Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Why Priests Can Now Forgive Abortion Without Permission- Answered By Ask The Catholic Priest

Friday, November 25, 2016

Why Priests Can Now Forgive Abortion Without Permission- Answered By Ask The Catholic Priest

This is a very interesting read ......

Question: 

Good evening Fr. I am not a Catholic but I want to know why the Pope has given authority for priests to forgive the sin of Abortion? Why was it that previously only bishops were given the authority to forgive this sin? What has changed? (Godfred, Accra)

*ANSWER*
Thanks dear. I am always delighted to receive questions from non-Catholics genuinely seeking to understand our Catholic beliefs without condemning. First, I have to say that you would better understand this new "law" if you were a Catholic because non-Catholics, as you know, don't agree sins can be forgiven by priests of God acting in his name. That is not the issue here. So for you to understand this new directive just accept, for the sake of understanding, that priests have the power from God to forgive sins. With this at the background let me now do the explanation.

Let me begin by saying nothing has really changed because sins of Abortions have always been forgiven by priests. Priests have always been allowed to forgive sins of Abortion in the past but they did that by first asking permission from the bishop. They could forgive the sins of Abortion by the fact of their priesthood but the law said before they can exercise this authority they should ask permission from the bishop first. So it was the permission to forgive Abortion that was reserved to the bishop and not necessarily the power/authority to forgive Abortion. Note that it was the permission and not the ability to forgive Abortion that priests asked from the bishop.

So before a priest could forgive Abortion (legally) he was to ask for that permission from the bishop first. Without the permission if he went ahead to forgive Abortion it was valid (the sin was forgiven) but unlawful (illegal) act. Valid because priests can forgive sins but unlawful because he had no permission or authority from the bishop to do so. It is like a driver without a driver's license. To drive legally you need a driver's license but there are some people who can drive very well but have no driver's license. When they drive it is illegal but it is still called driving. The license is only a prove that that person is legally allowed to drive. Though priests could 'drive' (forgive sins) they needed this "driver's license" (permission) from the bishop (to legally forgive Abortion).

Now, why this law for a priest to first seek permission from the bishop before forgiving Abortion. The answer is simple...because Abortion is a grave sin...it puts an end to an innocent life...it's murder. Only God gives life and takes life. So when one commits abortion he/she overthrows God so to say. It is a grave sin to assume or take over this duty of God. So by reserving the permission to forgive Abortion to the bishop people contemplating it would re-examine their decision knowing that the priest must go ask permission from the bishop before they could be forgiven. Some people could not stand this and so in many cases they kept the baby and saved life.

Reserving certain permissions or duties to a higher authority is not at all new to law. Certain crimes, as we know, can only be heard by the Supreme Court of a country and not by any other lower court because of their gravity or serious nature. Matters that concern the Constitution of a country or crimes like treason or attempting to overthrow a democratically elected government (coup d'etat) are sent straight to the Supreme Court. Why? Abortion...ending an innocent life is a "constitutional" matter. It affects the very existence of humanity. Thus the permission to forgive it was reserved to the bishop..the "supreme court".. of a diocese or locality.

In some ways because permission to forgive Abortion was reserved to the bishop some people felt bad to come to a priest about their abortion knowing that the priest had to go see the bishop first. "Why is it that only my sin the priest needs the bishop's permission to forgive it?"...some asked. In the end such people stayed away from Confession totally and chose to live in their shame (after all no one knows about it).

Pope Francis known as the "Mercy" Pope is saying people should be allowed to taste more of the mercy of God and feel the desire to always come to God for forgiveness in Confession. To make the mercy of God reach more people more easily, even those ashamed to come to Confession for Abortion, he decided to grant all priests the right to forgive Abortion WITHOUT first seeking permission from the bishop. Forgiveness should not be 'delayed' because a priest has to seek permission from the bishop. All who approach priests for Confession must feel sought after, loved, and forgiven by God. 

So it is the permission from the bishop to forgive Abortion that the Pope has removed. He hopes that removing this permission will not mean people can now commit Abortion easily but rather will help more people to freely come to Confession when they (in their weakness) commit Abortion and are truly repentant of the sin. The Pope explained that Abortion remains a grave sin and should never be taken lightly. However, "there is no sin that God’s mercy cannot reach and wipe away when it finds a repentant heart seeking to be reconciled with the Father.”

