Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Gambia’s Jammeh Rejects Election Results After Conceding Defeat

Saturday, December 10, 2016

Gambia’s Jammeh Rejects Election Results After Conceding Defeat

Gambia's President Yahya Jammeh said Friday he would not recognise the results of December 1 elections and called for fresh polls, a week after he conceded defeat.

"In the same way that I accepted the results faithfully believing that the Independent Electoral Commission was independent and honest and reliable, I hereby reject the results in totality," he said in a statement broadcast on state television.
"Let me repeat: I will not accept the results based on what has happened," he said, condemning "unacceptable errors" on the part of electoral authorities and calling for a new vote.

Jammeh pointed to an accounting error, identified by the IEC, which awarded victory to his opponent Adama Barrow but with a slimmer margin than initially announced.
Latest official figures gave Barrow 43.29 percent of the votes in the presidential election, while Jammeh took 39.64 percent. The turnout was at 59 percent.
Jammeh claimed "investigations" had revealed that numerous voters had not been able to cast their ballots.

"This is the most dubious election we ever had in the history of this country," he said.We will go back to the polls because I want to make sure every Gambian votes under an electoral commission that is impartial, independent, neutral and free from foreign influence," he said, adding that he would not tolerate any street protests over his decision.

The announcement upends the situation in the west African nation, where the population had been hoping for a peaceful democratic transition after Barrow's shock victory this month looked set to end Jammeh's 22 years in power.
On December 2, Jammeh made a magnanimous concession speech on television and promised -- to general shock and surprise -- a peaceful and swift handover of power to President-elect Barrow.

On Thursday, Barrow vowed to set up a South Africa-style truth commission and said that the country's chief of defence staff had called to pledge the military's backing.
But pressure to prosecute Jammeh and top figures in his administration, who have been accused of widespread human rights violations, is one of the key challenges facing the new government.
from Guardian

29 comments:

1. Lol...na normal thing now

@Teebliz and @Tiwa seeing Therapist.....They wanna make their marriage work just like @Beyoncé and @JayZ.

What a good news.

I dey cum.

1. Chika ike,come and carry your manfriend o.

2. E no easy to form Jobathan o

2. If u are not Jonathan u can never be Jonathan.

3. Lol! Now this is the Jameh I know! I was shocked he had conceded.

4. If its not Jonathan it can never be Jonathan. Lol.

Becky naka.

5. Heaven will disgrace him. 22 years isn't enough already for him. Anu!

6. Lol...I was even surprised he conceded defeat. That man has no intentios to leave that seat.

7. He is power drunk... An average African leader do not love to relinquish power easily. Side eyes at OBJ and his failed third term agenda.

Stells darling... When is Santa coming to Uyo?.

8. WHO IS THE TAILOR THAT SEWS HIS HIS COLLARED WEARS.

9. He should not cause a war like Ivory Coast. He should accept in good faith. Jona should call him to order

10. Good morning house.
    I would like to give my unsolicited opinion to the WhiteBerry Saga and Mrs Stella's stance on it.

There are so many people who read this blog without commenting for various reasons. Some are naturally not versed in the art of writing, some are too busy and some probably have one or two issues that makes it difficult for them to comment. So if the popular Bvs or the ones with blog Ids are the only ones whose needs would be met,it might be a slight on the loyalty of those many others who don't comment for reasons best known to them or who do it under anonymous.

I've been reading SDK's work as a journalist long before blogs. And from the day I read somewhere she's now into blogging I've been hooked to her blog. I didn't use to comment and when I started it was majorly on chronicles. I love giving moral support through words to those who needs it so that's basically where I leave my comments. I never knew how to create a blog ID, till when I registered something on Google about two months ago and when I tried to comment here I found it automatically gave me an ID. I became close to a woman who practically lives on this blog but never comments, due to her personal issues she doesn't even facebook. How much more read other blogs she doesn't even know exists.

There are so many with cases like I've described up there who needs help too, but aren't popular or have the time or state of mind to create popularity on the blogs and it wouldn't be fair to them if that is the reasons they don't get help.

I would suggest that known and trusted Bvs could be given the opportunities to vet receivers before they get help. Either directly from Stella or other givers.

God bless SDK.

11. "Anger, no matter how hot it is, can never cook yam'' What's with African leaders and power? They just wanna die there.

12. I guess the Buhari in him is stronger than d Jonathan in him.Power at all cost even if it will cost innocent lives

13. Unbelievable! I even watched the video where he was congratulating the winner. Hmmmmmmm things de happen sha.

14. Unbelievable! I even watched the video where he was congratulating the winner. Hmmmmmmm things de happen sha.

15. Isn't this the one all them Olosho actresses de go fuck? He wants to die there but he can't, he will definitely be forced out. How do you concede and then turn around to 'un-concede' smdh

#onlyinAfrica

16. Big trouble in small The Gambia. Greedy leaders everywhere.

17. Our actresses that campainged for him, where are they? Angela Okorie & Co....how far.

The man shld go and prepare his handing over note.

18. I'm not surprised! What does one expect when a president elect is already threatening the incumbent president with ICC. There is something called plea-bargain when an incumbent concedes defeat which the president elect fails to recognise. Its unfortunate, the president elect might just have lost a chance to be sworn in cos d election rerun will likely swing to d incumbent.

19. I'm not surprised! What does one expect when a president elect is already threatening the incumbent president with ICC. There is something called plea-bargain when an incumbent concedes defeat which the president elect fails to recognise. Its unfortunate, the president elect might just have lost a chance to be sworn in cos d election rerun will likely swing to d incumbent.

#passengerpassingthrough

20. Typical of Africans!! Mad man! Since 1990's and he isn't satisfied, he tortured people and still carries Quran up and down like he is a sensible person.. very evil man, y does he wear bullet proof if he isn't scared?

21. People thought that want Jonathan did was something anyone can easily do? God bless you Jonathan. Mr I no gree again, for your own good go and ask Gbagbo how he's doing? Mumu. Didn't anyone forced you to accept defeat in the first instance. Na devil dey push you so. Trouble dey sleep inyanga dey go wake am, Hmmmm!

22. People thought that what Jonathan did is something anyone can easily do? God bless you Jonathan. Mr I no gree again, for your own good go and ask Gbagbo how he's doing? Mumu. Didn't anyone forced you to accept defeat in the first instance. Na devil dey push you so. Trouble dey sleep inyanga dey go wake am, Hmmmm!