Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Gambian President Jammeh Says He Will NOT Step Down

Wednesday, December 21, 2016

Gambian President Jammeh Says He Will NOT Step Down

Gambian President Yahya Jammeh said he would not step down and condemned mediation by West African regional bloc ECOWAS that aims to get him to leave power after he lost a Dec. 1 election to challenger Adama Barrow.

The comments on state television late on Tuesday were a hardening of the veteran president's position after days in which hopes mounted he could be persuaded to hand over power at the end of his mandate on Jan. 18, when Barrow is due to be inaugurated.

"I am not a coward. My right cannot be intimidated and violated. This is my position. Nobody can deprive me of that victory except the Almighty Allah," Jammeh said

"Already the ECOWAS meeting was a formality. Before they came, they had already said Jammeh must step down. I will not step down," he said.

Jammeh initially accepted the results of an election whose outcome was seen across Africa as a moment of hope. He is accused by human rights groups of the detention, torture and killing of perceived opponents during his 22-year rule.

On Dec. 9, he reversed his position and said he would challenge in the country's Supreme Court the results of an election he said was riddled with irregularities.

from reuters.

41 comments:

1. He will step down or be bundled out in a commando style. He should ask Gbagbo.

1. There is one evil thing about Muslim.......i bet he wants to die there

2. @Portable , no wonder no one has done santa 🎅 for you. Just read what you wrote again! Anofia, tueh

3. @portable and anon hahahahahahahaahaha

4. Where are all our olosho Nollywood actress wey go campaign for this ram? Make Dem go beg am to rescind his stupid decision or he will DIE!!! Period

2. Posting on the floor shaking my head.. Yu ll jus die lk fish

1. Wickedness without end. 22 years in power and you claim it's your right? Reason why Africa will never grow and continue to be a third world country

4. Stupid mahn...he wants to cause trouble in that country...God punish am...after 22 years in power...Greedy ass moafucker....

5. In my dad's voice " useless fellow"

6. Oya die there na since u don't want to leave

7. hmmmmmm trouble trouble.

This man dont want to stay alive for his family.

Second Cote Divoire man. Oga continue, na police go give you better slap not soldiers

8. Stella!! This man has used his hand to stamp his death warrant certificate..I dont think he will see the end of 2017..African leaders and power drunkness...

9. UN ha decided - Jammeh must go!!
    ECOWAS too - jammeh must accept defeat and step down!!!

This is war!!!!

10. Mtcheew, this is when snipers are needed.

11. Power corrupts, since he has refused to take a bow and enjoy his loots, he should get ready to die like Gaddafi and be exiled like Charles Taylor........greedy beings!!

*Faithful bv*

12. He shouldn't step down o, it's his birth right. Useless man. Mugabe's brother in 'forceful ruling'.

13. Why can't he take a clue from our HERO???

14. Why can't he take a clue from our HERO???

15. This man is really unbelievable! Why trying to create unnecessary panic. So, hes saying in other words that baba and co just went there to waste their time kawai. God will unsit him come that day. Smh!!!

16. He should get ready to die like Gaddafi.

17. some African leaders think the presidency is an inheritance from their Fore Father's wickedness in very high places 😬😬

18. Ok,we will wait for your obituary then

19. After 22years? Make him kuku die there naaa nonsense, African presidents and their selfishness small time now dis our Buhari go say he wan run again.uhmmmmmmm God is watching all of una o

@Tee_y

20. These Muslims and their wahala all over d place, did Allah tell you not to step down.
    They jst like causing problems all over the World

#EmbranceChristHeisdtruepeace.

21. Tyrant. Until it turns to Laurent Gbagbo.

22. Before his destruction, when God wanted to deal decisively with Pharaoh, he hardened his heart to the cries to let His people go. This is the beginning of the end for this tyrant. He wants to turn his country into another Syria. He will be killed by a teenager like his pal Gaddafi

23. African leaders are characterised by :Old age, long rule in office, ready to die there and underdevelopment of their nation. I wonder the sand God used to make the black race?

24. Na so the Quran tell him to act o...from d pix

25. No worry. You will see what others see and by that time, it will be late for you.