So, you see that the Pope is not now giving priests the authority to forgive sins of Abortions; priests have that authority already from
 Jesus himself (John 20:22-23) but rather he is now giving priests the right to permanently use that authority without first asking for permission. By this new "law", priests no longer need permission from the bishop before forgiving Abortion. It's like the Supreme Court decreeing that certain crimes reserved to it by law can now be heard in lower courts.

Now you can release the "assume you are a Catholic" tag that I asked of you in order for you to understand this very Catholic teaching. I respect other churches understanding of forgiveness of sin but this is our Catholic understanding and should be respected too. No need for arguments. After all by understanding it you don't become a Catholic.

God bless you. Please bless me too.
#askthecatholicpriest

SENT IN BY A BV

83 comments:

1. Nawa, I will read later sha

1. Let the argument from lost brethren begin.....

2. I cant even finish reading because it was gettingbmore annoying.sins can only be forgiven by God.

3. "It is a grave sin to assume or take over this duty of God". The said priest said this,not me. Now, is it not soley the duty of God to forgive sins? By forgiving sins, don't the priests and bishops assume or take over the role of God? With this I say the priests and bishops going about forging sins which is solely the role of God are also committing grave sins. I wonder who's going to forgive them.
      Only God can forgive sins, because only him can look into the hearts of men to tell if their pleas for forgiveness are genuine or if the sinner intends to go back to that sin. Now tell me, can a bishop, priest or even the pope look into the hearts of men? Can they truly forgive sins? Noooo!

4. Can u see God?
      He(God) has given authority to Peter(1st bishop or symbol of the church) that what's so ever u forgive on earth is forgiven in heaven, what's do ever u binde on earth is bound in heaven

5. It's is on that premise that the Catholic Church act.
      How can u respect God that u haven't seen if u cannot respect the symbol of authority he has place over u?

1. Poster, there is no explanation as to why Mary, Pope, Bishop, Priest Imam or an gad damn Pastor would act on God's behalf! Having the power to forgive a sin as mighty as abortion!

No wonder you guys worship Pope, Pastors etc coz they've apportioned and divided powers and authority that only belongs to God amongst themselves in their quest for power, affluence and their selfish reasons.

The biggest RELIGIOUS MUMU ever is one who believes Pope, Mary, Saints, Pastors or any Gaddamn Alfa can intercede on his behalf - asking them to pray on our behalf.

WAKE UP PEOPLE! BREAK AWAY FROM THE SPELL OF RELIGIOUS MUMUGIOSITY!

WE ARE ALL EQUALS BEFORE GOD. NO MAN IS BETTER. YOU DON'T NEED ANYONE TO INTERCEDE FOR YOU. YOU'VE GOT A DIRECT LINK TO THE ALMIGHTY SAME AS THE POPE. WHY LET ONE RELIGIOUS FANATIC, POPE , BISHOP OR PASTOR BRAINWASH YOU?

2. What happened to you Eesah? Are you a free thinker now or you just want to shed that fanatic cloak?
      You are right though.
      I'm a proud Free thinker

3. Eesah I always saw you as someone who is iintelligent, but you bringing up 'equality' here makes me want to have a rethink

First off, there is no such thing as equality; not in the sight of God or in the sight of man,permit me to say God is a partial God. Each individual has his own different level of grace and that's why some people are highly favoured than others like David, Mary etc.

That being said, we Catholics have our doctrines that always and will always revolve around the greatest commandment of God- Love of God and love of your neighbour.

4. Blasphemy!! God is not a partial God! Grace abounds equally for all, but you attain a certain level of grace based on your relationship with God. Follow God the way David followed Him, and I bet you would attain the same level of grace David attained with Him...or even more! For now, we walk in a better covenant than David: the covenant of the new testament; the covenant of the blood of Jesus Christ.

5. Sunshine, you must have been misunderstanding me

6. Dear Rocky, God is NOT partial and He has no favorites (Rom 2:11 and Acts 10:34). He does not love one above the other. He loves us all equal and has given each and every one of us equal access to Him through Jesus.

