Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Customs Intercepts 102 Bags Of Plastic Rice

Wednesday, December 21, 2016

Customs Intercepts 102 Bags Of Plastic Rice

The Federal Operations Unit, Ikeja, of the Nigeria Customs Service has intercepted 102 bags of plastic rice branded “Beat Tomato Rice” with no date of manufacture.

The Customs Area Controller of F.O.U. Comptroller Mohammed Haruna, on Tuesday in Lagos said that the commodity was stored for distribution as Yuletide gifts for the public.

Haruna said that officers of the unit intercepted the plastic rice along Ikeja area on Monday, adding that a suspect was arrested in connection with the seizure.

He said, “Before now, I thought it was a rumour that the plastic rice is all over the country but with this seizure, I have been totally convinced that such rice exists.

“We have done the preliminary analysis on the plastic rice. After boiling, it was sticky and only God knows what would have happened if people consumed it.

“I advise those economic saboteurs who see yuletide season as a peak period for nefarious acts to desist from such illegal business.

“The unit has decided other operational modalities that will make them run for their monies and count their losses.”

He described smuggling as a global phenomenon, adding that such act could not be curbed entirely but could be brought to its barest minimum.

Haruna appreciated well-meaning Nigerians who provided the service with prompt information that led to the discovery of the bags of plastic rice.

The controller, however, advised the media to educate the public on the existence of plastic rice, adding that it was no longer a rumour.

Haruna assured the public that the distribution point of the particular plastic rice seized by the unit had been blocked with immediate effect.

He said that investigation was still ongoing.

The controller said the unit would handover the plastic rice to the National Agency for Food and Drug Administration and Control for proper investigation.

(NAN)

*Plastic rice?what is plastic rice?i have never heard of it before!...let me google.

70 comments:

1. God bless you customs, you have saved so many lives. Please tighten measures to make sure none enters Naija. Those involved in bringing in such rice are murderers and deserve serious jail time. Wicked set of people.

2. Honestly I saw this type of rice yesterday and I was surprised cos I've never seen rice packaged in that type of sac. They shared it among the cooperative members beside my office yesterday

3. I can't believe you haven't heard? News been everywhere I'd think. It's such a worrisome situation.

2. Stella I saw the video where an Asian melt plastic and cut it into rice shape with a machine. Very dirty environment where this was done

1. Saw the video on Facebook some time ago I thought that it was a joke ooo

2. I thought people said that video day fake. Na wah Oh!

3. Those are plastic polymers for manufacturing....

Not everyone you see on SM is real?

3. ha this is wickedness. How i wish they will shoot the idiots that imported the rice to Nigeria. what a shame.

1. I ate this plastic rice at ajah. Bought it from one restaurant as takeaway. Took a bite and immediately knew it was plastic rice because it felt like chewing rubber. That night I went to sleep hungry after cussing the restaurant owners

4. Stella it is made with nylon.i have the video.God help us.after seen all these videos about plastic rice,i decided that as soon as the one I have at home finishes I have to be buying direct from Ebonyi state(local rice),thank God I have contact of some one to help me buy and waybill to me.no more foreign rice meynne before ndi Chinese egbuo mmadu

1. But ebonyi rice has a lot of stones na. And too sticky... So I heard..

I need it if it's better

2. Hey... You can pay the rice sellers in ebonyi to destone the rice... They charge about 1k..after this process your ebonyi rice is perfect

3. Ideato not anymore ooo
      We even have some white long grains.
      Its ur money.
      Cos d stony ones r cheaper.
      Stony rice did not go thru de-stoning machine.

5. MAY GOD CONTINUE TO DELIVER HIS PEOPLE FOR INGESTING RUBBISH AND DYING OFF. AMEN @STELLZ SWEETHEART GUTEN MORGEN

6. Haba Stella, the news is everywhere and viral videos.
    Everybody should be careful especially the "I eat only basmati rice" clique.

1. Eyah, you haven't seen the fake basmati rice video?

2. Eyah,you did not understand her comment.

3. Eyah , anonymous u could not even explain so she can understand .

7. Replies
    1. If China cannot bring in safe stuff is it not better goods from there are banned? It is like those people have no conscience. Namsense!

8. When we call this joke of country a zoo, wild animals who dwell here get offended. Even animals in the forest cannot be the his wicked to their kind.
    What for, so people can eat and die.

1. Nigeria the dumping ground. Enough is enough!

2. We are sure the evil importer must be from your region! So shut d fuck up you dumbass hater!

3. Mr. Idiot aka monkey living in a zoo as you call it, is it not your so called Biafraud brothers that are importing all these fake products and poison into the country because of their inept and evil love of money? I am praying so hard that the few sensible thieves amongst you in the house of assembly and senate calls for a referendum, I will gladly vote a million times for you guys to exit and depart from Nigeria, you people has given us enough global disgrace and bad name!!

4. Tell that to ur people. Desperate MF

5. let them get offended. This type of wickedness has no level.

