Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Cashless Christmas

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Cashless Christmas

Reports say that a lot of Nigerians were left stranded and frustrated on Friday when Automated Teller Machines in most banks across the country dispensed less cash some cases and failed to do so in some areas.

Was any Blog Visitor affected by this?
I have never seen or heard of a Christmas as terrible as this one and i pray to God that it never gets this bad again!

photo from punch.

88 comments:

1. My dear it wasn't easy yesterday oooo...after all the suffer I still didn't withdraw....I moved around port Harcourt ATM machine through out yesterday only few were paying.... And the crowd na die

1. Sorry o. E don tey wey I visit ATM oooo.

2. On Wednesday I see Oba, I went too three banks to make a transaction, I couldn't, I left empty handed, ATM are not paying, and transfer ain't working, ATM 3 out of 13 people in a queue, the I went back on Thursday morning, I just kuku join the crowd, I watched live drama inside bank sef, it's was between a staff and a customer, I vex sotey I begin laugh, it's not funny tho.

3. Yes o, I got this information on Thursday but since I wasn't too such only told few people to withdraw to be on a safe side.
      I really don't know Wat they plan to get out of this .Even at night if u see the crowd at ATM u go fear.
      But once the holiday is over everything will be back to normal.

4. Why can't we go cashless? Like using POS for payment and the rest, must we alway queue?

5. DH left the house as early as 5:30am to go to the atm, but no cash. Checked Dutse jxn, went to Gwarimpa. No cash.

But luckily, at Wuse 2, we just saw an atm with just 1 person on the queue, he withdrew and thank God.

6. Madam stellz its very much true oooo!!

My friend left Abia state entirely to go to owerri just because he wanted to use the ATM but no way..when he got to owerri,there was much queue in almost every ATM for different banks as well,and he spent almost the whole of yesterday waiting for the ATM to dispense..

A customer also said he went to withdraw cash of #200,000 from the bank,and the bank told him straight that they cant pay more than #100000 naira because they were short of cash at the moment cos of soo many people who wanted to withdraw..choi,laff no fit gree me!! Your money oooo!!!!

So many banks closed their gate yesterday and people who wanted to use the ATM were just stranded outside..

Naija,i hail thee!!!

@MARTINS ABOY

7. Truth is there is no money to pay pple, it's a way of saving banks from crumbling, this is exactly same situation with mmm, but in this case the banks are using tactics to dodge paying customers

8. Taaa no bring mmm here.shey mmm get central account. Dy console yourself inugo

9. @Anonymous 9:33,ori e pe jare

10. @Annonymous9.33 please cover your face in utter shame for uttering such in public. This is the height of illiteracy. You suppose go collect your school fees from whatever mushroom University you went to.

11. Anonymous 8.30..shey i go use POS to buy iya chikurdi puff puff?

2. I hv expirenced such, for like two weeks now, I can't withdraw money from ATM cos of dat ND when u enter the bank to withdraw it will take some hours cos of d queue

1. Thank God i no kuku get money for bank. LMAO

2. Lol @ Miss Aboki. 2017 will be a year of abundance for us. Both at the bank and at home. Amen.

1. This is their peak period,i don't know why they won't put things in order,so customers can withdraw peacefully.
      I just tire for naija sha.

2. Many Banks are going bankrupt. Dey can't release peoples money else dey will fold

4. Market full die, ATM queues, story for another day,unfortunately u can't use POS to buy fresh meat or T.fare.

5. Ovar to doze in the city.
    Ear in the village, I safe mine moni insighed a botul witchafta i berry in the grownd.

6. Most of their problems had to do with network. The way Naijas flooded the banks yesterday, you will think this Xmas is the last day of the year.

7. Hmmmmm... No be small thing o.Every Arm was ful and the amount one can withdraw is limited sef

8. I blame this on the govt., I'm sure it's a conspiracy to tame people from enjoying their hard-earned money. Why would the implications of recession fall on us the ordinary Nigerians?! When the political elites and their cohorts trigger it and are shamelessly enjoying the cash they had stored in their farm and store.

