counting....

The girl who taught me the "Mirror Fantasy"
    Okbye!

16. If i say make i talk my year one story those days eeehn and that was the last time i ever had a roomy in school before graduation , i go just siddon here dey cry while i type .

17. I remember one time I helped a lady out back in the University. She needed a place to stay for a few days.
    A few days turned to weeks.
    Finally, I told her I was traveling home for the break and she needed to vamoose.
    Guess what she did, she secretly copied my key, so as soon as I travelled, she moved in.
    Imagine?
    It was my flat mates that told me when I got back. Talk about devilish. I ranted and threw her out.

The day my phone embarrassed me

1. can u imagine? some people dont know when to just go! I have several experiences and something like this one sef.

18. my roomie was/is a sweetheart. ebby love, was so much fun being roomies with her. generous to a fault, and extremely nice. she made me happy in unimaginable ways, we had guilty pleasures, kinky nights. how we became intimate is what I cant explain even up till now. the guilt still plagues me though, but the memories are sweet. was the only roomie I had in school till I graduated.

19. My Roommate in my 100lvl was gay, i never knew till i saw some sms sent to Men nd guys i know. He also travels alot and likes bathing hot water, my gas no dey last bcos of am... God saved my ass. Hallelujah!!!

20. EMPRESS
    happy birthday SUE N SILK. Special babies born on a special day.

21. I had a Roomie in School then, this girl na Edo gal.One kind black ugly monster with a very fine voice!She would want to keep malice over everything. My Dad got a Fridge,Laptop and Fan for me and all hell broke lose when my Roomie said "must u buy all these things" I overheard her one day gossiping about me to her friend who happens to really like me" mtchheew that's how she will be feeling rich "Nothing pleases her,nothing!She was even jealous of the course I was studying.It wasn't easy!She would come and say why did u move this cup from here or why did u keep ur bucket beside mine.She would bring in different friends to the room,some would squat for days and they end up eating my food and even spoiling some of my things,but that was OK.It was sort of a relief to me that her friends see me differently.I was even surprised when i found out that the Space was not for her!It was so funny.So all along she had been squatting since the other gal went on It!There was this day she wanted acting up as usual,the kind warning I cut her eh,I almost threw her tinz out before people came begging on her behalf.From that day,she started to behave herself.When I remember her,I always shake my head and wonder the kind of mother she would be to her kids!wicked geh!

22. My roommate bought me poison koz we had an issue over a guy I was dating. Met him through her, he asked her out, she said no, a year later he asked me out and I said yes (big mistake)
    According to her, that was when she realized she was in love with him and felt I had snatched her bae....
    My people, na so my wahala with this girl take start. From besties to sworn enemies.
    My relationship became a triangle. .. him, her and me. Eventually, I broke up with him koz the drama was just too much and she jumped in that same month.
    They broke up after 2 months and she came begging for my forgiveness and openly confessed to poisoning my food but somehow, I didn't eat that particular day and that was how God saved me
    Today, I am married with a baby of my own, the guy we fought over is also married and my humble roomie is still active in her maid of honor duties 😅😅😅😅
    God has a way of fighting for his own

1. Maid of honour duties, chai

2. 😂😂😂😂,I love the maid of honours duties.

3. I know you Monkey face and this particular gist. Enugu Denca hostel tinzz..lol

23. Had a roomie once who was very dirty. She never washed her undies and clothes. Whenever she runs put of panties to wear, she would bring out the dirty ones, sniff them and rewear the ones that didn't smell too bad. One time she dropped a used sanitary towel under her mattress. The whole room smelt like there was a decomposing cadaver in the room. I had to run for my dear life. I ended up squatting with friends for the rest of that year. And to think she was a fine girl with plenty bfs.

24. Had a roommate who had 3 other friends squatting with her. Very wild girls who liked nothing better than to have random sex and gist about it.

25. Am male while my roomie is girl. We lived off cam. We claimed bro and sist. Before than ghanian landlord agreed. Thou i got my reasons

26. My roommate was something else. Ifeoma Chukwudum, where is she now sef? She would bring her boyfriends to eat up my stuff, she would colonise my fan and other stuff. I ll put water in my fridge and she ll bring all her onitsha herd to come drink it up and keep empty cans for me? Ah.., i hear am but I sha do am back. Babe was caught doing husband prayer in our room,burning incense with basin of water, white cloth and picture of a guy who later turned out to be one washed out Libyan refugee like that. We laughed our hearts out that day considering the kind of drama she created the day the guy came looking for her in school. Ifeoma ran all the way from up school screaming to ziks flat that her boyfriend and fiance is back from Yankee. We laff tire that day.