But how can u know this when u stand at a distance instead of developing an up close and personal relationship with this God?

You think He is partial bc u really don't know Him. Get to know Him for urself and u will see that the difference between u and those people u mentioned above (David, Mary) is d fact that they cultivated a close relationship with this God.

Poster, forgiveness only comes when there is genuine repentance.

And since, the pope and his priests are but men who can't see the heart, that duty is solely God's.

As long as I am in Christ, I am a priest. Priest is not title reserved for some special people.

2 Peter 2:9
      But you are a chosen people, a royal priesthood, a holy nation, God’s special possession, that you may declare the praises of him who called you out of darkness into his wonderful light.

Mitchelleobatu.blogspot.com

7. Anon 12:58 what are you saying? David was set aside from the beginning. He was a man after God's heart. No matter what he did, God's grace was overflowing for him.
      Don't get me wrong, I'm not saying every human does not have grace but graces are on different levels. That's why you'll see someone who have lived a very reckless life, get married and bear children while another person who lived that sort of life would die before attaining the age of 30. Graces are on different levels.

8. Pure Insp. Oya, on Sunday climb your church pulpit nah as the priest and prophet that you are.
      By our baptismal vows, we are made priests, prophets and kings.
      On top all this, if I ever get to mass late, I don't still see seat. A church that has existed over 2,000 years and all this churches of 30-50 years think they have arrived becos they learnt to speak English and use it to keep you on your sit.
      Now as a humble reminder, read Matthew 16:18-20, correct me if your bible says churches and not church. I can link my church history to the bible. Can you link yours? Peter found the church and like the church found in God, you guys have tried everything possible to bring it down, but like Jesus said,'the gates of hell will never prevail against it. When you see posts addressing Catholics, don't bother reading, it's not for you.
      Rocky pls them them be, we don't share the same grace, Mary was full of grace, remember that was the greeting from the angel. Let their Pastors keep washing their heads by living large on earth while the followers wait for theirs in heaven.

3. Dint bother reading jor. Is the priest now God?

1. Anon, tithe, offering and seed are in the Bible. Just like the sins of the flesh such as fornication, adultery, lies, etc are in the Bible and pastors too preach it. So pls don't start what you can not finish.

2. Oluwatosin, the priest already references the Bible chapter where authority was given to the apostles to forgive sins. This was passed on.
      Now for those asking if all sins are not the same, see 1 John 5:16

◄ 1 John 5:16 ►
      Parallel Verses
      New International Version
      If you see any brother or sister commit a sin that does not lead to death, you should pray and God will give them life. I refer to those whose sin does not lead to death. There is a sin that leads to death. I am not saying that you should pray about that.

3. Oluwatosin, the priest already references the Bible chapter where authority was given to the apostles to forgive sins. This was passed on.
      Now for those asking if all sins are not the same, see 1 John 5:16

◄ 1 John 5:16 ►
      Parallel Verses
      New International Version
      If you see any brother or sister commit a sin that does not lead to death, you should pray and God will give them life. I refer to those whose sin does not lead to death. There is a sin that leads to death. I am not saying that you should pray about that.

4. God bless you. Some BVs will just die in ignorance.

Read and shook my head on the previous post

1. You shouldn't even get yourself worked up. They don't need to accept cos the message isn't for them. Is anyone forcing them to confess to priests? The people the message was sent to already heard. Don't even bother responding.
      Let them keep worshipping their pastors that get pregnant outside wedlock.
      Catholic is Bae!

5. A very smart reply from an intelligent priest

6. Catholic church is no longer a Christian organization. To their gullible followers, is either they repent or they perish in hell.

1. You think Catholics are gullible? WOW!!!

2. Watch yourself, watch your life!
      You have absolutely no right ,Tony,to judge what you do not even understand! Live and let live!!!!

3. U have perished already.
      Are you living?

4. Keep worshiping ur private jets flying Pastors ignoramus.

5. Shut up for once always yarning dust!

6. As per gate keeper of hell that you 'is na, you would know if Catholics would make heaven. just shut it for once

7. How dare you condemn? May God have mercy on you.

8. I don't curse, but you are just plain stupid and delusional!

7. Thanks Father I really appreciate I hope this will clear some people's mind

8. I stoped half way...
    Won't be caught dead reading this gibberish!...
    Jesus gave the priest power indeed!..
    Looks like all these catholic priests don't study their bible well!...
    Oriegwu oh!..