Surely, there is a day of reckoning for all these injustice been done to us. You work, you are in trouble. You don't work you're in trouble.

1. Pls you need to have your brain checked out. I can't believe a learned person typed this!

9. I can't believe it, unless the ATM dey for Odogunyan.

10. Its the yr. end,most banks will want to close their books for the year.

1. Not the issue. Cbn isn't giving as much cash to banks

11. I spent four hours on the ATM. The banker was telling me that the Atms from morning to about 7pm yesterday where loaded about 5times, with about 5million for each loading. We were over 300 people waiting and more were coming as soon as other atms started packing up.

12. I was too. As in the queue was crazy. Then a soldier guy came and wanted to jump the queue. Come and see how people shouted at him . Omo everybody told him to wait his turn o. He had to leave sha

13. My side is the worse,left my house around 6am yet couldn't withdraw.Few ATMs with plenty queue.Na WA ooo

14. Thot I was going to experience this yesterday but I didn't...just waited for the men from the bank(machine is around my area,not bank) to load in the money and within minutes I was done despite d fact that I met some people there

15. Stella most atms went on strike this period oh I couldn't cash money yesterday. Its so terrible. Don't know how this Xmas will look like.

16. Lomg queues everywhere with limited money..-t's happening everywhere around the country.

17. I didn't use the bank yesterday but I saw so many queue outside the ATM

18. Went to the bank yesterday inside bank ooo....no cash to pay out else u have someone that wants to pay in...bank is the new MMM...😝😝😝😝

19. But when MMM did theirs the whole world carried it. What's the difference now? MMM runs like a bank, for it to run successfully there has to be sufficient depositors funds, but people don't get it.

1. And the bank will give you 30% interest and ask you to wait for 30 days. Go to any other branch or location and you might get paid.come January 14 there is NO guarantee that you will get a penny from MMM...

2. Your height of illiteracy is appalling,my people wake up!Banking is nothing close to MMM.

3. Don't worry by January you will understand the difference. Dummy

4. Dont compare biko. Theyre not same

5. Jan 14 is just 22days ahead reality will be drawn to you

20. #You have the power within yourself to make anything possible, you must diminish the doubt & ignite the self belief*

21. No be Nigerians voted in an unintelligent Buhari into power. I am not surprised at how things is going in the country.
    It's putting ur money in MMM expect it to be safe as in a normal bank.

1. Lol.
      I hope Nigerians learn a lesson from this CHANGE though.
      Money or no money people should still relish the beauty of Christmas.

22. Why did they make withdrawals before Christmas? This craze though turn right christmas, turn left Christmas, turn middle Christmas someone will not hear word again.

1. @naked pic.What msg r u trying to pass across? Cos ur write up makes no sense.

23. Stella benin city is worst ooo, in Gtbank u can not withdraw more than 100k, they will tell you no money, stanbic bank will off their atm machine. There is no money in edo state

24. My dear Stella, Am trapped here in Phc. I have toured almost all the Atm machines in Phc, no one is dispensing cash even when i tried withdrawing from the counter yesterday, there was no money to pay us and the banking hall was filled up with people trying to withdraw. My question is why this Christmas? Muslim didn't experience such cashless Salah ooo. God is watching.

25. They are hiding money, pple are suffering wen they have money in d banks,i don't just get it. Atm queue is so long

26. I want to thank Ideato for the 3k she sent to me yesterday I really appreciate it. May God bless you for this. thanks.

27. Waiting for someone to pay in before they can pay out over the counter.

28. Atm on the run

29. You have money and can't collect it only for 9ja na I dey c dis type

30. This comment has been removed by the author.

31. It is very bad
    I went round different ATMS to withdraw for two days. It is not funny at all.

32. The truth is that Nigeria is a messed up country. There is too much cash in circulation. We have to really go cashless. The govt have to work on this pos network issue. Most times when ATMs are not dispensing, most people think the ATMs are cashed out, this is 90% untrue. The ATMs are not built to hold so much pressure.they are meant to rest after each withdrawal and notes in nigeria are not fit.We have bastardised and overused these machines. Believe me, they will keep breaking down. We need advanced tech in nigeria.we are not moving forward at all.