27. Biko if u are in benin and u can stay in a spare room in a 4 bedroom flat pls mail me....can't be staying all alone in dis big house....let's talk if interested

28. hmmm I was feeding and transporting us both because she was underpaid I even went broke and borrowed sef so we can be fine as a good gyal dat I is naw! ....wen they refunded her all the money back I never knew, she carry her money go do MMM and was hiding it from me.....I woke up at 2am for night to pee only to see this fat fool drinking garri and suya...I was so shocked.....I went to work to confirm they've refunded all her money.... na there I swear Neva to be good again!!!... #awonYorubaDemon

29. I stayed alone while in sch, but had this roommate during nysc, everyone was scared of her, two girls were reassigned to other rooms cos of her wahala.of all corper staying in that she was the only one staying alone.the first night i was asked to stay with her, with the promise to reassign me later, but I saw the room and fell in love with it, everything was perfect and working fine,the fan,bathroom, our wardrobe was intact compared with other rooms not even one tile was chipped, I say na here i go die.
    Everyone was like you can cope with her problem oh, is better you find someone else to stay with, even our CLO, all those talk made me want to stay, let me see the homo sapien that will intimidate me, confirm nwa Aba.
    We only lived peacefully for just two week, problem bust.
    Long story short she started avoiding our room, i became the chairmo. Infact i made her so uncomfortable that she reported me to her fiancée.
    Guys dey buy me drink for conquering!
    Me,I can live with anybody,if you want peace,I can do peace, but if you want war, my arsenal is always ready

1. Confam! i like people like u.. lol

2. Bia nwanyi, are you sure I don't know you? You sound "family".

3. Lol
      Babe! You rock.
      Same thing happened to me during NYSC.

If you want peace,I will give u peace....

30. From my experience, i wouldnt advice anyone to keep a roomie...... They are bad for the health

31. I loveee my room mate and bunky, she's a muslim and we bonded so so well. We even stayed together for 2 sessions. I miss her jare.

32. My roommates ehn precious and Omoshola....wonderful pair;cat & rat,then the other 2...kain disgusting bitter beings,their friend would come and be threatening my fav roommates until she crossed my path,the beating no be here,we all had peace afterwards bastard babies everywhere,she dey form Omo ibo then,I can fight anybody,I show am Omo eko wey craze wella....

33. i have always been blessed with great and wonderful roommates because of my peaceful nature.

34. I heard two sisters as room mate. We r all friends.but one was in a different department, so she had to make a new friend. Both sis were nice not until one starts making friends in her department. We actually leaved like sisters. No forming for each other. What I have belongs to all. When one of d sis friend starts coming around, from one night to two, to weekend, BF u new it she start leaving some of her clothes I'm our room. That not enough another friend joined in. Mehn not funny. We were now five girls leaving in one self contain. Ant dis two new friends r so lazy. Dey wait for who to cook so dey ll say cook for me. Was to too broke to get another room. Wasn't funny at all.

35. I had a roommate then, her problem is meeting rich guys, she always come back home with different guys of different colors, she will follow man to oshogbo today, tomorrow illorin next tomorrow Abuja until she came back very ill with soar allover her body, i had to report her to the school authority and she was asked to go home and take care of herself after a month she died. RIP pat.

1. Jesus Christ! Anyway its sore and not soar.

What a tale.

36. hmmmm, My ROOMIE That Use To Pee On THE bed, And Use My Clothes I Use For LECTURES To Clean Her pee, Very Wicked SOMBORRI And She DE Share PUSSY die

37. I stayed alone back then in school...cant deal with a room mate and all the drama that follows.

38. My roommate During NYSC. she was a nice girl, but she had a terrible cough. She was always coughing and spitting into tissues and leaving them by the bedside and all over the place. So disgusting.

39. I was blessed with all kinds of ppl as roomies....ranging from dirty, lazy,mummy pets,snobs,and ITK's...well, I coped with them all cos I know I had my own shortcomings. Miss dem though