1. Taaaaah! Who even asked you to read? You worship God yet you advise people to flush babies.

2. Nnem ife nkea tire me. The bible is my dictionary jaree,I can't just be getting confused every day from what I hear and see people do.

3. I'm too pissed to read to the end
      Catholics like to deceive themselves, they always look for a shortcut to escape from their sins
      How can a mere man forgive your sins, a man that might even be a worse sinner?
      That's how they believe in this their purgatory whatever
      Always asking Mary and Saints to interceed for them when you can just pray directly to God
      Roman catholics need to study their bible very well
      Well whatever works for them

4. Do you fake this life or this is who you are?
      That's why your bishop would wake up one morning to speak gibberish. Rubbish!

You are truly delusional.

5. I second that, she's very delusional!

6. At least they don't go about saying "God ministered to me". Lies from the pit of hell. Odiegwu

7. Rocky you are very stupid!...
      So it's your catholic priest that don't talk rubbish abi?...
      Mugu!...
      Keep deceiving your selves!...
      All the people I know doing bad things are Catholics!...you know why?...
      Because you people don't read your bible or assimilate the word of God!...
      Tell an average catholic person to lead us in prayers and he/she can't!...
      The only prayers they know is Hail Mary and the Lord's Prayer!...
      Shame!...
      My small 5 year old son can pray,quote the bible and speak in tongues!...
      My children can comfortably lead us in our morning devotion..
      Oh yes!...that's what you get when you go to a good,spirit filled church!...

8. If you define Synagogue as a spirit filled church, then I don't want to be identified with a church! Rubbish

9. @queen after going to ur good spirited filled church,u still keep ur side boo,and advise bvs to do the same,who is ideceiving who here,of what use is spirited church?pls can u just shut up,in catholic will av some societies, like charismatic society,which am a member,let me invited u and see if u can stand the kind of annointin that flowsoo,see how people will seat down and judging and condemning what they don't know,u can't understand it because u are not a catholic fine,but that is no reason u should talk bad about a church of God,who made u judge?we say hail mary,what is wrong with it?do we say it with ur mouth,?God said that is not all that call God God shall see God,but those who do the will of God? Do u keep all God's commandments?God will judge us all,becareful what u voice out becos u are on internet,for God said that we should give account of every careless word spoken,talk more of this ur things ur vomithing

10. Loool! Queen you must have really come from nothing. I'm sure you didn't go to college. So by quoting the bible and leading prayer, heaven don open door for una. Itiboribo. Do people still argue with such line? You don't boast that you can quote bible, that's not what the bible study for, you boast that you live according to the teachings o the bible. Hehehee! You obviously don't read you bible not to talk of assimilating it, cos you would have come across Math 15:8 and Isiaha 29:13. Like I said in my earlier comment to you,that Stella chose not to post 'by their fruits you shall know them'. The spirit of God is far from you. The way you insult people, give advices that belittles God, tell people to consult babalawo, advise girls to practise homosexuality and so on, all in the name to have blog fame or you think people don't know who you are. God cannot be mocked, he knows you and he sees all you do.
      A word is enough for the wise. Do your father in the Lord a favour and live right.
      Stella if you like don't post as well.

9. ok....seen.... hope this does not encourage more abortions sha...

10. Lord!
    The wisdom deposited in Cathilic Priests has no limits!
    Watching EWTN made me learn more•
    If you havent been watching that station ,this is a wake up call(for Catholics and interested non Catholics)•
    Proud catholic•

11. Illuminaty things. Are they God who forgives sins???? Back it up with Bible verse lets see.

1. Spicy April. Its like you didn't see the Bible verse quoted there. Smh.
      #Catholicandproud

12. this response is still rubbish....why should a bishop give permission? catholics are just full of doctrines and no place for the holy spirit to truly operate. every human can approach God for the forgiveness of sins... all these ordinations of priest, bishops etc are just human doctrines that might not have eternal value.....if God has not called you to pastor a church then u are just running your own race....celibacy does not make u above others cos u can marry, have sex and still be used of God.. catholics need to go back to reading the bible and allow the holy spirit minister

1. So, all the priests should go and pastor their own church?

Pray for wisdom and the ability to discern correctly

2. You do bible schools and ordain people as deacons and pastors , what is the difference ? The priesthood is a calling . No man in his word ly nature would want to dedicate his life only entirely to God without having a calling . Think!

