Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: EFCC Traces Theft Of Stolen Crude To Two Big Shots And Uncovers 35 Accounts

Monday, December 05, 2016

EFCC Traces Theft Of Stolen Crude To Two Big Shots And Uncovers 35 Accounts

The Economic and Financial Crimes Commission ( EFCC) has traced the theft of about 1m metric tons of Automated Gas Oil ( AGO) to two highly-placed Nigerians.

The anti-graft agency has uncovered 35 accounts, allegedly belonging to the two highly-placed Nigerians into which proceeds of stolen crude were remitted.

The crew members of the ship allegedly used in the theft escaped arrest by jumping into a gunboat filled with AK47 rifles, it was learnt.

But the EFCC team arrested three workers of the illegal tank farm owners.

According to a top source, who spoke in confidence with the nation, the oil vessel, H.W. BECHMAN (with registration number 4914030) was intercepted on Thursday while discharging products into a tank farm in Iwofe Quarters, Port Harcourt, the Rivers State capital.

A source, who spoke in confidence, said: “The EFCC, in collaboration with the Nigerian Navy, has intercepted a vessel laden with about 1m metric tons of stolen AGO.

“The products were tapped from some burst pipelines in the creeks of the Niger Delta.

“We are on the trail of these highly-placed Nigerians who will soon be interrogated. We will not disclose their identities in order not to jeopardise ongoing investigation.

“But our operatives succeeded in arresting three workers at the tank farm who are helping our detectives.”

“The EFCC will on Monday seek the leave of the court to freeze the 35 accounts pending the conclusion of the ongoing investigation.”

The source added: “Our team discovered that the illegal products were stored in 12 compartments of the vessel out of which seven had been discharged at a tank farm in NEPAS Limited.”

The EFCC has drafted riot policemen to the tank farm to guard the seized vessel.

The EFCC source added: “We have also invited the Department of Petroleum Resources ( DPR) to take a sample of the AGO for laboratory test.
“This is our biggest haul in a vessel. We will bring the perpetrators to
 book.”

from the nationonline

14 comments:

1. We want their names...if na poor mahn them for don publish him name and pictures..

2. Any efcc doesn't interest me biko. I've lost my trust in them

3. Why can't they mention names? Cos they are big people abi.... SMH

4. EFCC Una well done o, keep catching, arresting and interrogating until all our stolen fund are recover.

5. Hope their findings won't stop here, because I don't really believe in the efcc again

6. They should mention their names

7. Abeg efcc matter sef don tire me!

8. Story!! What are their names? They should park one side. Mchtewww...

9. AGO or Crude Oil? Which is it?

10. EFCC that couldn t arrest the trio of Sam Aikhiobare, Chuks Iroche and Oyin Oshikanlu who they caught with 5 ships laden with AGO and released secretly. EFCC is just a toothless bulldog and a proffessional debt collector even for small money like 100k. The Hausa mopols guarding their detention centres will tell you this.Mchtewww......

11. This story na lie abeg! One million metric tonnes of AGO that's over one billion litres. From which pipeline? Who refine am? Which vsl carry am come? Where them pass reach the tank farm? Cos I'm pretty sure NO CHANNEL/CREEK IN NIGERIA CAN HANDLE THE DRAUGHT OF ANY VSL LADEN WITH SUCH QUANTITY.

EFCC abi na APC make Una fear God ooO!

STOP SENSATIONALISING EVERYTHING!