Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Buhari Urges State Govt To Pay Salaries From Debt Refund Account

Friday, December 23, 2016

Buhari Urges State Govt To Pay Salaries From Debt Refund Account

President Muhammadu Buhari on Thursday requested state governors to pay as outstanding workers’ entitlements, at least 25 percent of the refunds made to them from excess deductions for external debt service.

According to a statement by his Senior Special Assistant on Media and Publicity, Garba Shehu, the President approved N552.74bn to be paid in batches to all the states that are owed.

They are, however, expected to receive 25 per cent of their approved sums in the first instance before this week ends. About 33 states are affected.

Shehu explained that the refunds arose following the claims by the states that they had been overcharged in deductions for external debt service between 1995 and 2002.
He said that in a directive through the Minister of Finance, Kemi Adeosun, the President said the issue of workers’ benefits, particularly salary and pensions, must not be allowed to continue, but it should be tackled with urgency.

The statement read, “When he assumed office last year, the President declared an emergency on unpaid salaries, following the discovery that 27 out of the 36 states had fallen behind in the payments to their workers, in some cases for up to a year.
“Following this, a bailout loan was issued to the states twice, with a first batch of about N300bn given to them in 2015 in the form of soft loans.

“The administration also got the Debt Management Office to restructure their commercial loans of over N660bn and extended the life span of the loans.
“Because this did not succeed in pulling many of the states out of distress, the Federal government this year gave out a further N90bn to 22 states as yet another bailout loans under very stringent conditions.

“President Buhari is of the opinion that the payment of salaries and pensions must be given priority to save both serving and retired workers and their families from distress.”

18 comments:

1. Yaay, so governor Akeredolu can now pay his workers. Great great news

1. Ngwanu Okezie of Abia abeg pay October and November and even leave allowance oooo make hubby fit give me money to buy Christmas chicken oo, if not na empty rice we go chop oo chaii

2. They should pls pay bfore someone starve to death

coming.....

3. What is the good news? It's not like the state governments will comply with the directive

1. As in, they suppose monitor them ooo but they no care

4. And what of federal staff. When are you gonna pay us all our arrears. An eye hospital has refuse to pay their staff their arrears and everyone is ok with it...

5. ...but they will not hear.

Any Governor wey no go pay salary with this said money, hhhhmm, you will know no peace oo.

6. Controversial Orangechic23 December 2016 at 07:03

Morning FAM... Really been a 'huge' while. It can be quite tormenting to read and not comment. Nywaiz,I've been in observation mood, kindly welcome me back.

Back to the topic of discuss.... This is a great move and I wonder why he didnt start earlier. Good initiative!

7. Nda Rochas,please do somethjng sharply to the pensioners and workers in our Imo state.

8. Hope Edo state is included cos osihomole kept lying he isn't owing his workers

9. I hope the affected governors will do that because they are just greedy lots.

10. Oooh good news indeed! Happy for them

11. Good lord, please if i come back to this world, i dont want to hear Nigeria, or smell Nigeria sef. People are really suffering in this country. The president has to "urge" Governors before people get their salaries.it is well.

12. I jst hope this is adhere to by the state governors esp kogi. The last time I checked, Yahaya Bello is still owing workers in kogi state despite the bail out funds.

13. Thank God, Gov Ajimobi can now pay me my 7months salary

1. You are going to be paid 2 months salary o according to an insider.....

14. Even if other governors complies, ikpeazu will not.
    People are starving to death and instead of paying, he went and set up a useless commitee that will look into how the money will be paid. Where has it ever happened before? Does he not know how much he is owing?
    The day the wrath of God will descend on these politicians...