13. still load of rubbish....no sin is too big for God to forgive and u definetly dont need the bishops permission....sorry this response does not mean anything

14. "It is a grave sin to assume or take over this duty of God". The said priest said this,not me. Now, is it not soley the duty of God to forgive sins? By forgiving sins, don't the priests and bishops assume or take over the role of God? With this I say the priests and bishops going about forging sins which is solely the role of God are also committing grave sins. I wonder who's going to forgive them.
    Only God can forgive sins, because only him can look into the hearts of men to tell if their pleas for forgiveness are genuine or if the sinner intends to go back to that sin. Now tell me, can a bishop, priest or even the pope look into the hearts of men? Can they truly forgive sins? Noooo!

15. "It is a grave sin to assume or take over this duty of God". The said priest said this,not me. Now, is it not soley the duty of God to forgive sins? By forgiving sins, don't the priests and bishops assume or take over the role of God? With this I say the priests and bishops going about forging sins which is solely the role of God are also committing grave sins. I wonder who's going to forgive them.

16. Poster, there is no explanation as to why Mary, Pope, Bishop, Priest Imam or an gad damn Pastor would act on God's behalf! Having the power to forgive a sin as mighty as abortion!

No wonder you guys worship Pope, Pastors etc coz they've apportioned and divided powers and authority that only belongs to God amongst themselves in their quest for power, affluence and their selfish reasons.

The biggest RELIGIOUS MUMU ever is one who believes Pope, Mary, Saints, Pastors or an Gaddamn Alfa can intercede on his behalf - asking them to pray on our behalf.

WAKE UP PEOPLE! BREAK AWAY FROM THE SPELL OF RELIGIOUS MUMUGIOSITY!

WE ARE ALL EQUALS BEFORE GOD. NO MAN IS BETTER. YOU DON'T NEED ANYONE TO INTERCEDE FOR YOU. YOU'VE GOT A DIRECT LINK TO THE ALMIGHTY SAME AS THE POPE. WHY LET ONE RELIGIOUS FANATIC, POPE , BISHOP OR PASTOR BRAINWASH YOU?

1. We are not equals before God! We can never be equals! "equality" in its totality is a slap to God's face

2. You need spiritual reevaluation! Jeez! The 'head'on you though

3. @ Rocky I repeat. We are all equals before God.

This value of equality is not to be mistaken for or confused with
      identicalness or stereotype. In the sight of God Almighty, all people are equal, but they are not necessarily identical. There are differences of abilities, potentials, ambitions, wealth and so on.

Yet, none of these differences can by
      themselves, establish the status of
      superiority of one man or race over
      another.

We are all equals before God. The only distinction, which HE recognizes is the distinction in piety and the only criterion which God applies, is the criterion of goodness and spiritual excellence. And that's left for Him to decide.

But that doesn't mean. Your enormous amount of prayers and good deed can make you inherit his Kingdom. Only if he has piety on you. So even if you are the pope or the most prayerful Alfa on earth, all your prayers won't make you inherit his Kingdom. Only his piety can. And who even told you that those pope and Pastors you look up have more spiritual excellence than you? You'd be surprised that most of them are devil worshipers and sin greater than you do.

The differences of race, color or social
      status are only incidental. They do not
      affect the true stature of man in the
      sight of God.

4. You are the biggest mumu with your ignorance

5. Eesah no dey fall my hand like this na.
      You should be educated to an extent to understand that 'equality' in its totality does not exist.
      Let me even bring it home; some people take 'risks' and get away with it, others take this same risk and don't get away with it. Does this mean they don't worship the same God? It's just the same way God loved Israel more than he did to any nation.

17. I read all, thank you Rev father for explaining. I'm sure this explanation won't make a difference to some people, don't criticize what you don't know.