1. Fetosbabe, I like this analysis of yours jare.

33. My brother said he stood at the queue for two hours. Eeya! I had withdrawn all the cash I needed since first December, so won't be going near banks or atms till next month. Any other transactions are done via GT's 737

1. Please even this GT 737 is seriously messing up, bought air time on tuesday, GT bank debited my account and no air time was sent to my phone.

34. Yesterday in pH..a man wanted to withdraw 500k...the casheir told him that he can't withdraw such amount only for the to pick a rod there and hit on the guys head..the reason is that after wasting his time, he still have the guts to limit his withdrawal.,I can't even think of going to the bank for now

35. I left my house very early yesterday morning,got to Gtb the queue was something else,I quickly rushed to queue at Access Bank,one out of 6Atm machines was paying,I stood on that queue from 8am to 11am,about 5people to get to my turn,the cash was exhausted and I went inside the banking hall to tell them that the only Atm machine paying has run out of cash and he's response was 'we are aware and I won't advice you to wait',I found my way to First Bank a little bit far,another crowd,but since all the machines were dispersing I waited,this was at 12noon, I was tired I couldn't stand anymore,the lady by my side said it was my shoes giving me the back ache, I removed them,sat down somewhere,and again 6people to my turn the cash was exhausted and I had no choice than to rebuke the witch that won't let me withdraw to die by fire,lol,it didn't take them 15 minutes to reload the machines and I was able to withdraw.

1. First bank ATM machines never disappoint!

2. Lol. Congrats you succeeded at last.

3. Lol. Congrats you succeeded at last.

4. Hehehehehe😆. My Belle oh.. My head oh.. You funny aswear .., Kikikikikikiki @ the winchy that won't let you withdraw lol

36. good morning Stelz. it is not only because of the yuletide oh. at least it has been like this for the past one month in PH. going to ATM machine is so tedious. the online portal nko? na wahala. especially access bank. where is Amy that loves access bank?come and defend your people oh. A man wanted 500k of his money and they told him that they can only give him 150k. see raking!!!. they took light at access bank rumukurushi yesterday, and it took about 20 minutes to put on their gen. na wah oh

37. Nigerians and last minutes rush.Lack of planning. Why must you wait until Dec 23 to get money for Xmas? What hv u been doing since Dec1?

Watch out. The same thing will still happen next year

38. Stella it's worst in phc,been trying to withdraw for days now, u won't believe dat even wen I went inside d banking hall to make a cash withdrawal, I was told dat d highest amount been paid out was 10k......see me standing in a long queue for hours to withdraw 10k

39. People even queue up in front of an atm machine dat wasn't dispensing, only for dem to come and load 50k in d machine

40. It's worse in ph, the queues at ATMs are appalling but people have no choice cuz inside the bank is worse..got into GTBank 2days ago and they said one can't withdraw more than 10k. Yesterday morning as early as 6am I went to first bank by Agip, we were made to wait till 8:15 before we were allowed into the premise to withdraw n we were more than 200 as at that time. We were even given numbers but when the gate was opened, som people who weren't given numbers were trying to be smart...I swear,we were more than 400 as at the time I left there...it wasn't easy but I finally got mine

41. This is a really crazy situation

42. Na wa o. D suffering too much Na. Make I manage the one with me

43. Most atm branches I passed as I was travelling were jam packed wit pple,we need pos to avoid this mess.its very sad seeing long queues on banks just to withdraw small money.

44. Same here. Trying to transfer money to Some distant family memebers but the page is not loading. Have been trying since yesterday.

45. Access bank visa card has been bad since a week ago