6. And if u check very well,d importer will be from d side of dis IDIOT calling dis country a zoo.When will dis country divide self? So will b seeing headlines like;Chinedu from Biafra hanged in Singapore 4 drug offences, Emeka from nabbed in USA for defrauding Americans,Ngozi facing trials in UK for child trafficking etc

7. Anons, you all are useless. Because igbos are more into importation, it's is then confirmed that they are the ones importing the plastic rice? So Yorubas are not into importation? Hausa's are not into it? The Yoruba thieves that have been caught here wasn't it greed that led them. You and Popeye ate foolish beings. You all go shouting igbo this and that, but when someone mentions Yoruba demon here you want to cry blood as if Yoruba demon is an insult. That's how you lots kept attacking Sandy because she said Yoruba demon. Even bed and roses that iS a grand mother

8. If you all. Weren't stupid you will know that it's not only igbos that import. Also chances are that those people didn't know it was plastic rice. They might have gone to China, see cheap ride and December to import to sell without knowing anything about plastic rice.. Or you think those importers are computer savvy for them to see all the videos we saw. You all behave life illiterate here. Fools

9. Fake drugs-Igbos so much so that you people almost killed your own Dora Akunyili when she was NAFDAC chairman.
      Indonesia Nigerian Drug offenders-99.9% - Igbos
      Baby Factory - Igbos
      99% Chinese fake produces importers - Igbos
      How much more do you want to hear and I am sure if they release the name of this importer "chukwu or chineke" will end it.
      Nigeria please give these people Biafraud so we can have peace and conserve a good name and legacy for our beloved nation like most other African countries are doing, give them Biafraud so that our passport will not be overly quizzed and disrespected at airports round the world!! I am from Delta state, the Igbo speaking part to be precise and I want Igbos to go away with their Biafraud and leave Nigeria in peace, there I said it....kill yourselves!!!

9. Deadly plastic rice
    I hope the custom people will not auction it to the public

10. Hmmmm. Thank God the rice was intercepted by the custom.

God Bless Everyone.

11. That's very good. Stella plastic rice is all over Facebook na made by Chinese folks, using dead bodice to make corn beef and life chicks are grounded unhygenically into corn beef. They inject their chickens with a substance to make it swell. They also use cotton to compress into sweets. The latest I saw yesterday was fake meat. I don't know the mixture they used but I guess it's all rubber.
    We Nigerians just have to detest from importing from China and the likes. We should learn to produce and appreciate our own. Not just being a consuming nation!
    It is very clear these importers don't care about us.

1. You haven't seen fake cabbage? I can't eat corn beef anymore. I can't even eat imported rice again. After this month, let my carton of frozen chicken finish, no more buying frozen again but life birds. I can't come and die because of China people

2. The cabbage video simply shows you what the 'food' used in movies are. Esp the fruits and vegetables. Those movies take months to shoot, so those are made so they last for the length of the production.

Please let's stop with the hysteria and actually learn about some things.

12. Which one is plastic rice again? Nigerians will not kill somebody. Very soon we all will go back to eating local rice that was cultivated right here in Nigeria.

*grabs cucumber*

13. Stella, I don't understand you o! You just enter market? No need for google, go to Facebook,there are videos of its production.and na these chincos dey do am...

14. So many different type of fake rice this season, may God guide and protect us all

15. How can people be so cruel??? Why make plastic rice, spend money to import for human consumption??? God please save your Children.

16. Plastic rice, plastic cabbage, plastic meat, plastic orishirishi...all China made

17. What a wicked world we live in!

18. Say what???

Lord have mercy.

19. May God help us..orishirishi end time rice..

20. Since this wicked government has turned everything into no reach for the middle class,cruel people like apc government has turned it into an Avenue for money making. When a bag of rice was sold at #8000 nobody heard of such thing like plastic rice, but now that a bag goes for #26000, people wants to make money. Is now very clear that since buhari cannot put everyone in prison, he wants to kill us with hunger or bad food. I hold him responsible for all this cos he caused all this. Wicked old man

21. This is terrible!!!!!.....save us Lord from wicked and unreasonable humans....

22. So finally its actually true, I saw videos, different ones but I still had doubts, I felt it was sabotsge but finally, it gas landed right in Naija!!!

Msy God help us,

# check and double check ur rice before consumption! Hian

23. ever since l saw the video of this plastic rice on facebook we stop buying and eating imported rice,but people who are importing this poison are very wicked and heartless,is ebonyi rice we eat in my house.#localrice

24. God save ur children ooooooo

25. Our igbo brothers at work again.

Job Well done customs, I hope u guys will share this one among yourself as usual.

1. Funny enough, Chinese in Nigeria maybe responsible for the importation

26. Wicked nigerians....if they produce and nobody buys from them they will think of something better to do... Weldone oga controller

27. Why are humans wicked? Later, they will blame recession. Some people are just too wicked! Why should you import something that is not fit even for animals to consume, all in the name of money? This is too bad!

They now have fake eggs made in China. We should increase our production of food produce. Nigeria is blessed but we have greedy and evil ones amongst us.

1. Remember the people importing might not know it's plastic rice. They might just see cheap bags of rife as China have cheap things and then import without knowing the deadly item they are importing

28. Nigerians are wicked. This country is a zoo.

29. hard to believe. just like selling fake drugs huh

30. Nigeria is so blessed with fertile lands, but Nigerians of this age prefer imported foods!

People should go back to farming, they will not listen. They prefer over fertilized contaminated imported foods.

I hope they tightened the Nigeria borders and food importation.
    The last 10 years, people have been dying of heart diseases, kidney failure etc... Not knowing it's what they consume that is having a negative effect on their health.
    I hope those evil importers will remain in prison.

31. some people are just so wicked just to make money,God bless customs for this

32. I have seen the video of fake cabbage, fake Beef, and some others. If you are not careful, you won't know.

33. I have seen the video of fake cabbage, fake Beef, and some others. If you are not careful, you won't know.

34. God save us in this country o...

35. Igbo this and Igbo that. I am confused. We say we want to go you say no. You guys need your heads checked.