#ProudCatholic

18. The Catholic cult Una weldone

1. May God judge you, according to ur words in the mighty name of jesus,amen

19. Not interested,didn't bother reading.

20. "It is a grave sin to assume or take over this duty of God". The above priest said this ignorantly..

And that's the exact thing these priest, pope and bishops are doing...Trying to assume or take over the role of God. Forgiving a grave sin as abortion.

I don't blame you for this worthless reply. You just following the teachings of those who have brainwashed you into being their puppet and slave.

You just a friqqin common priest @ the end of the day.

#I'm outtie

21. Kam nukwa... Priests now forgiving sins, its only God that can forgive sins

22. Mtchewwwww!

Let's move on from this abeg

23. Smiles... I smile because after listening to protestants argue wat they dont know jack about,some people who know not their faith would cross over to a "bible beliving church".Meanwhile the catholic church keeps increasing in number.My parish is proof that for every 1 backslider there are two replacements.The church be growing without paying for TV and newspaper advert.Jesus rocks mehn.
    #catholicandproud
    P.S queen is it not incantations ur 5yr old is supposed to know ni?

24. Smiles... I smile because after listening to protestants argue wat they dont know jack about,some people who know not their faith would cross over to a "bible beliving church".Meanwhile the catholic church keeps increasing in number.My parish is proof that for every 1 backslider there are two replacements.The church be growing without paying for TV and newspaper advert.Jesus rocks mehn.
    #catholicandproud
    P.S queen is it not incantations ur 5yr old is supposed to know ni?

25. I am the Queen and Boss, sorry to say, now i know you dont know the true meaning of prayers, your 5 years old son and speak in tongue, sorry who interpret the tongue is speaking, you think prayer is by shouting, do you know the full grace of saying our father, have you ever said that prayer reciting the words one by one and understanding it, or do you know how to say the hail Mary and the words, i sorry for you, am a catholic and i can pray for hours non stop, because, so abeg mind your church and your pastor and leave the catholic alone, most you talk because you want to comment on blog

26. The message is for catholic and we understand, for the lady that said hope it would not make people to commit abortion, back then in catechism class, we were told that if you commit abortion is murder, if your advise someone to commit abortion you have sin too, if your even excort someone to commit abortion you have sinned to, as a child i grown up with that though always in my mind, so my friends no me, they dont bring such discussion to my ear, i go tell you leave the baby and if you no hear abeg count me out.

27. In the end, no need tearing each other apart. "Do yours, let me do mine" simple. Whatever rocks your boat pls...indulge. Catholic cult, worshippers of Mary, etc; we gree! E dey sweet us like that.

28. "JUST ACCEPT, for the sake of understanding, that priests have the power from God to forgive sins." I stopped at this. How can a church base it's doctrine on Just accept without showing clearly in the Scriptures where IT WAS WRITTEN. God does nothing out of his word.

29. Please all you bvs commenting where is it in the bible HOW HAS YOUR LIFESTYLE AND PROFANE UNCOUTH DISGUSTING COMMENTS on several posts reflect Christ's teaching.
    The same mouth you use in cursing and typing damning advices to your soul is the same mouth you call God with and try to justify the explanation you will never understand as explained above.
    Please what you do not and will not understand no matter how its explained from the bible I advise you keep quiet on it.
    If you like commit abortion today nd continue till infinitum your choice. For the catholics that understand. .tis a good news.
    Instead of pointless argument..rather ask the HOLY SPIRIT for discernment nd gift of knowledge to avoid errors.

And yes am a Catholic.

30. Am so proud of Rocky and other catholics that have commented. The gates of hell including the ignoramus' on Stella's blog shall never prevail. Two centuries and still counting, waxing stronger. Mother Mary in d gospel of Luke already said "Henceforth all ages will call me Blessed" -Its her right, you dnt need to sweat abt. that.Who God has blessed -no one can curse. She already found Favour with God and we catholics are only fulfilling the scriptures. "Those whose sin U forgive are forgiven....i guess dt is nt in ur scripture too• If there are 10 lives, I will still be a ROMAN CATHOLIC....Glory To Jesus, Honour To Mary.